Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Rugby™

Samsung Rugby™

Rating:
3.791 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
48 out of 63(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Rugby™
Review 1 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Rugby performs as advertised and is durable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 31, 2014
from Twain Harte, CA, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, good battery life
I've has this phone now for about 8 months now. I live in the Sierra's. It's fallen in the snow, dropped on the ground and been in the rain. It's already had a brutal life and thus far, it's survived everything thats happened to it. Works well. Reception is very good giving the fact I'm some distance from a cell tower. My last phone, if I stepped outside would get about two bars on a good day. The receiver on the phone is alot better and now I get (usually 4 bars) and on a good day, all 5 bars. Simple to use and battery life is alot better than previous phones I've had. It's made my life alot easier. I've expanded memory (SD card) and I have really nothing to complain about. My one and only gripe is, how does one clear the phone logs ? Other than that, I'd recommend this in a heart beat. Great phone. Durable and battery life is alot better than most.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good except in sun

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: poor display in sunlight
Overall great phone except can't see screen outside even when shaded by hat or hand. For a rugged phone designed to be used outside, I consider this a significant demerit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The almost perfect phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: memory, slow processor
I have owned this phone for about a month now. I love it. I sold my Galaxy s3 to get this phone. I was afraid of breaking the G3. I work outside and in a garage 8 hrs. a day. Hot, cold, sweat it all works after all the punishment it gets. I only wish the internal memory and processor was bigger and faster, but that's okay I don't play many games and stuff. Overall great design and great feel.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect fit for my lifestyle!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 10, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, camera
Cons: battery
I make my living in the race horse industry &, consequently, tend to be hard on phones. To date, I've had my Samsung Rugby smart for almost a full year. This phone has been accidentally dropped in water [at least twice], exposed to the elements [wind, dust, rain etc] & severe temperatures, dropped, bounced - the whole nine yards. It's still going strong! The features are great, too - the camera in particular is better than expected. My one criticism is that the battery could hold a charge a bit longer. Other than that, I consider this the Rugby smart to be a full, five star. Thanks!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
This product has great features. its awsm. must use this product
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tough phone.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, the flashlight rocks!
I bought this phone due to its tough reputation. I had one of the first Rugby's and it survived a twenty foot fall, no problem. I hope I don't drop this Rugby that far, but I'm not too worried if I do.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

White Collar Phone for a Blue Collar Worker

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2012
from New Bern, NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Too big
Very good phone, since i work alot of handman jobs, I tend to sweat alot and I've been throug 3 phones in a timespan of 7 months. I was looking for a phone that could satisfy my techie side as well as my outdoorsy side. The first phone I had, its screen shattered when I dropped it on concrete at a jobsite. The second phone I had, the battery kept on dying during the middle of the day and it was on a "Super Battery Saving Mode." The third phone I had, shorted out because of how much I sweat when I am doing landscaping on a hot summer day. After extensive research and losing a lot of money on "bad phone investments" I came across the Samsumg Rugsby Smart. The Rugsby Smart, has survived the summer sweat, the concrete falling, and battery life saving test on numerous sporadic occasions. I would rate the phone a 9 out of 10 only because of two reason: 1. The phone is too big to fit in my cell phone vest pocket. 2. I can't update some of the software on the phone itself. Other than those two condescending reasons, the Samsung Rugsby Smart is the perfect "White Collar Phone for a Blue Collar Worker."
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great durable phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 29, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
My last phone was the first rugby model. I upgraded to the Rugby Smart after loving the first one. Every phone I've had before the Rugby series would break or malfunction in 2 years or less(the standard upgrade time for major cellphone carriers). My brother, sister, and mother generally have some sort of accident and break their regular phone probably on average once a year. I do a lot of stuff outdoors and am a very active person. Even for those less active; who wants to invest in a phone that will get a cracked screen from a simple drop, be ruined because you splashed some water on it after washing your hands, or because your phone was in a steamy bathroom with you when you took a shower? Then you have to worry about attempting to salvage contacts and other information from the broken phone. What a hassle and expense to get a new cellphone every year or so.
I know many people who I've told about my phone's ruggedness and they immediately get defensive and brag about the 'awesome', 'water resistant', or whatever $50-$100 case they bought for their smartphone. Why spend the money and have a phone in a clunky case when the waterproofness and ruggedness can be built in to the original phone? Why buy a phone and then have to buy aftermarket product add-ons to get what you want, when you can get the whole package for way less money? Sure there are more rugged/hardcore phones out there, but your price tag will be 4-10x this one.
My girlfriend has an Android that I have used many times, and the Samsung Smart's version of the Android software is a huge improvement. I was impressed by the specs of this phone. I love that it has a flash for the camera that doubles as an emergency light; I've found it useful on many occasions.
The only problem I've had with the phone is sometimes it loads webpages very slowly even when I'm connected to a strong wifi network. Most of the time it's fine, but occasionally it hiccups and runs very slow. It's almost as if the wifi signal reciever on my phone malfunctions. That might just be a malfunctioning part on my phone though.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rugby

