Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop UHD TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)

UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)

Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
39 out of 45(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Review 1 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2014
from Greenville, SC, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, amazing picture
Wow this TV has far exceeded my expectation. Everything looks super crisp and clear. At first I thought it was just me thinking that it was clearer because I knew the TV was 4k but everyone who has come over to see it has picked up on the additional clarity.
My Xbox one looks amazing. I put the input on game mode and haven't had any issues with lag. Blue rays looks phenomenal. It's weird but the picture feels more dense and razor sharp.
I've been streaming 4k through the netflix and YouTube apps and they look unbelievable. The additional detail is fantastic and it allows you to see little things in the backgrounds even that you probably would normally miss. The color is great and the contrast and local dimming make for a great picture.
Overall the amount of content is pretty limited but I figure getting a tv that is future proofed to use 4k when it's more mainstream and then also seems to improve the standard resolutions out there is a no brainer. I'm drooling at the thought of football in full 4k. Can't wait.
The audio is fine. I like the remote for the tv and I think the streaming apps work great. Netflix is super smooth and fast. I can skip around without much delay at all. A little tough to browse the movies but I think that's a netflix problem in general. Not as impresses with the screen mirroring. Wish it were more simplified so that when you turn it on it displays whatever is displayed on your pad without having to launch things through it and other rigmarole.
You really have to nitpick to find things not to like with this tv.
Highly recommended. I've had this Tv for about a month now and I still get that goofy grin every time I turn it on and kick back in my recliner.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 26, 2014
from Maryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
The best Tv out on the market currently. The picture quality is amazing, Razor sharp image, bright vivid, super life like. Incredible depth and detail in all content that is displayed. It does a excellent job, of 4k up converting. The processor is very fast, no lag in switching between apps. Built in apps are great, such as hulu, Vudu, and Netflix which now offers 4K content that you can view now right out of the box.
The instant on, feature is amazing the picture just comes on with no delay in screen brightness. The panel is designed very clean, has a thin profile and looks amazing wall mounted. The built in speakers are very nice have a crisp clear sound and can be loud, The Tv is very bright and can be adjusted to get the darkest blacks, similar to a plasma if not better without having to sit in a completely dark room.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic picture quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 24, 2014
from Austin, TX, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, very thin
Cons: poor speakers
From the moment I turned on the TV I was in awe. The upscaling of my HD cable signal is a lot better than I expected. I am seeing a lot of detail I never saw on my old TV. There are so many different settings for the picture I really think anyone can find a setting they like.
I am also amazed at how thin the TV is. I have it hung on the wall with a low profile mount and it looks like a painting.
The audio is nothing to write home about but then again I do not care if it has speakers or not since I have it hooked up to my 5.1 A/V system.
It is easy to navigate with the magic remote but I am not real fond of it since it is kinda small and I can't control all my other things hooked up to the TV. It is a step in the right direction though. Samsung should just buy that name brand universal remote company and include their remotes with their TV's.
The apps seem to run well but I only use a few of them.
All the hookups are great and I like the fact I will be able to upgrade my TV in the years to come with the evolution kit.
Overall I would say if your going to buy a new TV I would consider one of the 4k sets because they are not that much more in cost than an HD set.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Installed recently on July 12, 2014

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 12, 2014
from Huntington Woods Michigan
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, just great in every category
Cons: i would like a recommended list of calibrations, experts present calibration
I can't wait for 4K programming - but so far this 4K 65 inch Samsung is sensational in every category. I haven't had it long enough to use all of the features and I haven't played around with the Calibration - but I recommend this TV to anyone that wants a Superior TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV I have owned!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 22, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Best picture, best integration of features. 3D is great with the supplied glasses. I cannot wait until the 4K content is more widely available. A little pricey at this point in time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent picture quality, even when up-sampling lower resolution input

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, up-sampling
Cons: remote functionality takes some time to configure
After extensively reviewing available options, I am very happy with the HU Samsung I chose and glad that I went with a high quality 4K television.
The most difficult part of the search and review process was finding a retailer with higher end TV's on the floor and a willingness to adjust the input feeds to allow for a direct comparison. The prerecorded demos always seemed tuned to a specific model's strengths, and did not provide a good representation of real world viewing.
The Samsung HU8550 I ultimately chose does a great job up-sampling 720 and 1080i source material and I am amazed at the level of detail it can display from the cable box and ROKU that tend to be my primary viewing sources. I have also been pleasantly surprised by the volume level and quality of sound from the built-in speakers that are difficult to even find on the unit.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CLARITY

