Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Microwaves
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)

SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)

Rating:
4.212 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
51 out of 63(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer Reviews for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Review 1 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Door Handle - Poor Design

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 21, 2014
from Toronto, ON, Canada
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, door handle
I have owned this unit for 18 months and at 11 months the plastic door handle broke and was replaced by Sears under warranty. Again, 7 months latter the plastic handle has broke again. My wife and I use the microwave maybe once or twice a week so this is obviously a very poor design. I would not recommend this model, SMH1713S/XAC.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bang For the Buck!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Omaha, NE
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, eco feature
Cons: none
This microwave was purchased to replace an older GE unit. For the price, it more than exceeded our expectations. Was easy to install and functions flawlessly. A minor drawback was not having a one touch preset time function, but come on, who can't press two buttons? I would highly recommend this microwave.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Micro-RAVES!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 1, 2014
from Chesapeake, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: simple yet sleek, all he techs stuff you want!
We have had samsung microwave for a couple months. I love it. Our previous microwave sat on the counter and sucked up all he kitchen space. This one is mounted and makes all the difference in my revamped kitchen. The stainless steel makes it look boy sleek and updated but also fits in with the decor that is new but not über modern.
The function is great as well. I love the kids meal option and he sensor cooking. Overall it was a great decision. We just recently got samsung washer and dryer so we decided to go with the same brand in the kitchen. Glad we did!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2014
from San Diego, CA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Love the Microwave, stylish, yet inexpensive, functional and practical.
Love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ups and downs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 28, 2014
from TN
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Original microwave had a problem and had to be replaced. Second one is working better. Started making same noise as first one initially, but stopped doing it. Hope it keeps working correctly.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 24, 2014
from FLORAL CITY,FL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable
we have had the microwave for more than year.no problems works great looks good.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Meet my needs

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def
Looking for tight corner door and Samsung model delivered
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This microwave was easy to install

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from Indiana, USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Very cost effective microwave. Have had no problems with it. Mainly used to reheat items.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is everything that is advertised and more

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from California
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, power
Was not crazy about another Samsung product since my daughter had a lousy experience with an expensive refrigerator from big box store, however when compared to the other brands in the price range that we were looking for, this one came out on top both on price, specifications, design and features. One word of caution, if you are used to an average microwave oven, start by cutting the cooking time by at least 30%, this is a very powerful oven. Besides, my wife likes it, and that is 95% of the happiness of life.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

NOT WHAT WE HOPED FOR

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from Glen Allen, VA, USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
We purchased Samsung refrigerator,micorwave, and dishwasher at a very reasonable price. We had been very pleased with our Samsung washer/dryer and fully believed these were quality products. The microwave made it a month or two before the handle broke off, this was taken care of under warranty but the clock is fast now! Not a huge issue as long as it continues to heat food that is what we care most about. The fridge is now my main concern. The ice feature has ALWAYS been subpar. Whether ice randomly falling from the machine or sticking open and gushing out to now not operating at all. I followed all on line steps to attempt to reset it and still nothing is happening. I can buy the piece myself for fairly inexpensive, however, I am concerned that after buying this piece there could be a greater issue with the unit. Samsung offers 5 year coverage on "sealed unit" which does not include any of the features on their models. I feel that it should last longer than year and a half and do not feel that we received a quality product. I hope they are willing to at least send us a replacement icemaker to test and see if that resolves our latest issue.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great microwave. Great value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Greenville, SC, USA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
We have been very pleased with our Samsung microwave. It is easy to use - great features and displays. Easy for our kids to use as well!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Temecula, CA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Really like the automatic cook and defrost features
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Oshkosh, WI, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: can't see clock, larger start bution
Great Microwave, only wished it had a larger start button.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great microwave for price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Baltimore, MD, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: 1-touch cooking (time)
Bought this after my "elite" microwave stopped being so elite. I have a hard time initially considering Sammy for in my kitchen, but very pleased I did. This microwave has a great look in any kitchen. Multiple fan speeds as well as timer for night-light. Also has "sensing" technology which usually cost $100 + more in other brands.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
This product is very easy to use and performs well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Massachusetts, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, easy to clean
The stainless steel is so easy to keep clean. No fingerprints.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Microwave Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2014
from Miami,FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Very happy with my microwave samsung,easy to use and nice looking.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Failed 3 months out of warranty

