Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Microwaves
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)

Rating:
3.238 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
11
24 out of 40(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Review 1 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Appliance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 22, 2011
from LIttleton, CO
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Clean lines, reasonable price, easy to use. What more do you need or want........
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Over the range microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 4, 2011
from Buffalo, New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bought the 1100W 1.8 cu. ft. OTR Microwave on the recommendation of Consumer Reports. I have not been disappointed. It was reasonably priced and has met my needs as a replacement of my old over the range microwave. I love having a shelf so I can cook more than one food item at a time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good and Plenty

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 4, 2011
from Cumming Ga. USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, attractive
Cons: ugly display light color
This is a wonderful microwave. It has the features of other brands that cost twice as much. I chose it because Consumer Report gave it a great rating. Matter of fact my neighbors micro went out at the same time and we both bought the same one after we researched the best buy for our money. It cooks evenly, its fairley quiet, has all the features that I need. and looks great. I am just not wild about the blue light on the display.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 8, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
really love the microwave best appliance i have brought yet
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
10of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOOKS GOOD IN MY KITCHEN

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 13, 2011
from Edison, N.J.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, ez to use
Remodeled ower kitchen with black appliances and this microwave fits in good. Large, fast cooking, and EZ to use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
26 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
4.4 out of 5(37)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Excellent Samsung Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 24, 2011
from IN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, great built quality & value, not over featured
Cons: the wall bracket needs to have horizontal play
I looked at all of the microwaves in this price range and the Samsung is clearly an outstanding value...Build quality - relevant features and price puts this one at the top. The only minor downside is the wall bracket that needs to be more forgiving and allow for some horizontal tolerance. You need to be precise in your measurements to get this installed and a redesign would facilitate a superior installation process.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 14, 2011
from Mpls, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: over the range
Works great... I've always wanted an over the range microwave...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than I expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 22, 2010
from Coast of Washington
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, well made
Cons: none
What a great microwave. Cooks very fast and has a very large oven. It was easy to install for me and my wife. Did not make very much noise and fan works great to clear the kitchen. I would buy this microwave again.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2010
Pros: Realistic color
I have only used this product for a few weeks but already I love the ease of use and solid feel. It cooks, heats and defrosts perfectly.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Microwave is Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2010
from Arvada, Colorado
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: large capacity
Cons: would like night light to be more foreward
This unit is nice looking and performs great. I would like to see the bottom outside night lights closer to the front to view my front burners on stove better. Clock light would be easier to see (for me) if white light rather than navy blue--although it is a neat color. The interior is roomy for big casseroles.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good buy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 29, 2010
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I was leary of this microwave at first because it is so big, but consumer reports recommended it so I tried it. Works really well and is more powerful than myother micro was. Definitely a little more expensive but I think worth it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 29, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This will be our third microwave in 11 years. So far so good!
Just previously replaced washer and dryer with Samsung very reliable. Was an easy choice when choosing a microwave, reviews were good and price was affordable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
3.4 cu. ft. Washer
4 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
LN46A650
4.8 out of 5(46)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 18, 2012
from Clarence, NY 14031, USA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Great value. I only wish the display was brighter.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 16, 2011
from Maine
I have used this product for:1-3 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
My new over the range microwave works great, it has a more powerful fan than my old one did. I like the turn table on and off feature. The price of this unit was less expensive that other brands that were not as powerful. It was a one person install job. The touch pad is easy to use. Over all I'm very happy with my purchase.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

seems nice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 3, 2011
from Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Just put this in yesterday, 5 speed fan is awesome. Watch panel above door, scratches easily.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Microwave

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 2, 2011
from Fairbanks, AK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, exhaust fan
Great 5 speed Fan removing odors and moisture. Low speed is very quite. As fan speed is increased the fan noise will become louder. Overhaul purchase is a good bang for the buck comparing more expensive brands.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My new Micro

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 24, 2011
from New Port Richey,Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Works great. Easy to use. Good call by Consumer Reports. I like most of the products they recommend.I would definitely recommend this product to family and friends.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New owner

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 15, 2011
from Southwest Wisconsin
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
We've only been using our new microwave for a couple weeks now. We're just getting used to it, haven't had the opportunities to use most of the features, but so far so good. We're expecting this to be a great product and to have a long life in our kitchen.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Initial comments

