Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Microwaves
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave

Rating:
3.85 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
12 out of 19(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Review 1 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Microwave Black

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRed59
onOctober 17, 2013
from Sanford NC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
No problems with this microwave. Still working great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LveSamsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byljhogansville
onFebruary 6, 2012
from GA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I absolutely love all my samsung products, the microwave is great, cooks great and very efficient.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymet63
onFebruary 12, 2011
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
We love this microwave! So far, we have been very pleased with this product, and it looks great!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product and a great price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywindslow548
onJanuary 18, 2011
from salt lake city, utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I purchased this to replace my 15+ year old GE microwave.
After online research I selected Samsung as the product of choice. I couldn't believe how inexpensive this unit was when I purchased it at Best Buy. It took less than an hour to remove the old unit and install the new including unpacking and clean up.
Better yet, in the same space we got a unit with 70% more volume and almost 50% more power. What's not to like about that?
Even better, my wife and children love it. We don't care very much for complex options. Put in food, turn it on, take out hot food. It does the job well. I wish the LED display was a bit bigger so my old eyes could read it from afar, but that's a minor issue. Perhaps over time we'll enjoy the "modern" features, but for now it's MUCH better than what we had before, and I was able to find a unit in stock at Best Buy and get it installed the same day with help from a friend.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjay1234
onJanuary 13, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: poor light location
Everything is great only thing would like to change is the location of the light
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sleek and affordable

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byibafilfan
onNovember 21, 2010
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, turntable
Cons: no scrambled egg button
Just installed another company's microwave - it arched, sparked, bad- went out and purchased this model. It is beautiful. Only thing we really wanted was a scrambled egg feature; however, we will try the custom button to store the time etc.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We love it!!! :)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGtown70
onNovember 16, 2010
from Colorado
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This microwave was a great buy! When a product exceeds your expectations, you can only sing its praises! The inside is HUGE! The controls are simple and EASY to use! There are so MANY ways to handle your food warming needs :) I have already recommended Samsung microwaves to a few other people, and they love theirs as well!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfied

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMnNana
onNovember 14, 2010
from MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Have only been using this for about a month, but so far, am very satisfied. Has more features than our old microwave, but was cheaper! I really like the reheat setting. Somehow, this unit knows just how much to reheat something without constant checking and adding time.
The only difficulty we had was getting the cover off to place the filter, but find that as a very minor thing.
At this point, am very satisfied.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byhatetocook
onOctober 12, 2010
from mi
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Frankly, this is how we live. Use it all the time, it is the one appliance we can not do without. Good value for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent product, great features, poor documentation and instructions

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTrex0705
onJanuary 12, 2011
from Pembroke Pines, Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, heats food very quickly and evenly
Cons: grease filter is nearly inaccessible, bottom filter does not secure well
We have had this microwave for a couple of months now and we like it very much. I installed it myself and the instructions were very poor: they were inaccurate (the template was flat wrong) and misleading. The instructions for removing and replacing the grease filter were also inadequate. Once I got it installed though, it worked very well. The only complaint I have with it now is that the filter on the bottom of the unit is not secure: whenever we clean that area, the filter falls out. It's easy to put it back in though.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This microwave is average at best!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLuvs2cook
onJanuary 7, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
We recently purchased this Samsung microwave based on price and good ratings we read on some websites. After using it a few times, we noticed condensation builds up between the glass panels in the door...this happens when cooking a potato, also when I boil water for pasta on the cooktop. We feel eventually this will leave a stain between the glass panels. Our daughter has another model Samsung microwave and she doesn't have this problem. We have owned two other microwaves and never experienced a problem like this.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to operate

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytfroman
onDecember 17, 2010
from chicago,il
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
The only complaint that I have is that the cooking is not even.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My biggest complaint

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byretired2some
onNovember 11, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I really do like this microwave - looks great, cooks well, and was a great value. My biggest complaint is that you cannot use the timer function and cook at the same time!!! If I had known that I might have purchased a different model. Kind of a shock to find out it cannot do both when my other units had. Guess I need to go purchase a time for the counter...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

design fault

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bygolfslicer
onJune 9, 2010
from Salisbury, Md.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
we purchased our SMH8165B microwave on 1-14-10 and we are totally satisfied with one exception. The person who designed the location of the light under the microwave did a poor job. The light is so far back that it only lights up dials on my stove,not the cooking area. My wife complained so much that I went out and bought an addition 12" light and mounted it under the front of the microwave . This really does a good job of lighting up all four burners and whatever she is cooking.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works well but has parts issues.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAustyn316
onOctober 31, 2012
from 46514
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality
I have had this microwave for almost 3 years in that years I have had to replace the front key panel and the brain 2 times. It has all stopped working again and wouldnt you know it is out of warranty and it would cost more to fix then just buy another microwave. So there it sits unuasable.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BycookWpower
onAugust 15, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
average price, average features, average microwave
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Product failed after 3 yers

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byrobie23
onNovember 12, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations, electrical/circuit board
Stopped working after only 3 years. Was an "OK" microwave until then.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Pleased...then disappointed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byjcbug
onOctober 11, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, good features, easy to install
Cons: Did not meet expectations, questionable durability, product longevity
Was initially very pleased with product. Easy to install. Good features and performance for the price. However, product failed at 1-year anniversary, so durability is questionable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great at first

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bytiredmomof3
onSeptember 6, 2013
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This microwave worked great for 2.5 yrs. then it just stopped working
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Waste Your Money

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByTazzybuddy
onOctober 28, 2012
from Bradenton, FL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Cons: Did not meet expectations, circuit board problem
Problem with the circuit board from day 1. Can't get it fixed properly. Consumer reports rated it well that is why I bought it. Don't waste your money.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.