Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless Phones
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Glyde (SCH-u940)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Glyde (SCH-u940)

Some people are talkers. Some are texters. Some are all touchy-feely. Well, the SAMSUNG Glyde™ is the stylish phone for all three. It has a full QWERTY keyboard that slides out when you need it. And a beautiful 2.8” touch screen display to show off your emails, your favorite web pages or your photo album. Not to mention a buit-in camera for those impulsive shots.In fact, you’ll like your Glyde™ so much, you won’t be able to keep your hands off it.
Rating:
1.444 out of 5
1.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
35
5 out of 45(11%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Review 1 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely a great buy!!!! Love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 22, 2009
from texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
i love this phone!at first i had some problems with the touch screen, but then i got it right. LISTEN PEOPLE WHO HATE THE PHONE, PUT THE SENSITIVITY LEVEL TO MEDIUM LOW... IT WORKS!!!!!!!! thats all u have to do its a great phone! i love the slide out keyboard!! it is great for me because i am an "avid texter!!!!!!!" the vcast and music player are great also!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so i love this phone!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

OK Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 19, 2010
from Somewhere, Sometown
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I bought this phone a little over a year ago. After only a few days of having it I encountered these problems-
1. Short battery life. The battery barely lasted six hours on a good day.
2. Randomly turning off. Sometimes when I would slide the keyboard back in it would just turn off and restart.
3. Unresponsive touch screen. I would be pressing something, but it would be almost "stuck" on a different place where I had pressed earlier.
There were more problems, but they weren't as major.
I grew fed up with it and brought it into the store where I had purchased it. The people there did a software update and then told me to take it home and see what I thought.
After bringing it home the problems were occurring even more and the battery seemed to e shorter! I brought it in again and they gave me a new Samsung Gylde. This one works perfectly and I couldn't be happier about it!
P.S. If you do purchase this phone and it has problems like mine did, don't hesitate to bring it in. I let it go on for almost a year and I don't want that to happen to you.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Super phone.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2009
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I love this phone. My number one reason is that this phone is tough! I love the camera and music player on this phone. It's also very unique. I have never seen a phone like it. It's almost a cross between an IPhone and Xynon
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
12of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It is an ok phone, and i love mine

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 23, 2009
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I wouldn't trade this phone away at all. Sure it has its ups and its down but overall its a good phone. The touch glitch gets on my nerves a bit but like someone else said put the sensitivity to medium high. But i would rather it be high and all i do is flick the back of the phone when it happens and then its fine again sometimes u gotta do it a few times but its a good phone and i wouldnt trade it for the world.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
11of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Could be a great phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2008
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The problems I have with this phone pretty well have to do with the touch-screen. The screen is either too easy to navigate or you can't get it to work at all. The keyboard is great and the camera and camcorder works excellent besides giving indoor animals a glowing eye appearance.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Uhmmm

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2010
This phone isn't good after a few months, and it's not bad like others explained or commented but, I can say it has a awesome battery life; I could go 4 days without charging it and still have one bar left but one thing really bad about it was the touch screen and the way it acts, I mean I would try to click on one thing and it would insist on clicking on others things and sometimes it would freeze. But the phone isn't all that bad I've kept it for 2 years.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not The Best Phone......

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2009
from Baltimore, MD
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I purchased this phone in November of 2008 as a replacement to another phone. I loved it up until July of 2009, when it froze up and I had to get another Glyde. Now this one keeps messing up, and I hope to get another phone (not a Glyde) soon.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Worst Phone I have purchased

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 4, 2009
This has got to be the worst phone I have ever purchased. Unfortunately I am stuck with it for a year based upon my contract. The touch screen stinks since there are times when I push the screen and nothing happens. Dialing stinks and if you change the sensitivity, the phone dials when talking. I would never purhcase this again and would not recommend it to anyone. I should have stuck with the old fasion phone with just the basic features.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

erm...im still iffy on this one

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2009
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
so...i got this phone september of 2008. so far this is my third replacemet. apparently they redesigned it to deal with the touch screen glitches, which has proven effective.(different name even...itrs now the samsungu940 dbe instead of u940) but all the new stuff drains the battery in a few hours. i could keep my phone on charge all night and it wouldnt last me through the day.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Was a definite suprise

