Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Tablet PCs
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ATIV Smart PC 500T

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

ATIV Smart PC 500T

Rating:
3.828 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
2
21 out of 26(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Review 1 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my ATIV 500T

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGoATIV
onOctober 9, 2013
from Paso Robles, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I've had my ATIV for about 7 months and I still love it. Being able to access all my MS Office files is great. Accessing my office pc is simple, not the fastest but gets the job done. Reading my Kindle books in two columns, with the 11.6 screen, gives the feel of having a regular size book in my hands. Syncing Outlook and other Office files with my desktop pc means I have all my priorities with me when I'm out and about. I look forward to future ATIV tablets with faster Atom processors.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tablet

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHimself
onOctober 3, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I use this tablet as a GPS using MS Streets and Trips. A large screen which is bright and clear providing an easy platform to view my route and to make changes. The ATIV is an excellent pc for travel. Small light weight with features like music, email etc that keeps you in touch and on the go.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Portability

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymarioch33
onJune 14, 2013
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Like this product. Has great features and love the picture quality
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great system!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamsungPsyche
onJune 9, 2013
from Richmond, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, everything!
Cons: nothing as of yet!
This is absolutely amazing! if you're looking for a functional tablet/pc and are tired of being restricted by a normal tablet OS, this is your kind of product! Completely functional, completely revolutionary. Combined with Win8 this is probably one of the best devices I've had the privilege of using. It's small enough to go anywhere, but yet workable enough to do anything you need to. I have no issues taking it to work with me, and I spend 14hrs at a time on an ambulance. All you need is a folio, a case if you prefer, and an optical drive and you're set (just look at the recommendations). It's already rocking 3 USB ports, an HDMI, and crystal clear audio. The display is flawless. The only gripe I MAY have is the camera resolution, maybe not the highest, but this isn't exactly the size device you should be using to take pictures of any kind of decent quality. It's not like you can't integrate any other picture device in five seconds, so I really can't complain on that end of things. The keyboard is a great accessory. I know some people have complained about the attachments and magnets in the actual dock itself, but I have yet to have a problem. Yes, it's nerve racking at times sure, but it holds fast and will certainly let you know if it isn't connected properly. And the ability to transfer anything you have is built right into it. It took about a full day of transferring between another PC and a Samsung phablet, but it was also almost 40GB worth of data and it went seamlessly. I have yet to find one corrupted or improperly transferred file. This definitely gets 5 stars from me, and you can't beat the price for its functionality!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent tablet/PC - Be sure to update!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byeric42
onMarch 14, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, full windows 8!
This is really a great little PC/tablet. Its great that I can run full desktop apps like Quicken and Office but still have the quick tablet interface for simple things like e-mail, browsing, blogs and casual gaming.
I can't emphasize how important it is to run the SW Update program when you first start up. It will update just about every driver and the BIOS. Be sure to install the optional updates as well. I suspect that many of the people reporting reliability issues aren't running with updated software.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this little guy!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRicerocket
onFebruary 9, 2013
from York, SC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, long battery life, thin
I've used 6 different Windows based tablets now, and I think this is my favorite! The best things about THIS tablet is the lack of fans on the back (as compared to the Series 7 Slate and the 700T), super long battery life (I can pull off a full day's work without recharging) and how thin it is!
The only downside I can really find is the lack of accessories. They're coming to market slowly, but I think that there should have been an abundance of accessories when this tablet was released.
My only other disappointment is that the Hand Strap case does not work with the Keyboard Dock. I am an Automotive professional, and I am constantly undocking it and carrying it around. This would be fine if I used the Desktop Dock, but my preference is the Keyboard Dock. It looks like there is an aftermarket case that will work with the Keyboard Dock, but it doesn't look like it is a protective as the Samsung Hand Strap.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally what I wanted in a tablet

