Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Galaxy Players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2

Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
51 out of 55(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Review 1 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful music, games and social media machine

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 16, 2013
from Virginia, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Bought two of the 4.2 model for my teenage daughters, and they do everything they could ever need. We cannot justify the cost of smartphone plans for our kids (more than a few hundred dollars per year), and they really don't need phones at this stage, as the home WIFI gives them all the internet access they need for email, facebook and the Google Play store. The screen size and resolution is great - screen bigger than most, but still small enough to be convenient and pocket-able. While the version of Android supported on these devices in a little older than current, the 'heads-up' is that Android developers generally consider support for Gingerbread to be mandatory, as there are so many devices running this version, so plenty of software available (I'm a programmer fwiw), and there are literally thousands of apps available. Compared to the 'i-devices', these are more affordable, have a (commonly available and inexpensive) replaceable battery (not possible with Apple) and inexpensive additional storage can be added via micro SD cards (also not possible with Apple) plus the Android platform is more open. All in all, these are great players, and it is a shame they are being phased out - get them while you can (the latest version - 4.2 - is generally thought to be the best version of the Samsung players).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fantastic ipod replacement

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I got this as a replacement for an apple ipod, and I must say it is amazing I love this device. It sounds great and it has a lot of variety of games it also has an ok camera but good enough to meet my needs. so i would definitely recommend this item.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it, but an ICS update would be nice :)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, battery life
Cons: still stuck on gingerbread
I love my Galaxy Player. The speakers are louder (and produce a higher quality of sound) than any iProduct I've ever come into contact with. It supports almost every format for music and video that I've ever used, and even included some photo formats that I've found useful as well. My only qualm with it is that some of the apps I want to use are only compatible with Android 4.0 and higher, and I haven't heard tell of an update from anyone. I know for a fact more people would buy it if it got the update (and quite a few are waiting for it to release before they buy it). Thanks for the iPod alternative :)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Do not buy this obsolete device

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2013
from Georgia
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, os, incompatible with many apps
I got this as a present last year and everything was normal for about two months. Then it became laggy, glitchy, and froze half, if not more, of the time I used it. THe OS is incrediblely old. It seems Samsung does not want to update it. Don't pain yourself, it's easier to get a phone and not connect it to a network.
DO NOT RECCOMEND THIS PRODUCT
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 29, 2013
from Watertown NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Bought my son the 5.0 after he broke 3 ipod touch. He loves it and if can hold up to him its a great product. So I bought myself 4.2 and its on of my favs. Love all the apps and it has great sound.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 3, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, big screen, gps/fm radio, expandable memory, removable battery
First Android device I've owned, works great, love the FM radio, GPS, and removable battery. Didn't have those with my other MP3 player. Works great with things like double twist. All around cool device.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Amazing!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 15, 2013
from Checotah, OK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, very smooth, eye appealing
Cons: no flash with the camera., other than the flash nothing at all! amazing!
I previously owned the Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 and I must say out of the 5.0 and the 4.2 the 4.2 is the better of the two. Yes the 5.0 is a little larger and has a somewhat better camera(also has flash). However the quality and feel of the 4.2 is just so much more appealing to me. Also when it comes to speed the 4.2 is very fast. All in all, I am very pleased with this device and will never buy another device unless its stamped with that big SAMSUNG logo on it! :) If everyone would just invest in one of these, the iPod would be obsolete.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WONDERFUL BUT GPS ONLY WORKS ONE WAY

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 28, 2013
from Missouri
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, the right size, great touch screen
Cons: gps one way only
I love this thing. The only con is the GPS will guide you to where you are going but not back, so you better remember the way back or you could be lost. Hopefully they will have a fix for this soon.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, android, expandable memory
Cons: Not high def, low quality camer no flash or zoom
I have had a 2nd Gen iPod touch for quite a while and finally replaced it with this. Personally, I enjoy the Android interface a lot more. I find this product easier to use and it does not require any special software to sync to your computer. Build quality is great, has expandable memory, has a removable battery, and is fairly cheap as Wi-Fi only phone sized devices go. It would be nice to have a higher resolution screen but the screen is decent. The speakers are fairly loud and the headphones that come with the device are pretty good too. Unfortunately, this is running an old version of Android (Gingerbread, 2 major updates behind) and the camera quality is somewhat poor. In addition, the single core 1GHz processor is very underpowered compared to most smartphones and tablets. Overall, I am pleased with the device but it still has a lot of room for improvement.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great pocket media device