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMarch 1, 2009
from Delaware Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bought this glydeas a replacement for my daughters phone. It was a good fill for an Ipod and new cell phone (wrap it all in one) With quite a background in touch phones this was by far the WORST. The touch is the bulk of it. I am better off holding it beside this computer screen hoping that when I touch the phone it makes my computer work. I will give credit where it is due though, the slide out keybard is nice but the hardly working touch ruins it all. Be it that everyone else in my house has a touch phone made by a different manufacurer I wish i would have done homework... Will never do that again.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Hated this phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 7, 2010
from Alexandria, VA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I had this phone with Verizon for a little over a year. I ended up using three of these things before giving up and getting something else. I usually love Samsung products (I have an awesome 37" lcd hd tv) but this phone is junk. The touch screen was horrible and even after the updates would not function properly. I treated the phones well, never dropped them, and carried it in a pouch on my belt rather than putting it in my pocket.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone Ever.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2010
This phone is the worst phone I have ever had.
The phone shuts off randomly after I send messages.
The touch screen was going crazy and pressing whatever it wanted, so I took it to the store and they said it needed a software upgrade. Three months later, I have to go back because it shuts off now and the phone goes completely white, and now the touch screen doesn't work at all, rendering the phone completely and utterly USELESS.
I'm getting a replacement of this stupid phone, and when I get an upgrade, I'll be sure to read the reviews before I buy so I don't end up with another terrible phone like this one.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone!!!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2010
from Arizona
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is the worst phone I have ever had I have now gone onto my 4th one and I am going to have to get another one!!
1. Turns off by itself, when I close the keyboard it shut off
2. The Touch screen doesnt work all the time
3. I can be reading a TXT and it freezes and turns off
4. Battery life only last about maybe half a day!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 7, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Had 3 other Samsung phones, loved them all and never had one problem. Hate this one. Piece of garbage. Got it in June. Touch screen quit working after about 2 months. Verizon would only replace the same phone. Touch screen quit working on #2 after about another 2 months. Now I have Glyde #3, and the touch screen quit working this morning (it's June--4 phones in one year!!!). I don't even get reception in my office, so my phone is off for about 10 hours per day--it's not like I'm even that heavy a user of it. So today, back I go to Verizon--I wonder if they will give me Glyde/piece of garbage #4 this time, or a phone that actually works?
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WORST PHONE I'VE EVER HAD.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 16, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This phone is absolutely horrible. I've had 2, and now i'm getting a completely different phone from a completely different brand. The touch screen has a mind of it's own, it spazzes out ALL the time, Randomly turns off by it's self. Mine doesn't hold a charge.. Even with two different chargers. I do NOT recommend getting it, I don't even think they make them any more, which is a good thing.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

EW.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 11, 2010
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
This phone simply horrible. It worked the first month but after that, nope.
1. The touch screen does not respond. Let's say you press the "send" button. It either doesn't have any response, or it'll just hit "back" by itself which is on the other end of the screen.
2. The keyboard is pretty much useless because you can't use it to do anything such as look up contacts or old messages.
3. The phone is just too chunk and it falls out of my jeans pocket constantly. Also, when it falls, the battery cover comes off and the battery comes out. too. easily.
I've owned several samsung products before and i've never seen anything even half worse than this phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone EVER!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 6, 2010
This phone has great features... when they work... the touchscreen may as well be one large button. touch anywhere on the screen, and it goes to the same button. and guess what, none of the keys can be used to actually initiate a call (take note samsung, with so many buttons a querty use some of them!). Screen might work occasionally after some restarts, but then it just reverts back to the stupid thing not working. got the firmware upgrade... didnt help. i'm probably not going to buy another samsung product again.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biggest waste of money and time.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 27, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
There are so many problems with this phone that I don't even know where to begin. I've had it for two years and want to chuck it out the window every other day (thank god my upgrade is in a month! Switching to Blackberry!!) The screen CONSTANTLY needs recalibration, and it is locked up and blank more often than it works. It randomly calls people I haven't told it to, and when the inbox is full it will shut off when you try to send messages. The keyboard is fine and all, but unless the screen works, the whole thing wont work.
Run away from it. Fast.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

