Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LED TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV

40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV

Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
21 out of 24(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Review 1 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome tv...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBslang
onApril 15, 2014
from Corpus Christi, T X
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: hard to adjust picture size, does have a manual on/switch
This tv has an awesome picture and was very easy to hook up. The only flaw I can see, is that it does not have manual on/off switch for times when you misplaced the remote.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome display

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRoxas
onApril 7, 2014
from Oxnard, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
A nice and thin tv. Super light weight, I can carry it on my own. Just wish I got a 46 instead. Built in wifi and smart tv makes this tv just great. All I need is to buy some surround sound to make my gaming and movie just that much greater.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Gift

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCardboardAttic
onFebruary 27, 2014
from Ohio, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers
Cons: poor remote sensitivity
This is my first LED, TV. I am most impressed with the clarity of images. I did not choose the TV. It was a gift from my grandchildren.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHunter801
onFebruary 25, 2014
from Clarington, OH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to setup
Really good picture quality. Setup was easier than any tv I have previously owned, including setting up with my wireless system.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am in love with my new Samsung Smart TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byshanedesigner
onFebruary 11, 2014
from Plano, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am amazed with the quality of the picture. It is so bright and makes watching TV so much better. Plus, all the extra Smart features makes this the TV of my dreams! Cheers
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This tv has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLuvshopn
onDecember 18, 2013
from Ga.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Nice tv. It has a great picture quality. Love being able to download apps. Easy to set up.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much better than expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysportslover
onDecember 14, 2013
from independence, ky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
The picture quality in this TV is really great. I am a big sports fan and watching sports on this TV makes it a much more enjoyable. I am very glad that I made this purchase.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBuck101
onDecember 12, 2013
from HEMET
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Easy remote. Quick starting, great Smart TV apps. Great picture quality and deep rich colors.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJKzoo
onDecember 11, 2013
from Kalamazoo, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have owned this television for about 6 weeks now and I couldn't ask for more - excellent picture and features plus easy set up and navigation.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

what a great tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymatty0834
onNovember 3, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am so glad I did this,samsung is the electronics master its a great tv ,I have had it 2 months still havent used all the great features fun for the whole family including the dog who enjoys an app of his own,thank you samsung for your great devices,just got my galaxy tab 3 today,have a galaxy s3,all works great together with samsung link
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My daughter loves her new Samsung TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCyndyS
onOctober 2, 2013
from Virginia
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I bought this TV for my daughter who recently moved into her first apartment. She had a nice small TV for her bedroom but nothing for the living room.
She loves the beautiful colors and says the design is just her style. She now has a quality TV to watch when guests are over.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smarter SmartTV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDiamondLil
onJuly 29, 2013
from SE California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, smarthub, web browser
This TV is absolutely fantastic for the price. My neighbor owns the UN46C7000 and it runs circles around his on the internet. He has my TV connected wireless to his LAN so I now have access to a web browser and all the internet media content that I was missing out on. The picture quality isn't quite as good as the C7000, but the dual-core processor and internet capabilities more than make up for the slightly poorer display. This TV comes highly recommended for anyone who needs quick, easy access to internet media at a very affordable price. Samsung (and my neighbor) has done it again.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFreddy661
onJuly 25, 2013
from Lake City, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I bought this TV for my bedroom and I love it. I never want to leave my room now! It has a great picture display and offers plenty of features. I also like the swivel stand. Overall it is a great tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very great tv for the price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysilvertoe
onJuly 8, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
A great tv for the price! You get all the perks of a smart tv and its a lot cheaper! The picture is amazing, miles ahead of any other brand!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best TV I have Owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCoyotekid
onJune 5, 2013
from Racine, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV works great with my new Digital Outdoor Antenna. Most channels are in HD and from the Home Page I can jump to the program I want to Watch. The Computer section also works great with my TWC Roadrunner setup. I can now watch HD movies Directly on my new TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than I expected

