Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone

Rating:
3.891 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
9
47 out of 64(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ringer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byshopper12
onNovember 11, 2012
from pa.
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, can take rough use
Cons: poor ringer
Have had tis phone for over 6 years has the same battery andstill working . You can drop it over 8 ft and keeps working . Great for on the work site . The only thing i have with phone is the ringer is not very loud hart to hear at times .Ihave the yellow one easy yo find droped .
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Duke would be proud!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrhp122
onOctober 19, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I'm telling you this is one heck of a phone. I have spilled iced tea and forgot the phone was setting in the puddle. I have dropped it on concrete floors. I have thrown it at the wall; and the occasional person. I have dropped it with the face open. After two years I have a few scratches, one dent and that is about the extent of the damage. I don't know if I could ever get a new phone.
"Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid."
John Wayne
'Life is hard; it's harder if you don't own a Samsung.'
R. Phillips
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Tough Phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMiddleSchoolCrazy
onSeptember 20, 2012
from Killeen, Texas: home of America's Heros
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
This isn't the best phone to use to text or surf the net. But, if you need a phone that will work when you need it, this is your phone.
I sweat a lot. I have shorted out every phone that I have ever owned, except this one. I have made it through two summers with my Rugby and it has never missed a beat.
I'm also fairly clumsy. My Rugby has been dropped, kicked, stepped upon, and washed. Still keeps going.
I teach 6th and 7th graders. When they see my phone the laugh and tell me that it is "old school." They become believers when I wash it in the sink or drop it on the floor. They can't do that with their "fancy" phones. My Rugby is like me, old, fat, and ugly. But, we both keep chugging along.
Rugby, the Jeep of phones.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Durable and Dependable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysso1408
onSeptember 2, 2012
from Sarasota, FL
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have had my Rugby for 4 years now. It has survived swimming pools, ocean waters, buried in the sand, and dropped on the pavement from a moving car just to name a few incindents that would have killed ANY of my past phones.
Best phone I have ever had!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I need, nothing I don't, but not perfect.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRickyA
onJuly 31, 2012
from FL
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, battery life, music phone features
Cons: volume control, slow to navigate music folders, poor camera/functionality
This phone has been with me for a very long time. It is seldomly used for talking and texting, but employed primarily as a tough, full-time MP3 player. The battery life as such at near full volume tends to be over eight hours continuous which is outstanding. In regular use it is not uncommon to leave the phone be for several days and still have some battery life. It gets wet about every other day in the summertime on my bike and has no issues handling it. It has been dropped repeatedly as well and has only light scratches to show for it. With an 8GB memory card it handily carries my 90+ hour playlist. The buttons are just large enough to not get easily fumbled for people with man-sized fingers.
The cons are few. Some menu functions are slow to access. The volume control needs finer steps. It works fine through external sound systems but is inadequate for headphone use. The battery cover needs to be carefully installed or it will pop off at inopportune times. If the phone is closed while it is busy it will lock up. The speaker cover is delicate and caved-in almost immediately (though a purely cosmetic issue). The rubberized coating also wears off over time. The camera is also pretty rudimentary and its functions are relatively slow to access.
If there was one thing I really wanted to change it would be to add the ability to search music files by text. It is VERY slow scrolling through the menus searching for songs/artists. The alternative is creating a multitude of playlists which is a task in itself.
Overall it has suited my needs well and it's been nice not having to disassemble it, allowing it to dry out after a wet ride like my previous phone. The fact that it still looks relatively new after all these years is a testament to it's ruggedness. I think the Rugby II or perhaps a Rugby smartphone is in my near future.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

one of the best

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTheTexan1960
onJuly 23, 2012
Pros: Durable
this has been one of the best phones i have used on the job
i have been working in Iraq and Afghanistan for about 8 years and have gone through several phones because of the dust and sand but with this phone i don't have to worry about it have had it for about 5 years now and still works well
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

durable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywnmm
onJune 20, 2012
from usa
Pros: Durable
Cons: ringer needs to be louder
a ruff mans phone has held up well after 2 years it is still going fine
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHONOLULU
onFebruary 14, 2012
from HONOLULU
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, d.o.t. yellow
Cons: sold out, more colors
BEST AVAILABLE IN AREA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone (Have the Yellow one)

