Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LED TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)

Samsung ultra-slim LED TVs combine breakthrough picture quality, eco-friendly design and advanced connectivity options that will keep you entertained 24/7. Including Internet® TV that allows you to receive content via Yahoo!,® Flickr,® and other online TV Widgets on screen. USB 2.0 Movie: Multi-Media Center makes it easy to watch movies, browse photos and listen to music on your TV. The Samsung UN55B7100 LED HDTV also makes it easy to be green with up to 40% less power consumption than conventional LCDs 1 . 1 As compared to 2008 similar size class Samsung LCD TVs in standard mode.
Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 26(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Review 1 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My UN55B71000 1080p LED HDTV is the BEST

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMAW1
onMay 8, 2010
from Cincinnati, Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I am just thrilled with my new LED TV. The picture shows like I was on location with the TV people. The Quality is excellent. I have 5 other Samsung products (4 which are TVs) that have given me much pleasue. I was so happy with my Samsung TVS I bought a Samsung French Door refrigerator!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow, what a picture.

Byrectifior
onApril 27, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
After installing this LED TV we couldn't wait to watch an HDTV or Blue Ray movie. Wow, what an experience watching the Pirates of the Caribbean, they almost came out of the TV into our living room. What a beautiful thing.....Definitely highly recommended in our household.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best led hdtv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byboppinbob
onApril 22, 2010
from upstate new york
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I puchased this led hdtv after many days of research online to replace my rear projection hdtv which had broken down. I thought the picture quality on my old rear projection hdtv was great until i watched this one at home. Wow what a difference! I had read some negatives on this tv along with many positives and i can only say that the negatives were really nit picking. I haven't experienced any of those issues. The picture options provide excellent results on the biult in settings for those not inclined to tweak the settings. Also the speaker quality is better than i expected from this tv. Even so i will be adding a home theater set up as i had one before. Overall the energy savings along with a super picture with an abundance of options including internet access make this a must have tv. I am totally happy with this purchase.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Love It!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygreyone669
onMarch 18, 2010
from Avondale, AZ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I've had this TV for about a month now and I absolutely love it!! The picture is amazing and the features are nice, easy to use as well. The slim design is very cool, all my guests have definitely made comments about it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

55" Samsung LED LCD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byborowkaj24
onMarch 4, 2010
from Rockford, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I just purchased the 55" LED LCD TV and we love it. Even my wife was like WOW!! after I put it on the wall. It took the place of my 46" Samsung LCD that I purchased last year. No problems with it, just really wanted a LED after we seen the difference in Contrast vs. the regular LCD TVs. Also love watching Movies and playing Video Games with the Auto Motion. Thanks Samsung for putting out top of the line products with a lower price to the comparable Top Brand TVs.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I CANT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAmbersdad
onMarch 3, 2010
from Milwaukee WI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Wonderful picture clarity, wish everything was filmed in HD, signed on for cable HD and the pictures are breathtaking, scenery looks like you are there...it's like looking ut a window at real life. The delivery man sugggested I could use the headphone jack output to hook up my "old school" stereo system and my Imitation surround sound works great! Very easy Installation. I hope I never need another one but if it holds up Samsung will have a lifetime customer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unbelievable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymoonsplash
onFebruary 2, 2010
from delray beach, fl
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Set up the TV yesterday. Today, I turned on an HBO HD movie and was absolutely blown away by the picture quality. It was like nothing I had ever seen. I called my wife to see the movie and she remarked that it was like watching in 3-D.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic HDTV Experience

