Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Sprint
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone

Rating:
2.891 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
11
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
10
20 out of 52(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone for my daughter

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 4, 2012
from CO
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This was GREAT for my daughter.
No problems at all.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love of my life :]

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Ive owned this phone for two years now, and I really sad that I have to change phones. We're changing carriers and I have to get a new phone, but I have and will continue to recomend this phone to anyone and everyone. This phone has been thrown, dropped, ran over with a car, and had water and snowcones dropped on it and it has yet to let me down. It is the most durable phone in the world. Excelent :]
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 10, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This phone is AMAZING! I've had this phone for about a year and there has been no freezing no shuting off no nothing. I've dropped it a couple of times and all that happened was a few scratches. I've had atleast 10 phones and the Samsung Rant has been the best so far!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 5, 2010
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Have had my Rant for well over a year and a half and love it.
Easy to use and has a great keyboard for texting or
sending email. Battery has been in use constantly since
purchase~I never turn off my phone~I have found that
I need to recharge every third day. I purchased a car charger and have had no problems using it. I have used the navigation feature and also the Bluetooth.
I received unlimited data with phone from Sprint. Camera takes awesome pictures and love the flexibility of having the card or storing photos on line.
I would purchase this phone again.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 4, 2008
from Phoenix, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I originally had the LG Rumor, the worst phone in the entire world. I upgraded to this Samsung Rant and it was the best decision I ever made! The keyboard is easy to type on and is spread out so i don't hit the wrong buttons. I love the 'wheel' it has on the bottom of the screen so i can easily access the internet or text messaging. I love the fact that I can actually get full webpages and the calls are clear. The battery lasts for a long time and I highly recommend this phone to anyone and everyone. I have had this phone since the day it came out and I have had no problems whatsoever.!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2008
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
I think this phone is perfect! Good features, performs well, and looks good. Definitely a huge upgrade from my old Katana II. Had my phone for half a month now and had absolutely no problems. I love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

JUST GOT IT...SO FAR SO GOOD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2008
from ROCHESTER, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I HAD THE LG RUMOR, AND I LIKE THAT PHONE, JUST GOT THE RANT TODAY, SO FAR I LOVE IT, LOTS OF ITEMS THAT I WAS MISSING B4 THAT I AM GLAD TO HAVE NOW. LET SEE HOW IT LAST FOR THE LONG RUN.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 21, 2012
from Bronxville, NY
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Plenty of features. Slide out qwerty keyboard is nice. Grand precursor to original smartphones.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

love/hate this phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2011
from wilmington,de
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, camera is great
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I had the I856 from boost and loved it, until it fell apart. I saw this phone and liked the reviews for it. I like the features and the keyboard. It takes getting used to where your things are. I do not like that you cant make your mp3 player songs ringtones. Or use your photos for contacts. Also I dont get service very well at some places. With my 856 i never had a drop call. With this I have had over a dozen in 3 days.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's not as bad as you think.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, bulky
Cons: Not high def
Honestly, people say this phone is awful but I've had it for two years and it's not been awful.
The keyboard is amazing, and it makes a lovely clicking sound that's amusing when you're in a quiet room. the internet works very well- only a couple times has it frozen up. one issue is when using the Facebook app on the carousel, the phone may restart itself. but possibly that is just on my model.
another issue is the lack of Twitter app. ha.
the camera is not great- but it works.
this phone isn't awful- if you don't drop it then it's very reliable.
and bulky. bulky is nice.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 31, 2010
from Montrose, Michigan
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have had my 'Rant' now for over a year and haven't had any trouble with my phone in this time frame. I don't know if I just go lucky or what considering the problems that some of the other users are reporting.
I would have given this phone 5 stars all the way across, but I don't like Samsung not allowing synchronization with 'Outlook' or any other third party program. Other then that I don't have any issues with my phone and even though I'm eligible for an upgrade I'm hanging onto my 'Rant.' We'll see if I replace it next year or not.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's decent