touch screen

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 11, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is a great phone until about after a year then it breaks mine split in half and the touch went beserk on me i hate it!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Purchase Ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 27, 2010
This is the worst phone ever. It has a mind of its own. No matter which button I hit on the touch screen it goes to menu. In the middle of texting it goes to the half way point of the message and totally messes up your message so you either have to delete or backspace each letter which takes forever. It calls the wrong people. I hate it.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good and Bad

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 18, 2010
from St Cloud, MN
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The ONLY thing I like about this phone is... ? The qwerty keys are "rubbing off", the touchscreen when haywire after purchase, doesn't send/receive text messages occasionally, doesn't hold a charge anymore. The touch screen would select buttons that i didn't even push, even if I didn't push a button, different menus would come up.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WORST PHONE EVER.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2009
from Georgia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is the worst phone ever. The touchscreen quits working. Turns off randomly. Refuses to send or receive messages at random times. Keys are too small. Slow. I am getting ready to have a 3rd glyde. I got my first one Oct.14. And the second Dec24, and I am getting ready to get another one because it broke...AGAIN. A WEEK LATER. This phone is DEFIENTLY not worth your money. Poor signal and call strenth. Volume is not loud enough. Speaker phone is horrible. Constant static.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

-15 Stars Words cannot describe

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2009
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had this phone since June of 2008 since then I have had to trade it in 3 times. Over the past two days the phone has desided to just turn off at random moments and then turn back on. Then this morning I received a text message that I was attempting to read and my entire touch screen is dead. If you have this phone you will know that without your touch screen there is nothing for you to do. You can dial a number with the keypad but there is no way for you to send. So this afternoon I went to verizon who no longer keeps this phone on hand to find out I will have to wait 2 days for it to come in the mail. Worst Phone in the history of phones. It pains me to say I almost wish I could go back to my 1999 Nokia.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone ever!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2009
from Cincinnati, OH
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I'm on my second Glyde. This one doesn't work just like the first one, and my cell provider tells me it's "out of warranty", so there is nothing they can do for me, even though I've taken very good care of the phone. The touch screen is useless. When it does work, it calls or texts the wrong people. I've missed countless phone calls because I can't get the phone to answer. The phone just doesn't work, and it's nothing I've done to cause it. I'm stuck with it until I can upgrade. This is by far the worst phone I've ever had.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Glyde

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 12, 2009
from Colorado
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have been a samsung customer for several generation of cell phones. However, my last samsung phone died for no apparent reason. I was due for an upgrade from Verizon so I got a glyde to be able to easily text message with my son.
I discovered this phone was really bad. The touch screen was pretty much useless. Reception sensitivity is lousy. My other phones are fine, but on this phone, I could not talk holding it to my ear, had to use speaker phone to get a decent signal.
I own 2 Samsung TVs, 2 sammy LCD monitors, and those products are operated absolutely flawless. However, we are not going to buy samsung phones until the become more competitive with other companies.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