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByDeviljax
onJanuary 10, 2010
from Phoenix, AZ
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is the first HDTV I have purchased. I purchased the Samsung 7100 series 55" in Aug-09. The home theater experience is awesome. The TV is better than expected. Great picture from any angle and that includes when the room is dark or in sunlight. I have not had a single issue with the TV since purchase. I did purchase the extended warranty for peace of mind. I paired the TV with a Samsung BD player. Great features when both units are coupled together. I felt the picture quality was better than any of the LCD or Plasma TV's I've viewed. Very little heat and power comsumption verses LCD / Plasma. I don't use the TV speakers, but they sounded good before I setup the 5.1 sound system. I would recommend the TV to anyone interested in a large HDTV. Do yourself a favor and purchase an extended warranty for piece of mind.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excelent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bypeter247z
onJanuary 7, 2010
Amazing picture. I do not have any problem with dark corners. Elegant design, outstanding performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Returned 2 times.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytwoshirts
onJanuary 1, 2010
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
My first set had a damaged left speaker. I returned it that evening. The HDMI ports on the second set went bad after 1 month. Only port 2 worked. All other ports replicated content in port 2. Exchanged the set for a new one and 2 months later I have the same HDMI issue. Only port 2 works. It is replicating port 2 into ports 1,3, and 4. Now I have to wait for repair.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING Performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTucson7346
onDecember 30, 2009
from Tucson , Arizona
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
An engineering marvel with exceptional attention to detail
Eye popping Clarity
Highly Intuitive operation
SAMSUNG WIRELESS Adapter - Flawless operation
An exceptional TV loaded with useful features
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent HDTV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybdriskel
onDecember 14, 2009
from Fredericksburg, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Awesome features when paired up with the samsung Bluray player with Netflix streaming which took seconds to set up & free internet radio with Pandora, and free trials for Blockbuster. The Internet Yahoo widgets are cool to play with, can play poker with other people over the internet while watching tv. The Library Content is great, such as the art features which display preloaded famous paintings. Be sure to turn on the xvYCC color option when playing movies to take advange of the expanded color gamut from digitally enhanced movies or home movies taken with a acvhd camcorder. Be sure to purchase a HDMI v1.3 cable that supports 12 bit color depth for in between the bluray and the tv to take advantage of deep color. This is our first hd tv, and I was amazed at the hidden digital tv channels and digital radio channels that we can pick up. The descrambling is great, we dynamically pick up extra channels.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome picture quality

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybigj
onDecember 13, 2009
from new york, ny
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
this television is amazing. the picture is perfectly clear. its the best picture quality television that i have ever had.
i would recommend this television to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 12, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Can't believe the crystal clear picture that it has. I had another HDTV set but this one outshines that one. I didn't mount it on the wall but I bought a stand instead. It is so light weight and even as big as it is it only weighs 48 lbs. The clarity is unbelievable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow Unbelievable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onNovember 21, 2009
from Philadelphia, PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have owned the 55" 7100 LED TV for 6 months and everytime I turn it on it thrills me with the picture quality. The blacks are jet black. Contrast ratio is amazing. I watch TV from the floor and the viewing angles are great. Warning, I had an issue with pixel dropout on the left side and found that it was my cable box. Be sure your provider gives you the lastest cable box availiable. Great TV plan to buy thr 42" for my Bar area.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKittylover
onNovember 13, 2009
from Andover, MN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Bought it in July and absolutely love it, the picture is awesome. We have it on a stand which allows us to angle it for the perfect view, it is so light weight and easy to move. Would buy it again in a heart beat. The only negative is that a small part fell out of the digital cable output on the back and we had to have a service call. The technician said the way it is done is standard within the industry. The service call was easy and done without any kind of hassle, great service.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGLeeO
onNovember 11, 2009
from El Paso, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is the best TV ever! I absolutely love watching NFL Football and of course it is the official TV of the NFL. The Blu-ray movies are excellent and I have no desire to go to the movies since I have this new TV and a Samsung Home Theater System to enhance the experience.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjesm
onAugust 8, 2009
from Deer Park, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
We love this tv.
After comparing many tv's over several weeks we kept coming back to this one.
We have been using the tv for 2 months and couldn't be
happier. The picture is awesome and we find the sound is very good. It has been very easy to learn to operate.
The slimness and style fit very well in our room
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MY LED 55

