Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Microwaves
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave

Rating:
3.44 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
14 out of 25(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Review 1 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMelindaam1183
onJune 9, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I love this microwave! It works awesome and heats the food great without having to reheat!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Over Range Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAverren
onJanuary 9, 2011
from Nashville, TN
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Great size, plenty of features and easy to clean. Great value and looks great w/ my Samsung Range. Had the recall service done for the mounting issue but no other problems and the in home service for the recall was quick and easy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to install

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byaschwartzkopf
onJanuary 3, 2011
from Terre Haute, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This microwave was very easy to install and works great!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byotrreviewfor3mo
onDecember 31, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, easy to install
Got a good deal on this MWO and it fit in exactly where our GE spacesaver had been, even the screwholes on top. Fairly quiet, and vent is adjustable.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bypea1nut8
onDecember 21, 2010
from Syracuse, NY
Pros: Inexpensive
This microwave is awesome, it heats great and I don't think the blower is extremely loud. The only thing is I wish the under light was brighter.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best buy out there!!!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMtnMike
onDecember 7, 2010
from Colorado
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, great looking appliance
For the money I don't think you could find a better value. It does everything you would expect from a microwave. Looks very nice.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByshoptilIdrop
onDecember 1, 2010
from Nashville, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
I've only had the samsung microwave for a few days and I love it!! It has a built in timer which I didn't know it had and will come in very handy for baking. Plus a soften melt button. I'm very happy that it has a light with it also and it gives off plenty of light. This model is so easy to use. I'm very pleased. Thanks Samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Purchase

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybusybusymom
onSeptember 10, 2010
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Got this Samsung microwave as we were replacing a GE that had failed after years of use. Important characteristics were the dimensions of the replacement and its' power being similar to the unit being replaced. The Samsung comes with a selection of preset cooking options that differ from the previous unit, but seem equally functional. I notice that some some foods are cooking in a shorter time. The only thing that bothers me about this OTR microwave is that I find the single light for the stove top is not as bright as I would like on the high setting.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good purchase, would advise others to buy it.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJoanie
onJanuary 18, 2010
from Hollister, Mo.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
It is compact and has alot of good pointers to use, like it very much, fits real good in the space I had. Very roomy and bright and easy to clean.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Item

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydogtired
onJanuary 12, 2010
from Palm City, Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
After exhaustive research, I decided on this Microwave. It does not have all the bells and whistles that some might be looking for, but I'm not planning on driving it only cooking in it. It is a great looking Microwave, heats all the foods evenly. I do not find the exhaust fan annoying as I'm busy either preparing other foods or doing other things while the fan is operating. To me the fan noise is a very minimal thing to complain about, no offense meant to the other reviewer. I think it's a great product, especially for the price. Everyone that has seen it has given nothing but positive comments about the look and how it compliments the rest of my appliances. I would definitely recommend it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVGSG
onDecember 22, 2009
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Simple stainless steel over the counter microwave at a great price. If you are looking for something fancy then this may not be for you but be ready to shell out double the amount then. The only issue I have with it is that the light below the microwave (the one that lights up my stove) is dim and not close to being enough. Its more of a night light. Was also very easy to self install.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One of the best

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykrperry23
onJune 14, 2012
from New York
Had this microwave for a little over a year, and never had any issues. It's big and roomy, as well as heats my food properly the first time around
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful appearance, but noisy turntable

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybkinopks
onDecember 19, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
We've had the microwave for a little less than one month. It is very attractive and cooks everything we need to very well. The digital display is so bright that it serves as a night light in our kitchen and unfortunately there seems to be no way to adjust that. The turntable, though installed properly and clean,does not turn smoothly. It seems as though it is binding. We will have to call the service department.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Baking

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCzechdancer
onSeptember 24, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This microwave is set to high for baking potatoes. From all the other microwave that we owned. This product over bakes on the auto time
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bychico
onDecember 4, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
this samsung replaced my kenmore and it works great the only problem is the fan is loud.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average Product

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byrlucas
onOctober 10, 2011
from Clinton Twp., MI
Pros: Inexpensive
Average Product ... I get what I expected from the unit. Easy installation.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Design Poor Execution

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMidGaG
onSeptember 12, 2010
from Middle Ga
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Final verdict on this Microwave is still a work in progress. We have it for less than a month. The cook turntable spins slowly and erractically no matter what amount of weight is placed on it turning heating. The unit if fairly noisy and makes some unusally sounds during heating.
Features are o.k., really like the carbon filled filter for the vent fan. The light for over the stove could be brighter. Compared to all of our other SAMSUNG products this one just isn't measuring up the quality standards of our SAMSUNG Stove, Dishwasher, TV or Frig.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

my review

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byneedappliances
onJanuary 17, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
bought online thru bestbuy, great price but problems after 1 month
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

THE WORST PRODUCT I HAVE BOUGHT FROM SAMSUNG

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bygbadoe
onDecember 27, 2013
from providence ri
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I bought this product in less then ten months,it started to rust and peel at the base. I called best buy was told that because i did not buy the warranty the was nothing they could do for me. it looks nice,but for this product samsung did not do me any justice.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Samsung Microwave/over stove

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByPcolabch
onNovember 18, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This microwave functioned properly for about 6 months, now it is the albatros in my kitchen that wastes my microwave space.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

14 Months Old and NOT WORKING!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bybennie19
onFebruary 22, 2012
from texas
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I purchased this microwave on 10/16/2010 and stopped working on 02/21/2012 (14 mths). My previous microwave lasted me 16 years! I will be going back to that brand. I would rather pay more money and have a good quality product that will last longer. Since it was out of warranty It was going to cost me more to repair than what I originally paid for it. It is going in the trash! Beware
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product did not live up to expectations

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByJWT1977
onDecember 10, 2011
from Peoria, IL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The microwave worked fine for 1.5 years. Then it started shorting out. The problem was traced back to a bad thermostat. I'm sick of messing with this microwave. Time for a new one (not a Samsung).
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nothing but problems

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bylg01254897
onDecember 6, 2011
from Tampa
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, doesn't work
5 months after purchasing the magnetron went out in the microwave. Samsung sent someone out and it was fixed. Now we are getting errors (SE1,SE2,SE3) and it won't work again. We are 1 month out of warranty.The microwave was great while it worked but, I don't know of anyone that wants to buy a new microwave every year. There was a recall for the error codes just not for my serial number.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Short Life...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By7Sense
onNovember 26, 2011
from USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The design the Samsung Microwave really caught my eye: clean, stainless steel look, nice and easy to use. The installation instructions were clear and the install itself over the stove was easy. I really liked the unit and several visitors had positive comments about it.
However, the unit DIED after 2 years of light use with the dreaded "SE" or Key Short Error code. The cost of repair was higher than I expected.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 1000W 1.5 cu. ft. OTR Microwave
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Broke down in 7 months

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByPouyee
onJanuary 25, 2011
from Virginia
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Had problems screwing to cabinet. It broke down in only 7 months. Good price but wondering if it was worth it now.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.