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydkgunte
onDecember 19, 2011
from Colorado Springs, CO
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, easy to spot yellow color
This has got to be the most durable phone I have ever owned. I have had it just over 2 years now and it is still going strong. Yes, there are bumps, bruises and scratches on the outside, but everything still functions as if it were new. This phone has been dropped several times, and immersed in water (not intentionally) on a few occasions with no issues.
Like another reviewer said, I might have to purchase another one just in case this one bites the dust. I don't need a smartphone, and probably never will. This phone is simply awesome.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best phone overall, and not disposable like many

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byftlbear
onDecember 4, 2011
from DFW, Texas
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: can be difficult to learn the features.
While this cell phone can be difficult to figure out some of the features, it has everything and more that is needed, and holds up very well. I just purchased my second one after 3 years, but only because I wanted to make sure I would be able to get the same model if needed. The first one works perfectly!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Phone I Ever Had

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLAzyPD
onSeptember 19, 2011
from Los Angeles, CA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Not high def
This is the longest lasting phone I have ever had and It's still going strong. Durability is my most important factor when deciding what phone to buy. This one has lasted.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The "Superman" of Phones

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySnickybaby
onMay 23, 2011
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
I have owned my Rugby for 5 years now, and I will most definitely be buying another one once this one has had it. I work outside on a farm and at a zoo, and am constantly going hiking, biking, horseback riding, etc, and I am not the most careful person in the world. I had been through 3 phones in two years before I got this one. My Rugby, in particular, has been dropped (from as high as 12 feet), thrown, kicked, stepped on by horses, run over on gravel by a Gator, dropped in a creek, spent all night outside in a thunderstorm, and has been run over (open) by several cars and a tractor/trailer, among other things. It still functions just fine and remains intact, no broken screen or hinges or speakers (I do have a rubberband around the bottom of it as I did recently break off one of the catches in the back cover, but the lock still keeps the back cover in place without the rubberband). If you don't need a smart phone and you want something that you don't have to coddle like a delicate butterfly, this phone is AWESOME! For people like me, I reccommend the yellow version as it is easy to spot if you lose it outside (which I have done on many occassions while trail-riding). Best phone ever!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Love this Phone!!!! Highly recommended!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrandyswmn
onMay 15, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, water resistence
I got this phone as an upgrade, I read a review about this phone and thought yeah right. It said the woman had washed and dried her husband's phone and she took from the dryer and used it. I am now a believer! I left my phone outside on the porch railing during a torrential downpour for approximately 15-20 minutes at which point I missed it's whereabouts. My husband ran out and grabbed it came back in with water pouring out of it and handed it to me, I opened it and it was still working> I shut it down at this point and waited overnight for it to dry out and fired it right back up the next morning! To this day I have had no problems whatsoever with this phone. Simply amazing!!!! The only problem I have with this phone is the PTT button getting accidently pushed sometimes. Highly Recommended!!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product takes a licking and keeps on ticking

