Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for a187 Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

a187 Cell Phone

Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
28 out of 36(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for a187 Cell Phone
Review 1 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBryo2010
onJanuary 9, 2012
from DC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
if you are looking for a basic and durable Samsung phone, i would recommend you this one. all basic stuff you'll need are in there. but do not expect it to download any apps!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bypisces38g
onJanuary 1, 2012
from kennesaw
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Puchased this phone over christmas and love it. It is easy to use and the keyboard is a dream. no more touch screens that keep getting the letters wrong.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLife7
onOctober 22, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I just got it and so far it works great im loving it i hope it keeps it up
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A187

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNuchie
onOctober 15, 2011
from Houston,Tx.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cutest and best phone, perfect for texting and all the other features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OMG I LOVE THIS PHONE!!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBre154u
onAugust 28, 2011
from Bailey,nc
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone is amazing. It does everything that I need it to do. I couldn't ask for a better phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMRSWORTHY08
onAugust 4, 2011
from CHICAGO,IL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, the volume
I LOVE THIS PHONE SO MUCH I'M LOST FOR WORDS NOW MY HUSBAND WANT ONE
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFenway
onAugust 3, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone has been fantastic so far.Very easy to use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone For The Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRFM66
onMay 30, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, good sound, lots of features
I needed a phone for my daughter and didn't want to spend a fortune but wanted a phone that had a decent set of features. This phone is perfect for what I wanted. She loves it. It's an excellent value for the money. Can't say how long it will last (she's tough on phones) but we're both very happy with it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
a197 Cell Phone
3.9 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung A+++++

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByScottyH
onApril 22, 2011
from Belton SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
In our household we love Samsung this phone is amazing and so sleek and wonderful!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Value for a Feature Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byphorneker
onMarch 9, 2011
from Michigan City, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, bluetooth for data transfers, microsd card for data storage
Cons: internet is slow where 3g is not available
I purchased this phone mainly for mobile web access where Wi-Fi is not available, and hence serves to complement my laptop. What I got was far more than I bargained for. Not only does it do mobile web access. It has a e-mail client that works with one of my e-mail accounts, a camera whose capabilities exceed what I expect to find on a low-cost feature phone, a microSD port for added memory, and thanks to Bluetooth, I can sync my contacts, photos, and music to my Linux-based laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

product has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybottomlesspit
onDecember 18, 2010
from Reseda, Ca
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I like the fact of unlimited alarms. But I don't like that I can't assign ring tones to messaging so that I know who sent me a message.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone, does what I need it to do

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDee2012
onAugust 9, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I needed a phone that was reliable, simple to use, and was relatively inexpensive. This phone is all of the above. It's just "smart" enough for what I need it to do. Glad I bought it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All the features I need without being a smartphone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydragonflycat
onSeptember 1, 2011
from Saint Petersburg, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, practical, attractive, great for texting, useful appointment organizer, good basic camera, it's a samsung!
Cons: complicated phone-to-computer connection, email capability limited
I have owned this phone for a month and like it very much. After using simple phones for years, I wanted a phone with more features (especially a keyboard), but do not need all the bells and whistles, or extra expenses, of a smartphone. For my uses, this phone is a perfect middle ground. It took a while to learn to use all the features. The Email access is a bit complicated, and I had to purchase a memory card and reader to transfer files between the phone and my computer, which I don't mind. The camera is good. I love the freedom of using a Bluetooth headset for calls. The SMS mobile browser is sufficient for my needs. If you need more features and apps, go with a Samsung smartphone. I like this one.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is too small

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bykctong0903
onAugust 14, 2011
from Fremont, California
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
Keyboard is too small.
The screen is too small.
hardly hear the rings.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So Far So Good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKarenjoy23
onJuly 21, 2011
from Maryland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I just got this phone and overall I've found it to be a good phone. I have had a few calls that wouldn't go through but I don't know if that was the phone itself or the service. Overall I'm satisified with the phone and will update this if things should change.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It is a good phone for the price

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAri2015
onJune 28, 2011
from Haines City, FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
Based on the price it is a good phone, great reception, battery last longer and it is not heavy; it is lightweight. Very easy to use.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPrettyPistolAL
onJune 22, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: web browser is old school
I plan to use this as a temporary phone until time for my upgrade and I definitely think it'll suffice.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent performance and Good Looking

