Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for a197 Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

a197 Cell Phone

Rating:
3.87 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
16 out of 23(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for a197 Cell Phone
Review 1 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is so simple and easy to use!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2011
from missouri
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I have had this phone for awhile now, I think its great! I have had samsung phones in the past and have found them to be very reliable. I really appreciate the fact that the phone chargers are all the same!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 3, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Simple and beautifull, all that I need. The applications are usefull as well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Non-Tech operator

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 9, 2011
from Southeast
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I am a low volume user in a wheelchair. My Treo was draining the battery before I had a chance to sometimes call. I get almost a week with usage now, the clarity is much improved, and the extra features appreciated; all at an unbelievable low cost. Well done!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is very easy to use. It was a gift to my fiance'.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 4, 2011
from Honolulu, HI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: none noted
I purchased this phone for my fiance' because the older one he used was antiquated and it could no longer work correctly. This was the BEST purchase I made for a guy who is a retired senior citizen! He likes the fact that he can read the instruction manual and actually figure out the phone's capabilities without me having to do it for him. The phone is slim, light-weight, has a camera (handy for any recording of vehicle accidents), the ring tone is loud enough to hear in noisy areas (construction, restaurants) and it is very simple to use for 'senior' citizens. Thank you for such a fantastic product!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 23, 2011
from TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am one that doesn't need a lot and bells and whistles when it comes to a phone. But I got way more than I paid for with the purchase of this phone. I have never own a Samsung phone and I am now a fan!
I bought the Go phone because my phone broke and I'm waiting for an upgrade to get a new phone. But since my purchase I am considering using my upgrade for a Samsung Smartphone.
Excellent quality for not so much money. Great job Samsung! In this case, I got way more than I paid for!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best phone, best price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 21, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to use, great appearance
Excellent phone, easy to handle, simple to use, no contract since purchased as a go-phone even though I have an AT&T account. The battery is super charged and stays alive all week through multiple calls a day. Many features I don't use. All I need is a phone! This one is my favorite.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for what I need

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2011
from Stroudsburg, PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone was an upgrade from a Nokia go phone. Like it much better because it opens and is larger. Am still getting used to it because I don't use it too often (just emergencies or while on vacation). The only cons I've found so far is the volume button on the side and using the # key to get the symbols to use in text messages.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Luv my Samsung:3

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 18, 2011
from WV
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Im completely satisfied with my phone. I would recommend this one to someone that has low income because it is affordable and u can do just as much with this phone as u can any other.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 26, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I like the product cause its inexpensive. I don't have the web and text support so i cann't answer none of those but i use it as my personal phone and it is very good. i have no problem with the sound the numbers are big enough for me to see. i would recommend this phone to anybody the only thing is i wish there was a clip holder for this phone.that is only thing.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 5, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Very good product and I would reccommend it to anyone. Especially if you are interested in a pay as you go phone
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Little Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2010
from Sandy Springs, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, features
This was an upgrade AT&T GoPhone for me and when I saw it on display at the local AT&T store next to similar phones, I was hooked. The clarity of color and text was such an improvement over what I had (and, though it has a small screen, because of the viewing quality, it was better than some of the larger and more expensive phones I looked at); even the camera was better than what I had and took some nice pictures. While this is certainly not a high-end phone, for me this has been the right choice. It feels good in the hand and the keypad is easy to use for texting. I love it. And, for the price, this was a find.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to Use

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 22, 2012
from Washington, DC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Pros: Inexpensive
I gave this phone to my 94 year old great-aunt, she was able make calls with ease.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good basic phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Good phone and since I like flip open type phones that works for me. I don't want a Smart Phone. The only real 2 cons with this phone is:
---The option for how to answer a incoming call always reverts back to the default setting when you turn the phone off. Samsung says this is a shortcoming in the phone.
---The other con is the very poor camera.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SGH-A197

