Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone

Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
11 out of 17(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2012
from Covington, Louisiana
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I really like this phone, but now I have the Samsung Galaxy II, and I like it even better!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 19, 2011
from Indianapolis, IN
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I wanted a phone that had a full keyboard, no touch screen, could still access the web and, of course, make phone calls. This phone does all of the above and a little more and does it VERY well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great phone very durable and long battery life. Love it its absolutely amazing!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 25, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy of use
great in all ways,easy of use,great looking and lightweight.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT TEXTING PHONE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 25, 2010
from Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
This phone is great even in areas where theres a chance u wont get a cell signal. and when it gets that one bar, the txt msg ZOOMZ to it's destiny. It's VERY fast, although no custom txt tones. Not a big deal.. I can do without that. It's a great phone and I am recommending it to my family members who are on a plan with AT&T when they upgrade to get this phone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2009
from Canton, OH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My first QWERTY keyboard phone. I thought the buttons may be too small. But the way it is designed, it is very east to type.
I really like the phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Magnet review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: camera is blurrier
The magnet I thought was a good phone . The keyboard on the phone enabled me to do texts easier than with the old cell phone designs. One of the gripes is that some of the pictures you take with the cameraphone become blurrier after you take the pictures.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2010
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have had the magnet for about 7 months now. I have no major complaints. It doesn't take as good of pics as my sync did, but I got it to talk and text. I can type faster than the keyboard can keep up sometimes, but there again it's a phone, not a computer. It is way lighter than it looks. I have had no problems with it. I would recommend it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good and cheap

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2010
first qwerty phone really like the price and the design. love the keyboard.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

magnet phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 3, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
good little phone lite weight ,keyboard little small (if you have big hands) like the full querty keyboard. Not a good preformace phone wont get out inside buildings hardly at all (loses signal in walmart lol) overall a good phone for the price
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Samsung SGH-A257 - not long lasting

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2010
from Mobile, Al
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: reception bad, only holds limitd # of texts, pictures are small and not very clear
I have had this phone for 15 months - the back comes off and my battery falls out, if its in my bag or purse - it could be hours before I realize its not on. Also - It drops calls,sound is not so hot and cuts it self off. While taking pics - even with a steady hand - the pics come out blurry.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Magnet

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2009
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My first full keyboard phone and I really like the keyboard. It is more difficult to learn the features than any phone I have ever used. My one real problem is I cannot get the keyboard silenced. I would not recommend this phone to a beginner. I don't think I will keep it long. The phone works great when you figure out the features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Having a rough time

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 1, 2010
from Indiana
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Enjoy the look, feel and texting on the phone, but am very disappointed that a bluetooth headset is the only device that can be connected via bluetooth. I live for moving files and contacts between phones. I realize I could purchase a data cable, but sometimes there is no guarantee that it will work. I would heavily suggest developing another version of firmware for this device.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice phone but comes apart too easily

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2010
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I bought this for my niece and she really liked it for a few hours. It simply came apart (back fell off, battery fell out) when she was using it. We returned it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Basic / Beginner Texter

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 9, 2010
from South Florida
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Having had Samsung phones before, I was somewhat surprised by the Magnet after receiving it.
I needed a phone with a Qwerty keyboard for work, and while the keyboard looked small in the photos, I thought I would give it a shot. The kb is tiny, and I mean tiny. I don't have very large hands, but it is not uncommon to hit the wrong key on this phone. There are a few dedicated shortcut keys wedged in at the bottom, but I feel this adds clutter to an already cramped kb. For those that like to store music or photos, you will be limited by internal memory, as there is no micro SD card slot available. Speaking of photos, I am not a huge fan of cell cameras, but like to have something for that "emergency" moment, probably more so then I would like to admit. The camera on-board the Magnet though seems like something the Marketing dept. begged the Tech dept. to include at the last moment. At less than 1 megapixel the camera is in the dark ages compared to other phones with 2 - 5 MP. The display is also an area I found lacking. Pictures (I send a fair amount of multimedia) tend to be somewhat grainy and text is not as sharp as my last Samsung. Screen size is nice, but if I can't see what I'm looking at what's the use. I also wish the phone had some social apps as what are starting to appear on other phones.
Some positives on the phone include well working IM and call quality was usually very good. For three months of use the phone seemed sturdy enough.
As the title indicates, the Magnet is probably a good choice to give as a gift for someone that sends an occasional text. It is not a business use or mid to heavy texting phone by any means. If you're buying a phone with a Qwerty kb, that probably means most of us. Not a bad phone, but quite a bit of opportunity in several areas for improvement.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WORST PHONE EVER

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 29, 2010
Poor quality, hard to use and nagvigate, drops off line. just a rotten phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biggest Mistake EVER

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2010
from Lake Forest, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This phone is the worst purchase EVER. You can press a key and it wont type a letter, it is slow, doesn't multitask well AT ALL. AVOID AT ALL COSTS! I recently shut my phone off, and my phone lock password doesn't work now, and I can not access my phone. I have only had this phone for a little under 6months and it is already giving me more problems than it has other than the freezing and restarting.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samsung Magnet™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.