Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Sprint
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Trender™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Trender™

Rating:
2.086 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
14
8 out of 33(24%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Trender™
Review 1 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great simple, solid phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjeffsto
onJuly 11, 2011
from Minneapolis
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: few apps, no video recording
It's a great phone! The interface is much more user friendly than the other phones I saw in this price range. The screen is capacitive-touch, and is very responsive. It is solidly built, and feels good in your hand. It lacks a few feature one would hope for - no voice recording, you can't order the apps on your favorite menu, etc. But for the price, it's an excellent phone!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
15of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Trend

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJune 21, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
It's one of the only touchscreen Sprint phones that you do not have to get a data plan to buy. For that reason alone, it's a terrific deal.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung reliability

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byzoniemom
onNovember 13, 2011
from arizona
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I have always had good experiences with Samsung phones. They are durable and easy for me to use. I like the ease of getting from one area to another on the phone
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just what I wanted.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByOpalsboy
onSeptember 6, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, touch screen, voice dialer
Cons: introduction booklet is weak. online more helpful
I replaced an HTC Droid with this phone because I was moving back to a basic phone without all the email and web stuff. It is really a nice clean design with just enough eye candy features to suit me. I am glad I went to a Sprint store and actually held one in my hand and saw it before I read any negative reviews. We bought a pair for my wife and myself.
I love the touch screen and the voice command calling features. The voice dialing works better than the droid did. It is also compatible with my Ford SYNC system which is a BIG PLUS. The pull out keyboard is nice and easy to use even with my fat fingers. There is a touch screen dial pad that is very easy to see and use.
If you want a big time loaded phone with bells and whistles, look elsewhere. For a nice PHONE this is one to consider. At least look at one in person before turning it down.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByCuddlebug
onAugust 26, 2011
from Trinity, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: issues with saving ringtones sent from someone.
This is a good product overall, but would be helpful if you would give a better use manual so that your customers can access ringtones and save them when someone sends one to you. Don't give the option to save sent ringtones tone the phone. Only options available are to play, stop, or finish.
Also can't get SDI card to sync to computer in order to download my music to it in order to have music on my phone. j
Please respond with knowledge on how to save ringtones and sync SDI card in order to download my music from my library to play on my phone. THANK YOU
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ITS NOT BAD

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByCRAZYGAL2012
onJune 11, 2012
from MARBLE FALLS, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
IT IS NOT BAD AS FAR AS WHAT IT CAN DO. I GOT IT MAINLY FOR MAKING CALLS AND RECEIVING CALLS AND TEXT MESSAGES. I HAVE A SMART PHONE AND LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT IT. TAKES A BIT TO GET USED TO THIS ONE AND HOW IT WORKS. THE TOUCH SCREEN HAS ME HANGING UP ON PEOPLE SO I TRY TO USE EITHER SPEAKER OR THE BLUETOOTH. FOR THE TEXT IT HAS KEYBOARD THAT WORKS WELL. AS LONG AS I USE IT FOR WHAT I GOT IT FOR I AM HAPPY BUT SOMETIMES FORGET, OH FORGOT THE PICTURES ARE GREAT THEY ALSO HAVE A FEATURE TO BE CREATIVE WITH THE PHOTOS. REALLY LOVE THAT.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My Comments on this Phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byluvmipuppy
onApril 23, 2012
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Nice looking phone but ultra sensitive touch screen even on lowest sensitivity setting. Dials #s accidently. Always beeps if barely touched. So annoying! The manual is missing a very impt feature, and until I learned it almost returned the phone. Pushing on/off button locks the screen and buttons.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's ok

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByJubilee314159
onFebruary 21, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, needs more funtions, not real easy to use
I had a Samsung several years ago that I really liked. I ended up upgrading to a different brand. When I needed an upgrade so I could sync the phone with my new car's bluetooth I compared a phone similar to my old one to the Trender and decided I liked the Trender better. The phone itself has a nice design and I like the keyboard, which my last phone had and I wanted to keep. There are several functions though that my last phone had that I really miss. There are not as many options on this phone to set up different ringtones for different incoming calls (i.e. voice calls of people you know vs. people you don't). You can't set the time up to be in 24 hour, which I prefer. I find it difficult at times to answer incoming calls. As another reviewer said, when making calls, even to check your voicemail, it can be difficult to punch in a extension or access code...it takes a couple extra key strokes or punches on the screen to be able to put in the number which I find rather annoying. Good design but lost major points on the functions. I think the company needs to work on this a bit. I just hope I can get used to the lack of functions on this phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's not a terrible phone but I miss my Rant