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I Love this phone it is the best purchase I have made for my son who loves it
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2012
from Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone does everything as advertised. It has a nice size and feel to it. Phone and messaging are fine. Still getting used to the keyboard but managing. Enjoy the wireless and wired PC connectivity. I boosted the memory by adding a 32G chip-works fine. Took it on backpacking trip to the Grand Canyon. Pic below is from the trip. Did video too and it looks good also.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what we needed...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, operating system
My husband and I owned two much older unlocked business-minded smartphones. In seeking replacements, we found an overwhelming range of options, mostly targeted for the high end users of social medias, which we are not. This phone was purchased as an experiment in our transition form another operating system and very durable older phones. It met and exceeded our expectations so well that we purchased a second one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE LOVE THIS PHONE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2012
from GA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: freezes
okay i am a 16 year old girl that is always outside and i got this phone because i ride horses a lot and tend to drop my phone off of them. the guy recommended this phone and i love it! the only thing i have a problem with is it freezes/processes really slow! but other than that I LOVE IT! i also have the rugby flip phone and it has very good durability also!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1st smart phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I have had this phone for about 3 months now and I think it is great! I still am learing how to use it but over all its Great.
I do find, like in the other reveiws that the phone will lock up, so you have to remove the battery to restart it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A phone as tough as me

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2012
from Dallas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: none
I am an engineer during the week and mountain biker on the weekends. This phone is both job-site and trail tough. It has had a long line of predecessors, but this one is a survivor.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is Great for the cost

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 7, 2012
from Arkansas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
does everything i need and then some. Games work Great, apps work Great as well. Would buy another if need to.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 5, 2012
from Hannibal, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I previously had a Samsung Captivate and I wanted something similar, but did not want to pay a lot of money. I looked around and found this phone, I have had it for a few weeks now, I use it all the time, and I absolutely love it
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sleek and indestructable (well, almost)!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2012
from CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, true full duplex speakerphone
Cons: 3.7 inch screen is smaller most androids
I have had the Rugby Smart for a week and I love it. It is durable, capable and WATERPROOF. Yes, waterproof. I read a review that someone wrote about their 7yr old child throwing it into a swimming pool (6ft of water for 40mins) and it still worked. I am rough on my gear and I need a phone with that kind of durability. I went to the AT&T store to check it out and walked out with one of the last phones in stock.
***There is nowhere to really rate this below, so I will say that two of the best features of this phone are:
1) FULL DUPLEX SPEAKERPHONE. If your not tech savy, this means no more talk-and-pause for a reply. You and your caller can talk at the same time without the phone cutting in and out. Simply awesome!!!
2) 720p AMOLED screen. The screen has true daytime-sunlight viewing. No joke, With the useful widget that lets you change the setting with just a few short presses, turning your screen brightness up for sunlight is easy and it makes sense.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rugby

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have this phone. Performance-wise, I cannot tell the difference from this and my old Captiva. I carry my phone in my pocket. So, using a big, bulky case is out of the question. This phone has all the protection I need built right in. Perfect.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rubgy Smart

