Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Sprint
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone

Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
9
18 out of 41(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I've owned TWO !

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySpookytooth
onDecember 10, 2010
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I bought the first Instinct just after it came out. 21/2 years later I upgraded to the newest model (s30). I love the touch screen but this phone gives me more data options than I will ever use, especially with Sprint.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best phone to date

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytaz40
onJanuary 10, 2010
from troy ny
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
has the best features i love the gps;camcorder ;phone reception is great ;over all the phone is very good and worth the investment
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatest Phone I have ever owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTamarshall07
onOctober 6, 2009
I absoultly love this phone I was able to figure it out the first day without looking at the book! I also find new fetures about the phone everyday! I agree it would only be better if it came with a stylus but you can purchase one for pretty cheap.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Phone I've Ever Had

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNCIS
onSeptember 12, 2009
from Las Vegas, Nevada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had many phones. This Samsung Instinct is the best phone I've had. Although while I've owned it, it has frozen once. The GPS, TV, Visual Voice mail are great features. I haven't had to look at a manual or anything. This phone is extremely user friendly. I would refer this phone in a heart-beat!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
33of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Glad I Own...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLovern
onJuly 29, 2009
from Brockton, MA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Within a day I was able to more than figure out how to use this device. The mobile sync is what I was most impressed with. I had a huge phone book on my old phone so the seamless transfer was awesome. Would only like that it would have come with a stylus and somewhere to put it. My thumb sometimes touches the wrong thing and I most use a pen now to navigate the touch screen. Other than that I am really impressed with the S30 and all it's features!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grandson loves his Instinct s30

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDewWorm
onMay 29, 2009
from Saint Cloud, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I purchased the s30 for my grandson who is almost 20 yrs old because the screen size is fantastic for him. He does a lot of surfing the web, and the screen size makes it easier on his eyes. He also does a lot of texting, and he loves the virtual keyboard; he is very fast with the keyboard. At first I thought there were not enough puzzle games for him to play, but we found some through the "Fun" function. He is extremely happy with his Instinct s30 and we recommend it to others.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bydplbud8
onMay 3, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
What a phone. I think it is one amazing phone. Easy to use and all around fast.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone for its time.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjsejd3585
onJanuary 26, 2014
from San Antonio, TX
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: outdated
I still own this phone as a backup because for its time it was an amazing phone. Very durable and had some pretty cool features.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBUCKEYEGEEK
onJanuary 26, 2013
from Columbus, OH
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
For the price this phone is great. It does all the same things a basic smartphone does and never freezes up.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First Touchscreen

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byherlindosan
onJanuary 23, 2013
from garland, tx
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
This was my first touchscreen and I loved the phone but the only down fall was the touchscreen not being as responsive but seeing as the technology was not out it was ok.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This phone was good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByInflamesFanX
onSeptember 1, 2011
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
When it first came out i got it. I have only had a couple of issues. I've dropped it a thousand times and its never broken. I've had it for 2 years and i'm going to get the galaxy s2. My experience with samsung parts has been very good. Though Iwould not recommend this phone for today though because there are plenty of other good samsung phones now.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent Phone...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydreki13
onDecember 24, 2010
from Millington, TN
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
This is one of Samsungs better phones. I wish I would have kept it instead of giving it to my daughter and got the Intercept for myself (Intercept worked great until the OS update for android).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLonghornsacmech
onNovember 15, 2010
from Savannah, Ga
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Nice weight, feels good in the hand. Savvy phone, with loads of features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybsumner
onNovember 13, 2010
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: low battery life, accidental calls
There is lots great about this phone, but have a few issues with it:
1) The battery barely lasts through the day, even with minimal use.
2) The desktop isn't as configurable as it should be.
3) It's easy to accidentally cal people due to the way the phone is set up.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved my Instinct S30!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByRere090174
onSeptember 22, 2010
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, adjustable touch screen
Cons: would freeze during browser sessions
I loved my phone. I was able to customize it very easily. It even had cases to change out the color. I upgraded to the Intercept and gave this one to my boyfriend so he could start to text finally!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I liked it so much I bought 3

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byalsorto
onSeptember 21, 2010
from Irvine, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
My son, wife, and I got one. And had they not run out I would have gotten one for my mom as well. She had to settle for an LG. The features that are include allowed me to link my email accounts from hotmail and yahoo, video msgs, text, GPS, TV shows, and on, and on, and on...
Only con: can't lock the phone keys while on a call so if I'm using my bluetooth headset and put the phone in my pocket the keys tend to get pressed as I'm walking about. But no biggie, bought a pouch and hopefully this will help.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great, but no games

