Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LED TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV

Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Review 1 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent TV with good apps

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 7, 2012
from New York
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, apps and streaming media
Cons: no web browser
Picture quality, color, contrast and black levels are all excellent. Resolution is sharp. No tails on rapidly moving objects. TV is easy to use. Added the WiFi adapter and use a lot of the apps via Internet.
Set-up easily and 12 months in its 100% reliable.
Sound quality is very good but most of the sound goes out the back. Folks in the next room could hear the TV better than you. It seems there's no web browser for this model which is disappointing.
All-in-all though I am extremely happy with this TV.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am very please with this TV. My devices hooked up easily, the resolution is great. I am not a techy person, but my friends are and all of them love this product. I like the fact that the TV swivels, yes, it's simple but nice.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has excellent performance at a reasonable price.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 14, 2012
from Alabama
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Purchased this product for my Mother based on our experience with our Samsung LCD TV. Both HD and standard def are excellent. Features are plentiful and are actually more than my she will use. Great product for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 28, 2011
from New Hampshire
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, thin
Cons: sub-standard user manual
Looks even better at home than in the showroom. I didn't know this TV could access my home internet WiFi, (with a plug-in router), so that's a ("Smart") bonus. I can't imagine a display being any sharper. Another nice design surprise is how the edge of the clear Lucite bezel catches ambient light from behind and illuminates the picture frame. Very tasteful.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
4.2 out of 5(104)
 
 
 
 
 
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 14, 2011
Incredible TV. I have never seen a picture this clear.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 12, 2011
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
very rolsgood looking design love picture ease of use of controls
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-24points
4of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Color and Clarity

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 3, 2011
from Moreno Valley, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, more hdmi inputs, easy to setup
Cons: picture settings not easy
I have owned 46" TVs that were all LCD. This is the first LED I have purchased. Knowing the technology jump and educating myself on the difference between LED and LCD, I went ahead with the purchase. I'm so glad I spent the extra money to try the LED. There is no comparison when looking at a Samsung LED and another brand. The Samsung offered more color and the picture quality was much better than the VIzio or LG I was comparing with. The 40" Samsung LED is a smart purchase!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
24of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All the bells and whistles

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 23, 2011
from Southern California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, low power consumption
Cons: no paper manual with product
This new LED-LCD model TV has more features than we will probably ever use, but they are the latest technology trends for combining TV, entertainment and the Internet. I see it as an entertainment computer with a 40 inch screen. All we need is the right high speed Internet connection to make it all work. I would liked to have received a paper copy of the User's Manual for future reference. The Internet download manual has many black background pages that is not appropriate for printing, and the built-in manual is not available if the TV is not working. I would be willing to purchase paper manuals if they were available.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Choice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2011
from Jacksonville, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: had to purchase usb wireless transmitter separate.
I love my new Samsung LED TV! The picture is absolutely perfect and with multiple HDMI ports I can easily hook up Blu-ray/DVD player, computer, or whatever I want. The USB port allows connection to the Internet for instant movie watching.
The only thing that disappointed me was the fact the wireless transmitter was not included with the TV. Rather, I had to purchase a separate Samsung USB transmitter (no comparable product will work). Considering the price of USB transmitters, I would think it could have been included already.
That flaw, however, would not prevent me from recommending the TV to others. By far, the best TV I've owned so far.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A 40" TV that fits in my 37" cabinet opening

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2011
from colorado
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The narrow bezel is a real benefit when you have a limited space. Overall the set works very well. I needed a little held from your tech support to get the Allshare to work. Now it works well. Otherwise, setup was easy. The remote is easy to understand and operate. The bright colors and resolution make the picture a pleasure to watch. CMR 120 gives excellent motion response. A great value for the money.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful HD Picture

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, slim design
I never realized the difference in LED/LCD and just LCD TV's until I bought this one. The HD picture is second to none I've seen. The ultra slim design is a nice plus as well. No apps like Netflix or what have you, but a perfect picture with plenty of hdmi inputs as well as composite and vga inputs. Great TV!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 10, 2012
Good Price
Looks Good Great Picture It Got A Great Sound To It
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect size!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 1, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, sexy!
As someone that lives in Manhattan, space is important to me...this not only fits to those needs, but offers superior picture quality!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Blue ray back to TV have to reset to cable using TV remote

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 8, 2011
from Toledo,Oh
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not technical enough for the additional features
When I turn Blue ray on plays fine BUT when I go back to TV I have to reset tv to cable ( using tv remote (source) to get back to TV. I would think technology would be more advanced than this.. It does have a GREAT picture just disappointed in having to reset TV everytime.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Prettiest TV Ever

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: remote controll layout isnt intuitive.
The sleek polished design of this television is only surpassed by is perfectly decadent 40" of viewing pleasure. This device provides plenty of inputs for all of my audiovisual devices and superb clarity and desktop space as a workstation monitor.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.