Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AT&T
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone

Rating:
3.324 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
9
18 out of 34(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Review 1 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great windows phone 6.5 with keypad

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2012
from Honolulu, HI
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable
nice touch screen. Responsive keypad. Bright screen
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best phone I have owned so far.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 5, 2012
from Honolulu, Hawaii
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Samsung phones are great. This was my best phone ever. Windows 6.5. Now I have windows 7. I still miss the keyboard and speed of the samsung epic and I cant wait to see what samsung has to offer for windows 8.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 2, 2012
from Lincoln,CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
My older phone just recently died, so i have been using this one as a replacement till the note 2 comes out. I'm very happy with it great phone for what it is.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid beginner smartphone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 1, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable
This is my first smartphone and it gave me very good experiences. I hardly used the stylus because the mouse/trackball is very very handy. For me the best feature is the voice. Compared to other phones in the same generation the voice feature and voice recognition is very good. It's no Siri but it can announcement my schedule for today, today's date, battery level, signal level, and read caller-IDs. My only complain is the GPS is slow and sometimes it does not get a good lock and I have to reboot the phone to get it done.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 7, 2012
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
great phone wonderfull features
great operating system
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epix

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2010
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: Not high def
One of the better cell Samsung brought to the public. I really like the functions and the apps that this product was partnered with. This cell was also very well made, dropped it a few times and withstood the abuse. I replaced it after a long service and really had an excellent expirience with its use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
This phone is the best phone I've ever had, and I do not want to ever give it up! There is so much to the phone, that at first it is really complicated to learn, but in the end it is so worth it! I would recomment this phone to anyone who loves texting, taking pictures, going on the internet, and playing games! It's a really awesome phone! And the Word Mobile and the Calendar are things that I cannot live without! This phone is absolutely PERFECT.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2010
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have been an Epix user for over a year now and a former Black Jack user as well. I bought the phone based on specs and description. This is a great phone. The combination of Touch mouse, touch screen and qwerty keypad makes for a great communicating tool. I use all these features interchangeably. Battery life is long. The powerful processor allows me to connect to (3) email clients and still surf the web. I do not use the GPS feature. Camera and video have been great. I download all files on a hefty 4 GB Micro SD. I am really sorry that Samsung disconntinued this phone or it's concept. I would like to see an Epix next gen when my AT&T contract is up.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best Pocket PC Phone I have had in a long time

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 20, 2009
from Marrero LA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is the third Pocket PC Phone I have purchased and by far it is the best. I like everything about it, from the QWERTY keypad to the touch screen. Need more accessories and a Y adapter so that you can charge and listen with regular ear phones using the adapter. I read all the reviews for this product and three other Pocket PC Phones. I selected this one because of the touch screen and QWERTY keypad.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fix for audible alerts now available

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2009
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Many of the earlier posts (including mine) complained that the audible alerts to incoming emails were disabled when the EPIX went into power save mode. Samsung has posted a fix on their support site, and it seems to work as promised. Thanks.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great overall purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 16, 2008
from Owensbor, KY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Came to AT&T from verizon because was forced to a $30/Mo data plan using a PDA (Moto Q). Started with HTC Fuze (On paper looked great) Fuze froze up numerous times in 1 week use. Light shined through 4-way button on bottom and I felt i would break this 4 way button. Recieved Epix 1 week ago and I am really impressed with its quality, speed and battery life. Tips use the "Today Plus" and customize on home screen. Saves alot of time and taps. Great PDA for those who do not want to be forced into data with the i phone or Verizon and who like the windows 6.1 platform. Active sync does not work with outlook express so make sure you back up contacts some other way. Like the fact that if your on the road and the touch goes down you have other alternatives to call, check e mails or kill some time (Mouse or 4-way, full live qwerty) This is not so on your i phone, insight, vu, eternity or any other touch only or primary touch device such as the HTC fuze. Its nice to have other alternatives especially if you heavily depend on your device. Reccommend highly for someone who wants the best of everything without all of the flash for a great value.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2008
I just recently purchased this phone after leaving one carrier for another. I read all the other user reviews and I can only say one thing. READ YOUR MANUAL!
Every single issue that I have read about that others have had are all nonexistent if you learn to use your phone. I LOVE THIS PHONE! I have had no issues with this phone and have learned all the tricks of it in about 1 day.
I love the optical mouse. The other thing I like is that if you don't like the optical mouse, you don't have to use it. It can be turned off. Since I already had Mobile 6.1, I was familiar with the features, which I love, by the way. My phone has not locked up or froze. I would highly recommend this phone to anyone. I think it has great functionality and it extremely stylish.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Benefits outwieght minor flaws