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 16, 2014
from HOUSTON
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
COLORS ARE FANTASTIC,THE REMOTE IS UNBELIEVABLE,EASE OF CONNECTION.
I HOPE SAMSUNG WILL PROVIDE MORE 4K CONTENTS.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Clarity & Detail

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 29, 2014
from Sarasota, FL, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
We are truly enjoying the excellent quality of the picture on our new 65" TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has many good things

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2014
from Manchester, NH, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Absolutely awesome 4K-HDTV and loving it, and everything about it. Short review but really only awesome experience with the TV and all the features are awesome.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2014
from Orange County, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, great picture
Set up was easy. Menus easy to navigate. Beautiful profile. Picture is magnificent! Even the sound is surprising good for such a thin TV.
I will probably buy a 65" of the same model for my family room.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 25, 2014
from Martinsburg, WV, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: stand very unstable, stand edge should have been black
The stand is to low and very wobbly , I had to put a block of wood under it because the sound bar blocked the bottom of the screen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent picture! Love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2014
from Houston, TX, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: needs more apps.
Recently purchased this TV and I absolutely love it! The picture quality is amazing! I plan on purchasing a curved TV next. I love Samsung TV's and would recommend this to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2014
from Bellevue, ne
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
such clarity and sharpness and ease of setting it up. I am a retired computer engineer and I am impressed. This is why I BUY Samsung, they have never disappointed me
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning Picture!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2014
from Canton, GA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
We have had this 4K UHD set for about a month now, and are very pleased with it's performance.
It up-scales just about everything, and the picture is extremely sharp with crisp colors. I even think the speakers sound good, given the fact that is super slim. It also looks good even when it's not on.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am astounded

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
When I got my first high definition TV several years ago I remember thinking that "this is a pretty darn good picture". But now, after seeing this TV, I am astounded. With my older TV I quickly got used to the picture and took it for granted. I never lose track of the good picture quality with this TV and I've had it for a week now. Every time I watch even old, old movies in black-and-white I can't get over how good the picture is. The only downside is that it takes a while to get everything dialed in. But it is definitely worth it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love this tv but some issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2014
from Ct
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: problem with amazon app, problem with netflix audio syncing in 4k
Let me first start off by saying I love this tv. I originally had purchased the 75inch 7150 but returned it twice due to severe edge lighting. So I upgraded to this tv and I love it. Picture is crystal clear and no edge lighting problem. BUT....there are 2 issues driving me crazy. The Amazon app stops working continuously and is very annoying that I'm supposed to keep shutting my router every time. (I'm hard wired into tv). 2nd the audio when watching netflix 4k is not in sync even when using the audio delay button. 3 and 4 which has nothing to do with the unit but samsung being cheap is that this does not come with a one connect box or free movies like the 9000 model. Seriously, is $6000 not enough for 5 free movies!!!!!!!! Whatever
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No apparent 4K upscaling of standard def signals

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 28, 2014
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
High def and 4K content are both spectacular as is the 3D. But as far viewing standard def, if you like a crisp, sharp picture forget it. Setting the sharpness above 60 produces terrible digital artifacts in and around non moving images (like channel logos, non moving faces and stationary objects on screen). The effect resembles crystallization. Stand 2 feet away (not that you would actually view this close) and it looks like you are looking through a screen door. Consequently, sharpness has to be turned down resulting in a soft picture-not crisp. A relative of mine has a 55 inch Samsung high def set inputting the same standard def signal as me with sharpness set at full 100 and it's perfect. That is why I bought a Samsung. With 4K upscaling I figured it would even get better. But in fact the picture is degraded. Using the built in picture test doesn't help because it puts up a high def picture and of course that looks great. The only other issue I have is with software updates. No info is given as to what things are being updated. Also, BEWARE updates. They reset all your settings to "out of the box" factory specs. It took me 5 hours to adjust settings to my liking only to lose them through an update. If you update, write down EVERY setting. I have auto update turned off until I get more info on what's in each update and why they are needed.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 25, 2014
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I've looked at the other TV's and none compare to the picture clarity as this tv! it makes subpar picture quality look great. Don't hesitate to buy it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bad picture in dark scenes