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKathy7424
onFebruary 6, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
I accidentally washed my phone in my jacket pocket and then dried it. It was dry when we took the battery out that night and by morning it was working just like normal. Thanks for making such a tough phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytntshow
onJanuary 16, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: low ring tone
I like everything about this phone except one thing, the ring could be louder, the phone only go's to 7 should go to a 10.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone! It has survived the commitment period!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byponderman
onJanuary 7, 2011
from Los Angeles, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, dependable
Cons: poor web browsing
I'm a coffee machine service technician and I perform my duties in all kinds of weather. From 120+ heat both dry and humid, to freezing, rainy, windy and snowy. I've gone through several sturdy looking big name phones that soon became paper weights. My Samsung Rugby though, is a real trooper. Never a complaint other than a seemingly insignificant crack in the plastic on one of the hinges. My only wish is for better web browsing.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySusanIsAlive
onNovember 15, 2010
from Crescent City, CA USA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, great phone, recommend to friend
Cons: not really for webbers or texters
It is sad I had to change cell providers because this phone was and is great and not offered by my new provider. I still use it for many functions other than a phone. It is durable, and the best phone I ever had. The deal is, if you are a texter, or webber and just want to show off, this might not be the phone for you. Yet if you want a well functioning, high quality great phone. This is it! Oh, the numbers are big and the speaker function is the best. If my cell provider offered this phone, I would get it again. It is (for me) water, drop and just "me" resistant. I hope this is helpful!
P.S. Somehow the web wants to say I would not recommend this to a friend. However, I WOULD recommend this to a friend or someone in the store.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yea Samsung!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRickrack
onOctober 24, 2010
from So Cal
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, waterproof
Cons: hard to read screen in direct sunlight
I picked this phone because it is durable and waterproof enough for me. No more loosing a phone due to water...you know... that stuff that covers most of the earth and we have to have it to live? Well I now have a phone that can live with it too!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tough Guy Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRover
onJuly 16, 2010
from Ground Zero NYC, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Not the easiest phone to use, but its built to be TOUGH, water resistant, drop proof, yellow color is easy to find in a tent or in the grass. Mil Spec phone is not for everyone, much like Camel Filters! GPS PTT just call in the air strike.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Phone Ever Purchased

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKExnicios
onFebruary 19, 2010
from New Orleans, La.
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This phone holds up under any conditions, I am a EMT and have dropped this phone numerous times with no problems.
Has a nice big screen thats easy to read. wish volume would go louder but thats the only issue found.
Would recommend to any buyer with no regret
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

rugged , great battery life ,last of the flip

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byraddog
onJanuary 19, 2010
from naples , fl
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
so far preatty rugged , have had the best battery life . it is one of the last of the flip phones . i used to only use motoroloa ,but this phone may sway me.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone

ByWVHunter129
onJanuary 6, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I upgraded my AT&T contract and chose this phone. This is the best phone I have owned. Yes the battery life from the original charging is quick to be depleated but, after several charging cycles the battery life is great. Of course if you do a lot of browsing on the internet or leave the bluetooth on the battery life is shorten, but that should be expected.
I have had no issues or complaints with my phone. I really like the PTT feature and use it when hunting.
I would recommend this phone to anyone who wants a rugged phone that does it all.
Great job Samsung!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best flip phone by far

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDoos
onDecember 12, 2009
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is the most durable and functional flip phone I have ever seen, absolutely works perfect in every function. However, the battery life is very insufficient for this phone. It barely last 24 hours on standby and less if used for calls or just playing with. Other than the lack of a extended life battery it's perect.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMOBob
onDecember 6, 2009
from Mid America
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Perhaps I am not as tough on a phone as others, but this is the best phone that I have had in 15 years. It is right on technically, above average for durability and if there was a negative, it might be the incoming voice. I am stuck on Samsung after years of Motorola junk.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

