Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Sprint
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone

Rating:
3.551 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
20
2 stars
7
1 star
6
39 out of 67(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bybucz
onJanuary 24, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
overall great product! mtp is a pain to access on linux, but works fine with windows
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBOBinCT
onDecember 1, 2012
from CT
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Too big
Great phone, getting ready to update and will buy another Samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Instinct

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCharlieplus2
onNovember 4, 2012
from USA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, extra battery charging case
I've had this phone (first edition) since it came out. I've had no problems with it until recently. The camera is wonderful although it doesn't have a flash like some of the newer models, the picture quality has everyone amazed. As for the GPS, I've been able to find areas faster than those with the fancy GPS apps. The only drawback is that you must be within range of a tower. I love the fact that it has an independent VM application but hate it at the same time. There is no way to "transfer" the messages to another phone. You have to manually send them from the phone (each of them) to an email if you want to keep them or empty your phone. This phone is strong and durable. Fits well in a pants pocket without the 'oversize' bulge of the newer phones. (Just make sure the screen is turned off so you don't dial someone by accident) IF SAMSUNG OR OTHER COMPANIES WOULD ADD THE SPARE BATTERY CHARGER / CASE THAT CAME WITH THIS PHONE IT WOULD BE WORTH SO MUCH MORE!!! LOVED THAT BEST!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 7.0" (Sprint)
4.6 out of 5(265)
 
 
 
Samsung Epic™ 4G Android Smartphone
4.3 out of 5(1,405)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMrBarny
onAugust 19, 2012
from New York, NY
Had it when it came out and it was ok at the time but new phones are better
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bynarragana
onFebruary 27, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Not high def
I did not expect too much from this phone when I bought it. After almost 1 year of usage I would say this has performed more than what I expected and it has been really good for what I have used.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjonnylee
onNovember 24, 2011
from Roy, Utah
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: expensive
I have a HTC Evo, and A two Samsung epic 4G telephones, they do the job better and have more options and gadgets than the Evo, im saddend I spent any money on the Evo at all.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByQuadracer196
onAugust 9, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone has every feature i need and more i couldn't imagine life without it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byihorse
onApril 19, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Great phone, clear calls, durable, and fun phone for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall performance is great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygmboze
onOctober 18, 2010
from Ocala, FL
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I purchased this cell phone two years ago and would recommend it to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Instinct

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEllen46016
onMay 16, 2010
I have owned an Instinct for almost 2 yrs. I did have to have it replaced once, but it was very quick and I have had no trouble since. I especially love the big screen and all the features that come with the phone. I consistently have friends advising me to change phones, but I am more than happy with my Instinct.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjeans94621
onMay 20, 2009
from Oakland, Ca.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have had my phone since Dec and was thinking about switching to the Pre. but when I thought about giving up my phone I changed my mind. I love everything just about on my phone. I love the threaded messaging, the visual voicemail, gps, music player the tv the radio streaming, the touchscreen, I just love everything about my phone.
The only cons I would have is the when you stroll the music or the contacts it goes a little to fast. If I could figure out to slow that down it would be great.. And I don't like the fact that when I make a three way call I can't make another until I hang up.
But overall I am quite happy with my phone. It does everything I want in a phone. And for those who are complaining you have to do your research and see what you want in a phone and then choose that phone. I did the research and was quite happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjlcwec
onMarch 8, 2009
I would like to see Samsung add Wifi to this phone. If they want to continue to compete with other cellphone maker and carriers they are going to need to add this feature to phones like this. I love my phone, but the battery does not last long. I understand why it comes with 2 batteries. but all in all this is a very good phone and I think it is a lot better than the Iphone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just one thing

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjenifercal
onFebruary 8, 2009
from California
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I absolutely love this phone.. The only thing that I think needs to be tweaked is the three way call feature. If you are on the phone with call A and you connect to call B, there is no button to let go of just one of the calls with out disconnecting both. That is unless one of the callers hang up. Once that happens you don't have the capability to make another three way call.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice phone!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPhotoTae
onDecember 31, 2008
from Honolulu HI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
It was really hard to make decision between ipod and instinct.
But I think I made right decision with instinct. Just One thing that I couldn't understand was I can't read other language. something like Korean,Japanese on phone web.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Almost Perfect

