Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone

Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone

Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Review 1 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone really has great features.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: (a2dp) + need version for wireless stereo.
I've had Samsung phones in the pass that I enjoyed very well so I decided to try the SGH T404G. I like the idea of the mp3 player and fact that it also plays thru my regular Bluetooth. I've not been able to find a wireless stereo Bluetooth that will connect with the mp3 yet. Other than that, this has really been a great phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am delighted with this phone. The size is right for me, the construction is solid, and the performance seems flwless. I wish battery time was greater, but I'm still learning what features to leave on etc.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Slide out alpha - numeric keyboard

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Pleasanton, CA, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I greatly appreciate the slide out alpha - numeric keyboard. On previous phones I had to punch through each key t 2 or 3 times or more to produce the desired characters.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tough as nails

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Dallas, TX, USA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
This is great I've dropped it off the second story onto concrete, slid it across the parking lot and it works like it's new.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung: t404 cell phone - Well Built.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 26, 2014
from Kingston, New York
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, plenty of options
Cons: n/a
The cell phone has all the features I need .Volume is loud and clear., the screen is clear and size is perfect., has bluetooth for hands free. lt doesn't feel cheap, nice and hefty(quality). Talk time and battery's charge always lasted. I had this phone for several years with out any problems what so ever. I recommend anything samsung. I will get a samsung cell phone again when the time comes. I was always a (blank) brand person , but their quality and dependability declined and samsung products eventually replaced all my electronics and products. From now on that is all I will own. Great job Samsung...p.s, no more (PH)ONY products in my house.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is fantastic!!! GREAT features!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 2, 2012
from Sarasota, Florida
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, extra info on contacts you would need anytime!
Great features, great camera pictures, Qwerty keyboard makes writing so very simple! I love this phone!! So easy to use, and so many thing you can do with it. Contacts allow for a lot of info that you would need. Example: For my insurance companies, I put my account numbers, agent names, and all necessary info I would need if I was not home to see my paperwork. I just look it up on my phone! FANTASTIC!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 27, 2012
from Kansas City
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, keyboard, can use a micro sc card
I haven't had a cell phone for several years. Been sharing with my future ex-husband. Found the TracFone with triple minutes. The best deal I could find.
I love the phone. My husbands old phone is falling apart and needs a new battery, but will he do anything about it?
I have many designs of my own and a couple of micro sd cards and was thrilled I could put my favorite music and my own designs on the phone to personalize it.
I also got a cover and some other accessories for it (very inexpensive), so now it's white and lavender and I can find my formerly black phone easier!
It's easy to learn how to use. The instructions were easy to follow and I wouldn't trade it for any other phone out there!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

T404G Cell Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 8, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a big step up for me in the cell phone area.
It has more features than I'll ever use, but it is nice to have them available in case I decide to get adventurous.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
HM1200 Bluetooth Headset
4 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good enough my wife owns same phone now

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2012
from Cheyenne Wy
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
after buying this phone I am sold on samsung phones and the way they work. The only issue I have and its a hinderance more than an issue is the location of the camara button it needs to be in a better place other than that I love this phone
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 20, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
THINK THE TRACFONE MODS STINK BUT LIKE THE PHONE ALOT EASY TO USE AND DOES WHAT I NEED FOR THE MONEY. INTER NET NOT RECOMENDED CHEWS UP UR MINS BUT THAT MAY BE TRACFONE SERVICE
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone Great deal!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 14, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Only issue I have with this phone so far is position for the photo button. Finger tips hit every time I'm on a call. To be fare it may just be a problem to those that are left handed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatest Cell Phone Ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 11, 2012
from Port Orange, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love this phone. It is so easy to use. Instructions are very easy to understand. This phone offers many features I did not expect to have with such an inexpensive phone. Super value for the price. Camera affords a good quality pictures. QWERTY keyboard makes texting very easy. I highly recommend it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like my Samsung T404G phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2012
from Pittsburgh, PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is by far the best cell phone I have owned. It does everything I ask of it. I am looking forward to adding a Micro SD card and downloading MP3 files and my own personal ringtones to it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, good camera quality, easy to text on, great battery life
Cons: doesn't play youtube videos, not 3g, no camera flash
If you're looking for an affordable phone with a lot of features that's easy to use, look no further! Sure, it isn't a smartphone, but this phone can surf the web (it doesn't play Youtube, though), listen to MP3's, takes great pictures and video, easy to text on and great battery life. It is a good size, not too big and not too small. Great value! Highly recommended!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Calimesa, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Perfect for teens on a budget, decent photos, and good keyboard. Just needs a bit more internal storage but the memory card slot can take up to 16GB! Would buy again
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fair for the money.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2012
from Big Pine Key Fl.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Overall a good phone. Tracefone model does not support sms tex message ID until after message is opened.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great features, love tghe qwerty keyboard