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byredrockpearl8
onJuly 15, 2009
from Deland,FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
It's the best tv i bought so far,the picture is excellent.The only problem i had is the hook up of the power supply on the back of the tv,because it's very thin,there is not enough space for the power supply cord to the outlet,I have to use the spacer.I think it would be better if they use a flat power cord(90 degrees angle) so that it won't protrude.Overall it's an excellent tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Performance From a TV Ever.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDoctorVic
onJune 23, 2009
Expertise:expert
Best TV Performance. Runs very Cool. Perfect picture. Very easy to set up. Sampsung Slim Line mount makes wall installation a breeze
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This TV is awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywitty
onJune 12, 2009
from Chesterfield, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This 7100 series LED TV is the best television set I have ever seen. When you are watching BluRay DVDs, it almost looks as if you watching in 3D. I have never seen such a brilliant picture or such wonderful color quality. This is one of my favorite purchases ever!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super-thin, great picture, great options

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByFilo
onApril 2, 2009
from Heartland, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
My only beef with this TV is the speakers (4-star performance, could be 3 stars). Regardless of audio setting, if the volume is turned up over 9 or 10, the speakers will buzz on certain harmonics in voices. A Samsung LN46A750 in the house doesn't do this. I understand this is probably a trade-off for being ultra-thin and I'm sure some speakers would correct this...and possibly a future firmware update as well.
That being said, it really is the only drawback and with that out of the way, I will easily say this TV is awesome. If you're used to watching LCDs of yore, it may take some time to adjust to the super crispness of one of these. I can say it is hard to beat the picture of the LNxxA750 Series 7 TV though!
The best feature of this TV to me is that it will apparently connect to Samsung's website and update it's own firmware instead of having to download to USB stick and then manually updating. I say "apparently" because I have my Samsung LinkStick plugged in, connected to my network and have tried to command the TV to update itself but all I get is a "102" could-not-connect-to-server error. Although I can connect to other sites over WiFi with the TV just fine. I suspect Samsung just doesn't have their end set up quite yet.
The other wildly amazing part of this TV is how thin it is. It seems less than 1" thick to me. This makes it very light and easy to manage. It also helps greatly with being suitable for tilting and ultra-close mounting on walls.
All in all, I would highly recommend this TV to anyone. And recommend adding a sound system...but that has always been the case since the DLP days!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HIGH EXPECTATIONS- one big issue

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByCLIPPERPARK
onJanuary 31, 2010
from Baltimore MD
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Great TV. Sleek, light weight. Has a great picture! Sports are great with Auto Motion Plus but turn it off when watching movies or you will feel like you are on the set with the film crew!
I do have one problem with the Screen going black for 1-3 seconds through out the day. Working with Samsung to resolve.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good but room for improvement

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bytired
onJune 9, 2009
from phoenix
Picture is fabulous, I love that it is thin and uses less electricity, and expect the led lighting to last.
Drawbacks:
The internet capability is rather weak, you will really need a computer hooked up for more than limited content.
Probably could have bought a series 6 version and saved the expense for internet content and sound.
The sound is predictably weak. Even though it claims to have a subwoofer, they should have saved that money to improve other aspects.
The digital optical output is not surround sound! I had to go to second level support on the help line to discover this. When I spoke to the sales people where I bought this, they did not believe me and suggested I call again to support to see if someone else would give a different answer.
Why was this top of the line television with 4 hdmi inputs not designed to pass through the highest audio signal that it receives?!?! The other controls on this set would allow it to be the central switching device. But, this one flaw in design negates that capability if one is after better sound. This one design flaw means you need another device and remote to switch sound sources. Samsung, what were you thinking? I went through 2 samsung home theater systems looking for a workable solution. Your products seem to be rushed to market before thinking through all the options. I returned both home theater systems for various shortcomings.
For picture, I am quite happy with this tv, for sound options, count on something else. I am disappointed at the lost opportunity to bring simplicity to the design.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing form factor, poor menus, input limmitation

