Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for a237 Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

a237 Cell Phone

Rating:
3.056 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
7 out of 18(39%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for a237 Cell Phone
Review 1 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good used phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 23, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no speaker phone setting
I recently purchased my Samsung SGH-A237 cell phone & have been very satisfied with it. I have had Samsung phones in the past & feel that they are above the rest in quality & price. The only thing that is missing is a speaker phone setting which I would like to have included.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung is the BEST

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 22, 2009
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have several Samsung products. All have been trouble free of products. Thanks Samsung....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2012
Very good unit it served its purpose with no complaints for 3 yrs.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 26, 2011
from los angeles
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not ideal for web or email
Having used cell phones for 25 years I have used many different types. If you want a simple, inexpensive cell phone that you occasionally use for email or text, this is your best bet. It is very light (featherweight), one of the smallest available and the battery seems to last for a long time for phone use. It has clean look, the front window provides the time in large characters and the voice is clear on both ends. Overall a great value and great phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good small phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 15, 2011
from Ohio
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, small
This phone does what it should do, it makes good phone calls. Works great with my car. All I can say to the negative reviewers is read the manual.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple, basic phone.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 2, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I LOVE this phone. It's fast, and has everything I need. The camera has pretty good quality for a cell phone camera. It's also small and very hard to scratch or dent ;) Great starter phone, in my opinion.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

worst phone ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 4, 2010
from Lewisburg,KY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is the worst phone I have had. One you can not talk on the phone with bluetooth or head phones,the phone has to be open if you close this phone it hangs up the call. I spoke with the samsung and they said all of there flip phones do this. I like just a basic phone how hard is that.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't Get This Phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2009
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I had this phone for about a year and it worked okay but it would drop calls if i hit a wrong button on the side while opening it. I had it in my pocket while I was moving stuff and when I went to open it afterwards the inside screen was broken while there is no damage to the outside screen. I have yet to know how this happened.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

soft keys on side hang up calls

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2009
from odessa tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Again, THE SOFT KEYS ON THE SIDE DISCONNECTS CALLS, and to my knowledge, can't be disabled.... Previous phones I could bypass this irritation by checking "answer only flip open" Not on this model, now every time i touch the phone it hangs up on who ever is calling.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good looking but not intuitive to operate

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 28, 2009
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is the most difficult phone out of the 10 I have owned. Specifically, if you touch the volume control as you open the phone to answer a call, the call is dropped, It has very little room to hold onto the phone when it is in the open position.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

disappointed

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 3, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
First Samsung phone & it will be my last. This phone looks great - but the functionality is very poor. You have to go through 8 different steps just to send a text message every time (unless you're replying). All my previous mobile phones were much simpler to use in that regard. Also, the texting background is black with white fonts - very difficult to read - and no option to change that.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

lousy documentation

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 22, 2011
from California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, bluetooth
Cons: Did not meet expectations
the phones icons are too small and the manuals text is the same. Takes nice pictures but can not send them to anyone. I bought this phone as it was stated to be compatible with T-Mobile as I have a prepaid plan. I can only make calls, recieve calls and use the voice messening. Can not access other t-mobile features. Phone is hard to use.. Would not recommend for service other than AT-n-T.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Horrible

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2009
I got my phone in October of 09, and it's only December 09, and my buttons don't work.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not very good phone, but adequate if you do not us

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 29, 2009
from Massachusetts
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The phone is probably adequate if you don't have to use a cell phone many times.. The light goes out so fast that it is impossible to program anything.before the screen goes black. The users manual is very poor in its directions as well.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! WORST EVER!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have had this (not) lovely phone for coming up on two years.
I hate it with a passion.
I got this phone Christmas of 2008. I was quite happy with it. AT FIRST! Quickly, I realized just how terrible it was. Texting is incredibly difficult and the phone is so tiny, it very easily for it to slip out of your hand.
Thus, it get scratched a lot. It takes a good thirty to forty seconds to turn on, and the memory is extremely limited. As for the camera... Well, it's awful. The pictures are low quality. Even when I first got mine, it did not hold a charge for very long. The only thing I like is the red color.
Overall, this phone has epically failed. Do not buy it for yourself, your husband or wife, your children, or even your dog. It is a waste of money. This, by far, is the worst AT&T phone availible.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

horrible

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 15, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Phone and manual is to complex and very little help. Might as well be a foreign lanuage. I can't even get simple instructions to answer a voice message. If it wasn't a work phone, I'd toss it!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for a237 Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I will never buy another Samsung phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 10, 2010
To do anything on this phone is overly complicated. I downloaded the instruction manual and it was not help at all. I am still trying to find out how to add an email address to send a photo to. My old Motorola was so simple and straightforward compared to this phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for a237 Cell Phone
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.