Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Microwaves
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S

2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S

Rating:
3.957 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
17 out of 23(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Review 1 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Agreat all-around microwave that looks good as well.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBriley
onFebruary 19, 2014
from Indiana
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
this is an excellent microwave. All controls are easy to use and read. The cooking levels heat your foods evenly and rarely over cook a variety of foods. The ceramic interior is easy to clean and maintain. This is a great buy!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nuke it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRTANJ
onFebruary 10, 2014
from TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
The microwave work great but it could use a full light up selection display for those time when I too lazy to turn on a light.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Microwave Great Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bychrisbrom7
onDecember 30, 2013
from Phoenix
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This microwave has all the features you could ever want and for a great price, I would recommend to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLuvmypug5
onDecember 19, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Display panel tells you exactly what you need to do whether just reheating or more intricate procedures like melting chocolate or softening cream cheese.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good looking and works as advertised

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJodyboy
onNovember 28, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Solid, dependenable, and matches all our other Samsung appliances. Nice. Strongly recommend. Many good features. Even heating. Easy to use, and intuitive controls.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byconc
onNovember 5, 2013
Got it in an opened product value and didn't have any issue...great value for what I expect to do, performs very well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Unit

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBrunne
onAugust 31, 2013
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, easy to use
Has all the features but doesn't cost a bundle like so many other microwaves out there. Easy to use, has Warm/hold a feature that my wife absolutely loves. I like the styling and the controls at the bottom, makes it easier on both of us to use the unit. Great product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBOBG49
onAugust 3, 2013
from Concord,NH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
So far so good we have had this microwave/hood for four weeks and love it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best looking Microwave I have see.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydartmate
onJanuary 24, 2013
from Phoenix, AZ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, sounds great.
I love the looks and the operation of this microwave. It matches my high end induction range. It has so many features, it is fun to use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DIVEANAH39

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDIVEANAH39
onDecember 28, 2012
from ENTERPRISE, AL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I AM ENJOYING MY MICROWAVE TO THE FULLEST THE DESIGN IS NICE AND I LOVE THE INTERIOR COLOR
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrbw62
onNovember 7, 2012
from Atlanta
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, great value, easy to clean, exhaust fan is a plus, led light is great
Cons: none
This is the first over range microwave that we have owned. I installed it my self. It is great that you can choose to vent outside or inside. The fan on this is like a tornado! Love the options and ease of cleaning. We have cooked a lot of items in it, and it does it well. The LED light is great, use it as night light also.
Controls are easy to use, features a lot of options. We enjoy it daily.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChefJK
onSeptember 27, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: roomy
This microwave does a great job on every dish or meal I put in it. It is fast and powerful. The features set it apart from others in it's price range. I'm very happy with this microwave.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWMFAB
onSeptember 18, 2012
from Northern, NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
This is the best looking microwave on the market. It's functions are simple to use. The quality of the unit is the best we have had in over 20 years. It is extremely quiet and efficient. This is our first Samsung microwave. My wife is so glad that we picked this one out of all of the microwaves out there.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Micro

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByOlskool79
onMay 14, 2012
from USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Purchased this to replace older OTR model, Not as easy to navigate through controls as the last one, not as powerful as the last one either, but overall it's a decent microwave. only time will tell on it's longevity...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great looking microwave with lots of features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnnArborSue
onMarch 28, 2012
from Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: stylish, lots of features, spacious interior, lots of power, easy to install
We bought this microwave to replace a failed model from another manufacturer. It is stylishly designed and has great features. For example the fan has 4 speeds and it really works to vent heat from the stove top. The light can be used as a night light and has a timer feature. There are many settings for defrost and cooking various foods. We haven't tried all of them yet but the ones we have tried work well. The interior is spacious and the power is good (cooking is fast).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
28 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
 
 
 
23" All in One
4.4 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great design

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycrsbds
onSeptember 8, 2013
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I like the design, and the dark interior doesn't show dirt. The door opens with a little difficulty and the buttons are a little difficult to push, but I think they will get easier with use.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy clean

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNutritionist
onApril 29, 2013
from texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: easy clean interior
I love the space in this oven and the interior surface is very easy to clean.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2yrs and now problems

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bykrusie2
onMarch 16, 2014
from south dakota
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality
Under light goes off and on by itself. If I open and shut the door it will turn back on...dim...then off, repeat process until it stays on as the button won't work when it does this. Random beeps and a zero displays until you open door or push random buttons to restart. Clock is off after a day, then will work fine for a week or more. We have many samsung products as we generally trust the brand but this has been frustrating.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Keypad Falling Apart in 3 months

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bychestersdad
onMay 8, 2012
from CT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
2 adults in household. Used for 3 months and keypad falling apart.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very expensive pieces of junk!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByScrappy11111
onDecember 10, 2012
from Otsego, MN
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Very expensive pieces of junk! and we would never buy or recomend these products to anyone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
4of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lasted 3 Months

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByOutOne
onSeptember 21, 2012
from omaha, ne
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality
The number 9 button stopped working after three months. No repair part available so I had to take the broken one down, exchange it at the store, and hang the new one.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good looking, but poor performance.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByHomeRuner
onAugust 13, 2012
from Washington, DC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Love the look of this microwave, but it has issues.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
2of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 2.1 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Stainless Steel) SMH2117S
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nice Looking Wall Ornament

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJuly 15, 2012
from Ridley, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Microwave would cook fine..but other featrues failed to work from the start. The clock would not stay set. If you set the clock, once you used the microwave to cook, the clock would have to be reset again. When using the exhaust fan while cooking on the stove top, when you opened the microwave door, the exhaust fan would shut off. You wouldn't even have to turn the microwave on, just open the door and the fan would shut off. Tech service came out and changed the main circuit board, plugged microwave back in and blew out the new board. Tech service determined that we have a short in a wiring harness and now the microwave blows the kitchen circuit breaker if plugged in. So here I sit without a microwave, because tech service could not fix it. It looks nice sitting on my wall. A very expensive wall ornament!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.