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 27, 2011
from SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I've only had the microwave a few days so I've yet to try out all the features. It's worked fine so far. It doesn't pop popcorn quite as well as my previous microwave but it didn't burn it either. Just didn't pop as many kernels.
The only actually problem I have so far is a design issue. When the microwave is configured to vent inside the home rather then outside the vent is on the top of the microwave rather then in the front above the door.
With my kitchen there are cabinets above the microwave the the doors cover the vent. My concern is that over time the wood in my cabinets might get damaged from the moisture.
I've looked and as far as I can tell there is not an alternative grille that would send the air out the front of the microwave rather then the front.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product, shocking display

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 25, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, well designed
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Installed the unit myself, replacing a GE Profile microwave. Installation was easy because the holes for mounting the Samsung were in the same location as was the GE's. The Samsung has performed very so far, but I have not used all its features, only cook, defrost, and kitchen timer. It heats fast and evenly. I was horrified when I turned it on for the first time and saw that the display was BLUE. The displays on all my other kitchen appliances are green. If it had been a countertop model I would have taken it back. The blue is quite a clash. However, it should be noted that the display color is stated in the specs for the microwave given on the Samsung website.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value for the features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 3, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Like other buyers I used the Consumer Reports results when picking this microwave. It offers a lot of features for a good price and is easy to program and use. I had it installed and the person doing the install mentioned this unit is one of the biggest sellers he installs.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall a Good Value

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 3, 2010
Price and performance make this a good value.
As in ALL Microwaves, the cooktop light is worthless. It is not much more than candlelight on high setting. A redesign for lighting the range/cooking area is Mandatory, and not just for Samsung!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great microwave

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, repair cost
This is a great microwave. Problem I have is not the features or operation but the life of the product. I purchased this microwave Sept 2010 to install in our new house in Jan 2011. This microwave was advertised as top of the line at that time. Samsung provides a 1-year warranty. I purchased at Sears and paid for a 2-year warranty that ran concurrent with Samsung. The microwave now has problems. Samsung service could tell me the problem but would not provide a cost estimate. I have elected to take the Sears service agreement where I know exactly the maximum of my cost. I am disappointed that the unit lasted less than 2-years before a repair was required.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A little disappointed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 2, 2011
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Purchased this microwave as well as a Samsung French Door Refrigerator. First microwave was damaged upon opening. Second microwave worked for 2 weeks; then vent fan came on by itself, would not stop, and could not clear. Waiting for new keypad. While it was working, I will have to disagree with other reviewers who said the underside light was not bright enough to see the front burners of stoves. I find it very adequate. Blue light display does clash with my GE double oven range, but I do not find it annoying. I am hopeful that the new keypad will keep the microwave working for longer than 2 weeks, as after all the install drilling, I would hate to have to replace it with a different brand, but not sure I would trust this model.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 17, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have only had this a short time. It took awhile to get use to using it. The start button, is not where it says start, but the line between start. The vent/fan is very powerful. It there is a flaw on the inside of the door, the film it looks like a crease. I plan on calling about it. I bought this on recommendation of consumer reports.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Keeping my fingers crossed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 19, 2011
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, lots of features for the price
Cons: template didn't match product, installation was difficult
I purchased this product because of the great rating from a national source. The installation did not go well since the template did not match the product. The bottom of my cabinet looks like swiss cheese as a result. To add insult to injury, once the microwave was installed it sounded like a jet about to take off. I've never heard anything like it before from an appliance! We took it down, returned it to the store & exchanged it for another one. Strangely, the mounting holes were not in the same location & more holes had to be drilleld in the cabinet. How could this be if it is the same exact model? The templates for both were worthless. The second microwave seems to be working beautifully, though and I am keeping my fingers crossed that it works for a good long while!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Surface scratches under protective plastic

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 16, 2010
from GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: nice size
Cons: surface scratches under protective plastic!!
Beautiful product. Had installed and when protective plastic was removed....Ugh...there were light surface scratches!! Not into the plastic...but very visible!! Samsung is going to auth. replacement under warranty which gives me a good feeling about Samsung believing in their products. A beautiful compliment to the Black side by side ref. we got from Samsung too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
26 cu. ft. Side by Side Refrigerator
4.2 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Smh9187B

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2010
Upon opening the box the filters were bent and the door facing on the hinge side had sealant squeezing out of the seam. Microwave was easy to install, so I'm hoping it will live up to expectations though not a good start. ratings are just from one day use.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Best Buy sold damaged microwave oven

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2010
from Durham, NC 27713
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Purchased SMH9187 microwave oven from Best Buy in Durham, NC last month. The oven was demaged but repacked by Best Buy and sold it to me as new.
How can Samsung have such retailers in their business that can ruin the reputation of Samsung?
Then I purchased another one from Sears.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too many repairs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2013
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
We have had this microwave for less than 3 years and have had to have the door replaced, control panel replaced and now am getting an "ER" code on the display. I was not even using the microwave at the time. Was just preparing food on a counter when it just started beeping and the display flashing all kind on messages, that when following the messages of what to do, nothing worked. The touch panel was frozen. I unplugged the unit for about 30 minutes, plugged it back in to no change. It just flashed messages and keeps beeping all the time. I had to just unplug since nothing worked anyway. No lights, timer, fan, nothing.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

did not work out of the box.

