Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue

Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue

Rating:
4.094 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
22 out of 30(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Phone Ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTony1912
onMarch 26, 2014
from California
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I bought my Galaxy S4 last year around August, almost a year using it and I am still happy as the first day. I usually get bored in the first year and usually I want to change my phone again. The Galaxy S4 is so amazing, I drop the phone three time already and nothing happened still works fine. I usually wash my phone instead of using a regular cloth, people looks at me like if I am crazy and usually they say "you not supposed to wash your phone" and I say "well my phone is waterproof, no problem" they get amazed. I will never go back for another iphone, I am thinking my next phone will be Samsung again!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, Beyond Expectations

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByThePlumbinator
onMarch 5, 2014
from Modesto, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, nice clarity of text, novice friendly navigation
I've departed from flip-phone mentality and entered the smart phone zone.
It was a tough decision to abandon my 4+ year old military spec Samsung Rugby. It lasted well past issue of the Rugby 2 & 3 models. I continue to be impressed with its durability as a hard core construction site resistant cell phone. I'm not tossing it to the recycle bin.
I've had several Samsung phones over the years and the Galaxy S4 Active is my first smart phone.
I've come to trust Samsung's reputation and quality of product regardless of any negative reviews.
I never carry my phone in a pocket, but if I sit on my Galaxy S4 Active I expect it might possibly break. If I drop it to the ground and without a case I expect my screen could possibly break. I'm confident enough about my new SGH i537 that I avoided purchase of any insurance offered. Some might think that's foolish but my ability to seriously care for my possessions can be a bit tedious.
I like my phones Sapphire Blue exterior, but figure its what's inside that counts the most. My S4 Active is light years advanced in technology over my aged SGH 837 Rugby. So I can say the S4 Active works at the speed of light in comparison. Photos are sharp and nicely detailed. The S4's 1.9 GHz Quad Core makes the S4 work faster than my first 1.7 GHz desktop computer. Apps work fine ( the ones I've tried and if I care to use them at all ), speaking commands to my phone is fun and the application is responsive. Giving verbal orders to my phone is something I'll get used to I suppose.
I could continue to comment on the S4 Active and its fun little bells and whistles, but I'm still riding the forces of a learning curve. I'm not experiencing any freeze-ups or glitches, and anything I ask it to do it does it with finesse and exceptional speed. With ears that are failing and a need for hearing aids, I can hear my S4 Active quite well. With eyes that need bifocals, the S4 Active has a bright enough screen with exceptional contrast. I never have to squint to read a text or enjoy an image of grandkids.
I'm glad I've advanced to the Smart Phone generation and I'm completely happy with my Galaxy S4 Active!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byangmm6
onFebruary 22, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I got this phone yesterday. I love it already. Of course I am still learning the apps and some I probably won't use but it is a great phone, takes great pictures and has a nice screen. I love how you can change the font and the size of the font.I am extremely pleased with this phone!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySoftee
onFebruary 19, 2014
from Brooklyn
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I previously had an iPhone but I love this phone it's just different even though I'm still learning it it was worth it
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Battery Life

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySteve911
onFebruary 2, 2014
from Kaneohe HI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable
I use my phone a lot and the performance of the battery far exceeded my expectations for a smart phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycomputergirl
onNovember 10, 2013
from Fl
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love this phone. It is like having a computer with me all the time. I can check and send email, do photos, go on the internet to do research on things I want to buy, or places to go, and the best part, it is also a GPS. Love this phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Impression™ Full Qwerty Touchscreen Cell Phone
3 out of 5(362)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone, but not as great as it could be