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2010
from Colorado Springs, CO
I have used this product for:6-12 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
After an A717 and an M300, this phone was a big step up, but it still had issues. I didn't get calls or texts from certain people, the internet barely worked without timing out or giving me an error, screen froze, it would randomly power cycle itself, my navigation wouldn't work right (ie telling me to turn where there was a razorwire fence and no street, always locating me on the wrong road), the cases were terrible, the battery life was odd, and my email wouldn't work on the second one. I had to replace it four months after getting the first one, the second started doing the same things two weeks after I picked it up.
I know quite a few people who have/had one, it seems like the black ones are okay, it's the purple ones that keep messing up, doesn't make any sense really.
I wouldn't buy another one, but I would probably recommend the phone to a friend, only because my husband also has one that he has abused terribly, everything from dropping it to spilling military vehicle fuel in it, and he has yet to have a problem with it after a year.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not too Bad

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 13, 2009
from North Las Vegas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The phone is not too nad, a good vibration to it. This phone only lacks what I had in other phones, which is the ability to set the mp3 or voice recordings as ringtones. I love the mp3 player in it, and the camera is very clear and easy to use. This phone overall gets a 4 stars only because of the ringtone feature, but other than that good phone Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Upgrade

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 13, 2009
from New Orleans
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I upgraded from my last Samsung t629 type phone to this one. I amstatisfied with the phone with one or two little problems
No Outbox for outgoing text messages.
Too many rings before voicemnail picks up and cant change that.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good buy!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2008
from Toledo, OH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The ONLY two bad things for this phone is the camera quality is very poor and some software for the phone to PC hookup would be nice so we could customize the phone like we customize our P2 MP3 players.
All in all the entire phone is a nice upgrade to our old phones. We like all the features that the phone has to offer.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Like this Phone so much, I baught two!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 18, 2008
from San Antonio, Tx.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Have been researching new phones for the past two weeks. I needed to buy my wife a new phone,and all she wanted from it was a camera. I, on the other hand wanted a new phone as well, but I had many wants. After reading millions of reviews on a number of differant phones, I decided on the Rant and am totaly thrilled with it's performance, features, etc. WELL DONE SAMSUNG!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not satisfied...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2008
I received my Rant on Monday Oct 20th 2008 directly from Sprint. I purchased two phones. I charged them both at the same time. My phone was charged in ten minutes the other took about 2.5 hours. I was using my phone for the next 48 hours. I explored all the features the phone has. I was very impressed with the phone at first. This came to an end on Monday when my phone stopped working. I noticed that someone had called repeatedly and after that the phone would not respond. I removed the battery several times to no avail. The phone was a toast. I contacted sprint to get a replacement and I am still waiting. I wish for someone to read this and maybe contact me for more information if needed. If this is not done I am afraid i will not be the only one that will have this problem. I would like to be notified when an updated firmware will be available. Thank You for Your Time.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Phone if you don't want a Smartphone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 3, 2013
from Ohio
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
My Husband is still in the non-smartphone age but he loves this phone mainly for the slide out Keyboard feature so texting is easy for him. When they discontinue all non-smartphones he will be devastated.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The product has slide-out qwerty keyboard

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 17, 2012
from Morrisville, NC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Today's Smart phones are a better choice if web access and features are desired. However, this is a sturdy phone for texting and phone calls.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sprint Samsung rant

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2012
from TX
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable
one of the best text and talk phones out there regardless of the provider good signal. Camera was OK, speaker phone was loud.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 28, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
It worked good for maybe 3 months and then It started to shut itself off and not want to charge.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 14, 2011
from knoxville, tn
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def
OK as a phone. Good battery life.
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations
Battery life for my device was very poor. The camera takes HORRIBLE pictures.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okaay at first...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 2, 2010
from Delta, Florida
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
At first this was an amazing phone. It was great for me since I love to text. But, after a while it started to freeze up and took forever to load things. It has gotten bad enough that when it freezes, it takes 5 minutes to load up again. If you seem to like this phone....then get the one year contract and not the two year. Better yet, just dont get this phone at all!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good at first

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 24, 2010
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I noticed that all of the high-rated reviews of this phone were from users who owned the phone less than a month. Sorry to break the news but this phone did not hold up. The slide feels cheaply made and the buttons crackle when I slide my finger over the QWERTY. The phone freezes often and also locks itself after freezing, which is a pain. The picture quality does in fact work out well when pictures are put on the computer, and the sound quality was pretty good too. When not using internet, this phone has almost no connectivity to get ringtones or wallpapers. For backgrounds you have to take your own pictures if you do not have a data or internet plan. Ringtones are impossible to get without internet. The memory card holds a lot of files but is not placed very well. The battery holds a charge well but it fluctuates from day to day. Overall, this phone satisfied my need for calls, texts, music, etc, but this phone feels cheaply made and has bad software strength in that it freezes too much.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as expected