By
onNovember 16, 2008
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Contrary to what some other reviewers have said, the Epix does notify of incoming e-mail - at least on my phone it does. It only vibrates, but that is probably all most people would need. No one would want an audible sound going off every five minutes when you get incoming e-mail. I would throw that person out of a business meeting if it kept happening. All of the other features of this phone are much more important. I love the touch screen, and the voice recognition. For the price, this unit is all you could ask for. If you want to spend $400 or $500, hang around and wait for the Storm or Thunder. Personally, I don't see the need to spend the extra bucks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good device

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2008
from SF Bay Area
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I really like this phone. The pointer on the screen is one of my favorite features. I am a new user of Windows Mobile, but I am finding that it is pretty easy to use. I use that phone for personal use and find that the battery will last for a couple of days. I figure I will need to charge the battery daily to be on safe side. The memory documentation has confusing info. Page 28 says that the "Micro SD" will work with up to a 16GB card. I thought that anything over 2GB was HCSD. Can someone clarify this? Overall I think this phone is great and a lot of fun to use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 23, 2008
from Dallas, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I recently purchased the Epix at an ATT store. I had been using a BlackJack II when my contract was up and I decided to go with Verizon (HUGE MISTAKE). After trying out their LG Dare (ok) and then trying the Motorola Krave (worst phone ever) I returned everything and went back to ATT. Since I was reasonably happy with the BlackJack II, I figured I wuld try this out. The Windows Mobile 6.1 is spectacular. It takes some getting used to, but if you are mildly efficient with learning, then it should be no problem. The touch screen is precise, unlike the Krave, it isn't touchy, nor does it lag your text. The push text is also an option for those who like the old school way of texting. The design is classy, battery life is 5-6 Hours, although on the 3G network it is less..but that is with any phone. Overall, I am glad i went back to ATT and am happy with this product. Now they just need to come out with a holster for it! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Old But Ok

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 7, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
My Old standby when i break my other phone. Still works
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid keyboard

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 1, 2011
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Great phone. I love the full keyboard as it made text entry easy. Getting Winmo 6.5 took some time to get but improved the performance and capabilities of the phone. Was heavy, but that was due to the large battery but gave plenty of life to the phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

When will Samsung fix this phone?

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 18, 2009
from St. Charles, IL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is a good phone.
Keyboard + Touch, the little touch pad etc, make it nice.
But it is not that stable.
GPS takes forever to get a fix.
Sounds stop working, must remove battery to retrive sounds, something about a corrupt sound file is the message you get.
Just plain lock ups.
And ,,,this is not a Windows Mobile issue, this is a Samsung implemtationof windows mobile in this device issue - Samsung needs to fix it.
Besides it as to run on AT&T terrible network. When I am in Europe the phone works better I think because its not hunting around for a network connection all the time.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2009
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I purchased this phone back in July when it was time for me to upgrade from my first-generation Blackjack and have been completely satisfied with it so far. I wanted a phone that was bluetooth capable that also had wifi. I found a refurbished one that was only $100 so I bought it. I am glad I did. It was an excellent purchase and has actually saved me money.
I bought a 16gb micro-sd card and now use my phone now as my mp3. And since this phone comes with wifi I did not have to sign up for a ridiculous data plan. Some other people are talking about how their battery lasts only 2-3 hours, but I have gone for 4 days before without charging my phone, albeit I have my screen on the lowest brightness setting. Another thing I love about this phone and my old Blackjack is that they are built like rocks. If you drop them you may have a scratch, but you surely won't have a busted screen.
Overall I would recommend this phone to anyone who wants a media capable phone that has the support of windows with the added convenience of wifi.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SOLID 4 of 5 way to rock the Professional!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 22, 2008
from los angeles,california
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Windows Mobile 6.1 allows users to check their email via Outlook and access Microsoft Office products, including Excel. The smartphone also allows for easy Web surfing and access to video. the interesting features of the Epix is the optical mouse feature. Located in the center of the phone, users can move their finger over the mouse in order to navigate through the menus of the phone or surf the Web. The optical mouse feature can also be used to click and make selections while browsing, checking email or with any of the phone's other features. The feature can be turned off & allows you to navigate with the Epix's built-in stylus. Video Share, This feature allows two people on a voice call to share live, streaming video from one phone to the other. Built in GPS,a must-have service on any mobile phone. Bottom line this phone is a solid 4 on a scale of 5 and finally AT&T line up of Samsungs phones for professionals is complete and doesn't leave anything wanting on its 3g technology to complete the package.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Idea, rough application

