Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Microwaves
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)

SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)

Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
42 out of 51(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer Reviews for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Review 1 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Color coordination

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByEvaluator
onJanuary 1, 2014
from Chicago IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: name
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The Door window is BLACK, It should habeen WHITE to match rest of appliances.
FAN is LOUD.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Modern Exterior Design, Lacking Features

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bywhatdouwant
onJanuary 28, 2014
from Richmond, VA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, lacks features
We purchased this product a little over a year, replacing one made by a competitor. Basic features are fine, cooks well, powerful, etc. It falls short by failing to provide features I enjoyed for many years & expected Samsung to provide:
-power level cannot be changed during cooking
-add 30 secs cannot be added to all cooking times
-turntable cannot be turned on/off during all cooking times
-kitchen timer only beeps once at end of cycle, but does not repeat itself (very annoying)
Very disappointing as these were features my family & I were accustomed to.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't BUY!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bysuziem1
onJanuary 22, 2014
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
I love the design, it matches the rest of my samsung products, BUT, after only 3 years of use, I heard loud POP, and no heat! USELESS!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NICE RANGE WITH GREAT PRICE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVISHPOL
onJanuary 21, 2014
from NEW YORK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
NICE FINISH, GREAT FEATURES, EASY INSTALLATION, SUPPORT WAS NICE FROM SAMSUNG.COM
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice looking & easy to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBurnsie
onJanuary 20, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: surface light is weak
Had to replace a 10 year old model. This model is so much more quiet than our old microwave! It is very easy to use and quite powerful. The installation instructions were very clear & we had no problem installing it. I only wish the surface light were brighter.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Product works well except for the reheat function

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byhockeykat
onJanuary 9, 2014
Not real happy with the automatic reheat function. Not enough control over items.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJanuary 8, 2014
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This unit has a ton of features that make cooking easier. It is very sleek and matches the other Samsung appliances that I purchased.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So quite!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJoeSixPac
onDecember 27, 2013
from Savannah, GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: operating controls, quite, efficient
The level of noise when operating is so low - very easy on the ears. The exhaust fan is also low noise. Operating controls are easy to use and understand. Cleaning the interior surfaces is also a breeze. This is a full powered machine.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product is cheap and noisy.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bynag60
onDecember 19, 2013
from IL.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, hard to clean stainless
This microwave is loud and noisy when running. Cheap and rattles.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All the features we need

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byvrodjoe
onDecember 18, 2013
from vrodjoe
Pros: Realistic color
Everything is in the right places. Easy to useand right on the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Like it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 10, 2013
from Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Great product for the price, the stainless really looks nice along with the rest of the appliances!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJdevagain
onDecember 9, 2013
We have had this microwave for just over a month and have been extremely pleased. It is quieter than our last microwave and heats foods evenly. I especially like the way the start and stop buttons are separated by lines from the rest of the buttons. It makes them easier to find when I don't have on my glasses. :-)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good steel microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBudgerator
onNovember 5, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
No complaints so far, works great! Looks great! 4-5 stars
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybobbybear13
onNovember 2, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
My wife & I purchased a Samsung suite of kitchen appliances. The first time we used the microwave it was easy to operate and heated fast and evenly. It looks great in the kitchen and for the money you can't beat it! Samsung is taking the lead in home appliances now.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFlbeaches
onOctober 20, 2013
from Palm Coast, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This product looks good and does an excellent job. Large interior area for cooking.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sleek design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJtaxman
onOctober 9, 2013
from Spring Hill,Fl
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Looks great, large capacity and heats very well. The price was also right.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylm06197
onOctober 9, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
great product excellent price highly recommend I love this microwave.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quiet!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGreen43
onOctober 6, 2013
from Las Cruces, NM
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, quiet
Purchased this unit based on other reviews that stated it was quiet, and it is. Has great features and a lot of them. The lights over the stove are actually useful because they put off enough light to actually see.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the design andd functions

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybobo67
onSeptember 29, 2013
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:less than a month
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Works great much quieter than other Microwaves hat I have had. Impressed with the quality. Will look at replacing all of my appliances with Samsung
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
19" LCD Monitor
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Lasted less than 2 years

