Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smart Evolution Kit
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit

SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit

Rating:
2.692 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
5 out of 12(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Review 1 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works as expected

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 18, 2014
from Denmark
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: uhd, 4k
Cons: price
The Samsung F9000 is not an UHD TV - at least not until you add the SEK2500U. This new one connect box provides 4K in Netflix, HDMI 2.0, USB 3.0 and better performance. It also adds two CI slot in the box.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As of Sept 14

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 14, 2014
from tucson az
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: picture quality is the best.
Cons: expensive
Got this despite many bad reviews and all I can say is wow. A couple of things to help you decide. Price is high for this but I wanted to be able to stream 4k as there is still not much content. The uhd video pack 1 does not work with this. The only thing I can gripe about is how to set it up. The quick set up guide they give you is blurry and hard to read. Once it is done update to latest firmware and you should be good to go. The tv seems much faster and more responsive. The hand gestures have been hard to get used to and arnt as sensitive as the older version.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SEK 2500U Performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 2, 2014
from North Royalton, OH, USA
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, great improvement in upconversion, provides capability to receive streamed 4k video, future connectivity for 4k players
Cons: won't convert files on old free samsung 4k drive, netflix app doesn't do 5.1 audio correctly
The 2014 UHD kit did not work properly on 1080P and below resolutions (e.g., very poor/gray blacks and overall lack of contrast) until the new firmware 1140.3 was released the last week of June.
Now that upconversion is working properly, the picture is far superior to what the original F9000 one connect provided. The new processor (Quad Core +) almost doubles the processing power of the original one connect. As well as speeding up the Smart Hub apps, it obviously has a major impact on upconversion. HD Television and Blu Rays are upconverted with significantly more detail, depth, and contrast. Amazing results. I personally would have paid the price of the SEK 2500 for this benefit alone; and it was mainly advertised for providing HDMI 2.0, hev.265, usb 3.0, etc. (which I obviously appreciate for streamed 4k content and hopefully/eventually a 4k player via HDMI 2.0).
Netflix and YouTube 4k videos look good; but their quality obviously isn't the same as what Samsung provided on the free demo drive last year. Unfortunately, despite what the manual says that came with the SEK 2500U; there is nothing available during the "change out" or after that allows the files on the demo drive to be converted to something that will play on the new one connect. Only other con is that the current Netflix app does not do 5.1 audio correctly (I'm sure Netflix will "fix" this problem)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better picture quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Simply outstanding. Greatly improves picture definition and sound quality.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The 1st Upgrade

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 10, 2014
from Texas, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Lightweight, convenience, future proof, neccesary
Cons: might not meet expectations, problem with portable hard drive
I was exited to get this update for my UN55F9000A UHD. After I installed it I found that my portable hard drive wasn't functioning. I'm waiting for this to be corrected as I'm writing this. I'm happy with the new Smart Hub. It seems to be more user friendly. The new smart remote is also very good, but I wish it was of the same material as the original. This review is only a 1st draft and will be amended as I enjoy my UHD in the coming months.
I am not happy about one thing. The up-conversion of content to 4K is not as good as I had hoped with this upgrade. I haven't compared it to the 2014 model, but I don't notice much improvement from the 2013. This needs to be addressed as the competitors do a much better job, at this time at least.
I will add more in the future as my portable hard drive issue is corrected and I use more of the features of this wonderful UHD.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

this product is not doing what it was ment to do

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 7, 2014
from New York, NY, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
If you are buying this kit to watch 4k movies forget it no Netflix after upgrade sad
!!!! And bad for Samsung. This is my third try with this product same problem.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

uhd evolution kit

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 15, 2014
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no netflix, faded blacks
The blacks are washed and aren't deep, the Netflix app isn't available with this upgrade and the screen flickers a lot.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

1 year warranty!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 24, 2014
from London
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: 1 year warranty
Went to buy the SEK-2500U at a Samsung Experience store in London to use with my UE65F9000, but they only offer 1 year warranty.
I have a 5 year warranty on the TV that I bought 6 months ago, so I end up reducing the functional warranty by 3.5 years. If the new box packed up in July 2015 then I end up with a very expensive white elephant in my lounge.
I would recommend it if Samsung can get a decent warranty on the new unit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesn't work for intended purpose

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Houston, TX, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, Did not meet expectations
I bought this so that I could watch Netflix in 4K, but after setup there is no Netflix app. I wasted several hours on support "troubleshooting," but finally they said this is a known issue and need to fix it via software update. They said it would be released "soon" a week ago. Still waiting. The performance of the smart app environment is poor and seems laggy. Picture seem poor as well with the defaults. This box is bright silver, which doesn't match the original. The remote is insubstantial. Not sure how this thing was released without any apparent testing and still not working properly, yet very expensive. Why can't my 6 month old 4K TV stream 4K without this box anyway? Don't waste your money.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

needs A MAJOR FIRMWARE UPDATE

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 10, 2014
from HOUSTON TEXAS
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations
the UN65F9000 was a great tv, till this kit was introduce, the kit washes out the picture quality, blacks look grey..NETFLIX IS NOW MISSING,,,........SAMSUNG PLEASE UPDATE THIS PRODUCT, THEN IT GETS 5 STARS
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does not function properly until new firmware is released

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: upgrade to 2014 technology
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This product suffers from "putting the cart before the horse" scenario. It was released for sale before all the bugs were corrected. It will not function properly until Samsung releases new firmware. Black levels from any HDMI connection are very poor. The USB connections and built in apps perform well. Essentially, it's a defective product until the new firmware is released in (hopefully) the near future.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Is this ready for me to install in the US?

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 4, 2014
from New York, NY, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I bought this and did a google search on experiences and people report that there is no firmware released for the US version?
Why can I buy a product but not be able to install it?
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SEK2500U One Connect Evolution Kit
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Firmware has major bugs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 4, 2014
from Haverhill, MA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, major firmware issues
The added features of this box are very welcome and the new remote with the pointer is very cool. The big issue is that the firmware needs to be updated. Right now it has numerous problems, the major one being you don't get good blacks anymore. Black screens when credits are playing look streaky dark gray for example. The edge lighting and backlighting is too strong now making the picture look more washed out then it did before. When many programs on playing that have medium to dark lighting on the edges on whole screen, I can visibly see the edge lighting on all sides and the boosted corner lighting. The original one connect box did not suffer these image degradation issues. I hope this is fixed soon. I would recommend not upgrading your one connect box until Samsung fixes the problems.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.