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnunez91
onOctober 9, 2011
from Northern Hemisphere
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, screen size and clarity, messaging layout and interface, earpiece is nice and loud, adjustable sensitivity on touchscreen, 3.5mm headphone jack
Cons: no camcorder function, camera resolution is pretty bad, settings menu is too simple for my taste, no included microsd card, doesn't come in black, bad charger port positioning, deleting messages is a little unintuituve
This isn't a bad phone by any stretch. I like it don't get me wrong, but I miss the Samsung Rant that this replaced. I bought it used and it lasted me 3 years. Perhaps my favorite thing about this phone is it's keys on the keyboard. They feel amazing compared to any other QWERTY phone i've used thus far. I don't have small hands which means I don't have small fingers. The keys are perfectly spaced apart and they are the perfect size for my fingers. I also love the size of the screen, coming up from the Rant the increased screen real estate is much appreciated. The clarity and resolution isn't bad either. It's not a Retina or AMOLED display but it's pretty nice. One thing I didn't notice until I checked out the reviews here is the fact that there indeed is no camcorder function. I realize this phone is supposed to be "eco-friendly" and "minimalist" but even my Rant had a camcorder function, primitive as it was. I don't know how prevalent this is, but my phone also did not come with a microSD card. To me, in this day and age, that is just inexcusable. Not that there's much to complain about given the current price on flash memory right now, but still, harkening back to my Rant, that phone came with a microSD card. My last lament about this phone is the quality at which pictures are taken. This phone's camera captures photos at an eye-blistering 1.3 megapixels. Even flip-phones have better cameras than this thing. I'm not expecting my phones to have Nikor lenses or something but, once again, even my Rant had a 2.0 megapixel camera. You might think I'm biased because I loved my previous phone so much, as most people do when they change, but like I said when I started my review, this isn't a bad phone. I needed it so I could call and text. If you wan't excellent pictures, get a camera. If you want amazing video, get a camcorder. If you want a decent phone that will get you through life until your next upgrade, give this little guy a shot. Try to check it out at your local carrier before you purchase as well. There is no substitute for personal interaction.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
2.9 out of 5(55)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice idea, but not a good phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByDare2bzany
onSeptember 4, 2011
from Spokane, WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I upgraded (?) to a Trender from my Exclaim. This phone seems to be a step backward from the exclaim. There is no video, the camera is less quality, there is no message indicator light for missed message to just name a few issues. I did not want to change phones to begin with, but I honestly thought this would be at least a lateral step but I really feel that it is a step back. This phone is junk. I wouldn't recommend it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Exclaim™ Cell Phone
3.2 out of 5(41)
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySunnydaze63
onAugust 2, 2011
from Appleton, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
So far have had for 5 weeks & still learning the features. Not happy with the random calls it makes despite I have put a lock on it. If I accidentally touch anything remotely close to something it makes calls to whomever. I've had to apologize to several people sorry my phone called you not me :(
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Old folks phone.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byvillafac
onMay 14, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
Not the best, but it does the job, phone calls, and e-mail.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I wish I would have NOT chose this cell!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByMistyKiss
onApril 13, 2012
from Swanton, Ohio
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, no sound for calls or texts most of the time, sends texts or call to the wrong contact, no memory card, launching the web even to retreive a pic fails q
I have had nothing but problems with this cell! It will send the wrong text to people in my contact list. The sounds for texts or calls usually will not play, so I miss a lot of calls and messages! I went into my Sprint store to explain my problem with this phone, and they said it needed an update (one they did not have from Samsung yet), but they were willing to get me another cell (the SAME EXACT phone) for just $35 more dollars! This cell replaced my other Samsung cell (the Restore) that I had just gotten a few months before that!! So this is my 2nd cell from Sprint/Samsung within the last year, and the problems I have had with the phones have not been my fault what-so-ever!! So now I am left with a cell that might, or might not work... I might, or might not, send the right text to the right person... my sounds might, or might not, work... my cell will probably dial other numbers... To put this simply, I will not be staying with Sprint after this contract is up, and I will never get another Samsung cell again!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Extremely Frustrating To Use!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByArtieSee
onFebruary 10, 2012
from Lancaster, PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, great features for a no-contract phone
Cons: frustrating user interface, redials even when locked
Great features for a no-contract phone, but frustratingly difficult to use. Web browser is outstanding for a phone in this price range. User interface is complex, and takes longer to master than most other phones. Touch screen seems entirely too sensitive at times (too many accidental actions), while others not nearly sensitive enough (it is extremely difficult to answer a call with the on-screen slider). If you need to dial touch-tones during a call, like selecting an extension, it takes several touches to access, then your ear keeps sending tones to the person you're trying to talk to! Dialer on keypad is difficult to use. Bluetooth button will answer calls much better than the touch screen, but will far too easily think you are trying to make a voice command OR will redial a number or resend a text without your knowledge - and there is NO way to turn off this feature!
If Samsung were to release a major software upgrade for this product that addresses the many concerns posted on this site and others, the Trender would be a good product. But as it is, this phone is far too frustrating to recommend.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor Design

