Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop UHD TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)

UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)

Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
64
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
72 out of 80(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Review 1 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung is the King of the Electronic Jungle!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 26, 2014
from Strong island,Ny
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: makes all other tvs look like tube sets.
Samsung is the king of the electronic Jungle.. This TV is amazing. Best picture ive seen yet. Only thing i wish is that 4K blu-rays were available already so i could experience the full potential of this set. Other than that i am very satisfied. Great price as well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 4k

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2014
from los angeles
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The best tv I never saw ... great images the HD it's magnification
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
i bought this tv in may and i love it but the only problem i have is that it is now $500.00 cheaper from when i bought it and i wish there was more 4k video content available
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resolution!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2014
from Detroit
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've used Samsung products for years and this 4K TV is superb. Even standard resolution looks as if you were looking through a window. Everything is sooo clear! I'm very pleased!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what it is cracked up to be

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 10, 2014
from FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: look good
Cons: Did not meet expectations
When buying a 4k tv understand the store shows you the best picture as possible or the tv demo mode. In the real word we have 1080p at best have very little 4k programing. Go Pro or Samsung 4k camera. Now that is said. The Samsung un55hu8550 4k tv is Not what its cracked up be. As watching in1080p there was a lot of clouding in the black and dark colors. The picture was not great it did look like you were looking through a screen door.You need to watch this tv 10 feet back when watching 1080p. Not Samsung fault but the HDMI 2 didn't work. the upscaling just wasn't what it was cracked up to be. .Back to my un55f8000 tv..
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing TV this is the top of the line for the 50-55 class

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 2, 2014
from Rochester, MN, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, picture clarity
Cons: app issues, upscaling can hurt sd and some 1080i content
I've always wanted a high quality HDTV and this model has exceeded my expectations. I've had other HDTV experiences LED and LCD and after watching this TV you will be spoiled on the clarity, you can never look at another TV the same again. Even if there is not a lot of 4K content out yet, but when you see the potential of 4K and how amazing it looks you will see how great HD content will be when they start pushing up to this. Even if there is not a lot of 4K out there this TV still sets the bar very high and makes everything look amazing. The upscaling makes normal Blue Rays almost seem like they are 4K quality. Even major TV channels that run 1080i look fantastic. Watching movie channels has become a whole new experience for me. One drawback that I do see is some TV channels just do not upscale that well. The bad HD quality out there and standard definition will look a tad bit blurry on the TV but adjusting setting will help with that. The 3D feature is also amazing paired with the clarity, I'm just blown away by it as well.
The smart TV functions work smoothly and I'm very happy with the response of the remotes and what you can do with the TV. I haven't mastered all of the features, but the set up was very easy and I was up and running in virtually minutes after connecting everything. Having a very good internet connection and strong WIFI signal makes things smoother. Sound is surprisingly good if you use the clear voice function or movie setting. I was thinking about getting a sound bar but now I don't think its needed.
Now for the drawbacks, like I said before the upscaling can be bad for some HD TV channels that are just not shot with quality HD cameras or have quality signals. I wish they could make a feature where you can turn off the upscaling or choose a select output to watch in. I also don't like the picture ratio choices, it seems there should be more but really I am nitpicking.
I'm satisfied with the Smart Hub and the apps, but I see that the Netflix app is kinda glitchy right now, one day it works now it does not. I'm not sure if this is just an app issue with Netflix or the TV. I hope they work on that because Netflix is the one streaming 4K content so without the Netflix app the ability to stream 4K content suffers and hurts the fun of enjoying 4K on the TV.
But I'm extremely glad I made this purchase and would recommend anyone that wants a top of the line TV to go get this model right now. It is extremely worth it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This TV has good features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 31, 2014
from Waterloo, Iowa
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Good color, Briteness and ability to run movies from the Internet. I'm sure it will take me more time to learn to use more of it's features. I've only had it for a few months.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome! Except two problems