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 24, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality
With the recent updates pictures has gotten worse in dark scenes u can see posterization even in blue rays stay away from this tv Samsung needs to fix this. Never had this problem with my lg55lm9600.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Anynet problems

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: anynet function does not work correctly
the Anynet device has serious problems because I have three devices connected to my TV a blu - ray player, Sound bar, and my Direct TV Genie receiver, and when I try to detect devices in the system menu it says no device detected, and I have reset my TV twice over the past few days and it did not change anything it still says no device detected and is very frustrating because my devices are clearly connected to the TV correctly so something is very wrong with the Anynet function for this TV. Although, they all work just fine if I manually switch sources which means my devices are connected correctly, but I thought that the Anynet Function was so you did not need to do that, the TV did it for you, therefore Samsung needs to take a serious look into improving the Anynet function for this TV because something is very wrong with the Anynet Function!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real HD TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2014
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This Smart TV meets all my expectations from screen resolution to built in internet smart tools
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from San Diego, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: too small
The product is being word description, but awesome.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Model UN50HU8550FXZA --- Thumbs Up!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 2, 2014
from NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
In my experience, Model UN50HU8550FXZA represents, the greatest and best change in picture appearance (real, brilliant colors, and resolution) and quality in a very, very long time (i.e., since changing from analog to digital). 4K/UHD is worth it and well implemented on this set: it's a new picture! - Just watch the 4K version of House of Cards on Netflix. UHD Upscaling WORKS!
The Smart Remote is cool. 3D is as good, or maybe even better, than in the theaters. Tons of features which work well and, for the most part, are intuitive. (See the Samsung brochure.) The Comcast XR2 remote and X1 set-top box work well with the 8550. Conversely, the Samsung remotes work well with the X1 box. Software updates are automatic and easy. The set's speakers, with its subwoofers, produce good sound in our 14'x16' room. The options/preferences are numerous, so it takes-a-while to find the correct submenu to choose/edit a particular feature, but it's worth it. I'm not a gamer, so no related-comment re: the 8550. Not to jinx anything - well done Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Picture Quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 27, 2014
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: a tad more that i would have liked.
Even as a long time Samsung TV owner, I was not prepared for the outstanding quality of the picture. After adjusting the settings from on-line recommendations, both the clarity and color were truly life like.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't do it.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 12, 2014
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
4k and up scaling is not whats it's all cracked up to be. There is really no 4k content out there to watch to even enjoy it.
But the reason we bought the tv was for the up scaling to try and get the best picture out there. The upscaling is a joke it doesn't do anything, in fact I think it make the picture worse at times.
This tv was great when watching something slow moving like they always have for the display models...well that's for good reason, whenever someone or something like a hands or arms move around they turn into a blur which gets extremely annoying very fast.
There is also a haze at times around a person for thing that is a little closer to you for some reason.
The processor is nice at times but sometimes it takes forever to load a trailer that's already build into the tv...something's not right there.
Needless to say that we returned the tv after having it for 7 days
We are now looking at the un75h7150af series but we shall see.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 25, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: a little expensive
This is a great TV, you will love it. Make sure to read up on a few forums as you will find custom settings to get the most out of this amazing TV with minimal work.
Lots of features, probably more than you will ever use.
The upconversion works great.
No jitter, no ghosting.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Speaker Issue

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 10, 2014
from Michigan, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: picture quality
Cons: Poor quality, speakers buzzing and popping
Even with volume all the way down the speakers buzz and pop loudly until you turn the tv off and back on again.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Tv has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Kissimmee, FL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, the support
I have been shopping around for a new Tv for while. I new that the product I wanted was Samsung because of my past experience with this product. I new the quality was there I think the hardest part was choosing which one to buy until I saw the Samsung model # UN55HU8550 on display it was love at first sight. Great features, awesome picture quality. Well... it's home. Thank you Samsung..!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The definition is outstanding