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByJimWOC
onDecember 21, 2011
from Columbia, Maryland USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, see review
This phone makes calls and sends text messages on its own. In some areas, the screen is too sensitive, it others not sensitive enough. Per other reviews, this seems to be an on-going problem. I would hope for a firmware update soon to address these problems.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

If You Want a Manual in the Box, Don't Buy It!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByaCarefulShopper
onNovember 19, 2011
from Omaha, NE
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, voice recognition - poor quality, no manual included
Come on! No directions in the box, besides the basic "Getting Started" book. That's the way it comes! Some of us aren't technologically savvy. You can download and print 150 some pages. LIke that's how I want to use up ink and paper. When I need information, searching the table on contents and finding the right page on a 150 page PDF is cumbersome on. I paid for it; I should get a book of directions! Sad!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Unreliable!!!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByMCMP22
onNovember 13, 2011
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, unstable
Briefly, I like the phone design and appearance, but that's where it ends. I will never buy another phone by Samsung, and am considering dropping Sprint for suggesting this phone. In less than a month the texting function has completely stopped working, but I still get annoying beeps while I'm trying to talk indicating that I haven't answered my non-existent texts. Can't send or receive. Then there is the touch screen. Too sensitive after using a function, not sensitive enough (or simply responsive) to utilize some very basic functions like the slider to answer a phone call. Very low grade phone compared to what I have had in the past, and for the price it's a joke.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

If you want a smart phone, buy a smart phone.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byporche911
onNovember 12, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Too big, touchscreen response, buggy
This phone lacks many features of a true smart phone. The display is slow or even unresponsive at times. The sliders often do not respond at all. It does what I need it to do, but not any more. One good point is the keyboard buttons are larger than other phones in this category. The bottom line is that this phone is not a smart phone. Get and Android or even a iP*.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