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGeoph
onApril 7, 2009
from Seattle, Wa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros:
1- amazing size to performance ratio. This TV is incredibly thin. You will have to see it to believe it. At just over an inch thick (not to mention 55" from corner to corner), this television boasts some of the best stats available, compared to any other brands/models out there.
2-LED back lighting. This feature is what initially caught my eye. When I first saw it I noticed immediately how incredibly deep the blacks were. This boost in depth of the color plate seems to permeate the entire color spectrum, allowing for deeper, more remarkable fullness when viewing all forms content.
3- base statistics. The contrast ratio (although I have read many conflicting, reports, including the manufactures own specification information, which makes it difficult to place an exact quantitative value), 120hz, 1080p, 4 millisecond response time, USB x2 connections, LAN access, ect... They are all there. This television has the capabilities to seamlessly bind your computer or local area network and your home theater into a truly coherent "media center" provided you have the gumption.
4- "Xbrite" like display. I call it this for lack of a better option. The screen itself of this LCD is not matted like many of its predecessors, it is glossy resembling a plasma TV or some of its smaller LCD PC monitor cousins, which allows it a brighter, fuller color clarity. This could be considered as "bothersome" by some because it allows for more apparent reflections of light, casting it back into the viewers eye, but the shear intensity of light emitted by this TV puts this claim to rest.
Cons:
1- Menus. After spending multiple hours removing my previous television, measuring and cutting holes in walls, fuddling with cables, and vacuuming dust bunnies and drywall dust, I found my self at the heart of my disappointment with this TV. Navigating the menu system. Don't get me wrong, it is not difficult, but it is entirely cumbersome. To start off a simple task like switching sources is made time consuming and attracts attention because you have to hit a minimum of 3 buttons on the remote to switch to your closest input. This may seem like someone complaining that you have to turn the faucet on to fill a glass of water but just play with it for a bit and you will see what I am talking about. The menus themselves are all animated and take a moment to load, which adds to the frustration when trying to navigate through them, and when you get to the input you want you have to manually exit the menu by pressing the "enter" or "return" button on the remote. This problem could have been easily alleviated by having shortcut buttons to the individual inputs on the remote, like most other manufactures offer.
2-Sound. The sound quality is greatly deteriorated by the fact that the speakers on this model face the opposite direction of the screen. Reverberation off a wall is not an adequate substitution for direct focus. The sound quality is not bad in itself, such as being boxy, tinny or deteriorating with increased volume, it is just not as full as others that I have heard (but this is to be expected being the form factor that it is). It will be necessary to have a surround sound system with this TV, but you probably already have one if you are seriously looking at this model.
3 Limitation of inputs. For some insane reason, Samsung preemptively decided which inputs (HDMI) you could use for which devices and placed limitations on those inputs as they saw fit. This is entirely lame and a let down. Scrolling through the menu selections on various HDMI inputs you will notice that a good majority or your picture modifications are not adjustable according to what input you have currently selected. Despite changing the labels of the inputs and reorganizing HDMI inputs, you are not able to get the full gamut of picture corrections that you payed a lot of money for. This, for me, is the biggest let down of the television. There is nothing worse than seeing a whole slue of options that are supposedly available, but are "grayed out" for some unknown reason. I expect, at this price and ability, to be able to fully customize each input that the televesion has, regardless of what peripheral I am connecting to it.
This con might not prevent you from purchasing this TV, but you should be at least aware of it. I have a lot of different devices connected at any given time, ie. blue ray, dvd, vhs, xbox 360, ps3, wii, xbox, n64, psx, snes, nes, pc, camcorder, camera, and some flash based devices, like some of the newer ipods/iphones, and it really bothers me that I cannot change the settings to what ever fits my needs best.
