Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Microwaves
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave

1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave

Rating:
3.633 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
6
30 out of 45(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Review 1 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydibb
onMay 20, 2014
from Huber Heights, OH, USA
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Has everything in a microwave one would want. The features are great and the performance of this microwave is the best.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Samsung Microwave Unit

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycountrybusy
onMay 19, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This Samsung microwave model works flawlessly. We love the look and fit of the unit above our kitchen range. It has several very good features and temperature ranges for cooking. The unit has severed us very well. We are always on the go and to be able to prepare a meal in half the time versus a standard electric range works perfectly for our busy schedule. We would definitely recommend this unit to our friends and family. ;
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymagalaxy
onMay 19, 2014
from Buckeye, AZ
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Every time I use my Microwave I find a new feature to try. Not just your plain old one button Microwave.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySag123
onNovember 11, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Quiet and Powerful
Works great has lots of nice preset settings as well as sensor cooking. which all work as they should. It was easy to install came with templates for screwing the mounting plate and for cutting holes for the power cord.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I could have expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHapEwithIt
onOctober 21, 2012
from Montana
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display
This unit has been everything I could have expected. Had to learn how to slightly burn my popcorn though, too many sensors and I like my corn done. Over all, a great value for a great microwave, and it looks really good installed too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1000 w samsung otr microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byoledoc
onFebruary 13, 2012
from joplin, mo
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, reliable
for once- no complaints
unit looks and works very good
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung OTR Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLuv2shopforme
onNovember 21, 2011
from Pennsylvania
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable
A good looking functional microwave oven with range.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice looking, works great!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRV207
onOctober 24, 2011
from South Carolina
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is a really fast microwave; it has a lot of extra functions that I'm just learning to use. But it looks good and I'm enjoying its speed...you can cut the time stated on package directions by 30 seconds to a minute, just so it won't be too hot to touch.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Classy addition to my kitchen

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysam5140
onSeptember 26, 2011
from Hobe Sound, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, classy
This microwave not only looks good but performs wonderfully. The controls are labeled for easy solutions; no guesswork if you are making the right selection. Have had great success with every Samsung purchase I have made.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bycurler0702
onJuly 28, 2011
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
My microwave has worked great and I really like it a lot. I have had no problems w/it and I love all the extra settings it has and the one button settings.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the $$ you can not beat it.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onFebruary 7, 2011
from Memphis, TN
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Looks great and works great. Very stylish and I have not had any performance issues with this microwave. I am very pleased with my purchase. Will recomend to friends and family.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great product and its name.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymsfixita11
onOctober 25, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This over the range microwave is a great added feature to add to our kitchen as we remodel. It goes great with our new 6 burner stove as well. I look forward to many years of enjoyment with our new product. I love everything about it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByIROCZ89
onSeptember 19, 2010
Bought this because my other one died while defrosting meat. This one is so quiet and thawing baby food has become so much easier with the custom cooking feature.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKristen
onJuly 5, 2010
from Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Super easy to use and visually lovely.
Quality is very nice and I am impressed with Samsung.
I will for sure buy again!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outstanding value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybertwrene
onMay 3, 2010
This is a very well built microwave. I especially like the solid front vent grill on top,as I've owned 3 other brands of over the range units and they all cracked and broke,problem solved here!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBabyCakes
onMarch 30, 2010
from Merced, Ca
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
This microwave goes above and beyond your normal mircrowave. It looks sleek especially above a matching Samsung range. You can guess your cooking times like you have always done if you like, but there are some good pre-sets offered. I am an avid baker and use the pre-sets for melting alot. I dont have children yet but would imagine some of the other pre-sets would be great for preparing meals for toddlers. The metal shelf that comes with it got knocked of and made a small burn mark inside, so be careful to not use it if you don't need it. I am happy with the performance compared to the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Micro Wave Yet