you get what you pay for, but at least that's adequacy with this phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByTunaFish7
onNovember 6, 2011
from Maryland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: bug-free sw but unexceptional when not marginal
This is my 2nd non-flipphone (prev one was not a samsung device,) and per my exp to date, the designers still need to find the holy grail of these things: a "positive" way to keep the thing from unlocking itself and making calls when getting jostled about in a pocket/purse/cernterline console (of a car)/etc.... Why use pushbuttons and not sliding switches?
When "locked" Trender volume buttons are active: music volume changes often when I squat or lean in my seat (w/ phone on my belt.
Display is sharp, but UI is gen'ly underwhelming & more often frustrating than wow.
Screen responds to fingers/finger pads gripping the edge of the phone "leaning" onto the display face, not touching the face in any way that I'd expect to trigger a response: lauch apps, left apps, made calls, delete/add short cuts. For this reason alone, I may replace it.
VERY DIFFICULT to use the GUI slider switch to snooze alarms a lot of the time. Seems device has just enough resources to play the alarm, drive the vibrator + display the GUI, has no ability to detect the finger frantically swiping the screen. Makes no difference if swipes are long or short. Seems most specific to either a calendar event or timed alarm, but I forget which right now.
Similar note: If I accidentally make a call -- seems very easy to do on this phone -- I CANNOT get the "disconnect" slider to work until after I hear rings come back from the called number.
Sent my contacts from my old phone to my new phone successfully; Trender offered to show me the rcvd data, but never did when I ACK'd its offer. WORSE: it showed no further evidence of having rcvd anything. I pulled the flash from the Trender and checked on a PC: The contact info did get stored in VCF files. Hopefully the manual will advise how to get the phone to do something with this rcvd data.
I've driven the volume down to "Vibrate" and seen alarms still sound. I observed this happen several times in a rows one day, actually, while snoozing alarms, but I think it eventually stopped, i.e. sounding alarms eventually stopped pulling the phone out of vibrate-only mode.
I rarely (ever?) see the signal strength go above 1 bar. Most of the time seems to be at "no" bars. Don't know if that's a carrier issue or HW/SW issue.
Wish they'd've chosen to put '&' on the keypad and push some other symbol to the "symbol lookup list."
-- GUI List Widgets:
- How come only the contact list has a dragable slider. Why not use in other lists, like the song listings. "Flinging" your way through the list is cool. for a little while.
- the play list contents is sortable, but the alarm list is not? (It would be nice to sort alarms by time, rather than timerID, which is of consequence only internally to SW.)
- list items (contacts, notes, calendar items,...) have a good top/bottom margin, but only display 1 line of text ever.
MP3 player is frustrating: if you leave the player one way, it loses knowledge of the current song/playlist. If you leave the player another way, it keeps knowledge of current song, but NOT the playlist, so on return to the player, the subsequent song seems random from the library.
Wish the speakerphone was a bit louder.
I like the ability to crop & resize pix when associating them with contacts & shortcuts. Haven't used it in normal conditions, but camera seems unexceptional.
There's more to complain about, but I gotta move on with my life....
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Hard To Use The PHONE feature!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byitsjax1
onOctober 19, 2011
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I loved the design of the phone, so I replaced my old Samsung Rant with this Trender.
After using it for a day, I found it to be hard to use. I have no other problems with the phone except trying to answer phone calls, hanging up and dialing...lol! It is very hard to use the slide feature to answer and hang up the phone. After finally getting it to end a call, I find that I accidently re-dial the phone number on accident.
I now hate this phone after only having it 2 weeks. I regret my decision to keep it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Rant™ (Boost) QWERTY Cell Phone
3 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Doesn't recieve texts or calls

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bytrenderproblems
onSeptember 17, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, easy user interface
Cons: Did not meet expectations, doesn't receive texts/calls
I am going to try to get a replacement. I have problems receiving texts and calls. For example: I will be holding a phone in one hand, calling my number, and it will say my phone is ringing and go to voicemail, but my phone will never ring. Or I will send out a text, only to receive 3 texts from the person that I didn't get until I sent one out. This has caused many problems. I am very unhappy and have never had problems like this before. I hope when replaced everything will be fixed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone I've ever had

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByCaptainKai
onNovember 22, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: nice looking
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bad touch screen response
When I started having issues with my old phone, I decided it was time I just replace it. I didn't want to get a data plan, but all of the phones I liked features- and appearance-wise required a data plan. Except for this one. It was brand new at the time and had no reviews, but I loved what I saw (and I usually love Samsung products) so I got it.
BIG mistake. This is easily the worst phone I've ever had. It's cute, make no mistake, but that's about the only thing it's got going for it. I /really/ wanted to like this phone, but there's not much to like about it outside of the aesthetic.
For the past year and a half (because I can't afford another phone right now and am still in contract with my carrier) I have been stuck dealing with a number of issues. The biggest issue is the screen's sensitivity. When I try to answer a call, the screen doesn't respond very well, if it does at all. I've missed several calls because I haven't been able to get the screen to respond and answer the call (this is a really, really bad thing when this is the only way your boss can get a hold of you). Trying to end a call is no better. When I'm in a call, the screen suddenly becomes extremely sensitive and if I have to use the dial pad for anything I have to hold the phone away from my ear at least an inch (or have it on speaker) or I risk the call being ended.
I have to be careful when texting people, too. The screen is sometimes so sensitive that even brushing a finger along the edge of the phone when I'm typing will send the message. It also likes to send texts to the wrong people. If I text person A, then respond to person B (using 'reply' from person B's text), I have to make sure it is indeed sending the text to person B and not to person A -- who I just texted -- or to person C -- who I was texting earlier in the day.
I do use the camera some. It's not very good, considering that this is a newer phone. My mom's slightly older flip phone has a better camera.
The battery life isn't fantastic, but it isn't awful, either.
The only real pros are some of the applications this has that my old phone didn't, like the notes and the unit converter (which I find extremely useful).
Overall, I really hate this phone and regret getting it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lots of Defects, Not Worth It