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjugrnot
onFebruary 20, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Overall, I love this phone. The lack of buttons was a necessity for me. The touch screen took a couple of days and some sensitivity adjustments to get used to, but is now perfect for me. The GPS is incredible! It has helped me find locations in completely unfamiliar cities and remote areas. The only downside to this phone is a lack of apps, especially free ones. The touchscreen-only interface precludes the ability to play many games on this phone. The camera and video functions of this phone allow me to leave my digital camera behind without missing anything.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Byhotn
onJuly 16, 2009
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
i was please to get the first one that came out but about a month later the applications started to freeze up and there after the radio played but froze on the words to the song i would reset the phone and turn it on/off that worked for a while but then the music got stuck and kept playin over and over again after being reset i was sent a replacement phone which did the same and more additional to what it was doing before the battery life would go quickly but when i saw the phone was going to die i would put the charger in the phone still died. my sync info still stated deletin on the speed dial app but would not delete im waiting for the s30 hoping that all the issues are gone if not may have to switch phones once again
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The New Instinct - Better or Worse

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByCGDTX
onApril 27, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I hsve really enjoyed the original Instinct and was looking forward to the new model in hopes that they had solved issues.
They did make a sleeker design without reducing the screen.
The main one I was hoping for was longer battery life and since it only came with one battery I thought it was taken care of. The new model actually has a shorter battery life.
I lost my original stylus and I was hoping it would have a built-in storage place but instead it doesn't,
The new model doesn't even come with any kind of case.
The new model doesn't come with any software, but it appears it can be downloaded from this site. I tried to symc it with the original software but it would not work.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

language options

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bydavtone
onAugust 9, 2011
from los angeles
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: language options
Eventhough this phone has good feature, I do not recommended. I does not provide language options. A great disapointment. I hope and update is coming to resolve this issue.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

works ok but could be better

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBasilFawlty
onJuly 6, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, live search is great, gps works well
Cons: Too big
My wife & I have each had this phone for 18 months on our 2 year contract. Her's would freeze up but was replaced because I bought the protection plan, thankfully.
The navigation between photos and emailing photos could be better. No voice/memo record. Unable to save generic text messages and reuse. Too easy to delete all text messages by mistake. Battery comes lose on occasion and caused the phone to turn off. Zoom level in web browser needs to default at least twice as big. Touch screen in web browser is inconsistent.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByJ1988
onJanuary 22, 2011
from Washington
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Phone is ok, but has a lot that could be improved on. Does not surf the internet well.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByInevitable007
onDecember 4, 2010
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Not satisfied got rid of it and bought a droid. Do not waste your time.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Could be a really great phone, but the bugs are annoying

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDetroit80sBaby
onOctober 7, 2010
from Detroit, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, calender sync, visual voicemail, voice notification
Cons: camera does not have self timer, ability to send multipart text messages, software slow sometimes freezes, camera lacks flash
What could be a really excellent feature phone has been boggled down by the proprietary Samsung OS. The phone feels slow sometimes to respond to user input. The camera lacks a self timer, which is a feature on lower end Samsung phones like the Rant. You cannot send muti-part text messages. The phone does come pre-loaded with Opera Mini 4, but does not support the latest version of Opera Mini 5. The lock/power key feels misplaced at the top right of the phone. The phone lacks the option to lock the phone on start up. Phone may freeze periodically for 30 seconds and then do a soft reboot, a problem I have experienced on other Samsung phones as well. You cannot delete saved drafts in the email client. The email is very quick at notifying you of new messages. You can make a shortcut to anything from the Favorites screen. Within the settings for the ringers, you can turn on voice notification which will announce the name/number of callers and text messages. The phone can run mutiple apps simultaneoulsy, but there is no way to send a app to the background aside from the music. The built in music player functions well and could be used as an alternative to a stand alone mp3 player.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

yea dont buy!!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bylanelle94
onAugust 5, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
this phone is so unresponsive!! i don't like it!! I seen this phone before and thought it would be cute so my daddy got it for himself to try it out!! and this is slow and the phone freezez like crazy just got it today charged it and now the battery just overheats and cuts off for no reason.. this is not a good phone DON"T BUY!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