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 23, 2012
from Menominee, MI
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: speakerphone not user friendly to get it to work
I love this phone with onew exception. I have yet to get the hands-free speaker phone to work.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung T404G

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 23, 2012
from Howell, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Basically, I like the phone. The documentation is not very detailed in the User Guide. You need to look at the tutorials to get more complete info. Volume on phone calls needs to be louder. The phone has a nice feel to it, takes nice pictures.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone with one disappointment

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 26, 2012
from Maine
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: can not change incoming text tone
I had a flip phone for the last 3 to 4 years and wanted to upgrade to a qwerty keyboard for easier texting. This phone gives me the easy that I was looking for but the one disappointing thing wrong with this phone is that I can not assign any tone/ring that I want for a receiving tone alert. I can only use the 4 that are on the phone. My old phone allowed me to assign any mp3 tone that I wanted to incoming messages. I have 30 days to return my phone and I am seriously considering it because of this missing option. I know it sounds crazy but I really only receive text messages so a fun alert tone is a must!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Phone is useful. Documentation suffers. Usage information obscure.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2011
from New Port Richey, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, qwerty is convenient
Cons: Did not meet expectations, memory display is erroneous
No or little detailed information about the user interface; that is, the screen menu system. Connecting to a PC? Driver needed? Using the browser? Browser is inadequate. Use a PC or Tablet computer. Fiddle and twiddle with the phone for a few hours to learn how to use the menu? Documentation supplied by the phone vendor I bought it from was minimalist; "Terms and Conditions of Service" and "Important Legal and Safety Information" occupied twice as many pages as the actual description of how to use the cell phone.
Any graduate computer scientist could use this cell phone without much trouble. But, the rest of us mortals need a little more help. I finally got most of the information I needed after hours of searching through various websites and forums. The vendor's forum was useless—they hid all the answers.
Memory display with added micro-SD card is messed up.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Side button problem

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 8, 2012
from Oregon coast
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The location of the side button for photo and volume cause the phone to react when taking in or out of the cell phone case.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice phone for populated good coverage-not for rural.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 27, 2012
from Newberry, Michigan,USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor reception
I live in a rural community and this phone missed half of my calls rendering it useless for a rural situation. I had to go back to my old phone to get my calls. The phone has very poor pickup. Example I get a phone call, but the phone misses it and doesn't even record a missed call plus it doesn't alert me to the message left by caller-just not acceptable in a rural setting.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not good when it has to search for a signal.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 9, 2012
from pa
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bad signal reception in an area where your signal
I would NOT recommend this phone for anyone that lives in an area where your signal is iffy. It will continue to search for a signal and deplete the battery very quickly.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not as good as the 401.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 17, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: poor keyboard performance, glitchy, laggy, slow, restarts randomly
The simple: Don't buy this phone; buy the Samsung T401 instead.
The expanded: On first appearance, this phone is a simple slider phone with a full keyboard. It has a bright display, with options to change the backlight timer and brightness to suit your needs. The keys are responsive, and have a layout that shows some thought was put into it.
For actual usage, the phone has issues. The first, and biggest issue for anyone who texts at all, is that the phone has a known issue with the keyboard. It will either duplicate keystrokes, or skip them entirely.
The second, more universally felt problem, is that the phone is not very responsive at all. Anyone who types with any speed at all will notice that the keyboard will lag 5-10 keystrokes behind what you're typing. Sliding the phone in and out suffers similar lag, resulting in a several second delay where the phone is unresponsive as it figures out what it's doing. The phone itself is also prone to restarting itself at random intervals.
By comparison, the T401 has none of these issues.
I have had this phone replaced twice already, and each have had the exact same issues, leading to the conclusion that the phone itself is the issue. Sadly, my T401 does not work on the provider I've chosen, nor offers another comparable slider phone, so I have no choice but to use this glitchy and laggy contraption.
That said, for someone who uses their phone for ONLY emergencies, and doesn't text, this phone would be adequate. Assuming it doesn't cut off in the middle of an emergency phone call, anyway. However, if you aren't texting, you have no need of a slider with a keyboard anyway; get another model of phone that's more reliable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung t404 (TracFone) QWERTY Cell phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WAP disconnected issue

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2011
from Pennsylvania
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I can't connect to the internet on my Samsung T404G phone. I get the error message "Network Error." "WAP disconnected." I read on the internet that this is a typical problem for this phone. If many people are having the same problem, it shouldn't be so hard to find the solution. Where can I go to find the solution? I
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.