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByDaney
onJuly 13, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
Ridiculous phone! Great for your 10 year old. I had so many issues with it. For starters the key board is flat and inconvenient. Fn key doesn't always work. When someone forwards me a text or includes a picture it won't delete the text and will remain in your inbox forever! For about 3 days if I didn't open a text immediately it would auto-delete. It will auto-delete texts that were sent to me after about 3 days but the texts I sent to them remain. The camera takes blurry, dull pictures and doesn't zoom or do video. Don't bother trying to use the web cause the layout is horrible! The pro: I like the colors, that is it!!! ;(
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This phone stinks.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bybrrryyyy
onApril 19, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: stopped charging, stupid phone
Samsung Trender, how do I list the ways I hate thee? When I first got this phone, it was awesome. I was disappointed that it had no camcorder, but it wasn't that big of a problem. Then I noticed i had problems viewing the following messages: mass texts sent from smart phones, and media messages. it wouldn't let me view or delete the messages. took it to the sprint store, they said there was an update coming out. i got the update, no problem! then one day after work, i checked my phone and it had connected to the web. i don't have a data plan, that is why i had to get this phone. so it was a big deal that it connected to the internet while it was in my locker! THEN, a few weeks later, it started not consistently charging. the charging light would flash on and off, with that annoying beep that you cannot turn off unless your sound is off! took it to the sprint store, they couldn't figure out what was wrong. it started mysteriously charging again. then, the problem started happening yet again. took it to the sprint store, did a hard reset. it did not work, but it DID reinstate the messaging problem PLUS it would switch around people's names in the messaging. Now, my phone isn't charging enough to use anymore (it was before), i turned it off and put it on the charger all night, in the morning it wouldn't even turn on. it is losing a charge plugged in and turned off! and sprint can't do a thing about it because it is a samsung phone! so I would have find a way to use the warranty, its only been six months since I got this phone. I am VERY disappointed in this phone! My mom had the same phone, same problems! She ended up switching to someone else's old phone, and it looks like I will have to do the same thing. Do NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Video(s)
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy this phone!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByVegasMade
onApril 18, 2012
from Overland Park, KS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, too many glitches, internet is slow, unlocks itself
Ok if you like your contacts getting switched, like a phone that will unlock itself and butt dial people, want a cell that will sound an unbelievably LOUD beep when you're talking w someone and you receive a text message, drops calls, has USELESS internet, and the WORST feature of all ~ when you go to hang up on a call you have to slide your finger to move the "hang up" bar, if the person you're talking to hangs up first the bar quickly turns into the redial button. Then you have to explain why you called them right back. This phone is going to meet pavement in the next 48 hours. So do yourself a favor and DON'T BUY IT!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Buy This PHONE! CONSUMER BEWARE