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWhosjohnny
onJanuary 25, 2013
from Chicago, Il
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, great battery life
Cons: app store selection
A year ago I bought an android tablet and was so disappointed with the performance and immediately started inquiring about a windows tablet. I upgraded a laptop to Windows 8 and though it is not touch screen I really like the new OS. I found this tablet while searching the internet for windows 8 tablets and while some reviews were less than stellar I thought perhaps those users were expecting more than a tablet could provide. I bought the tablet and once I turned it on and started playing with it I realized it was exactly the experience I was looking for a year ago when I purchased a different tablet! I am pleased beyond words, the interface is very quick, never lags. I was used to Windows 8 when I bought this so the os was familiar to me. The S pen is so handy, especially for right click purposes. It is light, and at first it seemed a bit large but now I wouldn't want it any smaller. The speakers are on both sides and face the user so listening to music or videos is a pleasure. I use a mini bluetooth keyboard and syncing was a breeze. The display is bright and crisp. The battery life is really great, I can start this tablet at 6am and use it all day and it will still have 25% charge left on it when I shut it down at 10pm. I had an issue with the screen brightness switching between bright and dim every few seconds but chatted with a Samsung rep online and the solution was as easy as turning auto brightness off, letting it sit a minute and turning it back on again. I have not had any problem since. I love being able to use all my programs on a tablet and the syncing between the tablet and my Windows 8 laptop and Windows 8 phone have been spot on. Over all I believe this tablet is a great value for the price and it has and most likely will continue to exceed my expectations.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Tablet

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLostWeekend
onJanuary 15, 2013
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
What can I say, this is a great little computer. Nuf said.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-11points
6of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good portability with balanced features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByConsumer12
onJanuary 13, 2013
from Norfolk, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, no fan
Cons: Not high def
I am returning to academic studies after many years and wanted a lightweight computer for note taking in class and for doing assignments. The docking feature gives me the flexibility to carry the tablet alone for lightweight transport or attach the keyboard and use as a laptop. Another key feature of the tablet is that it does not need a fan for cooling. Since I don't need high processing power, I can trade that feature for longer battery life. Processing response is snappy as long as I am not running too many apps at once. Construction for the tablet and the keyboard are solid overall.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded My Expectations

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDarenK
onJanuary 1, 2013
from Utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Ability to hook up common usb peripherals and use them? Check - external DVD, USB stick were a breeze to use and install programs (.iso of software CD's, etc). Flawless, and convenient.
Ability to use the programs I have already purchased for my home machine? Check - Office 2010, adobe photoshop, etc - they all worked without issue. I just can't emphasize how nice this is to finally have in a tablet. I even put world of warcraft on for the heck of it - just because I could.
Ability to expand through a Micro SD card? Check - bought a 64GB class 10 card and have Apps installed on it (yes, you can install apps to the microSD card) as well as videos, games, MP3's and pictures. Very handy, doesn't fill the O/S drive with unnecessary items.
Great Screen? Check - even coming from a retina ipad user. Bright, vivid display with good sharp resolution. The auto brightness is a tad harsh at times, but that can be adjusted in the power settings.
Great battery? Check - hours and hours of play each day for the last two days, and the remaining battery life frankly blew me away each night (60%+ available). This is through installing programs, playing games, watching videos, surfing the web (can't count the number of times my son looped that gangum style song on you tube!?!). Very impressed with battery life for a full featured machine.
Windows 8? Not as bad as I thought. I was anticipating a train wreck that would take me a long time to get used to. It is well done and feels good on the tablet. Not sure I am up for putting it on my home machine yet, but on the tablet, it really goes a long ways to make it the experience it is. Also, Samsung includes a program if you use the "SW Updater" that puts the start button functionality basically back on your desktop. Samsung did a nice job with the pen that you get with the tablet as well - that thing is handy in OneNote, it can even read my terrible handwriting. When you have to bounce to the desktop, it is also a nice feature to be able to use the pen and click, drag, right-click. Not necessary, but nice none the less.
Processor Speed? Again, not as bad as I thought. I almost didn't buy it when I saw "atom". Perhaps intel should change the name, because this processor actually performs well. It seemed sluggish for the first few hours, but after that it has really been peppy. Perhaps there were some things installing in the background, or maybe uninstalling Norton bloatware did it, but the performance of the Atom processor has exceeded my expectations.
I think the build quality of the tablet is very nice - good clean edges, great sounding speakers that point toward you, well placed inputs on the edges. As far as "feel" of the materials, I find it very similar to my wife's Galaxy S3. It is lighter than I expected for the size, but the size poses issues I mention below (non-standard - nothing fits it).
Negatives? No docking station in stock anywhere - I mean I have tried all over. No Cases and covers. The charger for it is like a laptop charger that plugs into the wall (has a mini brick). I don't see any Car adapters for it available, and would guess it will be expensive as you can't seem to use a common USB type charger for it.
Overall, those few negatives aside which time may fix, I love this thing. More than I expected. Thanks Samsung and Microsoft for finally making the tablet a common piece of technology.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

