Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Microwaves
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave

Rating:
3.053 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
10 out of 18(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Review 1 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPlanitech
onFebruary 15, 2011
from Arlington, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, quality
Installation was a little bit hard. It looks good and I tested all functions and they seem to work fine. Shipping was carried out without delays and package arrived in good shape. General appearance is nice. I have a Samsung refrigerator and since I am satisfied with it, that influenced me to buy Samsumg when my Jenn Air microwave broke.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had but short time, but....

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykw7pd4
onFebruary 1, 2011
from Knox TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
So far, appears to be an excellent microwave. Was easy to install and works and looks great. Controls are easy to use, MY door fits perfectly and MW is quieter than others I have had.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySubdoc101
onOctober 9, 2010
from Pensacola, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would strongly recommend this microwave. Excellent performance, and an appealing product to upgrade. And is easy to use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product goes well with our new Stainless Samsung French Door Refrigerator.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydonparzsr
onSeptember 30, 2010
from Warrington, (Bucks County), Pennsylvania
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I have always found Samsung products to be rated the best. I know we will get many carefree years of use on both of our aplliance products.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT BUY

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLAWNGIRL
onNovember 15, 2008
from goshen in
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have only had the samsung since nov. 1 2008 but i think it is one of the best microwaves i have owned. it is an upgrade from what i had before. this is a 1000 watt my old one was 750 watts. other than getting use to the quicker times for cooking it has been great. it is so elegant and streamlined looking. easy to clean. stainless steel. i love it. i had planned on waiting till black friday to purchase one but the price was really good and i knew it wouldn't be any lower plus i had been without a microwave for awhile. so i got it early.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stylish but needed repair

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTheCableGuy
onNovember 3, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I really like the look of the microwave and it fits nicely above my oven. I works well, cooks good, but it has stopped working completely and needed repair twice in the year that I have owned it. The plus side is that Samsung's warranty service is outstanding.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good value for stainless

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byphlips
onFebruary 6, 2011
from southbury,ct
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
just hooked it up. so far so good. timer works, heats tea well. i'll know more as i use it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best features and quality for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjss71
onMay 27, 2010
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I am very happy with this microwave. It looks and feels like a more expensive model with it's stainless trim, and performs very well. The door feels sturdy and closes nicely. The controls are easy to figure out. It is quieter than our old one (a 4 year old Magic Chef that shorted out and quit working one day), and heats things evenly. The recirculating fan really sucks away the steam, too. The fan is actually quieter than our old one and works much better. The light underneath is bright enough to light what I am cooking on the stove top.
My husband and I installed it ourselves using a cordless, 1/2 inch bit, a hole saw, and a phillips screwdriver. It took us about 2 hours because we had never done this before. It was easy to lift out and turn the fan blower for recirculating, I just followed the diagram in the manual.
If you are on a budget, but want some style and quality too, this might be your best bet! The only reason I did not give it all 5's is that we haven't had it that long. I did not see any complaints online about the Samsung microwaves breaking or shorting out like many of the more expensive brands that I researched, so we went for this one. I hope it lasts at least 5 years. We use our microwave several times a day.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great microwave, but some bad design elements

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byadote
onJanuary 6, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The microwave is great, but there are 2 issues with the design:
1. The screws on the side should not stick out as far as they do. They should be recessed fully. It ended up scratching the heck out of my new cabinets when I installed.
2. The filter is much to hard to replace.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByVike
onNovember 7, 2009
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The only thing that I must complain about is how the charcoal filter gets change. I had a very hard time getting the cover grill on again after installing the filter. Picture in installation book is not very clear how this should go in.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Buzzing sound

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBusymama
onJanuary 31, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, buzzing sound
We really like the design of the microwave, and have enjoyed the different features we have tried. I like being able to turn the sound off when family is sleeping. But after using it for about a week, it started a buzzing sound everytime it starts and then the sound will go away after a few seconds. It continues to do so, and it is annoying, especially after only using it a week before it started. Other than that, it is a nice microwave for the value.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Microwave Error

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymearlypsgh
onJuly 31, 2011
from Davie, Fl
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I received a SE or 5E error message less than 2 years after purchase but a few months after warranty expired. Very disappointing. especially after purchasing multiple Samsung products, TVs, Micros, etc.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung microwave not all it should be.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymjpeaa
onDecember 18, 2010
from Hilliard, OH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
This product is not manufactured very well. The door does not fit/close properly. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth it

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bytoedexterity
onApril 1, 2013
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: powerful when working
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, broke twice in two years
Although when it worked, it was a great microwave, it broke the first time just after a year of use. We had to pay to get a new electronics panel because the first one shorted out. Then, just a year after that, it completely broke, suddenly shutting down and smelling of a major electrical short. I am so disappointed, especially since my cheapo college microwave lasted more than 20 years, and was still working when I replaced it with this piece of junk.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

REALY BAD SE ERROR KEYBOARD WENT BAD NO RECALL

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByFRED12345
onOctober 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality
REALY BAD SE ERROR KEYBOARD WENT BAD NO RECALL. REALY BAD SE ERROR KEYBOARD WENT BAD NO RECALL.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk, Only worked One Year

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byskav2407
onJuly 5, 2012
from South Kingstown, RI
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Like many of the other reviewers have stated this microwave is junk. After a little over a year we got the SE Error code. We redid our whole kitchen with Samsung products and this is now the second one to break. Our dishwasher never works correctly either. For the money we spent I expected my Samsung appliances to last at least a few years.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

MICROWAVE

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBUMMER1
onOctober 4, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
LOOKS GOOD ,GOOD PRICE.AFTER 8 MONTHS HAD SERVICE CALL TO REPLACE FUSE.NOW THAT WARRENTY IS UP HAVE ERROR CODE SE/5E.NEED ANOTHER SERVICE CALL PER ONLINE SUPPORT.NOT SURE WHAT VISIT AND PART WILL COST BUT NOT HAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT AT ALL.LOOKS LIKE THIS WILL END UP ON TREE LAWN!SEEING HOW I HAVE OWNED THIS FOR 1YEAR AND 9MONTHS.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor quality Model SMH8165STE microwave

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDavetdc
onAugust 21, 2011
from Phoenix, AZ
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Only 16 months in use and it's failed. Cost to repair is not justified based on expected life cycle for a second control panel. 4 out 5 star rating is not accurate based on information on the internet about the short life experienced with this model.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nice features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjerseygirl
onFebruary 4, 2011
from NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Got 2 of these-both arc with internal wiring issues as did all in store I tried. Store pulled all from shelves. Perhaps there is an issue with this model?
Will gladly try another model
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.