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2013
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I thought this was a nice machine, louder than expected but fine. Now 3 months out of warranty it won't shut off. This was an expensive Samsung. I expected more. Never Samsung again.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific OTR Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2013
from Timonium, MD
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color
Great performance everything I needed and more. Good looking too
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Looks, Performance and Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 5, 2013
from San Antonio, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
This is the first Samsung microwave we have owned. We bought it to match our other Samsung appliances. We are perfectly happy with its performance, features and, of course, it looks great in our updated kitchen. I wish the work surface light was brighter but it's not really a problem. I would recommend it to family and friends.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mixed feelings about this one.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 8, 2013
from Kansas
Cons: exhaust fan
The microwave part of this unit works like a charm. I love the pizza button, the melt/soften and the reheat choices. The microwave works great and cleans up great. If the exhaust fan and lighting worked as well as the microwave - they'd have a real winner! The lighting isn't very bright even on high and the exhaust fan doesn't have enough suction to really get the job done.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Microwave 1713 Review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 3, 2013
from New Kent Va
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
Cons: dispaly color
so far so good, about 3 weeks in and have had no problems, easy to operate, looks good. only complaint would be that the blue led lighting on the display is hard to read from more than a couple of feet away. Easy to install.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good but could use some features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 13, 2013
from New york
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Microwave works fine, only complaint is was told it had LED lighting for the stove top but when i got it was disappointed with plain old incandescent lights. Also wish it had one touch buttons, have had cheaper microwaves with this feature.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 4, 2013
from New Albany, IN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I do like the way the microwave looks and the pre-programmed options. I would like to have seen a beverage pre-program but the microwave functions very well. The lighting is not very bright.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Handle broke after 3 months

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I did see this problem in reviews for this product prior to my purchase but assumed it wouldn't happen to me but it did. Lousy design. Very disappointed. Calling Samsung tomorrow.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Quality and at a low pricetag

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 30, 2013
from Grand Rapids, Mi
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: display dim
This is a great above the range microwave. For the price it performs and looks as good as some much higher priced microwaves.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Microwave Preforms Really Well!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 13, 2013
from Melbourne, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
We checked out several different microwaves and their reviews. We decided on this microwave mainly because it matched the design of our Samsung gas range. We use the microwave several times daily and we couldn't be happier with our purchase. The only limitation we have observed is the cooktop lighting. The lighting isn't very bright. Don't let the lighting limitation hold you back. If you're in the market for a microwave, this Samsung Microwave should be at the top of your list as a consideration.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 23, 2013
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I like this microwave. It's just the right size and has all the features that I need. The main buttons could be bolder and easier to read, but it works very well so far. I am happy that I bought it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Microwave not working on arrival

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 2, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
The microwave had power, but we kept getting an "SE" error reading on the screen. Nothing would work after that. Samsung is sending a technician to correct the problem. We will write another review after they leave and we can see how the Microwave works. It looks nice in the kitchen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
Works very well. Even seems to cook faster than the higher wattage unit I replaced it with. Only thing thats just a little disappointing is the door latch is a little stiff which makes it slam when closing.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2012
from Miami, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
the price is ver low and this product it's the ultimate microwave
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Came Scratched

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Came with a scratch on a handle--Samsung said they would not replace it.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

handle broken in less than year

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 29, 2012
from WV
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: quality of handle
Great features and easy to operate, but handle broke with only minimal use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Does the job and stylish too