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJefferson
onDecember 6, 2008
from Fort Worth, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
This product would be better than an iPhone if it had the ability to add applications like the iPhone. Aside from that, it is better than the iPhone. I love mine!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Killer Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJoomadd1
onDecember 5, 2008
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Have owned this phone now for two months. Feature packed and easy to use. Timely software updates has only improved my outlook regarding this phone. This phone now sports quick internet access and a host of other useful features. Good job Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone, Mostly Great Features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjasons1love
onDecember 4, 2008
from Pueblo, CO
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I love this phone. The picture quality is great for a mobile, even in low lighting. I like it so much better than the I-phone except for how the screen in the i-phone screen moves around. Other than that this phone beats it hands down. The touch screen is easy to use, which makes it easier to text, but at times you hit the wrong buttons.I like that it holds songs in the phone, or micro sd. I you buy it you will like it. Pics can be emailed or texted to contacts with no big hassle,
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

instinct

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByShawn
onDecember 2, 2008
the best phone ever just needs a better camera and a real keyboard abd it will be perfect
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice phone with good features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byyoon0809
onDecember 2, 2008
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Easy to operate and good features. Love the navigation and instant weather and news accessibility. Downside of the phone is that this phone does not display foreign language characters. Battery life is good and instant access to email and web is great. Web browser need updating. No flash and no self portrait mode for the camera.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very slick phone!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDamon
onNovember 26, 2008
from Kansas City
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have had mine for a month with none of the freezing issues that other reviewers have noted. I have heard that there was a bad batch of phones on its initial release. Again mine has worked flawlessly.
The phone is very intuitive and has great features depending on your needs. I really like the standard headphone mini-jack and the second battery and separate charger. That said the battery life is quite decent anyway.
Please keep in mind that this is not a "PDA" phone when purchasing, thus you can not expect it to perform like one. I have found the touch screen very easy to use, texting is a synch, and appreciate the built in voice queued GPS Nav and voice command options.
A Great value in a sleek shell.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Killer Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJoomadd1
onNovember 21, 2008
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Sprint marketed the Samsung Instinct as an i-Phone Killer. An i-Phone killer it is not but it is a killer phone. The Instinct is customizable and easy to use. I have owned my Instinct phone now for 6 weeks and would have written this review earlier this evening if I had not been watching NFL Thursday Night Football Live on my Instinct Phone. You see my cable subscription does not include the NFL Network. But not to worry as it is included with Sprint's everything plan and is just one of the nice features on this phone. I use the Instinct for personal and work applications. The Instinct synced up nicely with my work email and allows me to download 25, 50, 75 or 100 emails at a time. Also in the email settings menu, remember to set the text message size anywhere from 1k - 3k. Turn Auto receive 'ON' and Auto alert 'ON'. Your phone will now conveniently let you know when you have recieved a new piece of email. I particularly like the Favorites menue that allows you to shortcut your favorite items. I've placed Live Search in my Favs. Live Search allows you to quickly and conveniently look up business information simply by saying the name of the specific business or by saying the type of business in the city of your choosing. I was surprised at how well this feature worked. I even challenged the instinct to find obscure business and it performed quite well. But for example you could say 'hamburgers' for a listing of fast food joints or you could say 'McDonald's' for a listing of that specific restaurant. The Instinct will provide you the telephone number of the business for for one touch calling; the address and mapping location; and direct you there with turn by turn Navigation. Yes the Instinct has built in GPS. Be prepared for high battery drain when using the GPS. But don't fret. Simply purchase a car adapter and remember to plug your phone in if you intend to use it frequently as a Navigation aid as you would any other navigation system. Yes this phone has so many features and some of them are power hungry. No big deal. The phone comes with two batteries and a charger that can charge the secondary battery while your primary runs the phone. Or you can charge the battery while it sits in your phone. It's all about choices and you have them with the Instinct. I chose to purchase a travel charger and keep it at work for convenient charging if need be. I have noticed that the battery consumption seems to be directly related to signal strength. The stronger the signal the longer the battery life. So you may not be able to surf the internet for very long if you have a week signal. Even on a strong signal web browsings is OK but not great and the Instinct seems to lack some of the necessary software so that all webpages and their video and picture links display or run properly. However, if I'm using Google, I can usually find more than one website that will suit my needs. Once the battery gets down to about 20% the Instinct will shut down most applications and save the remaining power for telephone functions. After all that's what the Instinct is right? Although I have to admit I was a little perturbed when without warning it cut off the connection to my bluetooth earpiece while I was driving in an attempt to save power. But on the plus side, you can have your Instinct either ring when there is an incoming phone call or set it so that it speaks the phone number or name. Why is this a nice feature? I keep my phone in my pocket while I drive and have a bluetooth ear piece in my ear. When there is an incoming call it is automatically routed to my earpiece where I can hear who is calling me and I can decide whether to take the call or not. I also get a better sound quality out of my sony earpiece than from my Instinct. The sound could be better from the Instinct speaker. Voices can sound a bit muffled and not very crisp which means I have to concentrate on the conversation a bit more than I would like to ensure I'm understanding what is said. If Samsung is a proactive company then they already know what the Instincts shortcomings are and hopefully they will communicate some fixes or improvements. But having said that, I have been very satisfied with this phone. It is very feature laden and only lacks an Apps store that is comparable to that of the Apple i-Phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for starters