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 8, 2011
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
This was a replacement over the A137 that did not last long. I have had this A197 for a month and like it so far. The battery charge last a long time, more than any phone I have had before. Has a camera also is a plus
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A solid phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, excellent battery life, good call quality, reception
This is a very good phone for the price. The call quality is better then some of the more expensive phones I have had. I gave the battery a 14 hr. charge when I first got it, and it has lasted for days. The phone has a limited amount of features, a fairly small internal display with only average color, and a not so good VGA camera. However, my priority is a phone that does the basic things that a phone should do, and this phone does them very well. I also like the 0.24 Sar Value on this phone, since nobody knows if cell phones are causing long term damage.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

large numbers are a plus

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2011
from Central Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Phone is confusing to me, too many steps to accomplish a goal. I was a little disappointed in the main display setup.
The address book is very confusing to add numbers on.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

All the basics but a few flaws

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 11, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: button placement
I bought this one for my prepaid service (gophone) as a basic phone with no extra frills, that's pretty much all I need. It is a good value for the money for that purpose. I really like that when you input a number to dial, it shows up really large on the screen. the call quality is fine. The battery holds a charge quite a long time. It is pretty easy to learn how to use it.
WHAT I DON'T LIKE ABOUT IT: 1) the center button, the one that is the easiest to see and to press, instantly connects you to the internet, which I do not use. Since I am on prepaid, it deducts form my balance every time I push that button by mistake. 2) The buttons on the outside edge are for adjusting volume, but if you accidently press that when you pick up the phone to answer, it rejects the incoming call. These buttons are located exactly where you would intuitively hold the phone to flip it open, and it is easy to press by mistake. 3) The display on the outside only lights up if a call comes thru or if you open the phone, so you can't use it to check the time, date, battery level or coverage bars. (Maybe those outside buttons should turn this on.) 4) The size of the text on the screen is really small except when you are dialing a number. 5) Haven't figured out how to get photos off the camera on to my computer to save.
OVERALL Pretty easy to use basic phone with good quality but a few irritating design flaws.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Front Display Feature

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 4, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: front disply feature
The only issue with this phone is the front display does not stay illuminated after you close the cover, design flaw in my opinion.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice phone for price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 24, 2011
from Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
i just recently received my phone and it is a nice value for the money. I don't like that I can't access the front screen to see the time without opening the phone. It would also be nice if you could assign different message tones to people for text messages.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Do not buy this phone unless you have no other choice.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 21, 2012
from Ohio, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, has no cd & usb cable for file transfers, almost impossible to add a unique ring tone
Only buy this phone if you don't mind bad ring tones and intend to have it plugged in most of the time for only occasional phone call use. If you don't have internet on this phone you can not do much of anything on it. When attempting to move files (pictures, ring tones, etc) from a computer to the phone and vice versa the computer must have bluetooth hardware & software (unless you want to break the phone apart, take out the SIM card, then go through a lengthy process of adding pictures that way). There is no driver available to download that can help you with this problem. If you buy this phone and take pictures you probably won't be able to take them off the phone. Also a problem for if you want to add your own ring tone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product was a disappointment

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 30, 2011
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poorly engineered
Major problem is that although the phone constantly shows 3+ bars, it also shows the no connection icon. If I try and call out when in this state I keep getting a message telling my only emergency calls can be made; I know the coverage in the area I am in, so the phone was very poorly engineered.
Also, there is no way to change the Font Size (when entering a phone number the size is 18-20, it takes 3 lines to display the number on the screen)- and to make it worse one of the FAQ;s asks about this and the an the answer has nothing to do with Font size.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Falls short of expectations

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2011
from Pacific Northwest
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor call performance, not plug & play, no pc software available to manage phone with
Bought to replace a phone that frequently drops calls since I am not eligible for an upgrade. Slight improvement, but doesn't perform as well as my wifes Samsung phone (different model).
There is no way to access this phone from my computer to manage the ringtones, photos & other files - what's up with that?
Slight operational improvement plus lack of ways to manage it make it a waste of time and money. Looking forward to my upgrade in October so I can throw this one away.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for a197 Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 27, 2011
from MARLBORO NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, horrible
when I call out I was told I sound like a robot. I will get bars and not be able to have anyone hear me percent of the time..horrible manufacturing ...DO NOT GET THIS PHONE...I PROMISE YOU WILL BE DISSAPPOINTED
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.