greatest phone ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjusttuffjohn
onNovember 19, 2009
from houston,texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This summer I went thru 3 cell phones in four weeks I sweat a lots I tried different phone cases I tried wearing them on my side not in my top shirt pocket I am a Mechanic that didn't work. Then I heard about the SGH-a837 saw it on Youtube in a underwater test bought it the next day had for 4 month drop it, got it wet, sweat to my underwear, and it's still WORKS FINE FINALLY a REAL PHONE.........thanks SAMSUNG
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rugby review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybhh54
onAugust 8, 2009
from Tennessee
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have been using the Rugby for 8 months and it has been a great phone. The battery life is exceptional. The speaker on this phone makes it so versitile and hands free when driving or just keeping me from having to have a phone to my ear all the time. The music player is perfect with earphones or just using the speaker on the phone. This phone is tough as well since it is made with military specifications. Being able to record notes or photos and extract them to my PC is easy with the Samsung Studio software and phone to PC cable.
Two other family members have purchased this same phone and are equally as happy with theirs. The multiple color options are nice. It is nice not having to worry about breaking the phone since it is so tought. It should last a long time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+62points
67of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great value for money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrootfoo
onAugust 7, 2009
I intentionally dumped in water and had zero problems, tried it under the sun nothing dropped it is like new not even scratched. BT works like a charm, great vioce quality signal and battery. FINALLY a phone that looks and does what a phone should do ..and not an mp3 player/tv/playstation etc... highly recommended!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+40points
40of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Durable that AT&T Offers

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByStuckindos
onApril 18, 2009
Great phone for a construction worker. I use to go through moto's like candy. Too bad more manufacturers don't go back to durability and resilience.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Phone

ByDanB
onJanuary 14, 2009
from Madison, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
I like this phone a lot. I cannot complain on much. Most features are just fine. The phone works well. There are two areas that can be improved, and those are the external display and the front speaker cover. The external display can be brighter and more useful, and the front speaker cover scratches and dents very easily (somewhat contrary to the overall ruggedness). I am very happy with this phone, however.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tough nut 2 crack

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByFrancois
onJanuary 4, 2009
from Chicago Il.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Sought this model for it's toughness , due to my job as a trash collector.But what impressed me , even after 2 months on the job , was something that happened while working at home ! While replacing an ejector (sump) pump outside my house , accidentally knocked the Rugby into the septic tank, a 12 ft. drop to a rocky bottom , covered by 2 ft.of untreatd sewage ! Fully submerged in blech ! for over 10 minutes . After a thorough disinfecting was working as promised , not even needing dismantling to dry out ! So thanks , Samsung , for a product that surpasses its billing !
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLester
onDecember 25, 2008
from EDMOND OK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This phone is great,Well worth the money.Music player is great with bluetooth stereo headset
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE THIS PHONE!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBixx561
onNovember 29, 2008
from USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
It stays where you put it including in your hand, no slipping. EXTREMELY Tough, Water "Proof", Accurate GPS, BIG Numbers, 1000 contacts - what else can you ask for. Just a little big, but it is still a GREAT phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best decisions Ive made!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bycarly1973
onOctober 27, 2008
from Dallas, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Ive got twins and they love phones, so this has been the best decision Ive made lately... Its pretty tough when it comes to them... not to mention it is very simple to use!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byxraytkr
onAugust 28, 2012
from Lewisburg, WV
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Nice phone, easy to use. The only complaint is that the PTT button is positioned in a bad place. It is too easy to push this button by mistake.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smash Proof! !

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKEVINfromHB
onApril 3, 2012
from Bakersfield CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I am a construction worker, and am as hard on a phone as anyone should be (and then some) Most of my phones are ready to be replaced within 6 months.
I have had the Rugby for over a year now, and it is strong as day one. Yes...scratched and broken in, but there is not one thing that is non-functioning. I actually dropped if from my hand to the floor, and I was on a 16' ladder, and when I got to the ground, my wife was wonderong if I had fallen too! (She was so worried!)
So if you need a phone for difficult situations, this is THE ONE.!!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good could be better

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMaul4MeII
onJuly 9, 2011
from Dayton, OH
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, design is cool
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I like the idea of a hearty near indestructible phone as I need one that isn't easy to break. This phone has outlived my last two phones it made it to about 2 years. My 1 year daughter found a way to break it though she used the speaker to cut her front teeth and now I can only get speaker phone on it. I guess they don't make baby proof phones, oh well, I like the hearty looks of this phone but still not strong enough for me.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Most durable cell phone I've owned