unhappy

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2009
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My first glyde was horrible. It was stolen and replaced by the insurance with a refurbished glyde. That was even worse than the first one. the insurance company finally replaced it with a new glyde. This one is a nightmare also.
It calls people I don't want to call and sends my messages to the wrong people. I have to say this is the worse phone I have ever owned and since this is my third I know it is the phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+64points
77of 90voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worse purshase ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 7, 2009
from Florida,FL
This is the worse phone I ever had. The screen frezzes,I have to turn it off several times during the day to reset screen, places calls by himself. I wish I could have a refund for it.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Driving Me Crazy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 7, 2009
This phone was given to me and I want a refund. When you touch something at the top, a button on the bottom is activated. Many times I can't read my text messages because the touch is way off. I would rather have my first cell phone that I got way back when that was big, took no pictures, kept no music with just one ring tone, ring. This thing is cute, has a lot of features, when you can get to them. The music sounds great and it takes great pictures. I am online now, shopping for a phone that works!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DO NOT GET THIS PHONE!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 13, 2009
This was the biggest waste of money i have spent on a phone. I am glad that the majority of the people have agreed that the touchscreen glitch on this phone is unbearable. This is probably the worst most problematic phone i have purchased. It will work for 5 min after i turn the phone on/off and then start glitching again. It's a headache and I don't recommend it. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PHONE!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Possible Phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 8, 2009
Expertise:expert
I hate to be on the angry list of reviewers, but the fact is that i have been through three of these phones and no matter what updates are on it, or how well i treat it, it ends up after a few much with the same touch glitch. My problem is that when i touch the screen, the computer will recognize the touch somewhere else on the screen, usually on the bottom left hand corner. This glitch makes sending text messages and making phone calls a ten minute chore as i turn the phone off and on waiting for it to work right again. Honestly, without the glitch, i didn't even like it that well, but with it, it is creating the worst cell phone experience i could ever have.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Just stay away

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 23, 2009
I have had the phone since August 08. First couple months it was good. The last couple have been terrible. I finally gave up and decided to see if Samsung's website has any type of troubleshooting info for this phone. I am tired of the phantom selections when nothing is selected on the touch screen. Hardly ever registers selections now. I press one item on touch screen and something 5 icons away gets selected even though I was not near it. Terrible phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone i've ever had!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2009
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I was all googly-eyed over having this awesome touchscreen/slider/full keyboard phone for the first couple months, and overlooked the fact that half the time the touch screen selects something other than what i've selected, if it recognizes I've touched anything. Now it's been 3 months, I've done the software upgrade, I've had the phone replaced, and I still want to throw it out the window most days. It's got other nice features, and the keyboard works pretty well, but nothing can make up for the fact that the touchscreen won't work.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do not buy this phone!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 16, 2009
I have used this product for:3-6 months
This phone is the worst phone ive ever had. they keep giving me new phones to compensate for the problems but the problems are persistant with the touch screen. I think this phone is more frustration that anything. It comes down to the choice of being frustrated or not trying to text or call .. and i usually just end up not using it at all. the phone looks nice and all and the concept is pretty neat but for efficency it gets a -100.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terribad

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 24, 2008
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
Pro: Looks nice, good keypad, easy to use.
Cons: Worst touchscreen ever, so many problems with this screen. It hardly ever responds and when it did it had a mind of it's own. The software update DID NOT help, it didn't fix it, it actually made it worse.
NOTE TO SAMSUNG: FIX THE TOUCHSCREEN!
If you are thinking about getting this phone, don't, I had this phone, it was a terrible experience, I exchanged it for a different phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst purchase ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2008
This phone is the biggest piece of junk. the touch screen goes out after a month and the phone falls apart. Phone rarly works. I would not buy this phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

don't buy this phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2008
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The touch screen on this phone is horrible.
I wish I had never purchased this piece of junk.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst purchase ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2008
The touch screen on this phone is horrible. Doesnt work at all. I do not recommend this phone at all!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Extremely Disappointed

