Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Washers
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for WA5471ABW/XAA

WA5471ABW/XAA

Rating:
4.026 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
29 out of 36(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for WA5471ABW/XAA
Review 1 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SAmsung washer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 11, 2012
from West Virginia
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
All I can say is that this washer amazes me. I do not know how it cleans so well. I have even watched it through the glass on the lid and still can't figure out how it does so much better than my old washer with the agitator
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 8, 2012
from Tulsa, OK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Since we are so accustom to washers with a spindle churning the clothes, we had doubts as to whether it was washing the clothes. The machine runs a bit to adjust the balance, then adds a little water, runs again to adjust balance, then proceeds with it's cycle. To our amazement everything comes out clean. Need to remember to place clothes around the tub instead of just throwing in. Love the look, the very big stainless steel tub, quiet sound and we are surprised after 9 months, we are still watching the wash while it washes. Enjoy!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2012
from Texas
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Excellent product. Love Samsung, and once again they have made a quality product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3loads washed in 1wash hurray!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 23, 2012
from ny
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: slim enough to fit in small area
Cons: too expensive, needs a setting for shorter washing time
i read a lot of reviews almost all of them on this product before i purchused it. It was easy to use. It really does fit alot of clothes usually 2-3 bushel basket at a time depending the fabric jeans i put less. Cleans awesome no lie my daughter got a bloody nose which was all over her shirt which she did not tell me about put in dirty clothes which i washed about about 5days later told her was not going to come out but washed it anyways to my suprise it did come out in the Stain away cycle again awesome. But you really need to READ MANUAL before using so you understand each cycle.At 1st I didnt like the fact of waiting 1hr for a load to wash but hubby said its better then washing & waiting for 3 loads to wash in the old washer. He's right this time lol. Worth every penny. I've only had it bout 4months so I really cant tell you @ the moment how long it will last. Family size7 so i was alot of clothes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great improvments all araound.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Love it! Big capacity(king size bedding no problem), quiet, energy efficient, no agitator, fast spin=fast dry and love to look trough the glass lid.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 10, 2012
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
This washer get our clothes clean unlike the previous brand we had. There are so many options. I love it! I especially love the options for towels and bedding. All are needs are met with this washer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 13, 2012
from Central Florida
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, it's quiet and efficient.
This was our first Samsung appliance. The salesperson talked us into it and I am thrilled with this product. This is definitely a 5 star product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Washer!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 26, 2012
from Kansas City, MO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
I have had this washer for about a month - and the matching dryer. I was hesitant to buy a washer without an agitator, all seems well. The washer is quiet, features easy to use, and rarely goes out of balance. My only issue is that for some loads there appears to be not enough water. I know HE washers use less water but let me give an example: A load of sheets and a few towels. The water level is so low most of the load is NOT covered by water. After washing they appear clean and dry up quickly. Next, a load of 5 placemats - only 5. The water level is way higher for this load than with the sheets and towels. My question would be is the washer not able to determine the weight for the placemats because they are so light? Does anyone know? If anyone knows please reply. Also, the water settings are not always what they should be. Not sure why, but they are. Happy overall!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smooth

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2012
from WI
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: wash and rinse temps
Very quiet, loaded with features and you hardly know it is operating.
Wish we had a little more control over the wash and rinse temperatures. They are predetermined.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product. Not your normal washer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 3, 2012
from CA.
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: none yet
Great product. Saves me money on my house bills. With the features clothes come out dry from the washer. I only have to run dryer for 20 mins.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Washer Size & Features are Outstanding

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2012
from League City, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Samsung washer Model #WA5471 is extremely quiet with large enough capacity to make the laundry task easy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

cleanlady

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 29, 2012
from Plymouth MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Love the look of this machine and the many choices I can make to customize my wash load. It has a much bigger capacity than my last washer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Samsung product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 14, 2012
from BUCYRUS,OHIO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
We have had this a short time just bougth a week ago does a great job of getting the clothes clean and leaves them very dry to put in the dryer. do not have any complaints, is very
quite operating.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 3, 2012
It's a great size, efficient, cleans well and I love the singing it does when it's done!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST YOU WILL EVER OWN!!!SAVES YOU MONEY EVERYDAY

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2012
from Jackson Tn
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
To break it down short and sweet you will LOVE this washer we never hear it run at any time and at the end there is a CUTE tune to let know its done.I haved saved lots of money on water,and soap for this BEST BUY EVER and I have had a few sets inmy life time now 4 of our friends have went and bought same set and love it as we do, in all WELL WORTH the money. Everything about it is great. clothes are clean and its smart saves you money on its own!! All so like the clear lid get to see it at work. Thank You SAMSUNG!!! another great product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great washer! .