phone freezes

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byaurora
onApril 15, 2010
from Orlando, Fl
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
my cell freezes all time, very slow phone, applications take long to open. horrible for business purposes, doesn't have much features for it price. can't wait to change it for another phone, unfortunatly 2 year contract. batter dies every day
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByJerryInTexas
onMay 20, 2009
from San Antonio, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
FIrst S30 suffered from screen freezes. GPS, calendar, & game download screens froze repeatedly. Replacement phone seems to be working smoothly. Screen size is nice. Power button is taking some getting used to. (Might be opperator error.) But since the 1st phone froze, bad taste in my mouth. And since the rcommendation is a Yes/No, I'm going with a No. If there was a Myabe, I would've chosen that.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

ok device

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByGLowe
onJuly 27, 2012
from Austin,Tx
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
phone froze alot doesnt ring at times not a good phone
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ehhh/:

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByTayDizzle
onJanuary 8, 2012
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, lagged alot, slow
It wasnt the best phone, but it did text so I was ok. It did lag alot! I honestly didnt like it and I love my new Samsung phone (Nexus S 4g<3) Its MUCH MUCH MUCH better!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byc5pfe
onDecember 27, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations
phone would freeze all the time would have to remove the battery to get it to work.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Slow

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByNova3
onDecember 11, 2011
from Alpine, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, scratches easily
the touchscreen is very glitchy. Web browser is garbage. Does have good media playback and is user friendly. Not android.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Leaves much to be desired

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByDinoDr
onDecember 3, 2011
from Central IL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, slow, doesn't have enough features
Two years ago, coming from an LG Rumor, I was pretty impressed with this phone, never having used a touch screen or "smartphone." Nowadays, it doesn't hold a candle to what else it out there. The internet is extremely slow and hard to use and navigate. The on-screen keyboard took a very long time to get used to, and I still need to look at it to text. Calls drop fairly often, the vibrate feature is LOUD, and the battery goes between lasting several days and several hours. Also, sometimes when I try to send picture mail it sends a picture other than what I had selected, even if I had deleted that picture a long time ago.
I had to replace this phone about 6 months ago because it was freezing and the calibration was completely off and could not be reset.
The Instinct s30 worked for me for two years, but it's very limited and outdated. I'm planning on getting an Epic 4g Touch once my upgrade is available in a couple of months.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bydcszero
onAugust 24, 2011
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
the touch screen does not work well
can't use public ring tones ??? only sprint boo hoo
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Operation Stinks

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bycolloski
onDecember 14, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This is the worst device I have ever owned. It always freezes, locks up, the touch screen is never synced. It is sad because when it decides to work it works great, I use the GPS all the time, email, the web is slow so i don't use that too much.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Music anyone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWalterjrr
onOctober 20, 2009
Ok, can someone please tell me how in todays world you have a phone that is unable to sync your own CD collection.
All you can do is purchase music from the sprint store.
U are limited to the amount of notes you can add
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
21of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Samsung ever!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByAMBarrios
onJune 13, 2012
from Louisville, KY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Samsung usually makes excellent products, but this phone is definitely NOT up to par.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This was supposed to be the iPhone killer? Please....