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 31, 2014
from Columbus, OH, USA
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Problem 1) My HU8550 when hardwired to my U-Verse NVG589 router can only download about 15Mbps. That is using the AT&T recommend speed test site and the HU8550 built in browser. About 25Mbps is required for Netflix 4K. A computer hardwired to the same router using the same speed test site reports 35Mbps or more, closer to the 45Mbps service I pay for. The issue is something between the router and TV but not fixable by either me or U-Verse.
Problem 2) When using the speech recognition feature of the smart remote control and asking "What time is it" the TV responds with the wrong time unless it has been recently reset. Samsung support has me reset the TV which fixes the problem for a while, but the problem always comes back.
The TV is awesome. I hope these two issues get fixed soon!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has many good things

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2014
from Manchester, NH, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Absolutely awesome 4K-HDTV and loving it, and everything about it. Short review but really only awesome experience with the TV and all the features are awesome.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 25, 2014
from Martinsburg, WV, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: stand very unstable, stand edge should have been black
The stand is to low and very wobbly , I had to put a block of wood under it because the sound bar blocked the bottom of the screen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great television

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 29, 2014
from Arkansas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Bought after researching and reading reviews. The television exceeds my expectations.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning Picture!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2014
from Canton, GA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
We have had this 4K UHD set for about a month now, and are very pleased with it's performance.
It up-scales just about everything, and the picture is extremely sharp with crisp colors. I even think the speakers sound good, given the fact that is super slim. It also looks good even when it's not on.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am astounded

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
When I got my first high definition TV several years ago I remember thinking that "this is a pretty darn good picture". But now, after seeing this TV, I am astounded. With my older TV I quickly got used to the picture and took it for granted. I never lose track of the good picture quality with this TV and I've had it for a week now. Every time I watch even old, old movies in black-and-white I can't get over how good the picture is. The only downside is that it takes a while to get everything dialed in. But it is definitely worth it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than my Pioneer Elite TV !

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 26, 2014
from Bay area
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, easy to use
This TV is the best I have ever had.Our family watches movies from our point and shoot camera that look fantastic like from a high end camcorder.All sources look fantastic and the sound quality is very good also.The picture quality is better than my old Elite at almost half the cost.We are very pleased,getting a 50" for the bedroom.As bonus the browser works great with Samsung keyboard option.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A TV ahead of its time... so the picture isn't great

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 23, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Despite all the extra pixels on this TV, I don't really notice any difference compared to my old HDTV at 1080p. It will be years before the majority of content is 4K. Meanwhile, thsi TV upscales the content, with mixed results. By the time all the great shows are available in 4K, this TV model will be ancient history. Bottom line is that it's a nice TV, but in retrospect, I'm not sure I needed to be so far ahead of the technology curve.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 22, 2014
Pros: Bright display
Cons: jutter
wonderful tv a must have the color and contrast are beautiful
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Anynet problems