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByClassy1991
onOctober 20, 2012
from Milwaukee WI
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
the phone was good for someone who is a starter with touchscreen and technology.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySteel525
onAugust 30, 2012
from Planet Earth
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
The Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone is the perfect phone for introduction into the Smartphone genre. The template for what the Smartphone will evolve into soon as well the platform in which novice users can text, call and use social networks. Definitely a good buy for anyone on a budget.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great phone in 2008 / 2009

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bykmc74
onJuly 25, 2012
from Maryland
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, many features
Cons: low battery life
I bought this phone in Jan 2009. It was awesome. Lasted me 3 &1/2 years before the screen started becoming unresponsive. Probably would have kept it if not for the touch screen issues. Just upgraded (July 2012) to a Samsung Galaxy S II.
I loved all of the features. Just disappointed they never came out with an android update. Also the software maintenance wasn't that great after a year or so.
In after years, the phone started to experience some slowdown in performance (when filled with more photos, voicemails, etc) and battery life was not quite good enough to support all the nice GPS, internet, data and games features very long. After I gave up using most of those features, the battery would last at least a day between charges / changes (to 2nd battery). It was a good first (semi) smart phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (White)
4.5 out of 5(229)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Average product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBMWnAZ
onApril 3, 2012
from Tucson
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Phone started out as a nice phone but seemed to be outdated rather quickly.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 7, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The phone is a good phone.I do not have the best service,but the phone itself is wonderful.It is not the phones fault that I keep getting dropped calls.The only problem I have is that the touch tones do not work properly when I try to access my credit card account.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great "Non-Android" Smartphone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMcGeezy
onJune 1, 2011
from Orlando, FL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, extra battery, stylus included, easy to use
Cons: Not high def, not enough applications, no download market
This phone and its successors, were all great phones. They worked well, came with a spare battery, and had a unique; easy to use interface. However, they did lack applications. The camera worked well, compared to the newest 5 MP, 8 MP, 12 MP, models; currently available on the market.
The phone was very sleek, easy to hold, and attractive. The touch screen was responsive and easy to navigate. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a smart phone that doesn't necessarily have Android, OS4, Blackberry, or other type of proprietary operating system.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Epic™ 4G Android Smartphone
4.3 out of 5(1,405)
 
 
 
Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
2 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
Nexus S 4G (Sprint) Android Smartphone
4.3 out of 5(314)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySmoke311
onMarch 11, 2011
from Lake Charles, LA.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Not high def
This phone was my first "smart phone" as they started calling them. It was well worth the price with a lot of good features.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C5500)
4.2 out of 5(586)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great but disappointed