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 21, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
I love this thing. Works great for internet, email, twitter, facebook, pandora and youtube. MP3's, of course, and movies too. Bonus that it supports MKV format. Much quicker response and better value than icompany 4. Also, easier to access and load from the computer. Plug it in and the device and sd card are recognized as drives. Just drag and drop. Beats the other guys inoise only access. My only real complaint is that the software hasn't been updated to ICS or JB yet. That would make it a 5 star item easily. Don't get me wrong though, it works very well with the current software and I haven't seen any limitations in my use. Found a great custom case for it online to protect it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
S23B550V
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2013
from Roslyn, PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no accessories!
I bought this as a gift for my son but had to check it out first. He was very familiar with Samsung devices and android apps after using my mobile phone, but they pick up technology quickly anyway. He is never without it, because it does everything he needs. Not being a fan of i products, this is the best alternative. It would be awesome if there were more accessories for it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Epic™ 4G Android Smartphone
4.3 out of 5(1,405)
 
 
 
29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
 
 
 
Samsung Transform™ QWERTY Cell Phone
3 out of 5(259)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2013
from ct
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight, sd card compatible
Cons: needs more internal memary
i`ve had the my galaxy player for about 3 weeks know and have had no problems with it. the touchscrean is very resposive to any touch. gyro is excilent responds quick to rotations. all in all the android system is great and fast, and is a great buy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This is my first mp3 player and it is just great! The apps and features are great and the screen is great for watching movies!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really nice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 25, 2012
from Charleston, SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is just the first day for me handling this but already I love it! It performs well, looks nice and I can't wait to delve into the other parts!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Give it a try !!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 23, 2012
from Washington D.C.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, user replacable battery
As far as i can tell, all the Galaxy players have the same specs except for screen size but just for clarification i bought a 4.2. I am very pleased with my purchase and would highly recommend it. Fair price, clear and bright screen, plenty of apps for android OS (lots of free stuff!), micro sdhc input, and accessible battery (THANK YOU!!!).
I do have a few quibbles though.
1) No external buttons to skip forward when using the music player. You have to wake up the touch screen and this can prove inconvenient if like you keep your player in a belt or arm case.
2) Perhaps its just me but when i use headphones listening to play music it just doesn't play loud enough. I like having the capability for my ears to thump a little, lol.
3) Again its just my opinion but i think that the internal memory of these players should increase with the screen size. 8 GB is a decent start but having it be a cookie-cutter standard seems a little ...you fill in the blank.
4) Using the USB cord to input media can be little frustrating until you get the hang of it.
I have written more about the cons then the pros but dont hold that against the Galaxy players. I am very happy with my purchase and would do so again. I have yet to see a media player that i like more.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love it! It's easy to use, and has loads of features that are awesome. The sound quality is much better than my last player I used. I am glad I purchased.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
4.4 out of 5(116)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Samsung

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 18, 2012
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Replace my I pod. Glad I made the decision to go with this one . Way better. Front speakers are great. A plus with the fm radio. Sound very clear. Easier to manage music.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ist mp3 player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2012
from macedon NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, compact
Cons: needs better directions
This is the first mp3 player I've owned and I'm still getting used to it and it's capabilities. The only down side is that the battery seems to drain quickly and there could have been more documentation with the product to better understand its use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this device!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 1, 2012
from Crystal, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy-to-use
I love this device. I had to get one when my sister got the 3.6 galaxy player. I wanted a better one. So I went to look for a "better" one and I found this one. It has everything I need! Its even better than my phone honestly. Not just me that has one but my boyfriend too! We both love our galaxys'.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sluggish

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
It's has a sigle core processor. And just this morning, it won't boot. I just see the SAMSUNG logo.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great media player

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 29, 2012
from washington heights, ny
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: can't stop the music without your password
i love this alternative to the itouch. my only issue is on the galaxy s2, u can stop the music before u even put in your password, i wish this had that. other than that, i love it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Player with FM Radio at a great price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 24, 2012
from Minnesota
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: headphones
The price is right for this player.
Has nice features and seems to be well made
I have owned a number of Samsung products and have not been disappointed with any of my purchases.
There are many accessories are available, including spare batteries.
If I can state one short coming it is this; I have yet to find any Samsung or after market headphones that offer controls that i have had on other major brand players
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at T-Mobile (Titanium)
4.7 out of 5(1,051)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

DOES NOT SYNC PROPERLY WITH WMP-12

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 22, 2012
from Pittsburgh
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have a big gripe with this product. It gets into this mode where when I hook it up to my computer to automatically sync my playlists with WMP-12, it drops the USB connection, then reconnects, and continuously cycles like this and syncs nothing.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 19, 2012
from Gahanna Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
My 5.0 was stolen about a week ago, so I got this. I wish I had gotten this first. It is really amazing, it's also so much faster than the 5.0! Please, get this!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Device

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2012
from Petaluma, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, Built-in speakers
Far more then just a media player. It can do anything an android phone can do. Love it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Media player or tablet?