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 11, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: screen not encased enough
I was excited about the Rugby Smart, being a pervious owner of a Rugby phone I was super happy to see this. I love my Rugby Smart and I think that being this style of design I would have liked to seen a little more ruggedness with the screen encased better.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS PHONE IS AWESOME

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 5, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I recently purchased my phone for my business and it exceeds "ALL" of my business needs. (I hardly ever use my laptop). It's durable, waterproof and can handle the higest or lowest of temperatures. However, I am having difficulties finding a screen cover and case. I would like to keep my phone looking brand new.
M.P.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Would def recommend to a Friend

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, battery lasts ~3-4 days
Cons: cannot think of one.........
I have had this phone approximately two weeks or so. I loveit, love it love it...... The best phone i have owned ever. The only thing I would like to know is how to use all these apps..... I am new at this wifi thing etc. So this phone is going to teach me a lot of stuff. I am enjoying learning all about my phone. Great Pics.....sound....everything is great.... so much to learn.... It is almost like carrying around a small computer... LOL!! :) PS: I love the fact it is rugged, waterproof, and dustproof....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great rugged smart phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2012
from Maine
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've had this phone for almost two weeks and it's great! Easy to use all the apps you want!
Also takes great pictures....
I love this phone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All phones should be like this

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
It is like they made other phones breakable so you would waste money on it. I am happy with the phone overall, and only cared about the durability.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Smart Phone for its purpose!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I have had Blackberry smart phones for years last was the TORCH 9810. I needed to get a new phone and with Blackberry not supporting personal market anymore plus never having the apps you wanted I decided on an Android phone. I like technology so I did a lot of research and for me the Samsung Rugby Smart seemed to be the best selection. I liked everything about it and being rugged and water proof pushed it to the top of my list as I ride bikes and sail small boats. I am a heavy app user on both wireless and 4G and have no problems with the battery or connection. It connects reliably at my house which has poor coverage and made my Blackberry very unreliable. I will recommend this phone to my active friends.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good choice for a klutz

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 29, 2012
from midwest USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
I am a smart phone novice so cannot speak to the speed and features of this phone compared to other android devices. BUT I am very happy I opted for the Samsung Rugby and I have had it for just over a month without complaints. And then the other day I accidentally dropped it down a storm drain (don't ask) where it landed in about a half inch of muck- screen up, 4 feet down. I did manage to eventually fish it out with a broom and duck tape, wipe the muck off, and it was no worse for the experience. I just wish I could have taken a picture of it down there...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
23of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

...so far...so good...=)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 15, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
...have had phone for about a week now. the unit works perfectly. i have yet to put its toughness to the test, but it sure seems capable. after a month or so i'll follow up with another review.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This phone has very good features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 30, 2014
from Palm Beach County, FL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: battery life
Overall the Samsung Rugby is a very good phone, but it does share one negative that I have found in other Samsung products - the battery life is short. It has be to be recharged at least every 2 days, even when I just have it on but have not been actively using it.
Placing calls, sending text messages, using apps - all worked very well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Access to "Keyboard" pad during phone call

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 29, 2014
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
After dialing a phone number, at times I am required to enter an extension number after the call has been answered by the company I have called; however, after the call has been answered, the screen goes blank and I have difficulty accessing the keyboard to dial an extension; more often than not, the screen fades in-and-out before I am able to use the keyboard to dial the extension; very annoying and frustrating.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HAIKU FOR MY NEW PHONE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 23, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable
The world in my pocket
All-knowing and waterproof
The Samsung Rugby
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Durable, reliable, good size

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: poor readability in daylight
Like durability and size of unit and waterproof feature.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rugby works.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2013
from massachusetts
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Solid phone with great protection from physical mishaps and environmental factors. The Rugby Smart performs as advertised. While it would be great if the software could be updated above Gingerbread this phone does everything a smart phone needs to do.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phonewith EXCEPTIONS