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymomv
onFebruary 6, 2010
from Southern California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
We purchased this micro to upgrade our kitchens looks & i'm so glad we did. This one has all the bells & whistles. With one touch you get 1 min. on high, great for coffee reheating & you can touch more than once to up the time by 1 min. each time.
Auto defrost is great too, no more over defrosted meat! Popcorn setting works like a charm & I'm sure i'll find more to love about it as time goes by. I haven't tried everything yet. Personally, I don't have a problem with the light & love the night light setting.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The baby in the kitchen

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByIMacW
onJanuary 6, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
This great little fellow completed my new stainless steel kitchen, along with its brothers, Refrigerator, DW and Range it made my dream kitchen come to life. I have used it almost a year now and have found nothing that I could complain about. The features this MW has is really amazing for the price. The automatic settings and ease of operation is great. Especially enjoy the night light feature, its the little things that count and this one has them all. I now own 7 Samsung products, should I, or need I say more!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE THIS MICROWAVE!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTEIKATAZ
onDecember 7, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I LOVE THE FEATURES ON THIS MICROWAVE, IT MAKES IT EASY AND FAST TO USE, I ALSO LOVE THE LIGHT UNDERNEATH AND THE FACT IT HAS TWO SETTINGS FOR THE LIGHT. SO FAR I LOVE EVERTYHING ABOUT THIS MICROWAVE..... THE PRICE WAS SOO REASONABLE ....NOW I WANT THE SAMSUNG RANGE TO MATCH !
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

We like it but

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymdcwlaf
onNovember 16, 2012
from Indiana
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: noisy
We recently purchased this microwave to replace an existing OTR. We like the look and the performance but the sound is very annoying. I am not sure if it is just the microwave we got or if all Samsung microwaves are this loud. It makes a very loud buzzing noise while heating. Between my wife and I, we have owned several microwaves over the years. I have never had one as loud as this.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good set of features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByFamilyof8
onNovember 3, 2012
from Carmel, IN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: built solid
Good value and features for the stainless steel set
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great service

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPaul185
onJune 21, 2012
from MA
Cons: lcd: blue is hard to see. white or green is best.
Broke and repaired. This microwave has served me well for 2.5 years until the circuit board broke. Started getting weird functions coming on and beeping until a week later the very common (for this model) -SE- error (= short circuit) came on and the microwave would not work. I was very angry and upset as I hoped to at least get 10 years out of it. I called Samsung to see what my options were, but unfortunately I was told that I'm out of warranty (1 yr) and they couldn't help me.
I ready many reviews and customer feedback on Samsung forums and realized that it's a very common problem with this model, so I called Samsung again. After going back and forth on the phone and speaking with a supervisor, Samsung had agreed to honor a one-time repair. A local (Samsung) authorized repairman came out and replaced the defective part.
Overall I am happy with the microwave. Even though I was thinking about leaving a negative review out of frustration, I am very happy with the overall experience and will definitely consider Samsung in the future. Thank you Samsung!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPieman312
onDecember 19, 2011
from Avon, IN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Although not my first choice for microwave ovens, I have to say, I am more than impressed with it!. Large and spacious, room for almost anything with lots of presets. Only thing missing- a remote!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quiet unit and quick heating

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bywildstar49
onNovember 26, 2011
from Mass.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Nice Unit, fairly eary to install, need 2 people to do it. Runs well and fairly quiet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Feature suggestion

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byluvdproduct
onDecember 19, 2010
from Las Vegas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: lack of light at night
It's hard to see the function buttons at night. Recommend to have the buttons lit when being used.
Maybe a light turns on when a button is pushed and then shuts off after few seconds when not in use.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

OTR microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bytzmnndvl
onOctober 23, 2010
from Townville,SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Very good microwave and the extra room makes it flexible for very large containers. Installation was rather simple but the limited range of the anchor bolts require extremely precise anchor hole alignment. One of the anchors broke during installation and had to be replaced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLaVon
onOctober 4, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Easy to install Looks great and easy to operate Great microwave
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inexpensive over the range microwave with simplistic features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByStephanieH
onSeptember 21, 2010
from Tampa, Fl
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: i don't the blue lights.
Bought it because it was reasonable for the price. This a replacement microwave. I would have liked a little more convenience features built in - like quick minutes (pressing the number three automatically gives you three minutes like my old microwave). The interior size is nice.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybuckeye123
onAugust 11, 2010
This is the first stainless steel appliance I bought. I really like the look of this microwave and the quick button options. I also bought on sale at Lowe's so very happy with the price paid for this microwave.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Can't See Buttons and Hard to Press Down