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylietenantdan
onOctober 3, 2013
from bozeman, mt
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, water resistant, nice color options, good feel easy to hold on to
Cons: not shock resistant, lcd display as opposed to amoled, poor picture quality in low light, may let water in even when properly sealed
This phone is awesome, but it is only dust and water resistant. It will not take a fall very well, and the screen will likely shatter easier on the active than on the regular S4 because it is made with gorilla glass 2 instead of gorilla glass 3. And despite being advertised as water resistant and samsung encouraging people to take it in the water, water damage is not covered under warranty. It is amazing that they managed to make a device with a removable back water resistant, but I think they should have made the back seal better to let in less water. I have heard about people saying their phone broke after putting it under water while properly sealed, but I have not had any problems with this and from what I can tell it takes very good pictures under water, and water doesn't seem to have much of an effect unless you don't seal it properly. The camera is a slight downgrade from the normal s4 however at 8 MP rather than 13. I would also recommend buying a case for it, because it is not shock resistant and will break if dropped. I also prefer the look and feel of this device to the S4, as it is slightly larger and heavier, which makes it feel more durable and the texture makes it easier to hold on to.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Teenage-Proof

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfluffiluffigans
onSeptember 7, 2013
from Fresno, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am a teenager. That means that I'm not the gentlest with my phone. This is approximately my seventh phone in three years. All of my other phones were of the same brand, so when I went to get the last one replaced, I asked specifically which one (of their selection) would be the most "teenage-proof" & the salesperson seemed kinda confused at first so I explained myself (meaning, not break from being dropped a lot, being dropped in water, being thrown occasionally, just being careless in general, etc.) and so then he recommended this phone and I loved that it came in such a bright color, as well as being "teenage-proof" so I bought it and it's been, I think, two weeks since then and I have not had a single problem with it. My previous phone broke the day after I got it, so I think two weeks without a single problem is amazing. I believe this is the best phone out there currently and I've definitely been recommending it to everyone. At first, I thought I wouldn't like the size of the phone (I thought it was too big) but when I got home & started playing with it, I realized that it was actually really nice to have the big screen size, so I haven't found a single con about this phone yet =) in fact, it highly exceeded my expectations. It's kinda expensive to me because I'm a teenage, so anything over like $20 is expensive to me, but I found the price quite reasonable considering that it can go into water that's up to three feet deep I believe it was. It also is just a really high quality phone meant for, in my eyes, practically anything I need it for. It was advertised in the store as a "Weekend phone" so it's meant for active people and I have found it to be really durable. Plus, I keep like 2,000 songs on my phone so I really love that this phone came with a microSD card slot because now I can add a 64 GB microSD card, since I use a lot of memory. Bottom line, this is my favorite phone... EVER! =D I definitely think it's worth it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SO GOOD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDSHUB
onSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: Bright display
Cons: expensive
The galaxy s4 active is one of the best phone out there. I like this phone a lot better than the iphone and other phones because it bigger, has better technology, and has so many more features than any other phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I miss my s3

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCandy110
onAugust 19, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, waterproof
Cons: looks
I had a infuse, then i got the s3 and now i have the s4 active. i loved my s3 i loved how it looked and everything, however i love how the s4 works underwater. it is an awesome phone but i think that the s3 was the best looking phone yet!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Galaxy s4 Active is the one.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byberryinfuse
onAugust 8, 2013
from HARTFORD CT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, waterproof, build quality, one of a kind color
Cons: no spare battery in box
I have had the Samsung infuse , Galaxy 3,and Now the galaxy 4 active. Speed its fast , Display is gorgeous with great viewing angles ,and color, camera is fantastic at capturing all the pictures you will ever need , and at 8mp they will be great photos.Galaxy s 4 active comes with tons of one of a kind software.So how do you make it better well you make it waterproof,dust proof and sturdy.Its waterproof no matter what the net says , and the build quality is A+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykydolphin2013
onAugust 8, 2013
from Bowling Green, KY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Has all the feature's expected from Samsung. Plus under water pictures are really good, and clear. Would recommend to anyone. No additional cover's needed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTiger416
onAugust 1, 2013
from Tennessee
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
It has everthing. I have had samsung phones before this one is the best.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changing The Phone Game