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 6, 2013
from Savannah, Ga
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, great features
Cons: poor battery life
I have had this phone for just at a year, everything was going good then it started to overheat in my pouch. The battery would drain within a VERY short time then the phone would start acting strange as in NOT able to text, when you call someone it won't actually make the call until a few minutes later when I put it back in the pouch and don't realize the call is being made.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone, not indestructible.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 12, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, waterproof
Cons: Did not meet expectations, screen easily shatters
I've had my Samsung Rugby Smart for several months, and I do love it. It's a great phone with pretty good software. The phone however is not as indestructible as is advertised. It fell about two feet onto the ground and the screen shattered instantly. While I do like the phone, I was extremely disappointed by this.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: slow processor, cannot upgrade to jelly bean
I liked this phone. Decent phone, more RAM would make this product perfect. No OS upgrade available.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It is better than anything I have used before but...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 2, 2013
from Houston
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: needs more battery capacity
This is a good phone, the only problems I have with it that keep me from calling it a great phone are limited battery life and low speaker volume.
I am one of those technical support guys. This means that I am frequently on the phone, on email, looking for answers on the internet, or waiting for a call.
I sometimes work around very noisy equipment. Hearing the phone ring can be a problem. I have some hearing damage from field work back in the bad old days when hearing protection was two fingers stuck in your ears.
Hearing it ring is a serious problem but the worse than that is the battery life. I usually have to charge my phone at least twice a day, more often if I use it a lot. If it were twice as thick, there would be room for at least twice the battery capacity and a bigger speaker.
I have hope for it though. It seems to be standing up to the humidity, beating around and rolling on the ground with it attached to my belt.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

performs well and easy to handle

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2012
from s w missiouri
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, easy to hold and handle, no need for aditional cover
Cons: no ability to change fonts in messaging, timeout for flashlight, ringer volume
The phone operating system is stable and don't freeze. The flashlight needs a timeout option as it is easily turned on in a pocket or purse and will run the battery down without shutting off. The voice is a bit muffled probably due to it being water proof. Battery will last approx 2 days with min usage. Taking and sending pictures will deplete it a lot quicker than the samsung infuze. There is no option to make fonts bigger in messages which is a handicap for my limited vision. The case is easy to handle without any additional cover. I would recommend this phone to anyone that uses it for a phone and occasional picture taking and messaging. It connects to the web without problems and the wifi works well. I don't play games on it so don't know how well the battery will hold up and how well the games will play. At max setting the ringer volume still isn't loud enough if you work in a noisy environment
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

OK

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, rugged
Cons: freezes up
My first Smart Phone and an interesting experience. Rugged and pretty sturdy. I am not afraid to use it!!! Small part on bottom of phone which covers the plug in area snapped off and that is a problem. Poor design.
Phone freezes sometimes while looking at photos. Downloading photos or receiving photos from others in messaging is a MAJOR problem. 4G problem or phone? Not sure. I do like the graphics and ease of use. Have not owned the product a year yet and having problems, trying to solve them. I do like the phone.. just wish I could get the stupid glitches fixed.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far, so good.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 22, 2012
from Adrian, Mi.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: poor screen clarity in sunlight
Only had the Rugby a couple of days now, so far the only issue is with the screen display in sunlight. When in sunlight the screen is almost unreadable.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 12, 2012
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I have had this phone for about 3 months and I really like it. Lots of features in a rugged case.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

And Yet Another Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 3, 2012
from Oklahoma
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I bought this phone for myself after buying the Rugby II for my father. I need the durability as a Geology student because I'm constantly on outcrops, around rivers, getting dusty and sweaty and (occasionally) tumbling down from where I am precariously perched. This phone seems to be exactly what I need and as the price was relatively low its affordable on my student budget.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The more I use it the more I love it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 2, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, records great
Cons: needs attacments for disabled, needs better speach
It was a replacement, to a middle of the road get your toes wet smartphone. I am well known for breaking things including myself.
It has been dropped, skid,and rained on etc,and knock on simulated wood grain... still ticking.. I loose control of my body at times, and things go flying.
The apps available are helpful with catching some of the symptoms I miss, and have been so useful with Drs, I can hand off/or switch view the camera and catch things in action, with a tap of my finger, or a key word.
It was a gift,, so I don't know the value...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Still Learning....