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bytweetyfan
onSeptember 24, 2013
from Seffner, Florida
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
I have had this unit approximately 2 years- (out of warranty of course). When I got it brand new, the handle snapped off within 2 weeks. Since it has a push button to open the door we continued to use it. Now I have a "5E" code which means it requires service. I'm sure that would be as much as a new microwave; this one will go to the dump.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Looking Microwave!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjwieman
onAugust 16, 2013
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This microwave looks great above our stove and oven. It works well and has quite a few options. The only problem is the light to shine on the stove below is not very bright. Other than that...we love it!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Self Installed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLadyDi102
onJune 16, 2013
from Maryland
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
This product is a replacement for a unit that was roughly 5 years old. It is easy to clean, does a great job heating evenly and has not had any issues as yet. The large capacity interior gives me more options for smaller size portions. Loads of options for heating, warming and cooking. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for this unit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySceptical
onJune 6, 2013
from Muncie, IN.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
We really don't cook with it but for the uses that we do use it for it is a nice product. Still learning some of the newer features with that our old one didn't have. But so far so good. I really liked the installation instructions that worked like a charm. I had harder time removing the old one than installing the new one.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SMH1816S Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onApril 16, 2013
from Oswego, Il
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
We love our new Microwave. It performs great. We purchased a Samsung Refrigerator 3 years ago and loved it so when we upgraded our appliances we went with all Samsung. Even my TV is a Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Replacement for Previous Samsung Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPeregreneTx
onMarch 31, 2013
from Sugar Land, TX
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: single over range light
So far, so good. I liked my last Samsung microwave but a small plastic spring in the door latch made it unusable and resulted in my having to replace it. This one seems to be its equal in performance with an improvement in the lighting arrangement. The previous model had its cooking area lighting at the back of the unit so it lit only the back burners of the range below it--nearly worthless--but this one has its light forward so its much more helpful. Would have preferred LED lighting and dual front placed lighting but $100 more for that feature seemed excessive. Let's hope we get more than two years out of this one,
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works like a champ!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTommerinFL
onJanuary 29, 2013
from Saint Augustine, FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: fan is a little noisy
I waited a few months to see how I was going to like this model... love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Galaxy Nexus™ (Verizon) Android Smartphone
4.4 out of 5(650)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRhongomiant
onMarch 6, 2013
from FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Overall this is a great microwave. It is spacious, powerful, well designed and feature rich. It's lighter than my old microwave, but the same size outside, has more internal space, has a turntable, has a cleaner design, is quieter and more powerful.
I agree that the light is a bit dim. Also, you have to orient the fans in the back depending on how you will be venting. It's easy to do this before installing.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not happy with this model

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bygypsy1352
onFebruary 26, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The performance and microwave/sensor cooking work great.
However the over the range light is terrible, only one bulb and it is very dim, and I cannot remove the bulb.
The door is plastic and poorly aligned. It is also loose.
I do like the multi speed vent fan.
Overall, I would look at other models. Would not recommend this one
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I love this microwave but am very disappointed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByIzzyBelle
onFebruary 21, 2013
from Maurice, LA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The microwave works great and is very attractive however when I cook on the matching stove moisture occurs between the glass on the front of the microwave as well as inside of it even though the fan is being used. I was first told this was a defect and now I am being told it is normal on the replacement microwave.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byretiredlo
onFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Have has this MW a short time, but very effective unit. Easy to install, and sleek design. Many of the features that we have come to expect in a quality microwave.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Average Micro

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bygmdbass
onJanuary 25, 2013
from Raeford, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Average Microwave, but what it has over the others is a 4 speed fan.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Didn't last 1 year

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySmileNowCriedLater
onJanuary 22, 2013
from Chicago, Illinois
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, classy design, high end look, products worked miracles
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, broke down fast too fast
I purchased this product in a combo package frig, conventional oven, and microwave.. I bought it in november, but I didn't open my appliances until early February when my remodeling was complete. The Refrigerator was gorgeous and months later the stainless steel look had faded, a cosmetic deffect, the microwave was the first to go bad as the display faded, no lie within one month... I am a die hard Samsung fan and consumer of their 3D L.E.D televisions, 3D plasma and blu-ray players.. I own these products, but the experience of Home Appliances, has really upset me and depressed my wife..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byccross34
onJanuary 1, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Great value, Looks great, Works great. and its a Samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My nuke

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByUroy
onDecember 15, 2012
from Near Cape Cod
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, typical nuke
Cons: cooktop light dim
We chose to replace our over the stove microwave with this Samsung unit. Installing it was easy enough. It has all the typical features other microwaves have. Other than the light over the stove top not being too bright, the unit does the intended job.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Like The features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byshpblder
onDecember 11, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: lighting
Love the features but wish the OTR lighting was brighter. Samsung should come out a replacement LED bulb to remedy this problem
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy to install

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDIYer
onDecember 8, 2012
from Shreveport, LA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This microwave works well, and was easy to install. The vent fan is a little loud at the highest setting, but vents well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good All round microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygisboro
onDecember 5, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
I purchased this after my last microwave decided to stop heating food. It is an over the range unit, which I installed myself very easily. Set up was easy as was the learning curve on cooking food. It heats up evenly and has a number of pre-programmed cook settings.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EASY TO USE AND QUIET