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMeeeeeeeeeeeeee
onAugust 30, 2013
from Meeeeeeeeeeee
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, large cooking area
Cons: light keypad, buttons need hard push to operate.
Our major complaint is the lightness of the lettering and numerals on the keypad. They are almost impossible to see under normal lighting conditions. One must turn on the kitchen light to be able to read and operate them. Very perplexing is why our Samsung Oven have nice bold lettering for similar type controls. Making this even more frustrating is how the membrane buttons usually requires two or three hard pushes on a very narrow area. Thus far we have no complaints about this microwave’s performance
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Plastic handle

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bykitchengirl
onJanuary 25, 2013
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
In the store I was happy with the product. However, the door handle is cheaply made and developed a large crack at the bottom. The entire handle subsequently broke off. For the price, I expected a better made product. Another plastic handle is not worth the cost of replacing the handle.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average Features

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By1personunderwhelmed
onJanuary 12, 2013
from Cape Cod
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: fan is too loud little air flow
we bought this product during a kitchen renovation. the two primary reasons for choosing it was we wanted stainless steel and the Samsung name.
The unit has performed as expected, and i wouldn't consider any of the features to be fantastic.
However, the vent fan is very load and when operating moves very little air.
today, being about 14 months of operation it just died. no power to the display, light will not come on. i have tried cycling the power by unplugging it and no change. there is power to the outlet, it is clearly the unit. i have had intermitant similar issues with the Samsung dishwasher, but a reset has always worked.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

average microwave

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bymnmlvr
onJuly 16, 2012
from california
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
good micro. could use a bit more features but for the money it's good.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not at all happy with flimsy rack....

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByApylady
onMay 4, 2011
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Did not meet expectations, cheaped out on rack
Looks great, works great, not pleased with the rack.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cooks well but some problems.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHMAN007
onSeptember 11, 2010
from Clearwater, FL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
A little over 1 year of ownership, for some unexplained reason, the door handle developed a 3 inch crack right down the middle starting from the bottom of the handle and going up. Even though I am out of warranty, Samsung gave me an extended warranty and took care of this obvious product defect at no charge to me. I don't care what anyone says or blogs, Samsung customer services has been very good! They have a lifetime customer because of it.
This microwave is nice and matches all of our other Samsung appliances. However, I must agree with TXUMP (review#3) about not being able to use the timer while you are cooking something. I too had a 25 year old microwave that could do both so I don't know what the problem is. Many times I am timing something on the stove, then all of a sudden my wife throws something in the microwave and I lose my timer! Of course, the easy solution is to use the timer on the Samsung range that sits just below the microwave. Nonetheless, you should be able to cook and use the timer at the same time. Disappointing to say the least. Also, do not leave the under lights on at night. We left ours on the low setting and both bulbs burned out after 7 months. Only use the under light for cooking and cleaning your stove top otherwise they will burn out rather quickly. LED lights would have been much better.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Looks good. Lacks basic function

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bytxump
onJune 21, 2010
This is a good looking microwave that microwaves food as it should. However, it lacks the capability of allowing you to use the timer independently while also cooking. You can either time something or cook, but not both at the same time. The microwave I had to replace was made in the early 1990's and allowed timer and cooking use at the same time, so it's baffling as to why this one doesn't. If I'd known that when I was buying it, I would've skipped it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Looks good!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMarsey
onNovember 23, 2009
from Worcester, MA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have only had the Microwave for two weeks, bought it to accompany my new Samsumg Electric Range. The inside shelves are convenient, especially when warming up two dinner plates of food. I am very disappointed in the light under the microwave - it is much too dim to aid in cooking on the range and the nightlight is useless. The light is also positioned in the very back edge of the microwave and the light does not reach the cooking area on the range.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Products, poor packaging