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 29, 2009
from Inglewood, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This phone is not the greatest! I've had this phone for a year and I am ready to upgrade. My expectations was that this phone will load fast and it will have good internet browsing. The picture s not that clear and when you upload pictures from the phone to the computer, the picture is nit that great. The battery life is okay. I could use the phone all day and still have three bars left. 3G speed is so false. The web loads slow and when you click on a certain link, the phone doesn't read it and stays on the same screen. So overall, I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Its pretty good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 12, 2009
from Gainesville, FL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
its a good phone with great features but terrible software.
it freezes all the time for no reason and often has to be shut off to fix it, buts still a good phone, just kinda annoying
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fair / Decent Purchase, Not Really Recommended

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2009
from New York
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
When I first got this phone, I was very excited because it was my first phone. It worked very well the first few weeks and so on until I started having problems with the phone. One thing was that the battery life always seems to be changing. I can text all day, use it to make calls, and still have 3/4 battery at the end of the day. On other days, I can let it sit in my pocket and never use it and end up with 1/4 battery. Another thing is that the phone only saves messages that fail to be sent due to lack of service, etc, HALF of the time in what they call an outbox. Which is really just the message you tried to send with the word in brackets FAILED and red letters after your most recent text attempt to a contact. There is no true outbox. The camera of the phone was supposed to be a good feature of the phone. I will tell you right now, it is probably one of the worst features. The pictures look good on the phone, but upload them to the computer and they look horrid. The pictures take a long time to take and are easily blurred unless using the worst resolutions. The phone is built so any plastic covers you can buy barely fit over the phone and fit extremely tight on them. I almost broke the phone each time trying to remove a cover I did not want to use anymore. The phone has a weird vibration for receiving messages and calls. It vibrates THREE times for a text. This makes it hard to tell whether or not you are getting a call or a text message. You may pull it out thinking you are receiving an important call, when it is really only a text from one of your buddies. The vibration is also light and quiet when compared to other phones, unless the phone is placed on a hard surface. And even another con about the phone is that it often lags and does not unlock when you press for it to unlock. Sometimes the camera is coming up when you did not even press it. The phone also is bad when you have it in your pocket and it presses buttons by itself. I once called and left voicemails on my friends' phones, took about 300 blank pictures, and sent my mother text messages contained random letters before. Any text you receive automatically unlocks the phone.
Now for the good features of the phone. The buttons are easy to use, the settings and media is easy to locate, you do not have to search to find certain options after a while of getting used to the phone. It is extremely easy to text on the phone after having some practice. The phone comes with many Sprint features and little apps. The charger and charging the phone itself have no problems. It charges extremely fast. You can send all sorts of e-mails, texts, messages via phone. You can have many messages, contacts, and history stored in the phone without having to delete it. You can use it like an iPod as long as you have headphones and you can store a few of your favorite songs, not much because it would take up to much room. Perhaps a favorite album, or two, or three. There are many ways to customize the phone.
Overall, the phone gets a 3 star rating from me. I would hope you could find something better out there though. This phone WILL last if you take good care of it. I have almost had mine for a year now, I am planning to buy the Rumor 2 by LG however for next year. I hope this review helps. Buy the phone if you really think you can handle minor problems and it will be a great phone for you if you really do like it for what it is worth.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

So so

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2008
from Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
This is the best phone I think between it and the RUMOR (Ehh) however it does have its flaws. I have been waiting for ... 2 weeks now for a fix for my phone to stop freezing. Some people have been waiting since the beginning. My phone will also randomly decide not to lock itself after the 20-30 seconds for the auto-key lock to turn on. Then there is when you slide out the keyboard a new menu should pop up asking what type of message you would like to send, this happens about 50% of the time.
Overall, everything has its problems. Phone physically is great, nice and sleek, heavy so it feels like you have something other than a plastic piece of junk (RUMOR) but make sure you pick your problems wisely. Oh an my opinion on this One touch software is not great at all.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Softwear ISSUES