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: anynet function does not work correctly
the Anynet device has serious problems because I have three devices connected to my TV a blu - ray player, Sound bar, and my Direct TV Genie receiver, and when I try to detect devices in the system menu it says no device detected, and I have reset my TV twice over the past few days and it did not change anything it still says no device detected and is very frustrating because my devices are clearly connected to the TV correctly so something is very wrong with the Anynet function for this TV. Although, they all work just fine if I manually switch sources which means my devices are connected correctly, but I thought that the Anynet Function was so you did not need to do that, the TV did it for you, therefore Samsung needs to take a serious look into improving the Anynet function for this TV because something is very wrong with the Anynet Function!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 22, 2014
from Tucson, Az
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, small remote
I purchased this UHD because I thought it had a great picture when I saw it at the store. When I got it home I found the picture was even better than I expected! I like, and purchase, new technology. This is without a doubt the best TV I have ever seen. I also think the smaller remote control is a real step forward. This is my 4th Samsung TV and I have never been disappointed and never had a defective product. I did have one issue when installing and setting up the TV, however one call to Samsung, almost no wait on the phone, and the problem was fixed. I also like the option of having a technician be able to connect directly to the TV and make adjustments. We have come a long way! It was expensive but well worth the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4K UHD TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 21, 2014
from Ambridge, PA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
I've only had the TV for 2 weeks, but I have been totally satisfied with the fantastic picture quality. The picture is unbelievable, and I'm still trying to learn all the features on the TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Picture (but set-up to your taste)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 21, 2014
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Great picture but you will want to modify the settings for your taste. While the initial setting will make you feel you are actually on a sound stage and will look more life like then what you are use to, there is nothing wrong with adjusting the setting to make the TV fit what you like.
In addition, I downgraded the performance for an issue with the Netflix app (which I use everyday). Sometimes, the app stops working and gives just a blank screen. Apparently this is a known issue and per the Netflix website, the TV must be reset. That means even all picture settings will be reset so I have to wirte down all settings and then reenter after the reset.
As I side note, I litterally waited 4 months for this TV to come out as my old TV broke, and I was pretty sure this TV was the right size and had the great features I wanted.
I am happy I waited.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real HD TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2014
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This Smart TV meets all my expectations from screen resolution to built in internet smart tools
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 20, 2014
from Carson City, NV, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, easy flexible configuration, ample device inputs
Cons: no off-air recording, light leakage around edges
Superior picture quality with bright vivid colors, high contrast and no screen-door pixelation effect.
Easy to use, flexible configuration settings allow custom setup for each input device.
Quad screen feature would add value.
Smart hub little more than a fancy vending machine.
Light leakage around edges in dark scenes a minor minus.
Lack of ability to record programs off-air a major, major minus. Samsung should turn this feature on immediately.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 18, 2014
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I compared the Samsung UHD 4K in a store to the competition and was highly Impressed. I bought it the next day. We are extremely pleased with the features and performance. Also, it was attractively priced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

8550 - 65-inch

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 18, 2014
from Foster City, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: instruction booklet
The instructions are horrible. I cannot find anywhere, instruction booklet nor online, how to do a quad screen multi-link.
The screen is amazingly clear and able to view at wide range of angles from center; sweet spot.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the ultra high def and smart remote

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 15, 2014
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am very impressed so far with the technical capability and features. I hope the TV lasts a long time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2014
from Clarkston, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Good picture and built in wifi makes watching Netflix great
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2014
from Greenwood, IN, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy hookup
Picture is exceptional! As are all the other features associated with this UHD set!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My UHD 4K HU8550 Series 3D Smart TV - 65” Class

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
The first thing I did was to watch the "new" extended 3 hour version of 'Avatar" with my Samsung 3D Blue Ray Player - The colors and clarity were even better than at the movies (where I saw it in 2D and 3D). The HD format is absolutely amazing. All I can say is WOW, WOW, WOW! It's that good and better! Samsung has always had a great reputation for quality, and I am experiencing it every time I turn on my new TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This TV is smarter than me

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: missing display port
It has Hulu plus, Amazon video, Netflix, HBO go, and PLEX. i have no need for apple tv or RUKU anymore. I am still discovering new settings after a month of owning it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

50" UHD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2014
from Conroe, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
The TV is phenomenal. The picture is bright and crisp. We even had friends who described it as, "too real." We are enjoying it immensely. This isn't the TV I had originally expected to purchase. Once inside the store and we saw this TV versus the HD model we were expecting to buy there was no doubt. Yes, it's more expensive, but worth it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture quality

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 13, 2014
I got this TV about a month ago after some research on similar TVs. I am very glad I picked this. After some picture calibration, picture looks amazing. Eventhough currently there are very limited 4k programing it does an amazing job upconverting hd priframing..watching movies on this tv has a whole different experience. Seeing what a difference it makes now i wish i had gotten 75" inch model
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Screen resolution

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, upconversion to 4k
I am amazed when I watch TV or movies in this set, The details are incredible, the color are natural, even the sound that come from this TV is very good, yes I will recommend this TV to everybody that want to have real pleasure watching TV every day.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