works great with win8pro, too

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVercingetorix
onNovember 15, 2012
from Seattle
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, runs pc os, runs all pc apps
Got this tablet as a super mobile device with cell connectivity for meetings, running remote demos, and taking compute power places I would not want to carry a big notebook setup. It has exceeded my greatest expectations for these roles.
This works great as a wide screen tablet with sharp screen, accurate touch, ideal weight. When I need a keypad it is excellent in portrait mode with several keypad layout options and a full view of the page or screen I'm working.
Best of all, upgrading to win8pro was as easy as entering a purchased key code and letting the tablet update itself. Join domain, vpn, load flash, load Java and voilà! It's a fully compliant workstation with remote desktop access into lab servers and running consoles for all our lab's IT gear.
The cellular connectivity has worked very well and seems to run almost as fast as a good wlan connection. I haven't tried a wired lan connection but haven't encountered any need, as the wireless options are easily fast enough to run my lab and meet my needs.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice little Tablet/Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHateQuestionairs
onJanuary 16, 2014
from Burlington, IA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Light and responsive, just what I was looking for in a windows 8 touchscreen. Works as a tablet and a laptop (with the keyboard dock) when you need it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lightweight and fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bynjcontrer
onJanuary 15, 2014
from PR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: upgrades process
The best of two worlds. A tablet with excellent performance, lightweight, bright display, storage and even USB ports.
Connect to the small dock and added keyboard, more ports and still light. Had a problem doing a BIOS upgrade the first time, but Samsung took care of it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tablet with added keyboard helps Windows 8 newbies

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMarcusAFRE
onDecember 13, 2013
from Evansville, IN
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: slow when working with raw files
The ATIV Smart PC 500T is a good tablet with excellent battery life. Unlike iOS and Android tablets, it gives you Windows 8 (free update to Windows 8.1 via Windows Update) and excellent expandability, including a USB 2.0 port and a micro-SD card slot. Add the optional keyboard for more USB 2.0 ports and a touchpad. When running Windows 8, the keyboard didn't always stay connected via Plug and Play, and it was necessary to remove and reconnect it. If you shoot large RAW files with a digital SLR or compact system camera, you will want to get a third-party RAW image viewer as the on-board ATOM processor renders RAW images very slowly when used with the standard Microsoft Digital Camera Codec pack. The front and rear-facing cameras work very well with Windows 8.1's new Camera app.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good and bad

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPDSEng
onDecember 6, 2013
from CT
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, camera front and back
Cons: Not high def, bulky keyboard, no windows disk
I bought several of these for supers in the field. Theses little things are great and sturdy. Out of the six or so I've bought I only had two issues. One time i got a keyboard where the connectors were warped and wouldn't attach.
But these things happen from time to time Exchanged it no problem. The other issue was with windows, it began to bug out than just broke.
The only other thing I don't like is that there is no disc for windows. If windows is broken and doesn't boot up than you can't get to the recovery part and you have to send it in.
Other wise this is a decent sturdy little tablet.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great tablet for light personal use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bywzin1234
onMay 2, 2013
from Portland, ME
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: slow wifi file transfer
My wife uses it for e-mail, browsing the internet and reading e-pub books. It serves two windows systems rt and win 8 desktop. I can use it with the s pen for drawing on an HDTV at 1920 x 1080 screen res using older windows graphics programs that are pen pressure sensitive. It can use a bluetooth mouse and keyboard if needed. It networks with other PC's easily and is able to share dvd's and files on other computers. Picture quality is excellent the only complaint is performance saving large graphics files is slow.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than expected

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDocGT
onFebruary 8, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Too big
I had purchased this tablet to get the windows 8 "experience" with a touch enabled device. I have found the experience pretty good. I was surprised by the performance of the atom processor. I would have a hard time telling the difference from my regular computer and this device for the basic everyday tasks. It is nice to see an actual windows tablet that works, I have used tablets off and on in medicine for several years but this has been the best so far. I wish some of the medical apps on ios / android would get into the windows 8 RT store.
I like this tablet because I can run anything that I need from the windows operating system. This is a killer feature for me. No more being locked into an arbitrary app environment like ios, android or WinRT. This is a much better device and more usable than a WinRT device.
I just wish the screen was high resolution but this may also be a limitation of the atom chip set. It needs more memory but surprisingly I do not seem to have problems with the 2gb limit.
It is too big however. about 2" less in length would improve this product a lot. I think that the next upgrade product will be a killer product especially if the processor and memory are improved.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good PC Better Tablet