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2008
from cleveland, ohio
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
This is the worst cell phon I have ever owned as far as performance goes. As per previous reviews the touch screen is not responsive at all and requires the phone to be rebooted at least a dozen times a day. I wish I had never purchased this piece of junk. I think the features of the phone are great the size is great it just plain doesn't work. I have had great experiences with all other samsung phones and other products and am extremely displeased with this product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst Purchase Ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2008
I am tring to call for 30 minutes. I doesnot work at all. I touched "call" and It clears the screen and goes back to last page, or simple doesnot do nothing. Once It called Itself some one that I am not suppose to call, that was embarrassing.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst phone I ever owned

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 16, 2008
from Las Vegas, NV
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I really liked my last 3 Samsung phones but after the Glide this will be my last Touch Screen and last Samsung phone I ever buy. For the first few days it was great then the Touch screen wouldn't work. I have to keep shutting off the phone and turning it back on to make a call and Verizon tells me oh well I might just switch Carriers over this. I am very unhappy and think someone should fix this problem.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Buy

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2008
I got this phone a couple weeks after it came out, and for the first couple of days I was very pleased. Then the phone started messing up, the screen wouldn't touch, it would select the wrong features and would make simple tasks like calling people impossible. I got the update and it made the phone worse, it is now almost impossible to do anything on my phone, All I can access is the shortcut menu, and after that i can turn on and off speaker phone.
Basically the touch screen does not work, and you cannot do anything without it. The phone is worthless.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Im So Dissapointed

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2008
The touch screen either doesn't respond or it goes to the wrong option. I was excited to get a new phone, but now I'm stuck with this phone for two years because I can not get a differnet phone with my contract. Do not reccomed this to anyone! Can't the manufacturer offer us at least credit or some kind of compensation for our dis-satisfaction with their product?
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2008
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is the WORST phone I have ever had in my whole life. I have had at least 6 different phones and have never experienced such stress over a phone!
I bought this phone in September and a month later, I was already experiencing major problems with it. The touch screen does NOT work most of the time. I choose one item and it selects another. There is NO option at all to "send" without using the touch screen. So, when the touch screen is malfunctioning, there is NO way to make a call!!! How horrible is that? A phone that you CANNOT use to make a call! I worry sometimes about not being able to dial 9-1-1 in case of an emergency. I plan on returning this product, but I will just have to keep on trading it in for the same phone because I just bought it recently and I'm pretty much out of luck because it is passed the 30 days to return it in the store (without a huge penalty)!
If you just bought this phone, I would HIGHLY recommend that you go return it NOW! It looks very cool, but it doesn't work! I wanted the keyboard because I text message a lot, but even then, you cannot send the message unless the screen recognizes your "touch". Sometimes it will freeze and you just have to wait and send the text message later (when it feels happy and wants to let you send the message).
You'll just get frustrated like I did and will feel like you have to write a review to warn others. I have already warned all my friends and family to NEVER buy this phone; now, I just want to make sure that the rest of the world knows it too before they make the same mistake that I did.
I have to say, I regret this soooo much. I bought this as a birthday gift for myself and it turned out to be the WORST birthday gift ever...
Please do NOT make the same mistake that a few of us did...
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Impossible to use

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2008
I was sold by the advertising campaign for this phone, and regret it already. The main feature of the phone (the touch screen) does not work. No matter where I touch the screen, whatever function is in the lower left corner of the screen at the time activates. Eventually it'll allow me to do what I need to do, but certainly not in a timely manner. Sometimes, the phone will actually activate functions as it's just sitting on a table. This all happens even after the software update to "improve touch screen experience."
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Glyde (SCH-u940)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone I ever owned

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 6, 2008
from Columbia, SC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I hate being negative but this is the time to do so. This phone came recommended to me and since I just purchased the BEST LCD TV on the market (Samsung 650) I thought the phone would be the same quality. Boy was I wrong. The touch screen only works about 30% of the time and is the most frustrating thing I have ever dealt with. Before you say anything about the upgrade, I already waisted the hour in the store getting the upgrade. The software upgrade made it go from 15% of the time to the 30% that I am experiencing now. I am looking to chuck this one in the ocean very soon. ANY ADVICE????
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.