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymaxinde56
onMay 30, 2011
from OR
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, good volume
I've been through several cell phones, since 1991. This is the first digital cell phone I've owned that meets all of my needs, and survives the punishment I accidently inflict on it. And the speaker is actually loud enough to use; unlike the NOKIA I owned.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Too many features

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysamsphonerev273
onFebruary 16, 2011
from Texas panhandle
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Cons: un reprogramable buttons
The phone works great. Charge last a long time, and has good covereage in fringe areas.
I wanted a phone for phone only, I did not need the additional fetures (GPS, internet, PTT, etc). My plan charges extra for use of these fetures. My only complaint is the buttons to activate these fetures can not be truned off, causing additional step of saying no wehn I acidentaly hit the button.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very well made

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTM12
onOctober 26, 2010
from FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Very sturdy construction for a flip phone. You'll never worry about breakage due to drops or hard bumps like most other flip phones. Display is bright and easy to read and buttons are large for ease of use. Would highly rate this phone if you prefer flip type phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

FONT Size for texting is too small

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBadVision
onOctober 5, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I wish the FONT size could be adjusted for texting as I have trouble seeing the tiny characters.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tractor Damage

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByRusty44
onJuly 19, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I was using a tractor and grader blade to smooth the gravels of my driveway. I realized that my phone had fell out of my pocket. I found it by going in the house and getting my house phone and calling it. I heard it ringing under a flattened pile of wet gravels. I dug it out hoping it was not damaged, but I found that I had ran it over and dragged it through the blade. I took it in the house and literally washed it off under the tap. Amazingly it still works, and i was able to save all my data. The screen is cracked just a little and the cosmetic appearance is ruined. Happily I can say it still works but it looks like it has been ran over with a tractor.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent and Tough...but missing a few things

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBenmoshe
onMarch 21, 2010
from Reno, NV
I found this phone to be excellent in most areas. However, there are a few items that SamSung needs to address. First of all, this phone needs to have a universal head set jack; secondly, the volume is not nearly loud enough, even on their "outdoors" setting & the door to the battery compartment is secured on the bottom only by two tiny plastic fingers that give away easily. Don't use velcro on the back of the phone to secure it to the dashboard...you will probably pull the door off of the phone. Otherwise, it is a very good choice.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great phone but

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bygwp1957
onJanuary 27, 2010
from georgia
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is one of the better phones I have owned, the only problem I have is does not ring loud and earpiece won't turn up loud have tried to turn up just won;t doit. If you work around any machine running would not advise to purchase
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

so close....but not quite

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bymarko
onJanuary 5, 2009
I wanted this to be my perfect phone, I really did...
Samsung/ATT was so close on this one to having a phone for us weekend warriors/DIY/outdoor guys...but as Maxwell Smart said,"Missed it by that much." The good? Obviously, made to Mil Spec, mp3 player, large buttons, gps capable, lanyard clip, PTT, camera. All work as they should. Where Samsung missed was on the no brainer things to me that should be on a Mil Spec rugged phone, like: FM or weatherband radio with standard headphone jack, built in flashlight, built in compass and above all.... a battery life and standby about twice what the rugby has. I know I'm not the only guy who wants to hit the trail Friday to camp, kayak and fish for the weekend WITHOUT browsing the web, NOT downloading video but still wanting to track the weather and know which direction I'm hiking and find my keys in the dark. While the Rugby did seem to have better call quality, reception and slightly better battery life than the closest competitor, the other phone did make it a tie with the features the Rugby lacks... So come on Samsung....
How about the Rugby version 2 in time for fathers day?
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice rugged phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBurt81
onDecember 4, 2008
from Ponca City, OK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bought this phone for its advertised durability about a month ago. It does seam to be a rugged well built phone. The only this I don't like about the phone is that the front display is impossible to see outdoor. The Main display is OK outdoors but I have seen better displays for outdoor viewing. And there is no permanent clock feature on the front display like there was on my Motorola. I'm surprised the front display was not better designed considering this phone is marketed towards people who work and play outdoors. Other than the front display this is an excellent phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Conditional recommendation