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKJC4EVER
onFebruary 5, 2013
from WILLINGBORO, NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: screen flickers, keyboard doesn't charge tablet, have to reset out of stand by mode
This is a tablet with full PC functions. It does exactly what it should do. Battery life if great, sound is good. Watching movies on this device is a blast. The only negatives I have is that the screen dims out. The keyboard doesn't have have a battery to charge it. Also when the device is put in standby it doesn't fully turn on without a full reset. Other than that this is a great Tablet/ PC.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

able to replace my laptop -yay!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybethmcgold
onJanuary 26, 2013
from Minneapolis, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, double-duty as laptop, easy wireless
I needed a replacement laptop, but I wanted a tablet. This does both in one device. It's perfect for me. The only drawback is not many companies make accessories for the tablet. I am very happy and recommend it to anyone I know.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
46" Class (45.9" Diag.) LED 6000 Series Smart TV
4.7 out of 5(469)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tablet and Ultrabook in one - Lovin It

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBrainsinthefamily
onNovember 23, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, versatile
Cons: a few bugs
Purchased the Samsung ATIV 500T last week online. What I wanted was one device that I can use to do serious computing, or to just sit back and read, browse, watch, or play. It did not disappoint.
At first the tablet seemed big and awkward, probably because I had been using an Ipad2 previously. But now that I've used the Samsung 500T for a couple days, I've learned to handle it comfortably with 2 hands, plus I now see the benefit of having the wider aspect ratio, particularly when watching a movie or video. The screen is very bright and it displays HD content beautifully.
When docked, the Samsung functions perfectly as an Ultrabook, giving me the ability to use a real keyboard and trackpad. And since it's the full Windows 8 OS, and not RT, it runs every app I've thrown at it, including the full Office Suite. Now, if you're planning to load lots of desktop software, you will probably need to buy a 64gb micro SD card to supplement the internal 64 gb. The 3 USB slots (2 keyboard, 1 tablet) are extremely convenient. Win 8 also provides Cloud storage through Sky Drive as well, although I personally use Dropbox.
Although I am not a doodler or a fan of handwritten notes, the S-pen app works very nicely, especially since it deactivates hand input whenever the pen is close to the screen. So, no worries about wrists or fingers interfering.
For those who haven't used Window 8 yet, all I can say is Wow! It is, in my opinion, the best Windows OS ever, and it completely blows away the Ipad's IOS.
With that said, I have experienced an occasional BSOD. There is a Samsung app onboard that troubleshoots software and device driver issues. There are also firmware updates available at the Samsung support site. i am hopefull these will resolve whatever issues I'm having.
Other downside are (1) unavailability - for now - of some popular store apps like Facebook and Spotify, (2) the tablet can lose it's connection with the keyboard momentarily if jarred or moved around, and (3) when using the tablet in Windows 8 desktop mode, the keyboard does not automatically open whenever an input field is selected (you need to click the on-screen icon to pop it up). On the other hand, it sure is nice being able to view flash sites when using I.E. or Chrome browsers from the desktop.
All-in-all, I am pleased with this product, despite it's few shortcomings.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Windows 8 tablet

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTabletSmart
onNovember 16, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, pen mode
Cons: cannot find keyboard
I found this tablet offers everything I could want. It is great that I can finally use Windows applications on this small form-factor.
The only con I have right now is that I cannot find a retailer with the keyboard dock. If you are listening Samsung, how about solving that issue. I have lots of Word files to create.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Tested

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byisarraff
onJuly 31, 2013
from San Juan, PR
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
I tried it and its lightweight, portable and more or less close to others in pricing as other similar devices.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice, with some kinks

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bygiesend
onNovember 13, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: freezing issues
I purchased this tablet pretty much on opening day and in many respects, it has surpassed my expectations. The screen is beautiful and the processor is plenty fast to run multiple things at once. When it's working properly, its a blast however the S -pen Crashes almost daily and it freezes up about every 3 days or so. There are also some java issues that need to be resolved, but hopefully that comes with time.
The ABSOLUTE most frustrating thing at this point is that it is impossible to find a keyboard for this thing. I know it's new but I feel like Samsung should have pushed the release date back.
Sorry about the short rant but this device will be way cooler once they get the keyboards out.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Product is unreliable

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bywesternsoul
onJanuary 18, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, unreliable speaker
When it goes to sleep for more than a few minutes with dock-in keyboard attached, touch screen looses functionality and I can only operate it through touch pad or touch pen then if I want to use touch screen again I have to restart computer. So annoying!
If this isn't enough speaker started to fail after a couple of weeks with intermittent sound. Have to restart it to make it functional again.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not my fave

