Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™

Samsung Galaxy Appeal™

Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
11 out of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Offshore traveling phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Dallas, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, apps
I bought this phone to take on my trip to Spain. Once there I got a SIM and a plan and away we went. It had more than enough features and my email followed me around. I could reply back to text as I had a gateway in the US that managed my numbers. Photos came out good and I was having a great time until we got to Barcelona. The day before I was coming home my backpack was stolen with a diversion created by the staff and so went my phone. Because of the trip when we got back my wife got the G4 Samsung and loves it.. So much better than her old Blackberry. Along with my old Samsung Plasma 58 inch.. 6 years old and ticking and the Blu-ray guess we are a Samsung family.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great speaker, nice features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2014
from Arizona
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, has a great speaker phone!
Cons: too much junk on it that cannot be removed.
The speaker on this phone is GREAT. The volume on the ring is not as load as the speaker while on a call. The keyboard does have a tendency to stick, but it is a lot better than trying to use the keyboards on screen. It is loaded with a lot of junk that cannot be removed. It will eat up minutes if you try to keep it up to date (which probably the reason they have all the junk on it). I just turn it off when not using it, which seems to help. This great phone for the price.
It would be a great phone if the end user could decide what apps they want or need on their phone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is a great deal

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 9, 2013
from Mount Union, PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to understand, great downloads
Cons: camera has no flash
This is the first time I have purchased a smart phone and I absolutely love!!! I got more than I expected and it was a great buy and I have been telling everyone about how much I love this phone. The only problem I have with the phone is that the letter D gets stuck and the camera has no flash. I still think it's a great phone and a great buy for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love my new phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 12, 2012
from Pleasant Grove,UT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
i love my new phone, I love the keyboard because I can type faster on the keyboard than on the screen. I'm still learning how to use all the features, but it is awesome!!! My husband has the galaxy s3 and he loves his as well!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2012
from NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, android
I purchased this phone as a upgrade/replacement phone and so far I am impressed with it's overall performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 7, 2012
from commerce ga
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def
it is a great phone. bright display. texting is a breeze with this phone. love it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2012
from Alabama
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Just bought this yesterday and it has gotten a good workout. This phone has so many features of a more expensive phone. It has a touch screen and a slide keyboard. It looks like any other phone but works a lot better than most.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at AT&T
4.7 out of 5(750)
 
 
 
 
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good size, great feachures

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2012
from Sitka Alaska
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, perfect size, qwerty keyboard is perfect
Cons: no useful instructions, camara hard to use
This phone is a perfect size, (others I looked at were like trying to talk into a tablet) Nice features, the qwerty keyboard is perfect (easy to use) but Wished the camara was better (easier to use and a flash) and needs a users manuel that shows you SOMETHING! (the web site is useless for this.)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2012
from Memphis ,TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: user guide is not user friendly
this a great phone with lots of functions
i dont use all of them
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It doesn't reach for the moon but It's OK

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 12, 2012
from Carolina, PR
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, plenty of memory for apps
Cons: Not high def, uses outdated android (2.3), capacitive buttons below the screen unresponsive
Let's get the bad part out of the way first, because there's a lot of good in this phone.
The biggest con I see in the Galaxy Appeal is Gingerbread. There is no way to sugar coat this. The manufacturer who had access to Ice Cream Sandwich before any other manufacturer should not be releasing phones with Gingerbread this day and age.
In the design department, my biggest complaints are that the phone feels too slippery in the hand, and that the capacitive buttons below the touchscreen often fail on the first touch. Also, connecting the phone to the computer for USB transfer is not intuitive -- when you connect your phone to the computer, you have to respond to a notification on the phone before the computer will see the storage drives.
And now, for the good stuff.
There's a good amount of storage memory for applications. I've had higher-end phones with less memory than the Galaxy Appeal, and when compared to the other Go Phone smartphones, the Galaxy Appeal is the one to get if you want apps. Camera is decent for a basic smartphone and the battery will last all day with normal usage, although you will need to charge every night. Audio quality is really good and the phone handles both Bluetooth and WiFi well even when used at the same time.
There aren't that many smartphones with a keyboard these days and those that are left are mostly for CDMA carrier. Finding a keyboard-equipped smartphone for prepaid GSM service has been close to impossible but the Galaxy Appeal fills that void. If you can't afford a more advanced smartphone, the Galaxy Appeal has plenty to hold you up until you can upgrade. And If you only need a basic smartphone, the Galaxy Appeal will fill the void and still have some more to offer whenever you are ready to see more.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Doesn't "Appeal" to me