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2012
from MD
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Great washer! reliabe,numerous features,and super capacity. Our Clothes come out clean and smelling great fresh. No problems to date.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quite amazing!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2011
from South central PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: delay start feature, glass-top for viewing inside the washer when it's, lock feature, add a garment, variety of spin water temps etc
I never thought a washing machine could be so much fun! And I never heard a washing machine that played The Trout Quintet. This washer does. It also washes well and economically. From what I've been able to observe through the glass-topped lid (excellent feature, by the way) the washer only uses the amount of water it needs by weighing the clothing/laundry. I appreciate the "green factor" of a front-loader even while I use a top-loader. We've had no problems with the washer, only good experiences. I did have a concern about an adequate rinse but that seems to be taken care of by adding extra rinse. And I wish there was a way to adjust the clock for the delay setting. I still haven't found the answer to that yet. The delay setting is wonderful -- I can load the washer and set it to start in the early morning, have the wash done when I get up, and have enough time for the laundry to finish in the dryer before the on peak electric rates kick in.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Big Step Up

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Had a conventional washer and dryer. They were about 9 years old. The dryer stopped working. We decided to replace the pair. Boy are we glad we did. Can wash and dry a complete load of clothes in about an hour and a half.The washer capacity is huge. There are only two of us,and it has definitely reduced the amount of time spent doing laundry.Love the timer. Can preset washer start time so the load is ready to go into the dryer when we get home.
We own two Samsung TV's and as with them-are very pleased with our purchase.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great washer and lots of features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2011
from wisconsin
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had this washer for about 2 months and love it. First top load, old washer was a front load. Clothes seem to be cleaner after washed, maybe thats the power foam technology, alot quieter than my old front load, has not gone off balance yet, and this washer can wash ALOT of clothes in one load! Also the pure cycle is nice, no more buying washing machine cleaner tablets. In conclusion a great washer for a great price!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a relief!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2011
from Cherry Hill, NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, cleans clothes well, well-made
Cons: none
I finally have a HE clothes washer that works! My new SAMSUNG WA5471 washer is quiet, cleans, but doesn't destroy the clothes, and is easy to operate. It's practically impossible to get an out of balance message with this washer. The clothes come out clean and smelling clean. When the machine is operating I keep checking the machine to see that it is operating because is it so quiet. The only noise that I hear is the end-of-cycle chime. Many users of this washing machine have said that the machine does not fully clean their clothes. I've found the opposite, everything comes out clean and smelling good. You have to be careful that you select the appropriate cycle for what you are trying to wash. I am very happy with the quality, construction and performance of this clothes washer!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best I ever owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2011
from belleville,nj
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
super quiet,super fast the machine is a Beast! Whats not to like.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 16, 2011
from Augusta, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Still getting to know this machine, but so far we are very impressed with it. so much better than the front loader it replaced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loving It!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 12, 2011
from Findlay, Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have now been using my washer / dryer set for a month and have had no problems and love them!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Love Love this washer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2011
from Baton Rouge
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: great water level
After 4 years of fighting with a Maytag Bravo (which was only 4 years old) I replaced it with this Samsung, SO GLAD I did!!! This machine is awesome! Can not believe the differance in cleaning. The power foam does an excellent job of cleaning. I am also pleased with the water level. The Maytag used so little water when a bedding item was washed it would come out with dry areas, no problem with my Samsung. Items are throughly cleaned with a nice water level suitable for items in machine. Once again let me state this is by far the best washer I have ever owned!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
RF265AARS
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Washer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 10, 2011
from Douglas, Ga.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Bright display, Durable
After years of purchasing basic to medium scale washers I decided that it was time to upgrade to a high preformance washer. I absolutely love this machine. After you set your cycle, levels, temp, etc. then the rest is up to the machine. I have observed the different cycles from the glass top and have discovered that I must trust this machine ! After years of thinking that if the clothes were not completely covered in water (adding to the monthly water/electric bills),I realize that this machine has a brain of it's own and knows exactly how much water is needed to clean each individual load type. I was one of those that thought if the clothes were not covered and there were no bubbles from the detergent then something was not working right but that is not the case with this washer. Our clothes, linens, towels, delicates, etc.have not once came out of this washer not being nor smelling clean and fresh. The spin cycles are awesome. If you set the spin cycle to accomodate the load type then you will notice that you will use less drying time. The balancing issues are internal, this machine balances your clothes before the cycle starts. I did not purchase the matching dryer at the time but anticipate the very near purchase as well. I give this washer a "FIVE STAR" review ! Remember to let the washer decide what is right and quit thinking that everything has to be covered in water and bubbles as our Mother's and Grandmother's did.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Off to a great start