4- Dynamic contrast. This feature seems to be a blessing and a bit of a curse. On one hand you get dark, rich colors, and on the other you get much darker whites when the majority of the screen is dark in hue. You only need to scroll through the menu system of the TV on a static, dark background to see this flaw in action. How dynamic contrast works is that it lowers the backlighting of the television when it senses most of what it is displaying is dark, which makes any contrast in hues, i.e. whites to blacks, much darker than they would normally be. This may not be a deal breaker for some, but depending on what you watch, there is a noticeable difference. I personally like to watch a lot of the space/nasa documentaries, and when they show Hubble images of deep space that are for the most part black, with just a few pin points of light, you notice that that you are loosing quality/brightness of image (as compared to other flat panels without this dynamic contrast perk).
5- Lack of inputs. This downfall is the price you pay for having such a small form factor I guess. 4 HDMI is ok, minus them all being individually limited, but there is only one component in, no composite/S video in at all and the stereo out is a 3.5mm jack so you need an adapter, which is not included. The TV does have optical audio out, so if you have a somewhat capable/newer surround sound system you will be ok, provided you spend the money and buy the expensive cabling to connect it (heaven forbid that your receiver is more than a few feet away or else you are going to feel it in your wallet). Another problem that all of these digital connections bring, that is rarely advertised, is that there is a lot more optimization involved to make them work normally. Say "good by" to just plugging things in and having them work. If you don't have a lot of patients for reading user manuals or trial and error, it might be necessary to pay the extra cost for having some "Geek" come to your house and make everything work properly for you.
Another slight annoyance is that this TV does not offer any sort of video out. A slight inconvenience really, but I would like to keep my options open.
6- 120 hz it more like "beauty is in the eye of the beholder". Some people like its effects on movies/games, I personally have turn it off to make the TV look normal to me. You really need to evaluate the feature for your self and make a decision. For me, it looks like it increases the frame rate at times and slows it down in others, which gives the overall viewing quality a "hurky-jerky" feel. Others that have seen the feature on my TV say it gives it more of a 3D quality or that it is more like looking out a window, as apposed to viewing a TV. Its effect is much more noticeable while viewing certain media such as , blue ray, DVD's or video games. I can barely notice it while watching HD/SD content from Comcast (1080i/480p respectively).
7-"Media Center" short comings. What, no youtube? Even my phone has that. I would also like to see WMC connectivity, a flash enabled web browser, and come to think of it, bluetooth, so you can connect a qwarty keyboard to actually take advantage of it all. This would truly bump this TV into an upper eschelon, rivaled by no other device to date.
Summary
All in all, I think this TV is feature rich with a few let downs that could be corrected with a bit of ingenuity (hopefully made possible in the way of firmware upgrades, putting the LAN feature to good use). I would not personally recommend this TV to any of may friends because I would not want to hear them complain, but I would tell them to come over, play with it and decide for themselves if it is the right choice for them. Knowing what I know now it would be hard to say if I would upgrade again from what I had previously (LG 50px4dr) to this TV, but I can truthfully say that the picture quality on most devices (cable, xbox 360 and others (NOT PLAYSTATION 3, I get a weird snowy pixelated effect on the home screen that drives me crazy and was the reason I bought a new TV in the first place)) is vastly superior to most other televisions that I have seen. It may sound like I am knocking this product, but I am actually very happy with it. It is just that almost every review that I have read for this set has given it nothing but praise, without giving any info regarding the flaws. The bottom line is that you should play with it before you buy it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+49points
49of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for UN55B7100 55" 1080p LED HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dark Corners

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKeywestbars
onAugust 11, 2009
from Baltimore
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
It seems that this model has an issue with dark spots in the corners. I had samsung replace the panel on the tv only to have the same issue on the new panel. Exchanged the tv and the replacement has the same issue. If you do a google on this " Samsung 7100 dark corners" you will see that others have the same issue.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+126points
136of 146voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.