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPcsingh
onJune 19, 2011
from NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, battery life
Cons: not having usb cord in the package, depends on bluetooth to transfer your files, internal memory is limited, 1.3 mp camera
I got this phone 4 weeks back. I like the features and battery life the most. Really Cool one while you carry this phone. You will find most features, you need in smart phone. Value for money phone. Go for it...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cool & Cheap, but Great Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByFormanator23
onMay 5, 2011
from Southeast Louisiana
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: tiny keyboard
This phone is a decently-priced Go-Phone that seems more like a Blackberry & other smart phones. The one & only drawback that I've noticed (so far, anyway), & it almost screams at you, is the tiny keyboard with tiny little keys. I have fairly large hands, so I've never really fully gotten used to it, & I don't think I will ever get a 100% hold on it. But regardless of that one fault, the only design flaw I've noticed, this is a great, easy-to-learn phone. & at a very fair value. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is used to using the 2 cheaper (& not as neat) Go-Phones & wants to upgrade to a better phone with more features & capabilities. It's an easy change.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love the full keyboard

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNelle1
onMarch 30, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: low battery life
This is a really great phone, the calls are clear. No dropped calls. I have dropped this phone many of times and it doesn't have I mark on it. The only thing I don't like about this phone is that my battery dies very fast.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byarianafaith98
onFebruary 12, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: no video
I love this phone i just wish it could take videos and be able to have a signature in text messaging.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the price

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNex2noone
onJanuary 29, 2011
from West Coast
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, good functionality
Cons: unclear menus, inability to connect to computer
For the price, this is a fairly good phone. Call quality is very good and speakerphone function is well above average. Needing a hearing aid compatible phone, this one has all the needed capabilities and functions well. Blue-tooth interface with hearing aids is awesome. Memory card capability unexpected for phone of this price and a great benefit.
On the down side, menu functions leave something to be desired. For example, when taking a picture there is no option shown to simply store the image. Menus unclear on addressing and sending a picture in a message. Inability to connect to computer through phone's USB port an annoyance - must pry the back off and remove micro SD card to transfer photos. Wonder how long before clips holding back fail. Navigation buttons hard to use. Slick surface on keyboard results in many incorrect letters typed when fingernail (which must be used to hit small keys) slips to next key.
Still, given the price, this phone is above average.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent product

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byleomej
onJanuary 9, 2011
from Union City, NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I bought two of these phones. I think they have very good features considering the price I paid for them.
Cam(not a HD at all..but works)
Bluetooth
Full Qwrt keyboard
IM
Mobile Email.
All you need in a phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone for the price...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMom2triplets
onDecember 31, 2010
from Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: can't set text tones
I read online reviews for the a-177 & the a-187 before purchasing and I liked the fact the a-187 had a micro sd slot where the 177 didn't. I've had the a-187 phone abt a month now and it's living up to expectations, the camera takes ok pics but of course there is no flash(what would you expect for the price) and the speaker phone is very loud (quality is ok not the greatest but loud) Unlike the a-177 this phone has REAL bluetooth so that was another plus! I dislike the fact you cannot set text message tones for individuals but I'm getting use to it....all in all it's a step up from the a-177 but you're still getting what you pay for...it ain't no smart phone :)
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

killer phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybuzzman2010
onDecember 18, 2010
from salinas,ca
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def
love yhe music player and my reception is good plus the bluetooth is killer
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Very Decent Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNxtGen21
onDecember 2, 2010
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, decent weight, easily customizeable
Cons: cant customize message tone, no xenon flash for camera
My original phone broke last week, and I ended up needing a replacement phone. I bought this and have not had any problems with it. Yes additional features would have been nice, but the sound quality is good, the texting is easy. Pictures turn out decent enough. This is a very good phone and would not disappoint somebody in need of a phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a187 Review