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByuRwhatUr
onJune 4, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: limited picture size adjustments
Love this TV. Purchased for a bedroom and needed one with a swivel base. Picture quality is great along with the apps and other features. Knocked off one star for features as this set limits the number of picture size adjustments.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Series 5 13.3" UltraTouch
4.6 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 450 Series TV
4.6 out of 5(189)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJim4752
onMay 22, 2013
from Utica, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I purchased this TV because I was amazed by the quality of the picture. It stands out from the crowd in sharpness and overall quality and brightness. I had seen one at another's home and was impressed. The fact that it is also a smart TV is a plus, it connects to my wireless and loads Netflix and U tube movies and video faster than my Samsung blue ray player. The sound is more than adequate. So far I love this TV. The only complaint I have does not relate to the TV directly, it is that the keyboard for it is too expensive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great picture and sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFlag
onMay 4, 2013
from arizona
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
40" LED tv was a great buy compared to the other brands and what they had to offer. Easy on program setup, access to my wireless was immediate when I put in the connection information. Still working on using the Smart Hub but its options are endless. Great instructions on the start-up, easy to follow!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung 5500 Smart TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymm1510
onFebruary 22, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I think this TV is outsmarting me, but I'll someday learn more about it's many features... Though, there is problem with streaming Netflix. I have been using a different device to stream Netflix, as there is a problem streaming through the TV. I've found others who have had the same problem and have had to have a circuit board replaced... I will contact Samsung for the replacement as soon as the 30-day store warranty has expired. Other than that, it's a GREAT TV and a huge improvement over my prior television!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the online access.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byace157cg
onDecember 13, 2013
from north carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
We bought a Samsung tv for the bed room and returned it do to it making noise. So we got this one for the same price and ill tell you what I will never not have a smart tv in my house ever again. This thing is great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

IR Plug issue

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByThe3oss
onDecember 7, 2013
from Florida
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: plugs on back of tv rub against wall
ir plug rub against the wall on flush wall mount application. that plug should be redisign much like the power cord. Samsung should know by now most people mount their TV on the wall therefore all connection should either be on the side or very low profile.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product for WIFI home

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybigtvaddict
onSeptember 1, 2013
from ca
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: screen mirroring hassles
This TV is great for a wifi home as it can have shared access via samsung link to data on my laptop and connect and play wireless, thats a big plus. probably the only downside to samsung link is to have screen mirroring and i am yet to figure that out.
Even though this is a sweet deal of a TV
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good with minimal disappointments

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bybuzzardluvr
onAugust 18, 2013
from Naples, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: buy parts for it.
I like the product but was a little disappointed that I now have to buy a keyboard to use the computer. With the price paid, should come with the product after all it is a computer as well, so all the parts should come with it.
Also, the apps, it would have been nice to get at least one free movie app.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic Features and Entertainment Experience

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFlashGordon60
onMay 15, 2013
from Salem, Oregon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
It has been a few weeks and I still enjoy going through and finding new apps or ways to enjoy my entertainment experience even more. The ability to find movies or TV shows quickly and easily with s recommendation instead of surfing has refreshed the TV viewing experience making it more enjoyable. The ability to quickly access the internet from the same room as watching TV has been fun, and sharing pictures and music, on the TV in the living room, from my computer in another room, has been wonderful! The TV size is perfect for my small living room too. Way to go Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Problem with Netflix and Set Top Box

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySweetbeans
onMarch 13, 2014
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I wanted to give this TV a great review, but I cannot. Whenever you go to Netflix and get back out, you will lose the signal source and must go through the set-up steps to get the signal back. Samsung has admitted this is a known problem and are working on a solution. Another issue is with the universal remote and how it controls the TV versus the set-top-box. Whenever you turn the power off for the TV, the STB will power off as well. There is a seperate button for STB power on the remote, so you would assume that only that button would control the STB power. That is not the case. Samsung states that this is normal functionality of the remote, but I don't want to kill the STB when I power off the TV. This stops my DVR from recording.
The picture is great, but I expect that from Samsung since I have several Samsung TV's already. This is my first Smart TV and I have had this model for less than 24 hours, however, and I am less than pleased with it so far.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great at the beginning but bad after all. ...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bypolsoft
onFebruary 18, 2014
from miami
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The TV performed great the first 4 months, but started dying after, first it shut down once a day, then every day 2 to 5 times until it just stayed off. Thank god I was able to return it back in exchange for another brand. Sadly because of that I would not buy samsumg tv no more.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

TV lasted only 24hrs

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByTVDied
onJanuary 17, 2014
from DFW
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
We brought the tv home and used it 1 day before several vertical stripes appeared on the right side of the screen.
I tried changing inputs, turning off and back on, resetting the software and the lines persisted.
Returned to the store and they were out of anything of a similar value. The 'new' price on the Samsung was now $180 more.
We exchanged the tv for another brand and got bigger screen, more hdmi inputs for less than the increased price of the Samsung.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 40" Class (40.0" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Review of Smart TV feature only - TV picture great

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWaWawashereya
onDecember 28, 2013
from Concord, CA
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: need compatable keyboard/mouse
Ok, this is a great TV as far as the picture is concerned. But the extra features of the Smart TV are kind of lame.
The apps: I've had nexflix and other apps on my Wii and Xbox forever, so nothing new there. The TV has a limited memory, and there are several apps that come pre-installed and you can't uninstall them. These apps take up valuable space! There are very few good apps available besides Amazon Video, HBO To Go, YouTube, ect.
The "browser" - Kind of useless without a keyboard and mouse. You can get a really really long USB extension cord and plug in a USB keyboard and mouse. I wish Samsung offered a wireless mouse and keyboard!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.