Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone

Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone

Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Business card" has bug and manual time setting is dimmed out

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2012
from Detroit, MI
Pros: Bright display, good sound
Cons: has some annoying bugs see review.
The "business card" display wants to put your postal code in front of the state/province, which looks horrid. If you leave the postal code blank, and instead put it where they ask for the country, it will look much better.
The option to manually set the time and date and time zone is also dimmed out on my phone, and it's completely wrong (off 11 hours and 6 months). I haven't activated it yet, so I hope that fixes it. It does have a nice "World Clock" option to display the time in time zones of interest, once you get the clock set properly.
You can associate a photo with each stored phone number, but it doesn't seem to display an icon for cell phone versus home phone, so you have to put that in the text. (When you enter a contact, it asks for both the home and cell number for that contact, but it only displays the first one, so you need to put in a separate contact for "Mom home" and "Mom cell", to get it to work.)
They have 4 customizable "shortcut" buttons (the 4 arrow/navigation keys) and 12 customizable "Go to" menu items, so 16 total. This should be sufficient. You have more flexibility about what you can assign to the "Go to" menu. They do have a problem that the function of some submenu items aren't obvious without knowing the menu chain used to get there. For example, RECENT CALLS + DELETE ALL is just listed as DELETE ALL in the "Go to" menu, so you have no idea what it's going to delete.
Has a nice audio recorder feature (up to 60 minutes), or, if you prefer text, there are memo, tasks, and calendar items. Memo is good for things with no date, like a shopping list.
Alarms are also available, with snooze button, and increasing volume so it's not such a shock when it first comes on.
You can set it to not dim for up to 3 minutes and not go dark for 10 minutes, and can increase screen brightness and volume to reasonable levels, especially if you use the speaker phone.
You can lock the keyboard either manually (by holding down the asterisk button for 2 seconds) or automatically when the screen goes black. This requires you to hit a couple keys to unlock, and is just there to prevent "butt dialing". You can also add a security code, if that's not enough.
The USB connector seems to be a rarely used type. I have a half-dozen USB cords, with different connectors, but none of them fit this. You need to find a matching USB cord to connect with your PC.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A really good phone and features for the money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 16, 2013
from Norman
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, voice recognition
Cons: auto correct controls
I just purchased this phone and am still learning all about it. I love the voice recognition, what a great feature! However, I am unhappy with auto-correct when sending text messages as it often changes names to unrelated words. Is there a way to turn it off? If there is one I haven't been able to find it. Also when I type an "a" I invariably hit the CAPS button and have to correct that word. Perhaps the CAPS button could be re-positioned on future models, and a way to turn off the auto correct (if there isn't one already) included. I have taken most of the tutorials and the one on sending a text message in essence concludes when one enters the phone number of the recipient. I don't know the phone numbers and must return to my Contact list - this process was not shown in the tutorial and it seems awkward but perhaps as I become familiar with the phone I will figure it out. Tomorrow I will set up the Bluetooth for use in my car - hope that goes well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung S425G

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2012
from Quakertown, Pa.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: online manual
This is my first slider phone, and the most advanced Tracfone I have yet to own. I LOVE Almost everything about this phone, save one VERY annoying feature. The auto correct. Have not found a way to get it turned off where it will stay off.And since texting involves abbreviations, the phone continues to try to insert the wrong word in... other than that, Great phone. Long battery life, nice keyboard, but could be better organized, but overall, Very Nice phone....
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

another great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 8, 2012
from Kansas City
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, voice recognition, qwerty key board, easy to learn how to use
I got this for my husband. I have a similar phone, T404G, and I love it.
This one even has voice recognition. I might like it better than my phone!
He sent his first text message with it and was able to set up his phone numbers. Easy to learn how to use and with triple minutes for life through TracFone, it's a deal that can't be beat.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice phone, with one drawback

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2013
from Athens, GA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I'm not a phone user. This is for emergency use, and occasional calls when on the road. I replaced my old Samsung with this one, hoping for a better camera for my 50th high school reunion. Turns out the pictures didn't turn out. The 2 mp camera wasn't good enough for indoor use, even with decent lighting.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung SGH-S425G

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: browser soft key should not be where its at.
This is the best phone I have ever owned. I'm 60 years old and this IMO is one sturdy phone. I could get by without the browser because I don't need that but all the features that come with this phone are of great use. Nice clear sound and even turning it on is great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My early Birthday present!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2012
from Milwaukee
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable
It 's not the end of the year but I got a early birthday present for myself and it was better than I thought. the price was right, love the features and this is a phone I will have for a long time to come. YEAH!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First slider phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 13, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: did not come with car adapter
This is the first Samsung phone that I have. It's a slider and I like it. With my big fingers I can use the key board with out any problems. Looks and works great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone for the money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
Bought this as my first phone and am very happy with it except for the fact that it lacks a headphone jack, which makes the mp3 player almost useless.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone for the money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 21, 2013
from Tallmadge, Oh
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: no data cable
Its a great phone but I think they need to include the car charging cable/USB cable for down loads to the microSD card.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Product is Really Awesome!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 16, 2014
from Nashville, Tennessee
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Would recommend to others very durable phone, and good apps.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung S425G (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 7, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
the best tracfone yet I have used prepaid phones,,
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.