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 24, 2012
from Detroit, MI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
You may have noticed that in visiting friends, micorwaves vary in ease of use. Some are very hard to figure out.
This microwave seemed to me to be almost intuitive. It has a number of practical options, for defrosting, pizza, reheating, melting butter, etc., these are not unique to this one, However, I find it practical and easy to use and it looks good too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good product for the money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 18, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Your basic over the counter microwave, easy to read screen & large touch pad. No problems so far, installed about a week ago.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Microwave for the Money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 17, 2012
from Mooresville, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, easy to use, sleek look
There are so many microwaves available to choose from but I liked the sleek look of this microwave and I love Samsung products. The display is easy to read and there are numerous choices for preset cooking. It is affordable too!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2012
from Florida
Pros: Inexpensive
I will fully fill my kitchen with Samsung product. I just hope I can have an app to reheat the food when Im busy lol What a lazy life.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Handle Broke after 2 months, now microwave is completely dead.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Bought all matching stainless Samsung appliances for our kitchen in our new house. Loved the look in the store and when they were installed in our house.
After 2 months the handle broke off the microwave. With some handy work, I was able to fix it with high strength epoxy and careful preparation. Now on 10-29-12, the microwave is completely dead. Keypad shows nothing, wont turn on, nothing at all. I have verified power at the dedicated outlet and checked the breaker. Upon close inspection, it appears as though the high level thermostat has failed along with the thermal fuse (these are both located just behind the key panel on the base of the microwave). I show power going to the high level thermostat, but no continuity on either of them. Appears to be a premature part failure.
Very disappointed in a 1.5 year old microwave. I would not purchase another Samsung product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

did not work

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2012
from Albuquerque, NM
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality
product did not work - nobody in town to fix it - returned to store
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Momma's Happy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2012
from Bettendorf Iowa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Bought this for my wife. Installed in 40 minutes. In 45 She was smiling. Love's it and all the feature! She says it's smarter than I am. Momma's happy. Everybody's happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 27, 2012
from wellington, fla
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
great style, dosen't have a rack and it could use more power
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Started out good, now buzzing after 2 months of use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 26, 2012
from NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This replaced my old microwave oven which stopped working after 10 yrs. The look, style and features are great, problem is that we haven't had it for even three months yet and 2 wks ago it began making a LOUD buzzing sound while in use. The microwave I tossed was also buzzing and not heating anything. This one is just buzzing, but still heating (for now...) I called Samsung and they were very nice to deal with on the phone and scheduled a technician come to check / service the unit...but I really didn't need this trouble with a NEW microwave!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extra features for the price.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 26, 2012
from Georgia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Just bought the Samsung French door fridge. Needed a microwave and the Samsung seemed to be the best for the value.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice & Quiet

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 11, 2012
Pros: Lightweight
Absolutely LOVE how quiet this unit is. Only drawback is that clock display is a little hard to read, but no big deal. Installation would have been easy but the wall templates were missing, other than that...it goes right in. Excellent choice!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great looks and performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 29, 2012
from Warner Robins, Ga
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
We looked at many different microwaves and the reviews on them. We decided on this Samsung microwave and we couldn't be more pleased with it, for it's size 1.7cu.ft and power 1,000 watts it was was the best value out there. It looked good in the store display, but looks even better once installed in our kitchen. Very nice balance between the stainless steel and black glass. A lot of cooking features to choose from and so far has cooked or reheated everything just fine. This is our 5th Samsung product in the home with the oldest turning 6 years old and still working perfectly.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD PURCHASE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2012
from Columbia, S.C.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, appearance, samsung reliability
I researched Samsung products and read the reviews on the website for this particular microwave. I also spoke to family members and co-workers who currently own Samsung appliances and they unanimously reported that I could not go wrong with this item. The stainless steel exterior compliments the other white appliances in my kitchen. Installation was easy but I also had help from an individual who has installed his own OTR microwaves in the past. (You only get one shot with drilling holes.) Overall, I am pleased with this purchase and wouldn't think twice about considering other Samsung appliances.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