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 26, 2009
I have had this phone for 3 weeks. I really want to love this phone & keep it, but it has to go back. I love the touch mouse! LOVE IT! I think WM 6.1 is great. The phone is super fast & calls are so clear. I have run into 2 problems though:
1) Notifications, like everyone else. This is a huge problem for business users, we need to know when e-mails come in & can't check the phone constantly.
2) I have had to reset my pop3 & smtp settings 3x in the last 4 days. If I don't manually re-enter all of my e-mail settings I cannot send any messages. I sent 6 e-mails to customers tuesday while out of the office & none of them went. I got an error message to check that I had coverage & check my settings then try to resend. Boy I felt foolish when none of my E-mails got where they were supposed to go, insted all were sitting in the outbox.
I purchased this phone after my HTC 8525 finally quit on me, my friend & resident computer guy told me they had some glitches & I would have problems, I really wanted to prove him wrong. Unfortunately it makes no sense to have a smart phone/ PDA if you don't know when you get e-mails & then cannot respond to them when you finally realize they are there. So I'm sad to say the phone has to be returned.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

So close to being perfect...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 12, 2008
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I've had my Epix phone for 2 full weeks now and have to admit that I have mixed emotions about this phone. I am content overall, but there are TWO major flaws that need correction…until then caveat emptor!
The first flaw: The ringer volume is pathetically low even when set to high. Unless you are in a quite area, you won't hear this phone ring especially if you have any ring tone other than “Classic Bell” or anything that’s non-melodic. I took mine back to the store thinking the problem was unique to my phone, but the floor model in the AT&T store was no different. Also, the phone rings ascending even though I have my Ring Type set to "Ring." A little annoying, but I am willing to live with this.
The second flaw (less benign): Notifications don't work properly as reported buy others. Once the phone goes into stanby...notifcation settings are ignored. The “audible” email/text notification function does not work when the phone is in sleep mode and is very inconsistent. The light flashes briefly, but that about it. I find this very alarming given I can’t even tell if I have gotten an email unless I am constantly checking the phone. Even my old BlackJack provided me an audible notification. This issue is the deal breaker for me…and many others I take it.
Other than that, it would be a great phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointment

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2009
I should have known better because I had heard that this phone was giving people problems but I never expected it to be this bad. You can tell that what they were trying to get would have been great but it is really missing the mark. I don't know whether to blame the phone of the window software. The phone freezes often and the abilities of the touch screen are negligible. I was pretty happy with my blackjack and I thought of the Epix as the blackjack 3. However, the Epix give you way too many problems then its worth. Do not buy it!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 13, 2009
from Kansas City MO
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I wanted a touch screen similar to my Palm PDA (styllus). Searched everywhere and when my sister liked her Blackjack I fell for this. This phone should be great, but locks up, ring can't be heard more than a 6 inches away. The only way to get it started if it locks up or suddenly shuts itself completely off, is to remove the battery. Handy..not! And good luck getting to flight mode.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-16points
1of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed because I wanted this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2009
from San Diego California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
I used this phone for three weeks. I really wanted to love this phone. It has sleek styling and I love the touch screen. The optical mouse took a little getting used to but after about three days I thought it was terrific. I thought the functionality was excellent. And navigation through the screens was fast and easy. This was almost the perfect phone for me.
There were few annoyances, though I was willing to live with these: 1. The phone would lock up about once a day and there was no reset button so I had to remove the back cover, remove the battery, and reassemble.2. The ring tones for some reason could not be heard in the vibration could not be felt when I had the phone in my pocket or in a belt holster.3. There were many preinstalled applications with offers to buy something that I could not remove or hide. This cluttered up my menu and application screens unnecessarily.
However this was the showstopper that forced me to return the phone, however reluctantly: I could not see anything on the screen if I were outdoors in direct sunlight. I tried shielding the screen with my hands and try as I might could not see well enough to select contacts in order to make calls or see anything else on the screen to adequately function. I tried to put up with this during the three weeks that I had the phone but finally said "enough ".
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Could be a great smartphone with a few major fixes