By
onMay 8, 2010
Purchased and installed the microwave on Friday. Defective micro switch on door would not allow unit to work. Must wait until Tuesday to have repaired.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

needs to be recalled

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 1, 2013
from Brimfield, MA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality
My microwave is less then two years old. It has had two control panels fail and the third one installed months ago and now another mishap. It finally died after a fire within it that was probably something related to voltage as it was just a scary and bizzare result. The kitchen filled with black smoke and the carrots were burnt to ASH not burnt carrots but pieces of ASH. Before I was experiencing SE errors and failed control panels now it is just a burnt up unfixable microwave. Samsung said they would pay for Labor (not parts) to fix the SE error ONLY but has failed to even do that. They chose to ignore the F-I-R-E errror. I am asking for a recall. I am amazed that the review here on the Samsung web page has 5 stars when Samsung knows that is not correct and once left message on my answering machine saying it was a known issue.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Buy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 11, 2013
from Chicago IL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, prone to break
If you buy this item it has a chronic defect. The keypad will fail and you will get an E5 error. Check the internet and you will find hundreds/thousands of people have had this problem. Samsung won't correct the error or stand by their product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Steam from stove kills the electronics in this microwave

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2012
from Baltimore, MD
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, bad design
I had this unit for about 19 months (just out of warranty), and after cooking soup on the stove top, steam that got on the microwave sent the electronics into all kinds of errors and problems. Unplugging it worked a few times, but the problems keep recurring. I've given up. This is a terrible design for the electronics when steam from the stove can kill it. I've seen many other reviews online that say exactly the same thing, and these all have the same problem. I'm replacing it with another manufacturer.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Samsung failure

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 19, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
My first review was censored so this is review 2. I trusted this namebrand despite iffy reviews. After barely 1 year of service, the door suddenly failed to latch closed rendering the entire unit defunct. No warranty, no service credit, must buy entire brand new unit. Sorely disappointed and will NOT purchase this brand again.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Product failure

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2012
from Hawaii
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality
This product is unreliable. I have had a second failure in six months, the first time 14 months after purchase. I got the beeping noise and the SE error code. I followed instructions to unplug the oven for a while. Nothing worked. Then I read the reviews on the Consumer Reports web site, where the product had been recommended. I found that many others were having the same problem. I paid as much for a new control panel as I did for the original purchase. I wasn't surprised when I got the beeping and SE error code on the replacement control panel. Again I unplugged and it worked for a couple more days. Now nothing. Waiting for repairs.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

se code after 17 mos

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 27, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I am disappointed in the quality of this microwave, this microwave only lasted a very short time, my old one lasted TEN years before it died. I bought this one because I thought that samsung had a good product that lasted. I was wrong. I understand parts go bad, but it seems like a lot of problems with the control panel. Even the panel is on backorder....This is the last time I buy a samsung microwave.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not the quality we expected

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 15, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations
We were very disappointed when this microwave got the dreaded SE error and needed an expensive repair after just two years.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Recommended

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 20, 2012
from Overland Park, KS
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: excellent price
Cons: Did not meet expectations, didn't last
Absolutely loved this product while it worked. Barely over a year old, the SE error occurred. Was able to get another month of service by unplugging and replugging a few hours later, but now it's totally dead. Bummer!! Will replace with another product, as replacement and service of keypad is about the cost of a new OTC microwave. Such a shame!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BEWARE

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 12, 2012
from Orlando, FL
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Don't wast your money. The keyboard is shot, after only 14 months, the "SE" error code. Very disappointed!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lasted only 15 months

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 4, 2011
from Louisville, KY
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
SE error kept popping up when tried to use it. Disconnecting the power cord over and over day after month did not help and it became obnoxious. I decided to replace it with another product since that seemed more economical than paying for a service technician and parts costs.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for SMH9187B 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly constructed

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2010
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Poor quality
When we use this, it makes a horrendously loud sound because a panel on the back right hand side of the bottom of the oven rattles like crazy.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.