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
The ultra high definition blows me away along with the clear 3-D feature.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If FUTURE PROOF means anything to you!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2014
from San Jose, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, flexibility, easy to operate, voice controlled remote
Cons: one connect not included
Got the UN75HU8550 last week and I am totally blown away. Irrespective of the lack of 4K content, this TV supports the whole concept of firmware upgrades and it is seamless. So, if being able to upgrade your TV as time goes on is of any importance to you, this is indeed a HUGE reason to get this one...not to mention, the amazing picture, the smarts associated with it and a plethora of sweet extras. I am running mine through a 2014 ONKYO top of the line receiver, its like a marriage made for entertainment. Football season will be wonderful this year!!! I would and have recommended this to all of my friends
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features but preforms poorly at times

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2014
from Queens, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: sometimes poor performance
This is my 4th samsung tv that I've own. Each purchase being better than the last. On that note; this is the best samsung tv that I have ever owned. Picture quality is superb, I love the new Samsung smart hub, and the smart remote control is really really good. The problem that I run into is some performance issues from time to time. An example is when I watch Netflix or an app like vudu the TV tends to freeze, so I would have to turn the TV off and on again just for it to work. I don't know if it's just my particular device but this happens every time. Other than that, great picture, great remote, great features and now a great price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2014
from NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Start with the fact that the design itself is beautiful. It is simple clean and elegant. Wall space is maximized by minimizing the the bezel. It is just a few inches wider and higher than my old 45 inch LCD because of a bezel that is significantly smaller.
From there move on to the only thing that really matters, the picture quality. Amazing. Even upscaled content is simply amazing.
App integration is nice. Netflix, Plex, Vudu, Amazon are all there and work great.
One thing I have not been able to figure out is that somehow it is able to change channels on my TiVo Roamio. It is doing it not through an attached IR blaster. I have to assume it is somehow doing it through an HDMI-CEC interface but everything I've found says the Roamio doesn't support HDMI-CEC. That being said it is changing channels with no IR blaster connected, with the only connection to the TiVo Being an HDMI cable run through my receiver.
Cons
Slow to detect HDMI input. Whenever I change devices or first power up TV it takes 10-15 seconds to recognize the device and display content.
Eco settings in darkened room are awful. Black areas of screen obscure part of picture. Hopefully a software bug that will get fixed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wbutler

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2014
from Pasadena, MD, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Excellent TV bright display. Connected to Definitive Technology Mythos Nine Surround Sound Speaker System using Marantz SR7005 Stereo to control everything. It sounds awesome like being in a movie theater.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Got here on 4/11/14

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 11, 2014
from NH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Well the TV finally got here a few hours ago and so far WOW. Still getting the basics down and I am sure it will get even better. I got it from Amazon and they did a great job delivering it on time and setting it up for me. I agree with previous reviewer, curved is not for me. Have not gotten to the smart TV part yet but hope to this evening. At this point 5 stars all the way.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 25, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I own a Panasonic TCP50GT30 that I thought was a great TV, and it is, but I compared these two sets side by side and I was amazed. I had both TVs hooked to the same source with an HDMI splitter so I could see the same image on both simultaneously. I expected the dark detail to be better on the Plasma vs this Samsung LED, but the Samsung definitely won that test. The detail was astounding and color was very accurate. I never thought I would be disappointed with my old TV until I actually saw how this new technology could perform!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New 4K TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 9, 2014
from Oregon, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
This TV is has the best picture I've ever seen. There's not a lot of 4K content out there yet but we streamed some 4K youtube content and we couldn't stop watching it. We couldn't get the kids to bed lol. 1080P looks really good as well and right out of the box too. Once I get into the settings it's going to look even better no doubt. Glad I waited for the 2014 model, and it was less expensive.
Really looking forward to Netflix, Amazon and Directv to start streaming 4K content. A lot of naysayers about 4K right now but folks I think its here to stay. It's a game changer, nothing like 3D that fizzled out.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Continuously Freezes and REBOOTS. Useless!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, bad software
Just received the TV yesterday and it worked fine all last night. This morning it freezes as soon it turns on and then reboots itself after 20 seconds. Now it is stuck continuously rebooting itself. Fix your software!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 6, 2014
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This Tv is Amazing for those out there who are not big fans of the curve come pick this bad boy up. So far from what ive seen the blacks are awesome i love the releastic color and bright display after i calibrated it =D it seems like a sweet buy for those who still love the flat tvs and are not big fans of the curve.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My fears taken away