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDarkMagician1184
onOctober 11, 2010
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
When the product was released in 2008 as competition for the iPhone I was all over it, it was a great phone and with promise of apps in the future the phone was spectacular for the price. Then the apps never came, Sprint blamed Samsung and Samsung blamed Sprint (I believe it was sprints fault). But for the value, the phone offers everything I want from a cell phone, including but not limited to, internet, sports updates, weather updates, text messaging, picture messaging, quality camera (outdoors especially), connect-ability (including PAM and as a portable drive). What could've been improved on are the browser (opera mini comes standard on later models, works well on original as well), visual voicemail (works well on some phones, doesn't work at all on others), and battery life. Now on the last one (battery life) I understand the phone came with a backup battery and charger, but even with those, I'm pushing to get a full day out of the 2 with average use, if I don't really touch the phone all day I'm good for 8-10 hours, but if I play a video or listen to music or simply browse the internet the battery life drops to 1 hour, 4 hours, 2 hours respectively.
I would upgrade to the HD but the price is still too high considering what I paid for the original, I would also purchase the Epic, but on top of the price being too high for me, I'm not a fan of the slide out keyboard.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Its Ok

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNiecy
onNovember 29, 2009
from Brooklyn,NY
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
I got this phone when it first came out last year. I loved it at first being my first touch screen and thats what its really great for, but if you were lookin to buy it i recommend you buying one of the newer models.
This phone was great at first never frooze, worked fast, and my apps always worked. but now it freezes once in a while, my apps bearly ever work have to call sprint most of the time to fix it ( the usual take the batttery out doesnt work) it just gets on my nerves sometime. Camera is horrible if your in a dim room or even if its bright to you, you cant take a pic at all its just always dark, but the video recorder is great!!
Pros about the phone: wont break for nothing, video recorder, music player is easy to use, qucik access to your favorite apps you use on the phone.
But if you want an instinct buy a newer version way more apps and less stress just works better but the web on all is the same
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't Believe I'ld Fall in Love

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMarianinMO
onDecember 29, 2008
from Lake Saint Louis, MO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I'm a 40 yr old who just want a simple, nice phone. I thought I would try this for the 30 day trial and eventually get the Rant. I was able to fully use the phone in 1 hr -- very user friendly and logical! I'm sold on Samsung. My last phone was a BlackJack. For me, the best feature are the large digits on the dialer. It's well lit and visible! The visual voicemail is also incredible! Really, it's like true love. I never thought I would fall this hard. Con: I think it's still too pricey.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love at first touch

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMrhoades
onDecember 7, 2008
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Over all the Instinct is a great phone. The screen is a good size and most of the options work well. I wish Samsung will find away to make software apps for the phone along for business use. I think you’re missing a great market for the executive types that need and want a look like the Instinct but want the features of a Palm or Blackberry. Also please fix the Bluetooth bug it want work with many Motorola stereo/phone head sets that cost me $100.00 that I want get back. One last thing think god we get two batteries with the phone because I have to swap one out for the other every 10 hours because of my usage.
Final note: I say they need to fine tune a lot but for what you get for the price. I do love my phone and hold on to it hoping that it can only get better!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

still looking for the perfect phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bytintin
onDecember 6, 2008
I have owned this phone for about 5 months and so far i have been confortable & happy with the desing and the way the optios are diplayed. alot of us are looking for the perfect phone like the iphone. And this phone comes very close, unfortunetly it does not have windows like the omnia i900. But for those looking for just a phone with simple fetures I recomend this phone. It is very simple to use, the way the touchflow works is very easy to use with one hand and it has easy accces to all sprint fetures.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Weakest WEB phone ever!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 5, 2008
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I got this from sprint with a contract extension. I jumped through some major hoops to get it, and when it arrived i was thrilled. The first 5 minutes spent with the phone were great. Extra battery and external charger should come with all phones. As i started using the phone more, i found some things i disliked. Mainly the web browser. Many links could not be used and not many pages could be viewed properly. Using the internet on this phone made simple tasks like, locating stores from a site, and unbearable event. The phone was hyped to be like an iPhone, but was way behind in capabilities. By the time i realized this was not the phone for me it was too late. I was now stuck with sprint and unable to leave. I ended up getting a small credit for this so i could buy a Blackberry. Now the Omnia is being released through Verizon just in time for my old contract to expire, and i am stuck for another 18 months with sprint. I have always loved Samsung products, but i really feel burned by this one. The phone is a nice phone, but there is nothing smart about it. If you are looking for an advanced phone you should seek the i910. Sprint was the culprit here. I have been with sprint for over 5 years, and i am now considering paying to get out and never return because of the trouble i had, and all the money it cost me for nothing. I rate the phone to be a 3 of 5, mainly because the web is so bad it brings down the rest of the phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Instinct