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 28, 2012
from NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, takes great pics!
But I must say I am liking the phone more as time goes by. Do wish it had come with an instruction booklet, but the big screen and the great graphics have won me over!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Rugged Smartphone Yet!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 22, 2012
from Portage, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: dual-core, larger display, andoid 4.0 or newer
Love the phone! But things to inprove would be 1) dual-core 2) larger screen 4"-4.3" 3) battery size. But still a great phone! If you don't want bleading edge technology, and don't want to worry about being caught in the rain lol. I would recommend it!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tough little phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2012
from Oklahoma
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: system locks up occasionally
I bought this phone because I do a lot of outdoor activities and wanted something that would hold up. I previously had a Samsung Captivate -- and I like the Rugby just as much as my previous phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Captivate™ Android Smartphone
4.1 out of 5(1,985)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tough handy phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2012
from Salt Lake City, UT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, solid feel
Cons: no dual-core processor
I've had this phone for a little over a month now, including a 2-week trip into Siberia, Russia. I've used this in the rain, snow, temperatures in the teens, knocking around in my pocket and bouncing around in my Jeep.
I had an iPhone 3 prior to this, and wanted 4G and durability without a giant otterbox case or something. This phone delivers. I'm not a power user, so quad-core, etc. wasn't important, but I do run multiple apps to the point were lag is noticeable.
My only concern now is whether the rubber plugs for the charge and headphone ports will last as long as the rest of the phone. Without them, I'm not sure that an IP67 rating will still apply. I'm a mechanical engineer, and the stuff I design lives outdoors. Much of the specs I design around require high levels of weatherproofing in order to survive their operating environments. In the Intrusion Penetration rating system, the first number is dust resistance/penetration on a scale of 0 to 6, 6 being most resistant. The second number is water resistance/penetration on a scale from 0 to 8, 8 being the most resistant. There are not many devices rated at IP67, and even fewer at IP68, so to find a phone at this level made me very happy. As I said earlier, I often drive around in an open Jeep, so to be able to not worry about my phone while using it as a GPS map is nice.
If you are in need of a rugged phone that can handle rough treatment on a regular basis, I would highly recommend the Rugby Smart.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 7, 2012
from Kentucky
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, waterproof
Got this phone cause I ride motorcycles and its waterproof.
Its not as fast as my atrix and the battery does last longer than atrix's battery . but overall I like it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sturdy on the outside, Plenty on the inside

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 20, 2012
from San Luis Obispo, Ca
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color
Needs more RAM, memory, and battery power.
Battery only lasts about 2,3,4 days with medium usage of the phone.
But the endless apps that are free make it very worthwhile.
After some apps on it, slight screen lag is evident but not bad.
Overall, this phone is sturdier than the iPhone, with the same amount of apps, memory capability etc.
I can see future generations of this phone reach perfection, but this is one great piece of technology for our time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rugby Smart

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 2, 2012
from Leesville, SC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: little on the expensive side
I am a career firefighter and needed a tough phone. So far this phone has held up to being rugged. Very easy and simply to use. I would definitely recommend this phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Difficult to Use

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Houston, TX, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
When turned on, phone takes forever to launch. I don't care for the on-screen keyboard. Difficult to password protect.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

WORST PHONE I'VE EVER OWNED

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 5, 2013
from Texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, freezes all the time, runs very slow
I love the durability of the phone and the style. However, this phone crashes on me every day sometimes more than once. It's real slow. I've owned for about 5 months now and can't wait to replace it. I used to have a cover on it but I took it off because the phone freezes so much and the screen goes black and so the only way to correct it is to take the back off and take the battery out. I think the idea of the phone is great. I got it because of the android operating system which my tablet also runs on but I don't think they planned on the memory that was needed for it. I clear my memory all time but it doesn't help.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

