Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone

Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone

Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 9(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best non-smartphone out there!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVideojack
onNovember 26, 2013
from Road Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, long-life replaceable batteries, feature packed, ideally sized
Cons: no hourly chime
This phone, Samsung Rugby® III, is extremely durable, ideally sized, feature packed, intuitive, with a long battery life and it took me one year to find a feature I wanted that wasn't included, an hourly chime. Photos are above average while video is usable for documenting something that occurred, not HD.
Otherwise, this phone is the pinnacle of flip phone technology, my preference.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hooray for this Flip Phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByShoptilidrop2
onJune 1, 2013
from Vancouver, WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, large enough font, easy to use, intuitived
I use my desktop and netbook for computer functions and use my telephone for sending and receiving telephone calls and text messages. I do not do email or use internet on the phone so my Rugby is wonderful! Those who want to do email and internet functions still can, but I don't choose to and don't need a "smart" phone. I'm smart enough to use this phone. Love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great durable phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykuczek
onApril 26, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, physical keypad, battery life
I purchased this phone in February this year because I was looking for a durable basic phone. I was tired of having phones that felt cheap when I held them. This phone does everything that I want it to. It has great audio quality, a nice speaker phone, physical key pad, solid-feeling buttons on both sides of the device. The phone has stayed connected during the majority of my calls and the battery life is excellent. While the camera is low quality, it does not matter to me that much because I do not use it very often. All in all, a great device that I recommend to those looking for a basic phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great durable phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byazurecrimsonrose
onFebruary 2, 2013
from Earth
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, real buttons
I bought this phone today because of the durability claims and I am impressed with it. I like the durability of the device and the features. I do not need a smart phone and do not like the touch screen phones that they have out today. The call quality is excellent and the speaker phone sounds great. I get full signal strength where I am and I definitely recommend this phone to a friend.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good phone but misleading box contents and features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByRugby3owner
onAugust 22, 2013
from Sykesville, MD
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, long battery life
Cons: Did not meet expectations
It is a very good phone that syncs very easily with my Bluetooth devices. The battery seems to last forever in standby mode (I am not a heavy phone user). A little big and heavy for a flip phone, but given that it is water and dust proof, etc., it is understandable.
My biggest complaint is that both the box and the manual says that it comes with a MicroUSB to 3.5 mm adapter - well, it does not.
What appears happened is that when Samsung updated the Rugby II to Rugby III they removed the feature to plug a 3.5mm headset via the adapter, but they did not update the info on the box and manual.
Why they would remove that feature is unexplainable given that the phone can take up to a 32 GB micro SD card and thus would make a terrific MP3 player during my frequent long flights.
I could use the MP3 feature with a Bluetooth headset, but that does not work on an airplane.
As it is now, the phone is not compatible with any Micro USB or 3.5mm headset. The prospect of listening to music via the built-in speaker is a non-starter
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Will not Bluetooth

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGigles
onJuly 13, 2013
from Upper Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, will not connect to most bluetooth
Phone takes nice pictures, is loud enough to hear when out doors, connects to phone calls well, longer battery life, but it will not connect via Bluetooth to my car or my ipad. Other than another AT&T phone, I have not been able to connect it to anything. When I called AT&T about how to connect it to my car, they told me it does not have the same Bluetooth, to call my car company. I suppose they would tell me to call Apple also. Bummer, other than that, it is a very nice phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Rugged and tough but Big Clumsy and awkward.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByApachetears
onMarch 29, 2013
from Georgia USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, rugged and tough
Cons: Too big, Did not meet expectations, side buttons in the way.
This phone is tough but that's it's best feature.
The side mounted buttons interfere with just carrying this the PTT button when pressed accidentally in hand or holster bumps alarms and calls off when you try to answer the phone. The volume buttons also interfere.
Once the PTT button is locked if you get a PTT call you must drop the call, go to three menus and then turn the PTT talk button on by then you could have just called.
The front screen is not needed. if you need the time you must open the phone to see time on the front screen.
My last Samsung phone was a Slider SGH-a777 and in my opinion it was the better phone between these two.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
a777 Cell Phone
3.6 out of 5(51)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ease of use

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bybarret1046
onAugust 29, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations, useless without data
I got this phone because my company will not pay allow us to have smartphones. If you want a basic phone that does not need a data plan this is not the one you want. Most of the features on this phone require a data plan of some sort, which makes it an expensive basic phone if you don't have data. Also the navagation button is not real user frendly if you have big hands. Most of the time you either will back out of what you are doing or go to the wrong screen. Another "flaw" with this phone is the loaded ring tones are awful. I had to connect to a PC and download sone ringers that I coud hear and were not so "prissy".
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Rugby® III (AT&T) Flip Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great, if you don't want a working phone.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByAlanMG
onAugust 31, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, does not work as a phone.
Phone turns off by itself. Makes no noise when it does so. Resetting, restoring, etc. do not fix issue. Support from Samsung is sympathetic but pathetic. Will only repair, not replace, so that that when your new phone does not work, you end up without a phone for two weeks (or more) while they fix their product. Told that they don't have facilities to provide replacement phones. Guess that says it all, too many that don't work and need to be replaced. Guess my next phone will be some other brand.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.