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 2, 2011
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
We have had the washer for two weeks and we love it. It is everything they say it is and more. Great washer!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I am pleased with this machine, but it is loud.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2011
When the washer is draining, the water pump makes a lot of noise.
When "signal" is selected, this washer plays a tune (for several seconds) rather than making a buzz or beep sound. This tune gets very annoying after a day or two. There is no way to change the signal to another sound, other than to disable the signal completely.
The owners manual description of the various cycle options are poor.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New washer for me

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2011
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
So far so good, first time I had a new washer and the first time I have ever had to read an instruction booklet to know how to operate a washer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 18, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I've really enjoyed my new powerfoam top load washer. the inside is huge! so you can wash more at a time so it cuts down your loads of laundry. very happy that we purchased this washer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It ain't your grandmother's washing machine

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 28, 2012
from South Carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
We've had this machine for about a month now and I not sure if we love it or hate it. It has some features that seem great, but it can be frustrating to understand. First (and most important) is it seems to do a pretty good job of washing clothes and getting them clean - and it does it for the most part with very little water. It also does a good job of spinning the water out of the clothes – although we have yet to try the extra high speed spin.
But we have discovered some idiosyncrasies about the machine. For instance - DO NOT press the power button before a cycle is finished. I realize that you should not do this intentionally, but if you do it inadvertently (as my wife did) the machine will just stop and sit there and do nothing. There is no way to restart from the middle of a cycle the way you could with the older machines that had the old fashioned rotary timer controls. The only thing you can do is to begin a new cycle from the beginning. When you do this - the machine will then drain the water that is still in the machine from the previous cycle and begin an entirely new cycle. The problem is that the heavy wet laundry that is now in the machine will fool the machine’s load sensors into thinking that the machine is loaded with a super maximum load and will fill the tub up with water all the way up to nearly the top. This overfilling also happens in the rinse cycle so the machine will overfill twice. To me this appears to be an oversight in the design of the machine. It seems that there should be some sort of resume function or at least a water level override to give the user a little more control of the water level in the machine.
This same scenario happened a second time when the machine lost power because of a ten minute power outage and was stopped again in mid-cycle. The only way I found to complete the cycle without the overfilling problem was to restart the machine and when it finished draining the water that remained in the tub from the previous unfinished cycle remove 90% of the wet laundry from the machine. After the machine did it’s load sensing routine and filled with water, I then added the wet laundry back in the machine using the pause/start button. I realize that both incidents were not the norm, but it happened twice in the first month of ownership and I wonder how other people with less common sense would deal with the situation.
Maybe I’m old fashioned and behind the times but I think that we will miss some of the things that we grew up to expect from a washing machine. Things like being able to tell the machine what you want it to do – not the other way around where the machine makes all of the decisions for you.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not enough water

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 26, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Every time I wash my clothes, the water level is always different. There will be times there is enough water that covers all my clothes and then there are times the water doesn't cover all my clothes. The times when it doesn't have enough water, the drum looks dry. My clothes are wet, but I don't see any water. How does it wash clothes with so little water?
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not quite dependable with its ability to clean a load of wash