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrrbm55
onJuly 14, 2013
from Indianapolis, in
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I was first interested in the Samsung Galaxy S4 and then the S4 active came out and it changed the whole phone game. The colors are nice and vibrant and the design is simply awesome. I enjoy the hand wave motions, the voice active, and the watch on features. I look forward to trying the underwater features. The processor speed and the battery life is another thing I enjoy on the phone. Samsung's best phone yet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had my S4 active for 1 week

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBroknbird2
onJuly 6, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
SO far as I could tell, I love everything about the phone. I really like the android platform so it made a transfer easy from my S2 skyrocket to the S4A easy. Also, it comes with a bunch of really cool features that a techy person like me likes. All in all, time will tell with it's ruggedness, but first take I love it, I will update. The only thing is I wish there was a bumper for it, it is a slightly ruggedized version of a good phone, so all I want is a bumper to prevent scratches on the corners of the phone, if dropped. Thanx for reading.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II Skyrocket™ (Black) Android Smartphone
4.5 out of 5(495)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Phone That I Have Ever Had

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHappyS4ActiveDiver
onJune 30, 2013
from Sarasota, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, waterproof!!!
Now it only makes sense that this is the best phone because it is the newest phone that I have. That being said, I have had this phone for about two weeks and I am still finding more and more that it will do. I own a Scuba Diving Center in Florida and needless to say I am wet a lot, and am always near the water and high humidity. This is the first time that I have had a phone out of the box that I have not been paranoid about taking on the boat or to the beach. I use this phone for email, facebook both personal and to manage our store page and the hits never end.
Did I say I am happy, well I am, great job Samsung.
Carl
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesom ! !

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDraama
onJune 25, 2013
from Shreveport, La.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, it's hard to damage this phone . . .
Cons: no cons dude
This has got to be the best phone that I have ever owned. . .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C6500)
4 out of 5(823)
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love the features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byejov
onJune 23, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
having fun playing with the new features..Air view and air gestures features are great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What An Amazing Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByColbert950
onJune 21, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone encompasses all that you could ever want in a phone and the functionality.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Features,bad specs.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByTheYoungOne
onJanuary 17, 2014
from Alabama
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This phone had a lot of hype that it did not live up to. For one while it says it has a good screen it is only gorilla glass 2 while the regular s4 has gorilla glass 3 which according to their website is 3 times stronger then gorilla glass 2, why would a company build a phone with great resistance then put a inferior screen on it. :Liquid damage is not covered in thew warranty unless you are in aqua mode and in less than 1 meter of water for less than 30 minutes, and it took me forever to figure event that much out. the back camera is only 8 mp while the s4 has a 13 mp camera, why can we not have a nice camera as well? This product has a lot of hype without delivering and there are basically no cases to go with it. I would recommend the s4 over the s4 active and would switch if I could.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great phone overall

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byna2jotunn
onJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
very large, so not good for my small hands..also gets a bit slow when ive added a few apps...great choice of sounds and crisp as ever, though. sharp camera and all
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good phone needs work and some tlc

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byphoneluver3645
onAugust 25, 2013
from not telling you
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, fast
Cons: Did not meet expectations, expensive
Everything's good but a few things and yes for those who are wondering it does work underwater speaker is not good compared to rivaling android phones is easily muffled htc one which Is one of its rivals has great big speakers facing towards you hint hint samsung watch on infra red remote does not work well watch on needs work itself keep and the phone is exspensive wporking on it samsung and you will hit the motherload
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First Impressions Galaxy S4 Active