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 29, 2008
from Oregon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
What a joke... I haved 3 Rants replaced in the last two weeks, due to it "freezing up" in the "loading.." window. How could this bad of a flaw get past your QI team?? Or was Samsung only worried about maken the $$.
If you are in the market for a new phone, stay far away from this one! Enless you what to know the Sprint store workers by their first names!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not the best

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 14, 2011
from Hudson, NH
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, storage
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
not sure why I choose this since I'm not a texter, the slide out keyboard is good though. My beefs with this phone are 1) battery lasts about a day with minimal use and 2) the phone keeps shutting off
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Weird Phone Problem

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 15, 2011
from florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: calendar schedule bug
Most of the phone features are above average and work as expected.
I prefer the slide-out keyboard to a virtual keyboard.
Call quality is good.
However two (2) Rant phones have the same weird calendar schedule "bug". When set to daily/weekly alarm, both phones only alarm the first day and never alarms again.
Internet search did not find other instances.
Two (2) visits to Sprint Service Centers did not fix the bug.
Due to this bug I cannot recommend this phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
SPH-a840 (PM-a840)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

it's a rant. what else would you expect?

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 7, 2011
from somewhere, VA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, easy to type
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
had this phone for two years, and i am deciding to switch to another phone. anyways, the samsung rant was good for a heck of two months, then started to malfunction on me. it would turn off by itself and show a blue download screen, would go on and off saying samsung, and would freeze A LOT . i constantly had to take the battery out and replace it in just to get it to work again. the design was really easy to get used to for me. the good thing that it never dropped calls on me. but texting, well, it would freeze up at times. and well, the video recording is terrible. not even HD. which really bummed me out. the camera at times you can see it's pixels, and when you take a picture of something it takes a long time to save the picture. the battery life was great, lasted like up to eight hours for me, but of course i needed it to be charged at the end of the day.
if you plan to get this phone for your kid, don't . it's out of style and it's just not worth the budget . i have been complaining about this phone for two years, and now i am glad that i will be switching to a new phone .
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

started off well

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 29, 2010
this phone works for awhile, then for no reason at all it just stops working well, camera blurry all the time. sometime it is almost impossible for the phone to charge. constant shut offs. and it freezes up all the time. time for a change!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Mediocre. I want something else...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 6, 2010
from Eugene, OR
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The Samsung Rant underwhelms. It is competent and does what it advertised to do, but it is in no way amazing or fabulous.
The screen quality leaves something to be desired... images that are sharp and vibrant on my other, older Samsung phone are dull and pixelated on the rant. The keyboard is often unresponsive and slow. The keypad lock does not consistently work causing occasional "pocket calls" and the micro SD slot is inconveniently placed. The keypad slips when it is closed and feels cheap. Some of the menu options are counter-intuitive and especially obnoxious is having to authorize every single action and directory when browsing the phone files via Bluetooth.
I do like the threaded text messages. The camera quality reveals itself as good when images are transferred to a computer or other display. The sound quality is decent and it seems to hold a charge well.
Like I said, it does what it is supposed to do, but it is a disappointment. I only picked it when I switched carriers, and now I am looking to see if I can return to my Samsung Jetset.
My opinion? Samsung has better phones. I would recommend that you keep shopping...
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

What a let down . . .

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2009
This phone used to be awesome. I loved it a lot.
The internet was never great, neither was the picture quality. But all in all I would have rated it at least 4 stars.
But now I've decided this phone is horrible, and a great disappointment. The charge differs from day to day. One day you can have 3 bars when you've used it a ton, and other days you can hardly touch it and you have 1 bar left. Also, the port on all my samsung rants have messed up and I've had to replace the phone. This has happened 3 times. Also, when I try charging the phone, it doesn't always charge correctly. I can charge it for 3 hours and it will only go up a bar. Or I can charge it for one hour and it goes up 3 bars. The phone has also frozen on me a lot. And when you open a text, it sometimes keeps vibrating and/or ringing even though you opened it. Which can case it to freeze and shut down.
I don't recommend this phone to anyone who actually uses their cell phone. :)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

CHEAPNESS

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2009
i bought this phone because i liked the idea of a full keyboard, but 1 year and 8 phones later i hate it, as of writing im on my 3rd one this week, they are cheaply made phones, id never had problem with samsung before but now ill think twice before buying another samsung
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It is an okay phone but i will not buy it again