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 1, 2008
from Kansas City
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Like many, I was excited to get the new Epix. It's pretty stylish and has some pretty neat features like the touchscreen and the optical mouse. The mobile windows 6.1 is pretty good and email capabilities have been great too. However, here are some of the issues I have encountered in the past week and a half since getting my Epix.
1. Turning off the 3G so that you only run on a WiFI connection can be a little tricky. Running all or just the 3G can be somewhat of a drain on your battery, and if you're looking to not have the data package, then it could become more costly than you expected.
2. Some of the icons are a little small to touch on the screen, I oftentimes find myself using the optical mouse instead.
3. The vibrating ring is very weak. I had this in the pocket of my dress pants while sitting and I couldn't feel it vibrate when it rang on vibrate mode. I would prefer to be able to make it stronger. There are problems with other notifications especially when in sleep mode.
4. The BIGGEST PROBLEM... ok, I'm starting to see this all over AT&T's message board and a few others. While in sleep mode, which the phone does pretty much automatically after a minute unless you tweak the settings, the phone will freeze. It appears at first that the phone is off, but after holding in the power button for quite a bit the phone still does not come back on. The only fix I've seen for this is to remove the back plate of the phone and battery and then reinsert the two, after then the phone will come on. This is quite bothersome being that I don't know how long it's been frozen and how long I've been missing calls! I'm not sure if this is a hardware or software problem but if this problem persists within the next week without a fix I'm going to have to return the phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good Phone but watch out for initial release issue

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2008
from TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had the Epix now for days. I actually switched from using a XV6700 with Verizon for this phone. The call quality is outstanding! My initial reaction to the control pad (mouse) was that of hesitation. However the more I use the device the more useful it has become. You do have the option to turn the mouse into a standard 4-way touchpad which is good for moving up and down in emails and text messages. I would like to have seen the volume bar operate as a up/down in the email and text messaging screens for more ease of use.
My issues with this phone are:
1: Notification does not work for new email messages. I would think this a huge issue for people in the business world that have come to rely on email as a major form of communication.
2: When answering or making a call the touch screen is so sensitive that I have actually ended the call just by my ear touching the screen. After 5 seconds the phones display/touch screen goes into standby so it’s not an issue at that point.
3: The status LED does not appear to work correctly. It will flash as a notification for about 10 seconds and then stop. There is no Pink/Purple, Blue, or Yellow notification. The only time the LED appears to work is when it is charging.
4: ICS is not installed on this phone like on the Blackjack II and several other devices.
Overall I like this phone but the notification issues above are HUGE in my opinion. Would I recommend this phone? Yes, but only if you can live without notifications. Once they get this issue resolved this is going to be an awesome device!
I just hope they can resolve the issues in the 30 day AT&T trial period or it’s going back to the store.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

EPIX let down

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2010
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor sound
Thought this would be a good excuse to get off my original iPhone. Not so. Screen is hard to use. Could never get the ringer volume high enough to hear if I was not sitting right next to it. Went back to the iPhone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bad choice. Run away

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 10, 2010
from Fayetteville, NC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Phone has always had problems. When "locked" it opens programs on its own. It freezes up and the only thing that corrects the problem is to take out the battery and start over. it has never synced until i got windows 7 on my computer, even with the program that came with the phone. I got this phone on Nov 23, 2008 and now it will not hold a charge or charge. It was fully charged last night at 10 pm and now it is dead. It will not turn on even with the charger plugged in.
Worst choice I made in a long time. Now I have to get another phone with a year left on my contract.
Stay far away fron this phone. I should have gone with the Blackberry.
Smitty
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

You can't walk and use this phone at the same time

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2009
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
When using the phone all attention must be on the phone. when pushing buttons, when making a call, using the cursor, there is nothing you can do casually. The phone wakes up on it own causing some keys to come alive if locked, If un locked it can and will turn off the phone, turn off the bluetooth, turn on the wifi all without you knowing it. If the phone is in a case or pocket the phone wakes up to a call the person could have drawing done on the contact which requires undoing the drawing which could be more than one. It will redial numbers on it own when it wakes up depending on what screen it decided to come up in. All in all if they offer this phone as a free one pay for something else.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Purchase Ever