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bydbrock2121
onJanuary 6, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
for as expensive as this product was, were are any features at like on tab 10.1 i have serious buyers remorse. wish i could find the docking keyboard.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Almost great

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bycmat1120
onDecember 3, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: major software bugs, heavy, quality control
I've been using this tablet for a coupe days and I think it's really cool. Its awesome having a full windows computer in a thin tablet. Overall it runs pretty smoothly and is pretty powerful(I am used to a gaming desktop so that's actually saying quite a lot).
Problems:
When I press the sleep button the tablet decides to automatically turn its self off completely. So basically I have to save everything before I turn the screen off expecting to have to turn it on from cold again. The only reason I'm not returning it because of this is how fast it boots up, but if its not fixed by the time my return date gets close it will go back.
Also like others have said there is a wifi issue. For some reason it just won't connect for awhile, but if I leave it for like 10 minutes it will then be connected. That's really annoying if I have to access google drive for notes in class and don't have 10 minutes to spare.
Also this is my second tablet. The first one stopped registering finger input within about 2 hours since it was first turned on...quality control?
Overall: This is a great tablet with potential, but it seems to have been released to early because it has MAJOR issues. Now if the issues are fixed I can forgive Samsung for them, but my hopes are not high that it will happen.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I want to love it, but glitchy drivers and a dock that constanty disconnects makes it impossible

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByFoster1100
onNovember 19, 2012
from TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, dock is unusable as it constantly disconnects, glitchy drivers = frozen pc = reboot often
I have been looking forward to making this my go-to device for around the house, at the pool, and travel. Although I really want to whole heartedly love this device, after four days of use, several issues make it unusable. The tablet has required a reboot many, many, many times (more than 20 in four days). I have installed all of the windows updates and all of the Samsung specific updates through the included Samsung SW Update software.
The problems listed below puzzle me. It is impossible to determine if I am experiencing hardware failures or device driver inadequacies. I am returning the unit as defective and reordering another unit. I am very impressed with the build, size, and design. Hopefully I received a defective dock/tablet and the replacement will work without issue. I really want to keep this machine.
I will update my review after using the replacement unit. Here is to hoping for a flawless experience the next go-round.
PROS
Awesome packaging
Great speakers for a tablet
Never warm/hot
8-10 hour battery life (my experience
Keyboard/trackpad dock pros
-excellent tactile keyboard = fast typing with few mistakes
-trackpad is responsive, but clicking the corners for left/right clicks takes some getting used to
CONS
Keyboard/trackpad dock loses connection very often
-you will hear three disconnect chimes when it loses connection
-sometimes the dock reconnects with three more connect chimes
-sometimes it brings up a "USB device not recognized" error in the system tray
-this makes the trackpad no longer responsive
-sometimes this happens when the device is on a solid table without anyone touching it or the table
-all of these issues can cause the tablet to become unresponsive
-because this happens when the machine is not even being touched, I have to think it is a combination of the
dock connection and/or bad device drivers
=requires reboot
Buggy drivers leave the sound choppy and very low bitrate sounding after an apparent glitch
= requires reboot
Graphics drivers buggy, making the auto rotate function glitch and the display unresponsive
= requires reboot
Downloading large updates or syncing large files causes the tablet to become very slow, but still responsive
Keyboard/trackpad dock inadequacies
-no 2nd battery in
-no 2nd SD card slot
-trackpad does not have options in driver in system tray
-no edge motion - when you reach the edge, the cursor stops moving
-no gesture personalization
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I hate it, so sorry I bought it

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bybbann
onMarch 16, 2013
from ontario
I have used this product for:less than a month
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I had this tab for one day and had to take it back, the power cord did not recharge the tablet when it was not on the keyboard dock, do not spend your money on this !!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
0of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for ATIV Smart PC 500T
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do NOT Buy Until Samsung Fixes WiFi Issues

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bysamsunguser21
onNovember 29, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations, wifi unstable
I was very excited to finally be able to buy this x86 Win8 tablet.
Unfortunately, the tablet has a WiFi problem that occurs after waking from sleep or a power on. Basically, it can't connect to WiFi for about 2-3 minutes. Usually, you have to turn on/off AirPlane mode to get WiFi to work again.
For 2 weeks, I was installing every Samsung update but the issue was never fixed.
Other users have reported problems with the keyboard dock (I only had the tablet).
So, unless you want to go through a lot of frustration, wait for Samsung to resolve these issues before purchasing.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.