75" 4k samsung

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2014
from Palos Verdes Estates, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: universal remote is a problem when using an amp., switching from tv to apps requires using amp remo.
Resolution: amazing
APPS: did not work with Netflix. Has been resolved now.
Universal remote: complicated.
I have still not been able to configure the Universal Remote properly and need to use the Amp remote in addition to the Samsung Universal Remote.
Still not able to use the Amp speakers all the time. Switching from TV to APPS somehow switches speakers from Amp to TV and switching back to the Amp speakers is a hit or miss.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Picture Quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 27, 2014
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: a tad more that i would have liked.
Even as a long time Samsung TV owner, I was not prepared for the outstanding quality of the picture. After adjusting the settings from on-line recommendations, both the clarity and color were truly life like.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product has all the features I nees

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 9, 2014
from Indian Wells, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
This is the 5th Samsung I have owned ,in fact I still have 3 of them.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 25, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: a little expensive
This is a great TV, you will love it. Make sure to read up on a few forums as you will find custom settings to get the most out of this amazing TV with minimal work.
Lots of features, probably more than you will ever use.
The upconversion works great.
No jitter, no ghosting.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

UHD 65" Samsung LED TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 7, 2014
from Utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Previously had the CURVED 55" model, but my personal input, is that you really need to be 5-9' back and in the middle to reap the full benefit. I've opted to exchange that and get the 65" flat model, 8550. Very satisfied with Samsung and its quality.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent 4K TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 7, 2014
from Bay Point, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: a bit pricey
Excellent TV, has a great picture. All my TV's are Samsung and very happy with all of them. I would recommend Samsung to better integrate a PIP function that works easier and better.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

UN75HU8550

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 5, 2014
from Sugar Land, TX, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, upscale pictures very well, excellent processor apps layout work fast
Cons: speakers are not that loud, no built in camera camera sold separately
Excellent Television, Factory settings are near perfect right out the box.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 4, 2014
from LA, CA.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Amazing TV. Almost to life like. Great features and design.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new 4K TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 2, 2014
from New York, NY, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: somewhat expensive
From the first moment I laid my eyes on this product I knew I had to have one. I am very happy with my decision to buy one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Tv has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Kissimmee, FL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, the support
I have been shopping around for a new Tv for while. I new that the product I wanted was Samsung because of my past experience with this product. I new the quality was there I think the hardest part was choosing which one to buy until I saw the Samsung model # UN55HU8550 on display it was love at first sight. Great features, awesome picture quality. Well... it's home. Thank you Samsung..!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The definition is outstanding

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
The ultra high definition blows me away along with the clear 3-D feature.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Clarity & Detail

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 29, 2014
from Sarasota, FL, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
We are truly enjoying the excellent quality of the picture on our new 65" TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features but preforms poorly at times