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2009
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I purchased this phone very excited since I have been looking forward to a touch Blackjack. I have been a Blackjack II user for almost a year now and love the phone, its light weight design and great battery life.
This phone is the opposite. I got one with the ID1 update, and basically, if I used the phone at all, the battery was dead within 2 hours. If I didn't use the phone and checked it once in awhile for my emails/sports scores, still maybe get 3-4 hours tops.
The weight of the device was much heavier than I anticipated and the keyboard is very cramped.
I was really excited about this phone and was getting used to the features.
The screen is great and the phone is a nice looking device and impressive speed, but the battery drain and the impossible viewing in the day light makes this phone impossible for me to keep.
I am looking to the Jack but am worried about the performance of the battery again.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I bought three of these -Bad Mistake

Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 24, 2009
from Katy, TX
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I have a Samsung 67" TV that I love. So when this super slick looking i907 mobile came out I was really excited. I would think that I might have a lemon, but we have three that do the same things. I never know what will happen when i hit any button. The phone occasionally won't hang up. It locks up at least every other day. The port design is bad and have had one phone get to where it could not be charged and another is on its way out as you have to wiggle and mess with the carger plug until it starts charging. It rings sometimes and sometimes it doesn't. The alarm s go off sometimes and some times they don't. In fact the key to this phone is nothing is dependable. I bought my first phone in 1978. I have probably had 204 phones in that time. This is by magnitudes the worst electronic device of any kind I have ever had. It is buggy and the design is bad. you can't even highlight an emailto delete it. you have to open every email to delete even if thet are obviously junk. It just is a disaster of a phone. Run fast and far from this phone.
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Keep away from it, very buggy

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 8, 2009
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I've bought Epix as upgrade to Blackjack 2. But it was a huge disappointment. While the design of the phone is great, and I like the querty keyboard, the phone is way too buggy.
WiFi is completely unusable, and will crash the phone every now and then.
GPS used to be very good and fast, but the ID1 update made initial position aquiring very slow, and made it suck the power after first use - now you have to reboot the phone after each GPS use, otherwise your battery will die in couple hours.
The reliability (if you don't use WiFi) has been improved with ID1, and now Epix doesn't crash every second day, but still below what is expected from a phone.
There are plenty of other smaller bugs with the phone, e.g. it may randomly forget the shortcuts assigned to the special buttons - these were not fixed by ID1 update.
It could be a great phone (or can be a great phone if Samsung fixes their bugs and releases another update, maybe with Windows Mobile 6.5), but unless 6.5 upgrade is released and fixes these bugs, stay away from it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Excellent Potential! Horrible Performance

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2009
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This product has excellent Potential but it is so buggy that it sometimes becomes useless. Before the ID1 update (issued by Samsung), it was crashing every other day or so. Some of these issues are fixed by ID1 patch but introduced a new one, in which a process device.exe would start consuming CPU at around 60 to 80% thus draining the battery in around 2 hours. This is horrible.
I am sorry that product with such an excellent Idea (optical mouse etc.) has such a torrid performance.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

disappointed

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 22, 2009
I will agree with most of the reviews here but this phone has a serious issue when selecting a "Ring Type" from the settings menue.
The options include ring and accelerated ring including other options. After selection Ring from the settings by default it accelerates the ring, starting with a very faint ring and gradually increasing. I usually miss most of my calls to voicemail. This is unacceptable in the business world.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Serious flaws outweigh the great features

By
onNovember 11, 2008
from Bay Area, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I was EXTREMELY excited to get this phone but quickly discovered several major flaws:
1. Email notifications do not work regardless of settings. The EPIX will never sound an audible alert or vibrate for incoming emails, it will only blink.
2. Notes will not Sync with MS Activesync.
3. Ringer is always set to increasing ring.
Again, the features of this phone are SUPERB. It is fast, big on memory, and has a very sleek look. However, the lack of email notifications and Notes sync pretty much ruin it as an everyday phone for most users. Certain emails are just too important and I need to be notified.
Samsung has been notified on several occasions of this bug and has shown no intent to fix it at this time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samsung Epix™ Full Qwerty Smartphone
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.