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bypegasus226
onDecember 5, 2008
from Lansing, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is a pretty nice phone. I do enjoy owning it. It was marketed as the Iphone killer, which it is not. There has been a lack of work on apps for it. Sprint was suppose to open up an app store but never did.
So the phone is great, the music player needs some work, it isn't very user friendly. The calendar lacks the ability to sync it. This phone is also not sync-able with a mac. So if you are on the Sprint network and can't switch it's a great phone, but don't expect it to be an Iphone.
The phone has potential if people would produce apps it would be awesome if this phone could run android. That would be the one thing that would make this phone perfect.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLIny2
onOctober 24, 2008
from Long Island, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I just recently purchased the Instinct after having a Motorola "Q" for over 2 years. The phone is great and very easy to use. The only down side that I have found is that there is no viewer for PDF files. With all the loaded features on this phone I don't understand how they would not include a viewer. Otherwise, its a great device.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Depends on your likes

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByGNeal
onJuly 13, 2012
from New Orleans. LA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
The Instinct is a decent device if you havent been spoiled by the likes of the S3 and Nexus.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice feature set

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydmc822
onMay 20, 2012
from Ohio
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Nice feature set but it just didn't live up to the hype.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice touch screen!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byaud345
onApril 4, 2012
Pros: gentle touchscreen
Cons: no android market apps
There was one thing I really liked about this phone: the touch screen.
First of all, the display is made of a springy plastic that's particularly gentle on the fingers, unlike glass touch screens.
Second, when you tap things, the phone vibrates once and you hear a pleasant-sounding button click. The vibration really helped to cushion my finger taps.
The downside to this phone is that there was no access to the Android Market.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySavingLady
onFebruary 23, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
It was nice for about the first 6 months of use. However, there came a point where I could no longer answer phone calls unless I shook the phone just right. Likewise, was unable to make phone calls without pushing the voice command button. Nevertheless, I had the original version of the phone when it first debuted, so there is a possibility that the phone has improved.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok but not great

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By007Dizo
onJanuary 10, 2012
from Florida
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
It's basic functions were ok but overall the phone did not perform well.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByWhydouneedanick
onDecember 24, 2011
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I Remember having this phone, it was a pain and turned me off from the full screen phones. The screen would freeze and lag when txting
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bynwhite1012
onDecember 11, 2011
from Deer Park Tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Good for one of the first touch screens. For someone first starting out on touch screens this is great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Iphone not

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByPenina
onDecember 10, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This was marketed as comparable to Iphone so I tried it...boy was I disappointed!!! Not only is it not comparable, it's not a smartphone period.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Video is choppy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKicopuertorico
onDecember 6, 2011
from portland, OR
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I wouldn't suggest this to anyone. the video is choppy and at times freezes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great phone in its day -- still useful even though the parade has passed it by.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onNovember 13, 2011
from San Francisco CA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, good music player functions
It was a cool phone for its day, but times have changed and I no longer use this as a phone. However, it still works great as a music player, even without carrier service, so I continue to keep it in use as a backup portable music player. One thing this phone first turned me on to is how cool Haptic feedback is -- now I look for that functionality in all my new device purchases.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bysuitedup07
onJune 29, 2011
from longisland ny
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I had this phone for about 2 months...I traded it in and got the evo.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Stylish Smart Phone Decoy

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByJoJo34
onJune 19, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This touch screen phone seems is nice and simple, but may leave you envying your friends with phone that are well... smart.
Pros:
-Touch Screen
-Awesome for GPS and Navigation - I'm never lost and can find nearby places using "live search"
-Text messaging made easy with a keyboard you can flip horizontally or vertically, or loose the keyboard all together and write with a stylus or finger tip.
-Nice sleek design
Cons:
-Not a smart phone
-Facebook app that makes you log into facebook every time - which makes the app pointless
-Poor internet browser
-Only a handful of useless apps.
-Poor camera quality
-After a year the screens freezes a lot
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Loved the phone and then......