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 14, 2011
from paris, ky
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have had mixed results with loads where there is light weight items like pillows or bedding. I have had dry spots on the items or items where one is left with water and the other not quite wet (this on delicate cycle with electric blanket). I am trying to wash pillows in the bottom with something over it to see if that will get it clean.
I washed some item through two wash cycles as the cleanliness was spotty... something that would never have happened in a front loader machine.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It doesn't clean the clothes

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 2, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
It is very expensive but does not clean the clothes! Plus we bought the dryer with it and that broke already and had to be serviced.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Huge Disappointment

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 31, 2012
from Virginia
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, does not clean clothes, wrinkles clothes terribly
I purchased this washer after doing lots of research and determining it was supposedly one of the top performers on the market.
It twists up my clothes terribly, even when I reduce the spin speed to medium. I am also careful not to overload it. They are wrinkled way beyond what I've ever seen in any other washer I've owned.
Worse, it doesn't clean my clothes well at all. It leaves dirt residue on them, and well as white patches of what I guess is laundry detergent residue. Body odor remains as well. It does this even when I set the washer on the "extra rinse" cycle, "high soil," use high efficiency detergent in the correct amount, load it to a medium level only, etc.
In the last wash I did, dirt on one pair of pants was transferred onto another pair of pants by the end of the wash. And, I pre-rinsed the first pair of pants before putting them in the washer. I had to then treat the second pair with stain remover and wash them again -- and they did not have dirt stains on them when I put them in the first time!
Other items I have to re-wash or re-rinse to get the dirt/detergent residue out. I can't believe this machine was top-rated!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst washing machine I've owned

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 8, 2012
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I don't understand the 5 star ratings, they must have a different machine than me. The temperature does not reach the specifications. The clothes come out spotty, and unclean. I understand this is a high efficiency washer, I've had experience with quite a few, but the water won't even fill to cover more than half the clothes. The advice I was given was to pour a bucket of hot water in the load and run on Sanitize, which is over 2 hours by the way. Really???? A machine this expensive and I have to pour a bucket of hot water in it. Finally Powerfoam does not work, at all. Wish I had one of the machines those 5 stars reviews had.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Leveling is impossible.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 9, 2012
from Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
When installing the WA5471 washer the directions are very specific that the unit needs to be leveled, but only the front 2 feet are adjustable. Calling the Samsung help line confirmed the need and the lack of adjustment. Do not buy this model if your floor in not level.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I would not recommend this model

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 28, 2012
from Las Vegas, Nevada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Washer never fills to a water level that is appropriate for the load. You either have to run the clothes or bedding through a rinse cycle first or add water with a bucket once the wash starts. The water level/weight sensor does not work on the machine. Also this machine knots my clothes and bedding. I can only wash one set of sheets at a time; same thing with the matching dryer; knots clothes.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst washer we've ever owned

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 25, 2012
from Ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display
Cons: terrible washer
This may be the worst washer we've ever owned. We purchased this one to do large items, like horse blankets, saddle blankets, towels, jeans, coveralls, etc.
The previous 2 washers we had accomplished this task, but this washer does a terrible job of getting dirt out of large loads and large items.
The basic issue is that the clothes do not push from top to bottom in the washer. Items on the top end up with dirt sitting on them that never gets off. It swishes the clothes left to right, but doesn't churn them up and down to open them up. We have to start the wash, then re-cycle it after it starts washing, manually reposition the clothes, then come back 20 minutes later and reposition them again. At the end of the cycle, there are always places on the large items that have dirt accumulated on them.
This washer is too expensive to just throw away, but the first repair I have, I'm putting in the dumpster.
I've been an advocate of Samsung technology for a long time, had phones, TV's, electronics of all kinds.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for WA5471ABW/XAA
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Foam Did Not Work

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2011
from atlanta, ga
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: features
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Features and design of the washer are great. We could not get the foam to work and clothes on top would not get washed. Tech support looked at it and said I needed a new washer. Luckily the store I purchased it from let me get the front loader at the same price. I hope I'm satisfied with it like everyone else.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.