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByNo2Trender
onApril 12, 2012
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, bad software
My previous cell phone died and I didn't want to upgrade to a data plan. So, opted to go with the Trender, which was a HUGE mistake and some days I have all I can do to not throw the phone on the ground and stomp on it! Because of the large amount of texting I do, I wanted a full keypad. Here are the issues that I experienced.
1. When I receive a text message from someone in my contacts, it displays another person in the Header of the screen, but in the text show the person who actually sent it.
2. Sometimes, when I want to reply to a text, it pulls up the name of another person in my contacts, but NOT the person who sent me the text originally.
3. When I am talking on the phone, it wil switch over to speaker by simpy my hair touching the screen and I have the sensitivity turned to the highest setting.
This is my second phone of this model as I had the same issues before and I am experiencing the same issues. The software update on 1/2012 was suppose to fix this issue, but it has not. I am thoroughly disappointed in this Samsung product.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly designed phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByTime2Help
onFebruary 27, 2012
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Worst phone I have ever owned! Pocket calls constantly, even though it is in lock position. Erases voicemail messages at random. Very difficult to answer a call and to disconnect.I could go on and on.....Overall, it is just a miserable phone to try to use.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone Ever!!!!!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bytrenderjunk
onFebruary 4, 2012
from Quincy, IL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: deletes messages, sends messages to wrong person, deletes address book
I purchased this phone for my husband and three kids. It is the worst phone they have ever had! I would definitely not recommend this phone to anyone unless you want to have information deleted for no reason. When you go to send an email, you have to check who you are sending it to because it goes to the wrong person. It deleted your address book. It also deletes emails. We went back to our old phones because these are junk!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Upset!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByTenTwo
onJanuary 16, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: there is none
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, advertising
Big mistake, I thought I was getting value for what the phone can do. This phone constantly dialing out and when locked it dials emergency. Wasted my money and would gladly return phone for another model in Samsungs line of models. I gave Trender a chance, phone should be recalled! This is what happens when you go with the name of Manufacture and not product. Will buy something different maybe from different manufacturer! Very, Very upset.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Absolute FAILURE! Horrible!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By50short
onJanuary 8, 2012
from Minneapolis
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, phone induces rage
Generally, Samsung produces quality products. This mobile phone is the exception. It is infuriating, counter-intuitive, poorly engineered and full of software glitches. STAY AWAY! Believe everything you read. Touch screen is junk; too many prompts to place a call; can't end calls once placed; pocket dials everybody; texts don't go to addressees; alarm clock works randomly.....I honestly don't what to say. I will be asking Samsung to replace the phone with any option they can provide for me.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very poor quality

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byiambeowulf
onDecember 24, 2011
from Inglewood, CA
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, hard to navigate
From the moment you slide it open, you realize just how cheap and poorly made it is. Trying to set up my voicemail on this device was a nightmare. The touch insensitive screen will not allow me to answer calls, but will connect to the web whenever a strong breeze blows across it. Navigation is difficult, because the features are poorly arranged and difficult to find. Standard phone features are absent from the menu, while expensive games, ringtones, and apps are prominently and obtrusively displayed. Overall, the poorest quality device I have ever used with the Samsung name on it
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByRanger77
onDecember 12, 2011
I got this phone to avoid getting a data plan as I simply like to talk and text. I have found it to be very poorly designed and implemented. The phone's touch screen is very poor at picking up input. It will often put me on a screen that I did not intend to go to. The hang up feature is very cumbersome, as there is no end button. Texting does not work correctly. Often, hitting reply will bring me to a screen that sends a text to an entirely different person. These are only a few of the many problems with this device. Don't buy one!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor Quality Phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bylivunderthestars
onDecember 5, 2011
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, bugs
I purchased this phone six months ago. Twice a month, every month, since I have purchased the phone I have been in a store to repair it. The text messaging feature has so many bugs. Texts delete without anyone pressing the delete button. Texts show up under a different name than the person they are sent to. The It is by the far the worst phone I have ever purchased.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A New Glitch Every Day

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByBettyBossypants
onNovember 10, 2011
from Springfield, MO
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, so many glitches., unreliable touchscreen sensitivity, low mp camera
Touchscreen sensitivity varies, seemingly unrelated to sensitivity settings. Sometimes have to touch a link 10 times before it takes, other times buttons are selected when my finger is merely hovering over the screen. End Call slider button never seems to work when I am trying to end a call. Displays incorrect names with some contacts when sending text messages. Currently displays only my sent text messages and not my received ones. Received a text today and it was not displayed as a new text, but the phone did manage to start a draft of a text message in which it was forwarding the received text to two of my other contacts. This was all while it was in my locker at work. I can only imagine what it will do next. I hate this phone and cannot wait to be rid of it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Trender™
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Samsung Tender limitations

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byndaphone
onJuly 7, 2011
from Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
My initial evaluation is the Tender is not a good product. it only came with a start up card and no user manual. There is no user manual on the samsung web The touch screen is poor, the screen can not be seen in sunlight, and there is no alternate way to answer a call except to swipe the answer bar which you can not see while outside in the sun.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.