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2009
Well I've had this phone since December of 2008, and at first I didn't have an issue with the Rant. Then my problems started. My phone has frozen a multitude of times and it will only send a text message if I have more than two service bars. I'm not sure if that's Sprints fault or Samsung's. I just brought my phone into Sprint today and they had to order me a new one because they were able to duplicate the problems. A list of the problems are.....
-freezing
-lagging
-turning off periodically on its own
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

i thought it was great when i bought it...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 17, 2009
from Bowie, MD
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
i was coming off of a pre-paid phone from virgin mobile & coming to sprint. i was looking at all the phones & then i saw this one. i though it was so pretty & cool. then i got the purple one. the first week, i started having problems. i would try to rotate it but then the screen wouldnt rotate. it would freeze up on me. then at work, i heard some people say it had bad reviews. i was okay with that because it was working okay. then i started to see everyone have it...only becasue of the sale though. they said the same thing.
i discovered later that the battery didn't last that long, i pocket called people so many times, i ended up leaving 8 minute messeges on their answering machines. when someone texts you it unlocks your phone so then your vulnerable to anything. & now when i slide the keyboard open it wither freezes the phone or the whole entire phone shuts off. even if the phone bounces on the bed, the phone will completely turn off. i am dissappointed in this phone for having so many glitches.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

worst purchase ever

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2009
i swear my camera is HAUNTED
the locking never works unless you use an actual lock key, you could just press a ton a buttons and it'll unlock. and it is so sensitive that it sits in my bag and it will unlock itself and dial random numbers or my recent calls ON SPEAKER PHONE!!!
then it got weirder. my phone would just be sitting on my desk and class and it would randomly call a number on SPEAKER PHONE!!!
and weirdest of all today i was just holding my rant, not pressing any buttons when i glanced at it and a bunch of random numbers kept popping up on the screen like someone invisible was pressing all the buttons!!! I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THIS HAPPENS!?!?!?!?!?
oh and i took it to the sprint store to get it checked out and they said there was nothing wrong....... LIKE THIS KIND OF THIS IS NORMAL???
no it is NOT!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Seemed like a decent product...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2009
from St. Louis, MO
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I really enjoyed this phone for the first few weeks I had it, but eventually I began to have quite a few problems with it. The lock system on the phone is worthless unless you use a password to unlock your phone because it seems that with just some pushes of random buttons will unlock it. I found myself calling countless people on my recent call list, which I now erase as soon as I'm done talking, and I wound up with many new contacts with just random letters and numbers for names.
Another annoying feature of the phone is when your phone is locked and you receive a text message, it still pops up, so if you were to accidentally hit the call button while their text was on the screen, you would call that person. What's the point of the lock if something like that turns it off?
The mp3 feature isn't the easiest to get to, but being able to add a shortcut to it from the carousel on the phone is a nice feature. The sound system on the phone isn't bad, but it's just a phone, if you're looking for something that sounds good, buy some speakers. Don't be one of those people who annoys everyone around them by playing their 30 second ringtones.
As for the camera on the phone, it takes a nice picture, but takes quite a bit of time to actually capture it, at least a few seconds, so there's no just snapping a shot. That wasn't too much of a hassle though, but now my camera has just stopped working, it acts like it's going to take a picture, then just goes right back to the camera.
Hopefully when I go to get this fixed, it will be replaced with a better phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+33points
36of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Wouldn't buy a Rant

Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2009
from DeWitt, MI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This phone locks up all the time - a call will come in and I can't answer it. Also the battery stinks. I charged it last night and haven't even used it today and its down to 2 bars - what's with that. Also some times it doesn't recognize I have the charger plugged in, so I have to pop the battery out, then back in and then it will recognize it. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung Rant... DON'T BUY!!!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2008
The Samsung Rant is the worst phone I've ever had!! When you go to call history, you can not choose from,incoming,outgoing,and missed like you can on EVERY other phone I've ever seen! I was willing to deal with that untill I noticed it would only hold about 5 or 6 recent calls then erase them by itself(EVEN THOUGH THE OWNERS MANUAL SAYS IT HOLDS 150)So if I had a few phone calls when I was sleeping... when I woke up I wouldn't be able to review my missed calls...They would just be gone. I thought I just must have a defective phone so I returned it and got a new Rant... The second one is even worse!!!! It freezes and still deletes my call history.DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Keeps Freezing and Glitching