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2014
from Queens, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: sometimes poor performance
This is my 4th samsung tv that I've own. Each purchase being better than the last. On that note; this is the best samsung tv that I have ever owned. Picture quality is superb, I love the new Samsung smart hub, and the smart remote control is really really good. The problem that I run into is some performance issues from time to time. An example is when I watch Netflix or an app like vudu the TV tends to freeze, so I would have to turn the TV off and on again just for it to work. I don't know if it's just my particular device but this happens every time. Other than that, great picture, great remote, great features and now a great price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2014
from Greenville, SC, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, amazing picture
Wow this TV has far exceeded my expectation. Everything looks super crisp and clear. At first I thought it was just me thinking that it was clearer because I knew the TV was 4k but everyone who has come over to see it has picked up on the additional clarity.
My Xbox one looks amazing. I put the input on game mode and haven't had any issues with lag. Blue rays looks phenomenal. It's weird but the picture feels more dense and razor sharp.
I've been streaming 4k through the netflix and YouTube apps and they look unbelievable. The additional detail is fantastic and it allows you to see little things in the backgrounds even that you probably would normally miss. The color is great and the contrast and local dimming make for a great picture.
Overall the amount of content is pretty limited but I figure getting a tv that is future proofed to use 4k when it's more mainstream and then also seems to improve the standard resolutions out there is a no brainer. I'm drooling at the thought of football in full 4k. Can't wait.
The audio is fine. I like the remote for the tv and I think the streaming apps work great. Netflix is super smooth and fast. I can skip around without much delay at all. A little tough to browse the movies but I think that's a netflix problem in general. Not as impresses with the screen mirroring. Wish it were more simplified so that when you turn it on it displays whatever is displayed on your pad without having to launch things through it and other rigmarole.
You really have to nitpick to find things not to like with this tv.
Highly recommended. I've had this Tv for about a month now and I still get that goofy grin every time I turn it on and kick back in my recliner.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2014
from NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Start with the fact that the design itself is beautiful. It is simple clean and elegant. Wall space is maximized by minimizing the the bezel. It is just a few inches wider and higher than my old 45 inch LCD because of a bezel that is significantly smaller.
From there move on to the only thing that really matters, the picture quality. Amazing. Even upscaled content is simply amazing.
App integration is nice. Netflix, Plex, Vudu, Amazon are all there and work great.
One thing I have not been able to figure out is that somehow it is able to change channels on my TiVo Roamio. It is doing it not through an attached IR blaster. I have to assume it is somehow doing it through an HDMI-CEC interface but everything I've found says the Roamio doesn't support HDMI-CEC. That being said it is changing channels with no IR blaster connected, with the only connection to the TiVo Being an HDMI cable run through my receiver.
Cons
Slow to detect HDMI input. Whenever I change devices or first power up TV it takes 10-15 seconds to recognize the device and display content.
Eco settings in darkened room are awful. Black areas of screen obscure part of picture. Hopefully a software bug that will get fixed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2014
from Orange County, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, great picture
Set up was easy. Menus easy to navigate. Beautiful profile. Picture is magnificent! Even the sound is surprising good for such a thin TV.
I will probably buy a 65" of the same model for my family room.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2014
from Dallas, TX, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, design
We've own this set for almost a month now and it has been a great experience. It replaced a C8000 (2010 model) and it is a huge upgrade in picture quality. Picture is sharp and clear. Blacks are phenomenal and colors are vivid. It does a great job upscaling HD content.
The smart hub is also a great features with plenty of good and useful apps. Only thing I wish was better is the viewing angle but this is how it is with all LED TVs.
Can't say enough about it and just wish I had more time to watch.
So far we are enjoying this set a lot and can't wait for more 4k content to be available.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 26, 2014
from Maryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
The best Tv out on the market currently. The picture quality is amazing, Razor sharp image, bright vivid, super life like. Incredible depth and detail in all content that is displayed. It does a excellent job, of 4k up converting. The processor is very fast, no lag in switching between apps. Built in apps are great, such as hulu, Vudu, and Netflix which now offers 4K content that you can view now right out of the box.
The instant on, feature is amazing the picture just comes on with no delay in screen brightness. The panel is designed very clean, has a thin profile and looks amazing wall mounted. The built in speakers are very nice have a crisp clear sound and can be loud, The Tv is very bright and can be adjusted to get the darkest blacks, similar to a plasma if not better without having to sit in a completely dark room.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic picture quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 24, 2014
from Austin, TX, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, very thin
Cons: poor speakers
From the moment I turned on the TV I was in awe. The upscaling of my HD cable signal is a lot better than I expected. I am seeing a lot of detail I never saw on my old TV. There are so many different settings for the picture I really think anyone can find a setting they like.
I am also amazed at how thin the TV is. I have it hung on the wall with a low profile mount and it looks like a painting.
The audio is nothing to write home about but then again I do not care if it has speakers or not since I have it hooked up to my 5.1 A/V system.
It is easy to navigate with the magic remote but I am not real fond of it since it is kinda small and I can't control all my other things hooked up to the TV. It is a step in the right direction though. Samsung should just buy that name brand universal remote company and include their remotes with their TV's.
The apps seem to run well but I only use a few of them.
All the hookups are great and I like the fact I will be able to upgrade my TV in the years to come with the evolution kit.
Overall I would say if your going to buy a new TV I would consider one of the 4k sets because they are not that much more in cost than an HD set.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wbutler