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByOREO1
onNovember 30, 2012
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: the under light maybe beter if it was led
THIS TE BEST MICROWERE VERY EASY TO USE AND VERY QUIET MY WIFE LOVE THIS AND I RECOMEND 5 STARS,THANK YOU SAMSUNG... : - )
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Looks alone don't cut it

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByMilitaryMomma
onOctober 16, 2012
from Annapolis Maryland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, loud, poor functioning, light puts off excessive heat, clock display difficult to read, fan extremely noisy, fan cuts performance during microwave use
Samsung has FAILED on this product. The construction is nearly paper thin metal that can't hold its own shape. The door does not shut well. It needs to be slammed or shoved to latch closed.The light is a fail. On full bright it's barely a faint night light BUT it's also EXTREMELY hot. You can feel the heat from it nearly 12 inches under it. On to the fan. It's very loud AND you can't run it while using the microwave. Although the fan can be changed to circulate or vent outside the vent outside option feels to also try to circulate so suction is lousy. The fan on the 3 or 4 level is louder than a standard dishwasher, nearly as loud as a hair dryer. I can't have a conversation in the kitchen when I have the fan on. The microwace is also too noisy. It cooks HOT but doesn't seem to regulate how hot or how fast. I replaced a unit with the same power rating. I miss the easy on button of my 10 year old unit.
And the DISPLAY: Is extremely difficult to read. The color is a dark blue and the brightness is low and not adjustable. I have excellent vision and the clock is not readable beyond 8-10 feet away. Even at night it's not clear and the shine on the cover only compacts this problem.
I am RETURNING this microwave.
Samsung has some great products but this microwave is not one!
Dpn't buy this microwave.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

FAST BUTTON

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBIRDIELOVER
onNovember 20, 2012
Pros: Bright display
I JUST WISH IT HAD THE EASY BUTTON SO WHEN U PUSH 1 IT GOES FOR 1 MINUTE ETC
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HappySamSung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySafiera1
onNovember 16, 2012
from UT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Great value! Quiet and powerful. And it's a Samsung, so I know it will last.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAllclad
onSeptember 28, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Nice microwave, great features, easy to use, nice display
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

food way

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjabonx
onJune 25, 2012
from colorado
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
love it any day any time cos it gives you your reliable success in food.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best microwave I've ever had!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylucky15
onJune 22, 2012
from Whitewright, TX
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I have been pleased with the features and the look. I did quite a bit of research and found this one to be the best "bang for your buck" Samsung microwave.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features and is easy to use.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLuvnewappliances
onJune 18, 2012
from Lodi, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
We like Samsung products and will purchase more in the future when needed. We purchased a Stainless Steel model over the stove. It is easy to keep clean.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Broke in 3 months

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByBrokeMicrowave
onJuly 17, 2012
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: broke in less than 3 months
Microwave broke after 3 months of use. The microwave starting arcing without any metal objects inside and tripped the breaker. When power was restored the microwave appeared to work but would not heat.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value, Nice Contemporary Design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJCF150
onMay 1, 2012
from TN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, easy to install, nice design, good value
I own this in silver, (stainless steel). The microwave mounts with ease. Offers the ability to vent outside or ventless exhaust. It has many cooking features, and my favorite, the 30 sec quick touch button. It's a good value overall for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Okay product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByComputerTechie
onApril 7, 2012
from Long island
I have used this product for:less than a month
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: overpriced
this is an okay product. My cousin bought one of these couple days ago. The design is not that attractive, but the features and juice that it holds is fabulous.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLakeAnnaJim
onJanuary 26, 2012
from Lake Anna, Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
This replaced a 10 year old builder installed microwave. I installed it with a little help lifting the unit without problems. So far, it lives up to the reputation of other Samsung products that we have - excellent quality. My only complaints are the light should be brighter and the exhaust doesn't pull from front burners (I installed it without outside venting).
Bottom line, my wife and I are pleased with the microwave and would buy it again.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall good value in an over-the-range microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySeaG
onJanuary 16, 2012
from Arizona
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, cooking performance
Cons: inadequate range light, noisy fan on high speed
This microwave is typical of our previous ones, except the cooking performance is much better.
Most of the programmed functions work as intended, and reheating is above par.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bypapamark
onDecember 31, 2011
Lets you easily program the desired cooking time and power level, at the gentle press of a button, for error-free results every time.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful thing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKunsley
onFebruary 8, 2012
from Mesa, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
I replaced my previous model because the door didn't shut, broken. This model replaced the model I had. I love it. It is big enough, fast enough, and is great looking.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Range Microwave SMH1816B/XAA