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bykiwiham
onMarch 11, 2012
from New Zealand
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, can't adjust main menu
We are in New Zealand farming and over half the features on the front screen are redundant (maps, PTT, internet etc). Frustration that cannot remove them. We have had no issues with the physical performance - but the battery is pretty poor life and needs a daily charge. Need to have one that can handle a rough time and this has meet the challenges well.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytdj95225
onMarch 28, 2011
from Vincennes, IN
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: front screan crystal breaking
For a construction phone why do we have a outside crystal? its hard to see in the sun and I have gone threw 3 of them because I keep breaking the outside Crystal. I would pay more for one without the little front screan. But other than that great phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Battery Life Lacking

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByJOHNP
onDecember 29, 2009
from Central Oklahoma
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
While on standby, this phones battery drains to zip in less than 4 hours, this phone really needs an extended long life battery. I've had warranty replacement on the first Rugby in less than 1 month. On speed dial, will not dial on #2, or #8. Incoming speaker is also lacking on volume, however the Blue Tooth works great, so I use it mainly. So far, this phone is kind of marginal, considering the price.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Seems tough, otherwise average

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMrPMS
onJanuary 4, 2009
from Westminster, CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I was attracted to this phone by its rugged design. I carry my phone in my pocket or throw it in a motorcycle tank bag. I like not having to worry so much about damaging the phone. I don't care about cameras, video recorders, or music players on my phone, so all those features are insignificant to me. Unfortunately, the features that are important to me are only fair to average on this phone. The user interface is worse than my old Motorola phone, which set a pretty low bar in this area. Menus can't be customized to eliminate unused icons or options, and buttons can't be reassigned. Who knows how many times I'll inadvertently hit PTT and have to decline the service. The biggest outage is the front display... it stays on a whopping 5 seconds at a time. My phone doubles as my timepiece, so I'm going to be fumbling with buttons whenever I want to see the time. This would have been a deal-breaker had I realized it before I bought the phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Worth It

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByVirginiaRenegade
onJanuary 26, 2011
from Morganton, Georgia
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, speaker phone
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, bag reception, cost way to high
We have had these phones (my wife and I) for a little over 2 years, one word describes this phone, "JUNK". Ringer is not loud enough, will not work in areas cheaper phones had no problems working in. AT&T was of no help on these issues. My wifes stopped working 6 months ago, I wont buy another Samsung again. I still have AT&T but no more contracts. Looking for better service provider who backs their warranty and a better phone manufacturer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Major Problems

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByHuff
onJanuary 13, 2011
from Providence, KY
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Cons: reliability
Acquired two in 2008. One has worked very well. Another very unreliable. Touch it (carefully) to answer a call and it often drops the call. Often fails to ring when receiving a call.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Even Water Resistant

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bynevadafisherman
onNovember 29, 2009
rugged as far as getting banged around, but it got wet in the rain once and the entire thing shorted out. Very bulky and heavy, but I was willing to overlook that for durability, bu the getting wet thing made it an absolute worthless phone, particularly for the price
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not very rugged

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByDragon
onNovember 25, 2009
from Vancouver, wa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bought this phone hoping to have a rugged enough design to withstand my lifestyle. However i was sadly dissappointed. I am a wildland fire-fighter and the att salesman told me this phone was water proof, which was my reasoning for buying it. I had it for two days, went on one fire and the phone got water damage and now doesn't work properly. When i went back to the att dealership they said that it wasn't covered.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not impressed

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byhvfd6
onNovember 19, 2009
from ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had this phone for about three months. While at work droped phone on concrete floor, and the front display cracked. When I took it back to ATT they clamed it was not covered, in fact it voided the Warranty. Needless to say sadly dissapointed. For all the hype and money not what i expected. This phone cannot withstand a three foot drop.to the floor.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

got wet

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bydiesel1507
onSeptember 18, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, not water proof
this phone got wet with sweat on my belt and stoped working beware it's junk had to BUY a new phone
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Phone won't die but you'll wish it would