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJdelski
onJuly 19, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Got this phone as a replacement for an old phone. Used it for almost 2 years. It was a decent phone, but I was noticing a drop in performance about a year after I bought it. I didn't use the internet on this phone since the screen is small. It took me a little while to get used to the small QWERTY keyboard. The talk quality was average, I started to have issues calling people, and loosing signal in my house.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a187 phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrtrdmama
onAugust 18, 2011
from California
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: very complicated to operate
I've had this phone about six months. I like the portability, size, keyboard very much. I'm afraid that the access menu for the programming is not very user friendly; but with perseverance and practice one gets used to it eventually. All in all it's certainly better than the old phone I had and I'll keep it until something better comes along that's in my price range.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bypeebrain
onJuly 11, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
the phone does what I would like...a little slow with bad internet but for phone calls and texts it works great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Basic messaging phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByISUfan4life
onJune 17, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, shortcut bar on home screen very convenient
Cons: keyboard too small
The good news here is that this is a pocket-friendly messaging phone that gives you the basics in a nice lightweight package. Having that full QWERTY keyboard helps make texting and e-mailing easier. In addition, that shortcut bar on the home screen can be customized so that most of the features you will likely use can be accessed without even having to go through the menu. The bad news is that the keyboard is really small and cramped, and the navigation ring around the center button is so thin that it's easy to accidentally hit that center button. With enough practice, however, you can get used to it. For the price, it's a decent phone that gets the job done, but there are better values out there.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysully72
onNovember 13, 2010
from alaksa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
it is an ok phone for college students not as useful for a business phone. I would rather be able to synch it to my computer like my old smartphone
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Wouldn't get it again!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByPhonetechnerd2000
onJuly 29, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, freeze up problem
I got this phone cause my other one broke. It was good at first but then the thing that happens with all my samsungs happened. It locks up and restarts itself whenever i'm doing something like calling and/or texting. For that fact alone is why i'm giving it a low rating. Besides that though, the phone is pretty good!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

So so

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBurti
onJune 27, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have had this phone for just about a week now, and am seriously considering returning it. It is not quick and easy to use. To make a call, I have to arrow over to contacts, press this press that, find the contact, instead of just arrowing down. To text, I have to first find the Message icon, then write the message, then find the contact, press this press that, add select and then finally send it. The software is too cumbersome for me. I haven't yet figured out how to get ringtones off of my computer to this phone. I have to have my assigned ringtones, since I don't want internet access, nor apps, nor any of that fancy stuff.! I have yet to figure out how to put pictures on my friends' numbers. Hmmm may have to find another Razr.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Terrible phone.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByJBRocksalot
onJune 11, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, falls apart easy, bad navigation, poor picture quality
I am very unhappy and disappointed in this phone. It has poor memory. The pictures aren't too good looking. pretty mediocre. It falls apart easy the minute you drop it. The audio recorder is horrid. Its a total pain to navigate this phone. The buttons are tiny and hard to press. Takes a really long time to get use too. It looks like a decent blackberry clone. But all in all its total junk. constantly gets turned off too, in my pocket. Alot of other flaws, but not enough room to put them. All in all, bad phone, i wouldn't recommend it.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice "girl" phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bytickediboughtthisphone
onJune 6, 2011
from OK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, text buttons way too small
I picked up this phone because I text alot. My previous phone was nearly impossible to text with. I bought this one in hopes that it would solve my texting issues. I've had no such luck in that area. Being a male I have large hands, but not huge, and I've found that trying to text using this phone with it's very small buttons is extremely difficult. The t9 feature helps somewhat, but I find myself pushing more than one button which makes misspelling a word common practice, and therefore t9 impractical. I've also noticed that when you go in to create a message, sometimes it starts off the first letter capitalized and sometimes it doesn't. Not sure what's going on with that. To me is seems like this would probably not be a bad phone with a girl that has long finger nails....but most guys I know don't so it's not a very practical phone for that reason.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bylove
onNovember 16, 2010
I am having problems with this phone. Its good to give for teenagers as a first phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

will not charge battery

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bydgh362000
onSeptember 28, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
nice unit until it stops charging.
then it makes a nice paperweight
shows it is charging
acts like it is charging
but as soon as unplugged, it turns off
low battery
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

hate it

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byjakecenter
onJune 25, 2011
from yuba city ca
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
i hate this phone sooo much u cant even change the ringtone when u get a text
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Infuse™ 4G Smartphone
4.4 out of 5(1,246)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A childs play toy

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byraspotvin
onFebruary 4, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This is the worst cell phone I have ever owned. It is poorly built. It feels like a childs toy in your hand. It lacks the basic ability to transfer pictures to a home computer. Who makes a camera phone that can not transfer pictures to a computer??!!.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for a187 Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

broken in two weeks

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByProvkitir
onNovember 20, 2010
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, cannot use usb
cons:
the ear speaker stops functioning in two weeks
you can't change the alert sound of text messages
the camera cannot take nonblurry pictures
phone cannot be directly connected to computer despite usb miniplug
keyboard/buttons less easy to use than the predecessor a177
internet takes forever, really drains battery
limited online support
pros:
full keyboard
cheap
they finally fixed the a177 phone so that the backside doesn't break open on the slightest touch
added SD micro slot from a177
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.