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bymatsie
onMay 27, 2009
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
We purchased a Samsung Range back in March and wanted a stainless microwave to match. We ended up purchasing three units before we got one that was not dented up. The first 2 went back to the store. My suggestion is to remove from box before ever leaving the store. I figured the first one was a fluke, but the second had me wondering about the Samsung brand. All dents interferred with performance door not closing right or were in location clearly visible. 3rd unit is not perfect, but I can live with it. Besides I cleaned out the local stores.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Dead after 2 years

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByJTodd
onDecember 21, 2013
from Virginia Beach, VA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
After just 2 years and 2 months I got the dreaded "SE" or "5E" flashing code on the display panel. Unit will now not respond to any butttons or work. Out of warranty and out of luck.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Malfunction after 3 years

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByFroboyl
onJanuary 5, 2013
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
After working great for 3 years there is a malfunction which makes a loud buzzing/humming noise when the door is closed and microwave is off. Would not recommend this product as I've had cheaper no name microwaves last 10 years with no issues.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor quality and life of microwave

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByUnhappycook
onOctober 18, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality
I expected a little longer than 18 months service from this item before needing repair at a high cost
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Died in about a years time

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bynansammy
onJanuary 30, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Did all the basic tests like fuse etc, it seems something major has failed.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byprtclrhrbr
onNovember 30, 2010
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, cheap door handle
Poor Design....Door Handle is plastic, not stainless steel.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great for 18 months, then a sudden demise...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByBlueMoose
onSeptember 17, 2012
from Frederick, MD
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
It was a great little microwave until today. I loved the features and had been happy with the purchase. I made popcorn last night then came home today to the blinking "5E" or "SE" (depending how you read it) and no response from the control panel. Nothing in the manual or on-line to offer a solution that I can see. From reading other reviews it turns out to be a common death that occurs between 12 and 18 months. Generally, I love Samsung products, so this is a surprise. I have to go now and find a way to un-install it if I want to get any sleep tonight. There is a beeping alarm that accompanies the code and sounds every few minutes like I should know what to do next...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not A Happy Customer

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByColdDinner
onSeptember 5, 2012
from Southern NH
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, didn't last very long
Like other reviewers who are not happy have reported our SMH1865ST microwave lasted about 1 year and 8 months (1 year warranty come and gone) before it started flashing the --SE-- code. The night light also was turning on/off by itself. I guess we should consider ourselves luck because based on other accounts experience this issue, ours lasted a few months longer than the average. I've purchased more than 6 Samsung products and have had great luck with all others thus far. Guess the luck has to run out sometime. Not happy with this purchase. Buyer beware of this product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Looks good but broke just after a year

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bylmdc
onAugust 1, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, broke after 13 months
It worked fine until it didn't. About a month after the one year warranty expired, the -SE- code appeared. This microwave isn't worth the money.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product didn't even last 6 months

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bysillylilly
onJuly 19, 2011
from Iowa
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: didn't last 6 months
I bought this new for our new house it didn't even last 6 months it just went blanl screen and everything when it wasn't being used and is broke will not work. I am very disappointed in it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointing product

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByR2D2SS
onJanuary 9, 2011
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Worked great for the first 12 months.
Exactly two weeks after the 1 year manufacturer's warranty ran out the microwave stopped working. The light/night light began flashing off/on and an error message appeared: --SE--. Disappointing product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for 1000W 1.6 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Should of listened to the general public

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bykwiq1
onDecember 7, 2010
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This microwave looks great. Has all the fuctionality I needed for the price I was looking for. It worked great for a year and less than 1 month. Now, it has no power and will not do anything. I understand that everything man made is subject to occasional failure, but after reading the numerous poor reveiws on this product I have come to realize that it is just not a good product. The bottom line is it dosent matter how something looks if it does not work. I will buy a painting if I need to look at something that has no other function.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.