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByTehAMP
onNovember 7, 2011
from Laguna Niguel, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, touch screen malfunctions, settings change by themselves
I have owned this phone for about two years now.
I'll tell you one thing, I got what I paid for....NOTHING!
This phone is good for making phone calls and basic text messaging. Trying to surf the web is setting the way back machine to the early 90's when we were waiting minutes upon minutes for our dial up modems to display a single image.
The bluetooth connectivity is near non-existent, I haven't ever been able to successfully pair this phone with another device to transfer files, I can just connect it to bluetooth headsets.
Now for the worst part, the touch screen.
I have never owned a touch screen device as bad as this phone. Just about 1 year after first owning it I noticed the touchscreen losing responsiveness, not accepting touch commands and sending my touches to a wrong coordinate on the screen.
Now, 2 years later, every time I want the touch screen to operate properly I have to press down on the bottom of the screen nearly as hard as I can (I secretly wanna break the dang thing to buy a new one) and swipe my finger up the entire length of the screen, pressing hard as heck. Then it works...for a few minutes, then I have to do the hard swipe again.
I have a hard time understanding how Samsung let this one get out the door.
If you are in the market for one of these phones leave said market.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byjlafaro
onNovember 1, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, Did not meet expectations
When I first received this phone I had great expectations. It lived up to every one of them. However, after continued use, the phone degraded each day.
o First it started to drop calls.
o Second the GPS function stop working,
o Third the messaging would send garbage to my recipients.
o Fourth responsiveness was extremely slow.
o Fifth the phone takes 3 to 5 minutes to boot.
o Sixth applications load automatically and do not release memory when the task is killed.
o Seventh volume of most incoming calls would be sporadic
o Eighth battery life last only 50 minutes to 1 hour during a call.
o Ninth battery life last only 12 - 16 hours without use, causing charge everyday or twice per day.
o Tenth and Lastly settings needed to be reset often. e.g. WIFI, GPS, Bluetooth, etc.
My rating of this device is less 1.5 out of 10.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 (Wi-Fi Only) – 32GB Metallic Gray
4.6 out of 5(485)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HORRIBLE!!!! Wow, do I regret buying this!!!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByLuvs2ownworkingcellphones
onMay 12, 2011
from Kansas City
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, screen freezes half the time, touch screen works only half the time
I needed a phone like this for my business. I need to be able to get on the internet much more than an average type phone. But unfortunately this thing has been nothing but problems after problems!!! The screen freezes all the time. The touch screen is acurate only half the time. It has a mind of it's own and it decides when to work and when not to work! HORRIBLE!!! I'm hoping coming here on the Samsung site, I can get some kind of downloadable relief to this insanity!!!
I have had many cell phones over the last 13 years including Samsung phones. THIS INSTINCT S 30 IS BY FAR THE WORST PHONE I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByUghhateit10
onDecember 27, 2010
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
It randomly freezes up while im on the phone or when someone is calling and I cant answer
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Samsung Dropped the Ball

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byiblogleft
onSeptember 25, 2010
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, horrid touch screen typing
I have numerous samsung products and I love them, and love the company. I always buy their products. I have a high def tv, 4 computer monitors from this company.
This phone is quite honestly trash.
The accuracy of the touchscreen is so bad (even after numerous calibrations), sending a text message is like lighting a fire with two sticks in the rain.
I kept it because I thought it was my fault, and I would get used to the KB and all would be well. NOT.
There are no software updates, no synch features for contacts, really, just stay away.
I will have to think twice about buying another samsung product, and test it thoroughly, they may be going down hill, I don't know. In about three months, I am throwing this phone onto the highway.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly designed and difficult to use

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byjffmor
onSeptember 18, 2010
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This phone has an overly complex menu structure, low customization capability, and it requires a great deal of precision to select options on the "touch screen", which is a problem if you have to quickly answer a call. I do not recommend this phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Samsung Instinct HD

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDouggyfresh
onJuly 13, 2010
from Austin, Texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Bad phone, battery does not hold a charge for long, mine freezes up constantly and I have to restart it. While charging the battery overheats, and also when you the internet the phone gets really really hot, I even noticed one day, how hot the phone was and that was not even being used and was in my pocket. Now I cant even charge it, I get a "Charging Paused - Error" when i try to charge it so I guess I will have to buy a new battery and I have only had this phone for 6 months. This is the only phone that I have had getting reception at my home, if I lay it on the bed, i miss all text messages and phones calls, but if i put it on the night stand, i will get everything. I am really disappointed in Samsung on this phone and it will prevent me from buying another Samsung phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Instinct s30™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

don't trust this instnct

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByLyryk
onJanuary 31, 2010
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
By far the worst phone I have ever owned. I got my first instinct in September of '09 and it only lasted about two months before the charge port broke, and now two months after receiving a replacement, it has frozen up to the degree that I cannot access anything. Contacts? No. Apps (or lack there of)? No. Music or pix? No and No. The web browsing is slow, it won't play the voice messages in a multimedia message, and it pocket dials...A LOT. If you're trying to listen to music and text, every incoming text will cause the song that's playing to either pause or it will change to the next one...very annoying. The virtual keyboard is a joke...you try to tap a button on the bottom row and you get either a space, punctuation, or it thinks you clicked the done button. The 2.0 mega pixel camera is lacking zoom and a flash, so you have to be right on top of whatever you're taking a picture of (so much for taking pix of scenery) and it has to be well lit. I could keep going on all the wonderful (note: sarcasm used here) features of this phne, but I'm sure you get the idea. Will I buy another Samsung phone? Likely. Another Instinct? No way!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.