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPOPSGARAGE
onJanuary 29, 2012
from CHEEKTOWAGA NY
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, great looking, easy to use
Cons: could use lighted control buttons
Would recommend this unit to any one. Works like a dream ,heats quickly and throughout. Very quiet and the thing I wish there was on it would be lighted menu keys.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Captivate™ Glide Android Smartphone
4.2 out of 5(109)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Skypilot007 of MN

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySkypilot007
onDecember 15, 2011
from MN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
We selected this Samsung beause the one that was a BEST BUY in Consumer's Report was out of stock or out of production. Our 10 year old GE Spacesaver had just died and we were looking for a quality product and discovered that Samsung's Magnitron (sp) had a 10 year warranty. SOLD!
The installation went well but the minor detail that one has to slide the vent grill to the left to acccess the charcoal fliter was NOT in the enclosed generic instructions but online.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Fan is obnoxiously noisy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bycrashcrad
onDecember 6, 2011
from Hopkinsville, KY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Great product except for one thing - the fan is noisy in the first setting and totally loud in the 4th setting. It is bad enough that I probably going to take it in and exchange it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bycook1947
onJanuary 6, 2012
from Grand Prairie, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: underside heat/steam sensors auto vent
Cons: Did not meet expectations, top vent
1. Does not have one-touch express start (press keypad #1 - #6 = 1 - 6 minute cooking). I specifically asked salesman about this and was assured this model had this feature.
2. Control panel very difficult to read. Panel should be backlit.
3.Cannot leave shelf inside microwave unless you are using the shelf.
4. The 6 page owners manuel provided is a joke. Go online and download complete 24 page manuel
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byolsen105
onDecember 26, 2011
from MT. Prospect IL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: needs brighter bulb
bulb could be brighter other than that, great product
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great microwave!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykeels1
onDecember 12, 2011
from citrus heights, ca
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, looks great
Cons: door seems a little loose.
I love this microwave!! No only is it great looking, but it is roomy and has alot of different options for you to use and the rack for layering capability. The light under the microwave was broken upon arrival, but I called Samsung and they sent me a new one that day, I received with-in 4days or so.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product is great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBean1234
onDecember 4, 2011
from Flagler Beach, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
The product provides excellent service and is a good buy. We think that some of the buttons are not very easy to find such as the light and fan switch as well as the timer. We also would like to instant on feature when, for example, you push one it automatically turns on for 1 minute.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMattinCT
onOctober 8, 2011
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I was very impressed how lightweight this microwave is. The install was easy, came with templates for easy guidance of where holes should be drilled. So far it is running great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBecca24
onNovember 5, 2011
It works! It was easy to install. Looks nice. Has lasted so far.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Could use some more convenience features

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySierra7000
onNovember 1, 2011
from SW Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: easy to install as replacement
Cons: needs one touch features
Saleperson said it had one touch features (like hitting #3 for 3 minutes, instead of 3. 00 start), but it doesn't. I found those features handy with my last microwave. It would be nice if the key panel was illuminated. Don't care for the blue light for the clock.
Otherwise, it's a fine microwave. I have only used it a week so only time will tell.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Pops popcorn and reheats coffee well, but . . .

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMicrowaveGuru
onSeptember 16, 2011
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, excellent for popcorn, reheats coffee well
Cons: Did not meet expectations, overheats food, over-defrosts food
First, the template provided with the microwave oven was inaccurate, causing the installer to drill two holes in our cabinet in the wrong places. He had to drill two additional holes. There were a couple minor comestic flaws: the door was slightly misaligned (1/16") and the paint on the interior had a small scratch where the door closes against the cavity. The manual contains little detail. In terms of fuctions, it pops popcorn very well and reheats coffee well. It tends to over-cook when reheating food and defrosting. When defrosting frozen food, it begins to cook the food before it stops. We keep a lot of frozen food on hand which we need to defrost quickly, so this is a major handicap. It's a good value, looks attractive, but performs inadequately for our purposes.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for SMH1816W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looks Great, easy install, but...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLuv2cookitup
onOctober 5, 2011
from Cincinnati, OH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Great looking microwave, replaced a old hood/vent unit. After installing the first thing I did was turn on the cook light for the range. I was shocked! Not literally, but a 20 watt buld is not much more than a night light (why have a high, low, off setting). I am looking for other lighting solutions now because I can't see what I am cooking on my new Samsung gas range! Common guys, with all the LED options out there, why aren't you incorporating them in your microwaves. The lighting in my new Samsung refrigerator is great!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design