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDayoopergal
onDecember 16, 2009
My husband purchased an Instinct two years ago, and I absolutely fell in love with it. I loved the voicemail feature, the voice activated calling, the gps feature and everythiing else. Other than a few missed calls we haven't had any issues, until this year. My husband's instinct froze up for the first time, we removed the battery, did a soft reset, etc. and still couldn't get it running. Sprint sent us a new to us refurbished phone and three weeks later the phone froze up again, we again tried the soft reset, etc. but were unable to get it going.
I have the newer model instinct and love it. It is durable, works well for what I use it for. It took a while to get used to the QWERTY keyboard, but I can use it now. I love all the same features that I described above. I have a few missed calls/late to arrive voicemails, but other than that it works fine.
I have recommended this phone for two years to my friends and family. Now, I will no longer recommend it. There are some major issues that need to be fixed.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice Phone, Needs a New Browser and Calculator

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bygoygacon
onDecember 7, 2009
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Just like the title states, this phone is very accurate to the touch, I've never dropped a call, and over time the phone has improved with updates with the exception of one area, the browser.
The default " Obigo " browser may perform up to par when it comes to veiwing a mobile version of a website but this phone was introduced as a full html, blazing fast internet. Not even close.
The web now zooms all html websites too small to see forcing you to zoom in on every webpage and " Out of memory " is one of the most bothersome alerts while surfing the net on the phone, and after the last update, it just got worse, and many sites do not load up fully.
The Calculator thinks that 16 ounces equals 1.04 pounds, doesn't go past two decimal points, and doesn't have a negative degree reading for the temperature.
Videos are choppy on youtube, and there is a definate lack of support when it comes to apps on this phone.
Over one year old and less than 50 apps, 12 of which are social apps, and others are in another language all together
The new Samsung Instinct HD is definately worth the price for the frustration you'll pay owning this phone.
Though the lack of interest in developing apps for the HD phone seems to be heading in the same direction as the M800
So, if your looking for apps...Instinct is the brand to avoid, but if your looking for a cheap touchscreen phone with some limited cool features, you may consider this a good start.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Questionable

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByCorkOne
onMay 11, 2009
from Tennessee
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Battery life is not very good. Must carry spare battery if you use the phone very much. It would be nice if there were more options regarding holsters for this phone. Need a leather holster with a belt clip that also has a provision for carrying the extra battery. Touch screen can be a pain also. Too easy to accidently call someone unless you clear the screen or put the phone in "sleep" mode. Custom screen protectors are almost non-existent until just recently. Web access very slow.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

don't waste your time!!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byfumanchew2415
onFebruary 9, 2009
from columbus, ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The idea of this phone sounds amazing, however the software has a lot to be addressed. I bought this phone when it was new, so I paid too much, but for the new price it might be worth a look. Just don't expect the web browser to connect to more than half the web sites out there. Samsung needs to release updates on some issues, but seem to be dragging there feet. Overall, I was just disappointed.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Design great. internal programming not so great

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByWingman
onDecember 1, 2008
from Chattanooga, TN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The blurb under the picture says "A touch of amazing." How true, amazing they didn't get it right. Had this phone for ever over a month. Keep it hoping the programmers will finish their work. Web surfing - great, MP3 player - great, navigation - great. photo functions - fair. There is no basic editing like crop, resize, zoom, create and move folder functions. And most important - this is supposed to be a phone. I thnk the programmers forgot that. Has anyone noticed that if they are on the phone and someone calls via call waiting, after the 2nd party hangs up the phone does not release their info so you are then unable to make a 3 way call wthout hanging up on the 1st caller to reset the phone. And if you make a 3 way call their is no way to remove the 2nd caller like you can with a regular phone by hitting the talk button. And if they hang up the phone still retains their info, again not allowing you to make another 3 way call until you hang up on the 1st caller. I looked at the Doc's on the new T-mobile phone Behold, similar to this, and the programmer for them obviously got it right, so why did Samsung let this phone go out without it being fully functional. And then their is the part I am really curious about - Does Samsung read these reviews, and if they do, do they care. I've called Sprint several times and they don't seem to have a clue. Hopefully Samsung Execs will wake up up and put a good programmer on this phone and send out and update.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not good enough for the upgrade fee

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByJohnny
onNovember 30, 2008
from Riverside, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Too many advertisements advertising the instinct, makes it seem like a machine that can do it all, updates are worthless and the functionality of the product always crashes and has to be reset. Nice looking phone, but the performance mediocre.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

