Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Sprint
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone

Rating:
3.35 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
2
12 out of 20(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is the best choice ever made

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byijeomaeric
onMarch 1, 2010
from District Height, MD
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
buying this product makes me feel so satisfied with the choice i made. the would recommend this product to anyone out look fer what to buy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
DVD Player
3.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysweetlucie
onFebruary 3, 2010
from Wilmington, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Love my Instinct! Every single feature is useful! I've had my phone for a little over a year. I'm now having trouble with my screen but I can say its my fault because I've dropped it several times. I especially love the "Live Search" no more 411 calls and Voicemail feature. I only wish that 1) the calendar was setup up like outlooks calendar. 2) 3-way calling, where i can hang up one of the calls 4) you can lock picture messages also 4) privacy code for pics, text and picture mail 5) when you want to forward a picture message, that you can select more than 1 person.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Durable Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymacbfac
onMay 13, 2009
from Montgomery
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I got purchased this phone a about a month ago. Well last week we had a major flood here in Montgomery,Ala. The phone fell in 5ft of water in a flooded area behind my office building. to my surprise after an hour under water the phone still worked. it was actualy receiving email notifications!!! after letting the phone completely dry out I turned it back on and it worked like it always have GREAT!!! No water damage the touch screen still works as it had when I purchased it. Great product Samsung!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJdell68
onJanuary 30, 2013
from New York NY
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Wifee Loved this phone... the features were great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Phone !

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMango1
onNovember 6, 2012
from Minneapolis, MN
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
It's actually a great phone for pre-teens who want a "smartphone" !
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone with many Pluses!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bymamadurk
onAugust 25, 2011
from CA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, great camera & video
This phone has been great! I rarely experienced dropped calls, I could easily hear the person on the line, it had great visibility on the touch screen, however, the touch screen can become less sensitive, and need to be RE-CALIBRATED, which is easily done through your on screen settings.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far, so good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCLW2011
onMarch 29, 2011
from East Orange, NJ
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I had very little trouble with my Instinct and if there was a problem, it was easily fixed by the service reps. I just got an upgrade to a new Samsung Intercept.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By96nomram
onDecember 8, 2010
from U.S.
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Have had this phone for over a year, and in that time switched to a Samsung Reclaim for awhile, but found I missed my Instinct, so switched back. After learning the features on it, I find it very easy to use, and I'm "technically challenged".
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great phone but a few flawed features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bynascarmom88
onMarch 13, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I love the size of the screen and its ease of use. But there is a flaw for such a large screen, there is no way to have a chosen wallpaper on this screen. while phone is on I can only view my button options as seen on all demo photos of this phone. I want a picture on the wallpaper of my kids or scenery, not my buttons all the time. using the internet is a breeze and a great feature. downloading ringtones is easy since you can just touch screen the web links and it begins loading. As long as you dont care about wallpapers you will love this phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My Instinct

ByMomo42
onJuly 29, 2009
from Georgia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I LOVE IT!!
I have been sold on this phone since I first saw it. I love the applications and the added navigation is more accurate than the one we have now. I love the touch screen functionality and the ease of all the uses of this phone. TWO thumbs up!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
23of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome Phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bybss616
onMay 8, 2009
from Tonganoxie, KS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I love my Instinct! It has all the great features and I just love it. It performs fantastically!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone... but needs more sync features BADLY!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNorCalMike
onFebruary 11, 2009
from Roseville, CA (Sacramento Metro)
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This phone is incredibly slick. Just bought it for my wife, and she loves the way it feels, works, responds to her gestures, etc. It's great that if you're connected to your Bluetooth headset, you can opt to take the call by headset or not each time you receive a call. That was a pet-peeve of hers, which is now circumvented. Great job, guys!
The one big headache I'm trying to figure out, though, is how to synchronize her contacts & calendar to her Google contacts & calendar through her Gmail account. This is one very hard disappointment, because if the calendar & contacts can be synced, this would be a SUPER phone for the wife.
Please!!! create an update for this phone that addresses these concerns. It really would make the phone super. Also, I'm not alone in this request... I've done many many searches on the web for this topic, and almost every Instinct user has had this complaint. Otherwise, they like the phone, but it will be a deal buster for many.
Samsung... you'd have a lot more customers grabbing this phone if you included an over-the-air sync feature with popular calendar/contacts accounts. You already do it with email for Gmail, Yahoo, AOL, and MSN, so why not these features too???
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Idea gone horribly wrong