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from St.johns michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, pairs with anything right away
Have to say after a lot of debate and worrying over what the picture or color was gonna look like cause I'm a plasma fan to the core so much so I had a lot of anxiety over trying to decide whether to buy a new tv with lcd or led! But to my greatest delight ever no fears after watching and playing on this unit it has to be one of thee best tv's I've ever seen of course, it's samsung so I wasn't worried about quality or if I was gonna get a great tv or not but just like my previous tv plasma samsung, it has me hooked! The controls for the remote are fantastic as well as being able to fly through the smart apps! The 3d is awesome and the design of this tv is sleek on or off a wall careful it almost will make you think your moving yourself!!!! I have also heard comments about sound not being top notch but out of all flat panels the sound on this unit is on par no problems hearing and very vibrant to boot the settings are ready to go right out of the box as well as the updates are availible! User freindly even if your not tech savy no worry's on this purchace if you got any!!! oh and the keyboard is super awesome in case theres any tony stark fans out there! Lol
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Television

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Central Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Great television! Wonderful picture and great features
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great tv, but poor built in speakers

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 16, 2014
from Wallington, NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: poor built in speakers, smart hub shows lag
Love this tv, but a few turn offs, built in speakers are completely useless. smart hub platform seems to lag regardless of "quadcore".
Picture is great :) buying a surround sound system this week.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 15, 2014
from Orlando, FL, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
The picture is beautiful even if there are not a lot of 4 k things to watch.Upconverted blue rays usually look as good as 4k.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is the best thing in someone life

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 7, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
i love it when you are watching it it is like you are inside the tv
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good looking TV but there might be better options out there

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 9, 2014
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: poort technical support, lack of features at present, pricey
I would recommend waiting a bit before purchasing this model. LG, Panasonic and of course Sony all have comparable models coming soon and they may be better choices. The TV is edge-lit and I do sometimes notice the light coming in towards the screen center even with Darkest contrast setting. Screen looks good but Smart features just aren't there yet, and it uses Active 3d which is a bit annoying (batteries and weight and glasses can turn off during use) and passive would be fine for 1080p 120hz 3d content so no reason for active. [NOTE: At present, 4/8/14, there are no Smart Apps available for this TV at all, only a web browser] Technical Support at Samsung is less than useful and only seems to have information already available on the website, but at least they are polite in their rhetoric. Smart remote is cute and includes mouse/pointer capability but multifunction remote is just average and cannot compare to Logitech remotes.
Bottom line, it's a decent TV which looks good but may not be the vest value as more models hit the streets this year. Note that there is almost no way at all to view 4k content of any media at this time on Samsung UHD TV. There is no Evolution Kit, no USB drive included with samples, no support for youtube 4k (yet) and no apps to stream Netflix 4k (yet). Even downloaded videos in formats like .mov won't play on the TV from external storage (my PC). I recommend waiting for more models to come out from the competitors before making a purchase of 4k TV in 2014.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for UHD 4K HU8550 Series Smart TV - 65” Class (64.5” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ridiculous picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 4, 2014
from Pittsburgh pa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, blu ray up scaling great even not tho not tru 4k, great contrast
Cons: price
Ran out and bought opening day at best buy!!! I am upgrading from a samsung 6030 and an lg 7600. Selling the samsung and moving the lg7600 from the man cave to the family room. The Samsung was not as good as the lg7600. Clearer screen and better colors... But this new samsung 4k 8550 is off the charts good. Colors are awesome blacks are super black and whites are actually white. Blu rays looks awesome !!!! Way better now then on either of my standard 1080ps... Cable it is hard to tell a difference on up scaling. Some shows looks fantastic and some it's hard to tell.. That's the only downfall to me... Is a lack of 4k content but it's coming soon.. Was watching trailers and clips on YouTube of 4k and it puts this tv in a different world then other tvs... Def would reccomend this. Blu rays are way better up scaled (watched man of steel looked awesome) when explosions happened they were so bright I had to close my eyes like I was there.. Brightness is amazing and the cable is still better than either of my tvs now even if it is not by a lot whole lot in the resolution. Color and contrast is way better with a little resolution increase.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.