poorest excuse for a phone that I have ever found

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 31, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations, battery life
If you use your phone very much, then you had better have back up batteries. I don't use mine much and have to charge it like every day to every other day. They have sent me two batteries now, and a new phone. I will never buy another smart phone again. The android os on this phone eats up the battery. It takes forever to reset and go down to low consumption. It is junk. Phone is set to low everything, and I even exit out of all apps immediately when done.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Durable but echo prone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 30, 2012
from North Alabama
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, water resistant
Cons: echo, lockup
The biggest drawback with this phone is the echo problem as noted by other reviewers. This can be avoided by holding the phone tight against your face when you are talking. It appears that the echo occurs due to the earpiece being picked up by the microphone and causing the person you are talking to to hear an echo of their voice. My natural tendency to cup my hand while holding the phone makes the problem worse. I have not noticed an echo problem with bluetooth as some others have noted. I bought the phone for durability and I can live with the echo but I think it could be engineered away. Samsung could probably modify the noise cancellation software to accomplish this without physical modification of the phone. Another minor problem is the phone locking up. It seems to occur most often when using tethering. Overall it's a good phone if durability is your primary reason for getting this phone. If not, other models would be a better choice.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good features, poor wi-fi performance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 4, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have all the necessary features with this phone but I wish it would actually pick up the wi-fi in my home so I could use them. Due to our home location I can't pick up the network either, so the phone is sometimes completely useless. I am tired of looking for a signal.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not fast but very durable

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 9, 2012
from 70508
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, doesnt need a case for protection
Cons: Did not meet expectations, processor speed is slow
I purchased this phone and have been using it for about 3 weeks now. Its a great phone for the average user. The processor is a lot slower than most droid phones I have used. The only benefit of this phone is its durability. It has all the features of any other droid phone but not the processor speed to make things run fast. If performance is not as important as durability then this is surely the phone you want.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love the features, poor battery

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 1, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: battery
I love the phone overall, but my MAJOR complaint is the battery life. I rarely use it on the network for web apps or such and send very few txts daily. Phone calls are limited to maybe 4 a day and battery lasts only 1 day. I literally charge it at night and by that evening it is dead. I have service all day so it should not be searching for that which would cause the battery to go dead. I have checked all the apps to make sure they are closed but still goes dead.
The apps are great & love the touch screen & ruggedness of this phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung Rugby Smart

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2012
from Sacramento, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This phone is so behind the times. I had a certain expectation, and it did not live up to it.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great Phone - One Horrible Flaw

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 13, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, grippy, cool looking
Cons: Did not meet expectations, impossible to completely lock buttons
This is a great phone. It is tough, easy to grip, I feel confident that it will survive any tumbles it takes. I had the original Rugby for a long time and loved it, this is a worthy smarter successor. The performance is fine for what I use it for. The only problem I have had is that it comes with a feature that allows you to turn the flashlight on while the phone is locked by holding the volume up button. Sounds great, but this happens almost every day in my pocket. I look down, my pants are glowing, and by battery is much closer to dead. There is no way to disable this. If you don't keep anything in your pockets but your phone, and you never wear tight pants, this might be a good phone for you. Otherwise, you might do better with another phone and a tough case.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Tough but SLOW!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 10, 2012
from Salt Lake City, UT
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, slow
This phone is built to be tough which it is. Ive dropped it and knocked it around many times without it ever being affected. However it is rather slow. It constantly freezes and locks up. I frequently have to crash it to stop it and get it to move on. Also the 4G that this phones only carrier promotes so highly is nothing compared to other carrier networks. The internet is constantly slow and not able to stream video or audio without interruption. Especially if your moving. Go with a different phone from a different carrier!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not waterproof

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 30, 2014
from Arizona
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
After testing this phone in water It was unsuccessful, water got into battery area and damaged battery, screen light no longer works, phone turns on but I can't see anything off of screen.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Rugby™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worse phone ever!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 6, 2014
from Michigan, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality
I don't know if it was the phone itself or the fact that it was "refurbished"....but this phone was the WORSE phone I have ever owned.
Within 6-7 months of owning it I was counting down till my contract renewed.
Needless to say, I could wait!
I would NOT recommend this phone!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.