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 2, 2011
from Chicago,IL
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, freezes
I was excited to get my phone. It was okay during the first few months and then it started to show it's true colors! It would freeze when you want to get on the internet. Kept dropping calls and gives out late messages vice versa in sending. The security key pad barely works, I always found that I was "butt-dialing" my friends and taking blank pictures. With the poor key pad protection random numbers are stored into my contacts. One moment you have low batteries, next it's back to one bar, then one minute later you have low batteries again. I would not recommend this phone to a friend...maybe my worst enemy.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Amazing phone(sarcasm)

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 19, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: breaks easy
I have not even had the rant for 30 days and my screen had gone blank. I have not had it long enough to give a good review but considering i bought it new right off the shelves its not good.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

horrible

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2010
from florida
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
the software is horribble i had to sent back several times final i gave up and purchase a different brand
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor quality

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 6, 2010
from Syracuse New York
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
this phone has too many problems, I should know as we had 3 of them and one was always broken
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Good

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 29, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I was so excited to be getting this phone, but after just a short while my joys became sorrows. The menus are hard to navigate.. too many sub-menus... The phone freezes more than it doesn't. At first it would just freeze when I went on the web but now it has frozen while I was taking a picture, or even texting. The camera is as good as they describe it.. all of my pictures are blurry.. I cant watch videos cuz after 7 secs the screen goes black and it freezes... I wish I had gotten another phone, but now I am stuck with it until NEXT year.. I cant afford a new one and that is when my contract is up... Oooo Well better luck next time Samsung..
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 6, 2010
from Kansas
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My phone freezes. I liked it the first month I had it or first few months. I've had it since Jan of 2009, it now has a white screen. sprint is looking at it right now. it freezes all the time. I wouldn't get this phone again. I have 5 family members who have it. my brother and I are the only once who have problems with it. agh. dont get the phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

hate

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 2, 2010
ok here is my deal with the rant!! i liked it at first then after 3 months it started getting flaky. i do a ton of texting and i use alot of data so with this phone it starts locking up all the time. im a guy that takes care of my stuff and have done that with this phone. it just isnt all its all cracked out to be. if your like me and do alot on your phone this is not the phone thats going to work.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Rant is the worst phone ever

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2009
from Bakersfield,Ca.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
From the day I got my Rant, it has been nothing but a problem. Every time I receive a text message, the phone puts up a message that "The message was rejected not enough memory". Sprint can't seem to fix this. The navigation keys mess up. I press to switch right, it goes 2 to the left instead. Sprint can't fix this either. Some times it will ring, and I can't answer it, none of the buttons work. Some times when I slide it open to text, the screen stays locked. Even using the star key and back button won't unlock it. Sprint can't figure that out either. More recently while texting the screen will just go black, then when it does come back, it is locked up or has lost all the text. The phone comes with all of these neat little emoticons, that can only be seen by other Samsung users. Everyone else sees them as text, how useless is that. If I can help it, I will never buy another Samsung product again. I carry all the insurance Sprint has to offer, and still they will not exchange the phone. Can anyone help me?? Oh did I mention I am using this phone to run two business with.. Very unhappy..
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy this phone.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2009
I am pretty phone savy and have had my fair share of many good ones, however this phone, was not even close to being good.
It lags all the time, when roaming the unlock mode doesn't work, The battery won't stay charged. Has no out box, when you try to send a text & it doesn't go through, there is no place it's stored & you have to RE TYPE the whole message. Sometimes people don't get the messages that do actually go through until days later. The reception is very poor. No service in the middle of town.
Sprint all around is no good, I was at verizon & switched to Sprint, never have I had so many dropped calls, lousy service all together. I would never recommend this to anyone.
I have had Samsungs before that were good & was let down with the purchase & not pleased with this phone at all.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not the best

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2009
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I was looking for a phone with a full keyboard, good battery life and good signal. Well one of three is what you get. Be prepared to charge this phone one to two times a day. All that high tech stuff in this phone must be turned off or it will really kill the battery. There are some minor freezing issues but not bad. when using the camera the thing you are taking a picture of must be very still or the pic will be very blury. Web surfing is very painful. I usually just loose interest and give up. My wife is tired of me saying "I hate this phone"
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samsung Rant® Qwerty Cell Phone
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Rating: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Performance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.