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2014
from Pasadena, MD, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Excellent TV bright display. Connected to Definitive Technology Mythos Nine Surround Sound Speaker System using Marantz SR7005 Stereo to control everything. It sounds awesome like being in a movie theater.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love this tv but some issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2014
from Ct
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: problem with amazon app, problem with netflix audio syncing in 4k
Let me first start off by saying I love this tv. I originally had purchased the 75inch 7150 but returned it twice due to severe edge lighting. So I upgraded to this tv and I love it. Picture is crystal clear and no edge lighting problem. BUT....there are 2 issues driving me crazy. The Amazon app stops working continuously and is very annoying that I'm supposed to keep shutting my router every time. (I'm hard wired into tv). 2nd the audio when watching netflix 4k is not in sync even when using the audio delay button. 3 and 4 which has nothing to do with the unit but samsung being cheap is that this does not come with a one connect box or free movies like the 9000 model. Seriously, is $6000 not enough for 5 free movies!!!!!!!! Whatever
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Installed recently on July 12, 2014

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 12, 2014
from Huntington Woods Michigan
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, just great in every category
Cons: i would like a recommended list of calibrations, experts present calibration
I can't wait for 4K programming - but so far this 4K 65 inch Samsung is sensational in every category. I haven't had it long enough to use all of the features and I haven't played around with the Calibration - but I recommend this TV to anyone that wants a Superior TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Continuously Freezes and REBOOTS. Useless!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, bad software
Just received the TV yesterday and it worked fine all last night. This morning it freezes as soon it turns on and then reboots itself after 20 seconds. Now it is stuck continuously rebooting itself. Fix your software!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My fears taken away

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from St.johns michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, pairs with anything right away
Have to say after a lot of debate and worrying over what the picture or color was gonna look like cause I'm a plasma fan to the core so much so I had a lot of anxiety over trying to decide whether to buy a new tv with lcd or led! But to my greatest delight ever no fears after watching and playing on this unit it has to be one of thee best tv's I've ever seen of course, it's samsung so I wasn't worried about quality or if I was gonna get a great tv or not but just like my previous tv plasma samsung, it has me hooked! The controls for the remote are fantastic as well as being able to fly through the smart apps! The 3d is awesome and the design of this tv is sleek on or off a wall careful it almost will make you think your moving yourself!!!! I have also heard comments about sound not being top notch but out of all flat panels the sound on this unit is on par no problems hearing and very vibrant to boot the settings are ready to go right out of the box as well as the updates are availible! User freindly even if your not tech savy no worry's on this purchace if you got any!!! oh and the keyboard is super awesome in case theres any tony stark fans out there! Lol
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Television

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Central Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Great television! Wonderful picture and great features
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 55” Class (54.6” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Model UN50HU8550FXZA --- Thumbs Up!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 2, 2014
from NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
In my experience, Model UN50HU8550FXZA represents, the greatest and best change in picture appearance (real, brilliant colors, and resolution) and quality in a very, very long time (i.e., since changing from analog to digital). 4K/UHD is worth it and well implemented on this set: it's a new picture! - Just watch the 4K version of House of Cards on Netflix. UHD Upscaling WORKS!
The Smart Remote is cool. 3D is as good, or maybe even better, than in the theaters. Tons of features which work well and, for the most part, are intuitive. (See the Samsung brochure.) The Comcast XR2 remote and X1 set-top box work well with the 8550. Conversely, the Samsung remotes work well with the X1 box. Software updates are automatic and easy. The set's speakers, with its subwoofers, produce good sound in our 14'x16' room. The options/preferences are numerous, so it takes-a-while to find the correct submenu to choose/edit a particular feature, but it's worth it. I'm not a gamer, so no related-comment re: the 8550. Not to jinx anything - well done Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0p