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 28, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, android os, sd card
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I was disappointed in the performance and quality of this phone. My first smart phone purchase, I would not buy this particular smart phone again. I have been a Samsung customer for many years, have purchased several cell phones and a flat screen T.V. made by Samsung in the past.
The battery will not ordinarily hold a charge even when the phone is turned off. I have had problems with it going blank/black screen as if the hard drive has crashed and can only get it to reset by removing the battery and re-installing it again.I like the android OS, however it should be upgraded to the latest Android, not stuck with Gingerbread forever. I like the features and the value, however I would pay more for better performance and quality which includes the battery charge life.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

OK Product for Price

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 27, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: battery
Phone has lots of applications that you can't uninstall, battery performance is poor, I installed a battery saver and a task killer, to kill all the apps that are pre-installled that I have no use for, and they appear to increase battery performance so far. Love the keyboard though. Bottom line, phone could use some improvement, but OK for the price.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Its okay-ish

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 22, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, slow
I bought this phone to use temporarily because I accidentally drowned my old phone. It's very slow because of all of the Samsung and AT&T bloatware, it has a very small amount of ram so heavy applications will frequently crash if there are any other apps running in the background. Also the physical keyboard keys are very hard to push and it makes typing very very slow.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Best when Rooted.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 12, 2013
from Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: uninstallable apps, short battery life because of apps
Haven't had this phone for long but on certain days the battery would take a dive and only last about 7 hours. (gps/wifi/etc were OFF) But other times it would last more than 20 hours.
This was likely caused by some 3rd party app that can't be uninstalled because they don't allow you root access. After finding the method to root the phone on androidarea51 I was able to quarantine a bunch of the apps and the battery drain issue was no longer an issue.
These are the apps I quarantined:
AccuWeather
AT&T Hot Spots
AT&T navigator
AT&T Social Net
AT&T Software Update
Blue Sea
City ID
Google+
Google Play Books
Kies air
Live TV
Maps
Movies
News & Weather
Quickoffic, inc
Samsung Push Service*
ShopMusic
SNSAccountFb (Facebook)
SNSAccountLi
SNSAccountTw (Twitter)
Social Hub
Social Hub (twice?)
Street View*
Swype
TalkBack
Vlingo
Wacky clocks
Yahoo! Finance
Yahoo! News
I can understand putting some of that on there because they make $ doing so but FFS don't make me root the phone to remove them!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great operating system; poorly made product

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2012
from Connecticut
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not at all durable
Do you remember when cell phones ran well despite being three years old, run through the washer several times and dropped down several flights of stairs? I do I remember when I got my first samsung phone. It was a little flip phone but it was durable and the only reason I got a new phone was because have a little flip phone was no longer cool.
If you are looking for a phone to last you through the years then you should keep on looking.
I've had samsungs for many years and each time I buy a new phone it is less durable than the last.
The appeal is anything but appealing. It has a nice platform but the screen broke after less than two months of ownership. I've dropped a handful of times and never with force. The screen broke and I can't access anything. (My prior phones were dropped more times than I can count and still ran great- the processors in those phones slowed down after a few months of use though)
For its price I would suggest getting something else that will last more than two months.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Battery, No Phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMarch 8, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, defective batteries common
If a phone won't hold a charge it doesn't matter how many great features it has, it won't work! Being tethered to a charging cord is not acceptable. At first it would hold a charge for 4 hrs of standby time before it started shutting down to conserve battery. On the most battery conserving settings and after doing 4 deep cycles of the battery, it will now hold a charge for 11 hrs before being below 20% battery.
I contacted Samsung where I was told I had a defective battery and to contact the place of purchase. Samsung didn't have any replacement batteries for me to purchase, nor did they even offer to replace it had they had one. I contacted the place of purchase and although they didn't have any replacement batteries they found one for me at another online store and refunded me the cost of the replacement battery. It hasn't arrived so I can't comment on the new battery.
So, in summary, I have a phone that won't hold a charge, where the manufacturer doesn't have replacement batteries in stock and I am tethered to a charger.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Paperweight?

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 13, 2012
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I bought mine 2 months ago from a major electronics store chain. It won't turn on anymore. They couldn't tell if it was the charger or the battery. My only 2 options are buying a new battery (shouldn't they last longer than 2 months?) or send it back to Samsung and WAIT to see what they'll do! TOTAL JUNK!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Appeal™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Will not connect to USB

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 23, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This phone is loaded with bloat ware. Tons of apps I will never use or find any interest in taking up a lot of space. No matter what I do I can not get the phone to connect to ANY computer by USB. Drivers installed, doesn't matter. Tried three different computers so far and no luck. This phone blows...
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.