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByElodea
onJuly 11, 2013
from Miami, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, water resistant
Cons: nothing significant so far!
Finally, a manufacturer has added noticeable color to a phone product. I just picked up the Galaxy S4 Active with the blue case. My previous S3 was supposedly blue or something, but hard to distinguish from "slate."
Only had the phone a couple of days and have yet to try it in a wet environment, but I can see already that the seal on the USB port is going to be an issue. You have to "pry" the tiny vinyl "plug" out to insert the USB connector. The plug "dangles" from a very thin piece of plastic. I can see this failing very quickly, falling off, and making it impossible to re-seal the phone. "Samsung, you need to re-do this design!"
I haven't noticed any significant lack of quality in the camera. At 8 mega pixels, I'm pretty sure it's the same camera from the S3. The LCD screen is very bright and much easier to read in sunlight than the AMOLED screen For me, this is a big plus! The "blacks" might not be as intense, but the increased brightness is a very good trade-off.
Connectability with Wi-Fi has been an issue, but I'm not sure if the problem is in the phone itself or poor Wi-Fi coverage in the areas I'm working in.
Overall, the phone seems to be well constructed, I never had an issue with the plastic back on the S3 that many critics complained about. You must insure that the back on the S4 Active is properly in place or you lose watertight integrity.
I'm still having some issues with getting all of the "wave your hand over the phone" controls. I don't have everything setup properly, I'm sure, but there is a real lack of on-board tutorials or much support on the web. One thing that is really bugging me is laying out the home page screen view. There is very little available "real estate" on the home screen for frequently used apps. On my S4 Active, the clock/weather widget takes up the top 50% of the screen, then there is a Google Voice "thing" that I can't seem to get rid of, room for only four apps and the four fixed critical apps at the bottom. I seem to be wasting a lot of time getting stuff moved to pages I want them on and digging through lots of stuff I don't need up front. Maybe it's just me and the fact that it's a new phone, but it's still annoying. Since Android phones have notoriously poor battery life, I find it annoying that the "battery percentage left" is no longer displayed in the header at the top of the screen. Just a tiny, "battery" icon that only gives a rather poor graphic indication of the amount of battery life left. The battery life remaining no longer appears in the clock widget, either.
Again, maybe it's me or maybe it's a function of the "water resistant" features, but the speaker volume on the S4 Active seems noticeably lower than that on the S3. I have a tough time hearing the phone ring in my pocket at times, in places with a lot of ambient noise.
Overall, I would still recommend the Galaxy S4 Active to friends. Even if I never take the phone into a swimming pool, I know a lot of people that have dropped a phone into a toilet or have been caught in heavy rain, and "lost" a phone due to water intrusion. This is a positive step in ending that problem.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This is another samsung product that isn't worth the money it costs.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByCMBigdog
onApril 3, 2014
from Glen Allan, MS 38744, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, customer service is horrible, camera isn't worth it
I bought this camera thinking it would be a good camera, but in the back of my mind I figured it would be like all the other samsung phones I have had. They work a month or two, then begin to screw up. This one was different, it screwed up the first week. The camera began to not focus properly and I began to notice blue spots in all of my pictures. They are not sun spots or something on the lens, they are in the lens and have progressively gotten worse. I contacted tech support and they told me to wipe off the lens, then they suggest I clear my cache for the camera, and if those don't work, just reset my phone. Do they hire people who have a clue about phones and cameras, or just the first idiot that walks in off of the street looking for a job? If they don't fix it, I can assure them I will never buy another samsung product and will dicourage everyone I know from buying their products as well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Idea, does NOT perform as expected

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byaldocaldo
onJanuary 30, 2014
from Dubai
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I really want a water proof phone, i'm very active, so this phone has the idea, but does not perform well.
Battery life is terrible!
Charging is not easy as other telephones.
You're getting the idea, just not yet.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good phone, not upto the hype