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByLBoogie
onApril 5, 2010
I loved this phone from the moment I laid eyes on it. I HAD TO HAVE IT. I waited for the pink version to come out and paid FULL PRICE for it. I was extremely satisfied with my purchase. At first.... Then I stopped getting text messages. No big deal, reset. Then, different names were coming up in my favorites list, glitch, reset. Then, the screen would freeze. Reset. I liked the programming, it is a windows based phone so it was extremely easy to use. It had tons of memory and was more or less a tiny computer. I did not want to give my phone up. After having it replaced 6 times, I finally decided to downgrade to the Samsung Reclaim. I love it, there are no glitches, but it is not quite as much fun as my instinct was. It will always have a place in my heart. When all the kinks get worked out, I may purchase a newer model some day, I really do miss it. :(
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Concept; Needs Improvement

ByKACY
onJanuary 19, 2010
I really like the touch screen and the way things are linked (except the keyboard is sensitive and my phone freezes alot). I also like the incoming voice call id, individualized text/voice mail history, address book, calendar (could use 24-48 hr alert) and camera (like the options to view photos, but it's slow accessing the same). Some function is lost with the headphones, the web is slow and difficult to maneuver and the phone needs a stylus strap. I would recommend this phone if the nits are not important to you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByHUSHIM
onMarch 21, 2011
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, looks great!
Cons: Poor quality
replaced it 4times in six months...... you tell me
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good idea bad execution

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByGuardian
onMay 18, 2010
from San Jose, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I had Samsung phones before and was happy with them, till I got this one... It does not show you when you got voice mail, for inbound calls arrow pointing out, for outbound calls arrow pointing in... who thought of this??? Now it went completely crazy not responding to commands or doing something you have not asked it to do. I have not dropped it or anything and it is not even a year old... Taking the battery out does not make any difference. I think I just go back to my old flip phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

hate this phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByNicole6105
onMarch 31, 2010
from Sycamore, Illinois
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I bought this phone a year ago. I have had nothing but problems with this phone. It always freezes to the point that i have to take the battery out to get it to work. Some times when someone calls it does not show who is calling u have to know where to touch so that u can answer tha call. i would not ever get this phone again. The one thing that is good is that it comes with 2 batteries.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great phone... when it works!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMKBey
onMarch 7, 2009
from Washington, DC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I used to love this phone. Great design and great features, but in the seven months that I had the phone, I had to have it replaced three times! The screen froze a lot! The touch screen became misaligned and calibrating the device only temporarily solved the problem. Half the time I didn't get my calls. Texts and voicemails sometimes took between 2 and 12 hours to reach me. I thought it was a problem with my carrier, but they agreed to let me exchange the phone for another type and I haven't had the problem since. I love Samsung products, but I do not recommend that anyone waste their money on this one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HORRIBLE PHONE

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byabbysmommy1230
onDecember 18, 2009
I have had nothing but problems with this phone. It CONSTANTLY freezes, and when I try to edit my speed dial, it freezes up in the deletion mode, and takes up to 3+ hours for my speed dial's to update. After 3 months of using the phone, the screen became unaligned, and it was almost impossible to dial numbers that had 1, 4, & 7's. Texting messaging took twice as long, since you had to figure out where you had to hit on the screen to get the right letter to come up. The last straw was when the whole touch screen stopped working, making the phone impossible to use. I had to drive 45+ minutes to the sprint store, so they could replace my pink screen with a black screen, as they had no more pink screens, and the phone required a new screen. I have only had the phone for 8 months, and cannot wait for my upgrade to get rid of it!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.