bike12rate

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 29, 2012
from evansville, in
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Needs a 1 min timer (1 button)
Installs easy and looks nice in kitchenm - fits good
Quiet, efficient operation
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sensor cooking feature is great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 26, 2012
from Kenosha, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, easy to operate buttons
Cons: had a small pock mark in the stainless finish, stainless is harder to keep clean but prettier
I love the sensor cooking. It helps to reheat things like items on your dinner plate all to the correct temperatures (so potatoes aren't cold, while meat is overcooked & too hot) and all done at the same time, and minimizing splattering too. Makes great popcorn too!
I also like the handle being non metallic, while the rest is stainless, because it's easier to keep clean and doesn't get hot if steaming a pot of water below it on the stove.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Size Matters

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: light under not bright
The taller inside allows for items with taller tops to fit, the turntable rotates in different directions every time the start button is pushed for more even cook. the auto functions and add time is better to have 30 sec instead of 10 sec.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Handle Prone to Breakage

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2012
from Rochester Michigan
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: handle prone to breakage
We have a Samsung refrigerator and microwave and love them both BUT the handle broke on the MW after less than one year's usage.
Internet posts indicate this seems to be a chronic problem with Samsung microwaves. Wish I'd known this prior to purchasing!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 6, 2012
from Bridgeport, WV
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
This is a nicely designed microwave. It has been performing well for the few weeks we have owned it. Features are about average for this type and size, and we consider it a good value. We have no complaints, only comments about our use so far. The door closing sounds a little hollow, not solid and the turntable will on occasion make a revolution noise. Nothing serious, we are satisfied!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Matches my refrigerator perfectly

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 11, 2012
from Montgomery, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: stainless steel, lots of features, cool blue lights, consistency with other samsung appliances
I really just like the way this microwave look and feel. It does what it's suppose to do. It's a microwave with lots of really cool features. We've only had it 3 days but everything works as it should. I will update this in about month.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Features, Great Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 21, 2012
from Coram, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Has all the bells and whistles that a casual microwave oven user may want, from reheat, popcorn, and timed cooking. Has enough wattage to cook quickly. The built in turntable makes sure its all done evenly. Too bad the operation manual is not included, but it can be easily found and downloaded on the Samsung website. The volume level of the unit is average for a unit of its size.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the look of this microwave!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 29, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: plastic handle
I really love this microwave. I would've given it 5 stars; however, my only drawbacks are I wish it had quick start buttons (like my old GE microwave) and even though it's a stainless steel microwave the handle is plastic :( I'm hoping I can purchase a ss handle and change it out. Overall a really nice mircowave.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Impressed Overall

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2012
from Arkansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
I really like this microwave. Mine is the stainless steel model. My old one caught on fire so I wanted to buy a different brand. Love the features it has. Overall it is great. Our only problem (microwave hood type) was it was to long to fit in the hole, ended up cutting 1/2" off our tile backsplash to get it to fit.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Fit

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 30, 2012
from Washington, PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, ease of use, ideal matching
This microwave was a perfect fit to match our Samsung range and refrigerator. I'm still learning to use all of the functions properly, but I haven't had to look at the manual to figure anything out yet. It has a ton of very simple settings, and I can't wait to try them all out. The price was relatively low as well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, noisy fan, very dim light
We really like the features and value of this appliance and it is super quite when cooking. It replaced an old Spacemaker, what a fantastic differance it made.BUT... the fan is extremely noisy and the light underneath is nothing more than a night light. If they upgraged the light I would rate this a 5 accross the board. I read in previous reviews that the light was dim but thought I would have enough light in the room to make up for it, I was wrong. If you have a cooktop below this micro you will not get much light to see what your cooking. Installation was not too diifficult but does require 2 people.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for SMH1713W 1.7 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Microwave I've Owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 6, 2012
from Central Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, easy to use and clean
Cons: noisy fan
Besides its good lucks and ease of operation it's very quiet.
My only complaint is the noise of the fan but I have said that about every microwave I have seen operating.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value <