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byahlavigne
onDecember 17, 2013
from Orlando, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, water resistant ip-67, video playback over wifi, fast download speeds, decent internal storage, ok camera could have put in 13mp like other s4's, ability to disable most (not all) bloatware
Cons: Did not meet expectations, battery life is not as expected, battery recharge is slow on usb, limited color choices, water damage not covered on a water resistant s4, not mil-std-810, there is a fair amount of bloatware preinstalled
I went into the ATT store planning to buy the Galaxy Note 3 with a 2 year contract. I enjoy reading in bed, and wanted something that was a larger screen for reading, but had concerns about the size. I spoke to the sales guy and decided to pick up the Galaxy Tab 7.0 along with this phone instead. I get the larger screen for Kindle books, and a more portable phone. Best of both worlds.
My previous phone was a Samsung Attain (MetroPCS) and suffered form horrible battery life, which I solved with an extended battery. I have concerns and reservations about this solution for the S4 Active as this would be a 3rd party solution and the Samsung quality control is not there leaving me to wonder if I would keep the water resistant/dust resistant feature.
So far I am less than impressed with the battery life of this phone, but am still working on settings to see what I can do about it. Additionally the phone seems to recharge very slowly when connected to the usb port of either my work laptop (Lenovo) or personal laptop (Asus), but when plugged into my car charger it charges much faster, more on that as I investigate they why of that.
Display is Great, bright, vibrant and clear. The phone speaker for non-speaker phone calls is very clear, the speaker phone is less clear, but still decent quality. I am buying a shockproof case that will add to the water resistance of this model and hopefully prevent screen damage.
The IP67 ceritifcation is nice, even nicer would be if Samsung would look at creating a phone as nice looking and feature rich as the S4 to meet the US Army MIL-STD-810 specification, or at least come close. Granted I'm not much worried about Explosive or Pyro shock, but the protection from broken screen would be great.
My last issue is that the phone is IP67 but is not warrentied against water damage if used properly, my belief is that Samsung did this because the cover on the USB port appears to be a bit flimsy and prone to breakage, thus letting in water. I could be wrong.
Over all the phone meets most of my expectations, if I can solve my battery life dilema I will be a happy camper. There is little use in having an active phone if you have to keep it plugged in 100% of the time to keep a battery charged. Solar charger might be something to look into.
The price on this phone prevents me from giving it 5 stars for Value.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 7.0" (AT&T)
4.2 out of 5(102)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needs In-Pocket Detection

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bytcoop62
onSeptember 10, 2013
from Covington, GA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: needs in pocket detection
Samsung, please update the firmware and add in-pocket detection. This phone does strange things in my pocket. I have pocket posted to social websites, texted and dialed. The other day, I heard my brother's voice coming from my front pocket.
I do not want to wear this phone in a case on my belt. I find the in pocket behavior of this phone unacceptable. My older generation phone from a different manufacturer had in pocket detection and I never had these issues with that phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Active 4 isn't very tolerant

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByDisappointedwithActive4
onOctober 28, 2013
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, not shock resistant
As a smart phone, the active is what you would expect. However, don't assume it is rugged. However, any corner shot will result in cracked screen. IT IS NOT SHOCK RESISTANT ! ! ! ! ! Go into it with your eyes open.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Battery is very weak and phone freezes sometimes

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByRida
onOctober 4, 2013
from Virginia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The battery doesnt last till end of day. And the phone sometimes freezes!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

hate this phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bytraumalady
onAugust 15, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Too big, Did not meet expectations
confusing. hard to use. hard to customize. unable to get content to transfer from previous phone.
Would give it back in a heartbeat.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
1of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Like the idea....

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByATXBRM1968
onJanuary 7, 2014
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I was sold this phone as being "sturdy" compared to other phones....one short drop and a cracked screen proved that wrong. Based on comments on the internet I am not alone. Unfortunately I bought one when they first came out and it was broken before a strong case was available.
The phone, at times, seems to be confused and takes a while to process simple functions such as taking a screen shot.
So far I have only been able to find expensive options to repair the phone and have found it impossible to navigate Samsung's website to explore repair options there.
I am a repeat Galaxy customer but will explore other options when my contract is up...
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 Active™ (AT&T), Blue
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worse phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bykat135
onSeptember 14, 2013
from California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I got this to replace my I phone BIG MISTAKE. The battery is worthless. It will make calls every thing else forget about it. I can not wait till I can get rid of this. My husband Loves his Galaxy but to each his or hers own.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.