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byallbusiness
onFebruary 3, 2012
from utah
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, tedious to use
This phone is rugged - that is why I give it a 5 star on performance. Like the monster in a horror movie, this thing won't die.
That being said, this is the most annoying electronic device I've ever used. My biggest problem with it is that a simple operation such as placing a call, typing a text or reading mail becomes a huge multi-step process with this phone. Even the calculator is a pain in the neck, the decimel is way out of reach and there is no easy button to clear for the next calculation. Don't get this one unless you have endless patience and major time to waste.
Features that I don't need are always at the ready however, such as the PTT, Mobile Web,etc. and I am constantly trying to shut down stuff I didn't want.
No wonder people walk into fountains, traffic etc while using their phones - it was probably the Samsung Rugby that killed them!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Usage in Middle east

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByCharan
onNovember 19, 2011
from Doha
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Mobile is Ruff n Tuff but unfortunately does not perform as it looks. I had a hard time with this phone. The mobile goes out of coverage once I slip in my pant pocket. Battery life is also worst; I need to charge almost every day. Samsung Marine 2100 is far far better than Rugby 847, in terms of performance.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Rugby not rugged!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByPackard8
onFebruary 13, 2011
from CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality
After 11 months it fell apart in my pocket! ATT Service Center says "physical damage is not covered by warranty".
I am stuck with a dead phone and 13 months left on a 2 year contract. Very disappointing.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Love Samsung_Not The Samsung Rugby

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByCapades
onDecember 23, 2010
from Hamden, CT
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I bought this phone 20 months ago in good part because of it being built to "military specifications" and the promised durability. My experience was that the durability claims are misleading and greatly exaggerated. One drop and the phone shattered beyond repair! So much for durable!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
4.4 out of 5(914)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WORST CELL PHONE EVER OWNED

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bybabboon
onDecember 8, 2010
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This is the worst cellphone i have ever owned. It broke at the hinge where the screen meets the keypad after owning it for less then a year. This phone has never been dropped or submerged in water. Call this a "bombproof" phone? It sounds as if you're speaking at the end of a empty hall way when you speak. If you like endless menus for texting, then this is the phone for you. The best part is the 1 year warranty which covers absolutely nothing
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

shuts off

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bykb8ywy
onOctober 25, 2010
from Warren, Ohio
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
full charge for no reason phone shuts off
ringer volume not loud enough
droped calls
must have a bad antenna low signal strengh
short batt life
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not worth trouble

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByRtTrppr
onJune 28, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
At first delighted with quality of this phone. My has nice speaker (didn't purchase bluetooth just use speaker) and is certainly durable and comfortable.
Then I realized how horrible it is to actually "use". I don't need bells and whistles but FIVE steps to send a text message.
Way too many steps to use any of the features on a regular basis. (Calendar, timer, camera) just too too many steps.
They are not difficult...just so unnecessary in this day and age.
I am stuck with this horrible phone unless I want to renew my contract.
I have had it 3 months and I hate it hate it hate it because of its horrible inconvenience to do anything.
Military Specs maybe but they couldn't be bothered with the totally unnecessary steps
Write a text and then be asked if you want to add a recipient...no I just wrote it because I was bored...come on!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not near the Water

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByBezerk
onMay 8, 2009
from Colorado
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Note: this is not a STD Mil.. Spec 810F, it is a SID Mil. Spec. 810F, (not a Spec that can be traced; but, looks good). Do not get this phone near the water. I resently got dumped in a river and the phone took on water. The battery would not charge and when I turn it off it will automaticly turn back on. The AT&T deal send it is not covered under any warrentees.
So I have a useless Mil. Spec. 810F, phone, that is useless near the water or rain; but is good in a snow storm.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+56points
60of 64voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samsung Rugby® Cell Phone
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.