NIce ... Not Perfect

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNijo5041
onNovember 28, 2008
from New Orleans, LA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I'm testing this phone for 30 days to see if I'll like it. The size and ease of use are good features, however, my old phone is a Palm Treo, so there are a few things I don't like.
The micro card does pull up my pics so I can assign them to contacts and I can't use my music as ring tones. I don't like that I can't catergorize my contacts and there is no place for the stylus on the phone & it's too small. I have also had freezing issues when I use it to view TV. All in all it's OK, but I'm on the fence. I may very well go and get the Blackberry touch.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bywpeen001
onNovember 16, 2011
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This phone was supposed to go against the iphone back in the day and was supposed to get an app store but never did sorry sammy this phone was a dud
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not the best

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByArkon
onOctober 26, 2011
from Parker
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I had a lot of issues with this phone. Returned in 4 times with issues. Would not recommend.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Lasted 2 years before screen froze for good.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byno2instinct
onMay 26, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations
If all the features worked like they did day one, this would have been a great phone. But, there were many occasions when my phone froze and locked up on me, which drove me crazy. Then, it finally stopped responding to any touch, and the touchscreen failed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I want my IPHONE back

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byinstinctdisappointment
onNovember 25, 2009
from STL MO
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
slow, freezes, weak features, poor execution on a noble concept
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

What a mistake I made!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMarch 29, 2009
I was so excited about this phone, but soon realized it is a big let down. Web access NOT good at all. Phone freeze up all the time. Battery life well I have to change mine every 2 to 3 hours depending on how much I use it or don't use it. Battery just doesn't last like they say it should. Thank GOD I have 3 batteries. Headphone jack too big cant buy the type I can only use because of the BIG jack it has 3.5mm why! Can't seem to locate adapter for it no one carrys such a things. Only thing i like is the touchscreen and thats about it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bychiniekid
onNovember 29, 2008
from N.E. Pennsylvania
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I've had this phone since Aug 2008. It freezes up on me and always looses signal when surfing the web. Very frustrating. As far as being in compitition with the iPhone, there isn't one this is not a PDA. Also the camera is terrible my old samsung phone had a flash and light for the camcorder. Over all a decent phone the only reason I gave it so many stars is because I'm feeling generous.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

needs improvement, could be better

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byphonebooth56
onNovember 14, 2008
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Got this phone in October. It does freeze alot. Dont like some features, camera is too blah. No flash or sneaky border/color tools and options. Cannot use downloaded music for ringers, the ringers included on phone arent great. Sprint wants you to "buy" them rather than be able to record and use texts you get for a ringer or a pic with sound. Issues if a friend sends a pic or text to you & multiple people it shows what the friend sent to the other people in your messaging area. Cant get pics with animation such as jokes and some video. overall, it takes some getting used to. Could be better.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByxBluntZx
onFebruary 4, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
this product was a waste of money! after the first software update many features of this phone stopped working.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Problems with the phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByFranky05
onSeptember 23, 2010
from Corona, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Freez up all the time, more problems with the phone
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone Ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByMargo99987
onSeptember 29, 2009
from Boise, ID
I have never had such a hard time with a phone as I have with this one, I think its way over priced for the amount of problems. It freezes all the time, the screen doesn't work, misses calls, or doesn't send the information that I missed a call til a day later. I would never buy this phone or suggest it to anyone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
16of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

UNHAPPY

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByGHUSKERS
onJune 12, 2009
from cheyenne,wyoming
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I have been a fan of the products for 20 yrs or more,but with this phone Im very unimpressed,it has always freezes up,the screen will black out,applications will only work when they want to,when trying to email or text,it will be hard to get the blinking line back to where you want it,you will always have to delete and go back.I still believe in their products,every company will have a not so satisfactory product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Samsung Instinct™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone Ever Owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByEnefrius
onNovember 11, 2008
I bought this phone in July of 2008. There was occasional freezing, but the phone worked fine. After the firmware update was released, however, the phone began freezing up regularly and has become unbearable to use. Sprint will not replace it with a different phone. They are more than willing to replace it with the same phone though. Which doesn't really solve anything. I would NEVER recommend this phone to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5