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2012
from Solomons, MD
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, extremely portable, access to samsung apps
The Samsung media player 4.2 is indeed the acme of of players. Music or audiobooks you can hear in stereo without earphones, movies you can watch any where, books you can read anywhere (especially at night with a reader app , set to red text on black background so you don't spoil you night vision), check the weather, the news, your email, create word and excel docs, play games, and have enough power to do this most all the day !! Just one thing missing -- I'm looking forward to someone adding a Startrek transporter app!.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Gingerbread? Really?

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 27, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, obsolete os
C'mon Samsung...there's really no good reason you aren't pushing ICS for this. I'm taking it back.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great product to have

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2012
from Minneapoils, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I compared it to the ipod touch and even though its bigger that the ipod i ended up buying because it was offering me pretty much everything the ipod touch offers me and i can get more apps free on this device than i can get on the Ipod toch. What more can i ask for. the only down side is it did not have flash on it other than that,
I love it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Fun in a Compact Player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 19, 2012
from Chillicothe OH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fun
I love this this Galaxy Player. I have had so much fun with it since I bought it. There are games & movies for me & the grand kids. The Galaxy has kept us entertained & talking for hours. Guess what is on the kids Christmas list? My shopping is done. LOL
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing device

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This device is great. I love everything about it. I recommend it to anyone interested in buying it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, can trick your friends into thinking its a phone
Cons: not the best standby time
this is a great player. it is a lot better than my old ipod touch and is faster. the only downside is that it has so- so standby battery life. it also looks so much like the samsung galaxy S 2.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wi-Fi Rx Sensitivity not good as my iPod Touch

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 12, 2012
from San Jose, CA
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Overall i like it more than my iPod Touch 4g. But things i don't like: 1) Wi-Fi Rx Sensitivity lower than my iPod Touch; 2) GPS is a joke, takes extremly long time to lock location; 3) FM radio quality so-so; 4) Plastic battery cover not firm; 5) Camera quality so-so;
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Galaxy 4.2 great!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 11, 2012
from Micco, Fl
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I was already familiar with Samsung quality so I looked up its ratings when I wanted an MP3 player. It was highly rated by Consumer Resports. I bought it based on ratings.
I am happy with it. I have downloaded music, used My Route to jog with, used the radio which is great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 10, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
The samsung player has everything i was looking for !!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 9, 2012
from leander, tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I love it ts easy to use and fun to have has great features and a nice slim design
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really want an Update

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 3, 2012
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, touchwiz, ergonomics
Cons: Not high def, no updates for the product, not many apps compatable in the play store
The Galaxy Player 4.2 is an outstanding device overall, I love the Touchwiz UI and how fast it is. The only detrimental thing about this device is that it lacks with software updates. I have had this product since its initial release wanting an update of some sort which would bring the sweetness of Ice Cream Sandwich or even Jelly Bean to the table, I have even gone to the point of searching for Roms for this device with none of them working. Please Samsung, release an update for this wonderful device and let it's true 5 star rating shine. Until an update comes out for this device a 4 star rating shall stay.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, but runs on Gingerbread

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 29, 2012
from Oaxaca, Oax.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: runs gingerbread 2.3.6
This is a great product and I haven't had any problems with it, but it runs on 2.3.6 Gingerbread, not Jellybean, and is not update-able.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome but lacking

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2012
from Flemington, NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, size, navigation, google play store, keyboard
Cons: lacking accessories, cannot connect bluetooth with text messages
The GALAXY Player 4.2 works great! Although, I am finding that its so sleek it keeps slipping out of my pocket and hard to carry it without the apprehension of damaging the product. In the manual it even says be careful about dropping the device although they offer no case or accessory specifically for the device. The GPS is absolutely one of the best qualities on the media player, It can browse the web efficiently enough and access email perfectly fine. The quality is there it's just missing the accessories to ensure the products worth.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love this device but not enough storage

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 17, 2012
from Round Pond, ME
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not enough storage capacity
I bought this device when my Zune died (went for an accidental swim in the ocean) and I like it a lot but it won't hold all of my music or even all of my audible books. I have added the max 32 GB SD chip but have to keep deleting media and swapping in new. (My Zune was 120GB.)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Galaxy Player 4.2

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 9, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Nice product , easy to use ,good display, good battery life.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little Device

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 6, 2012
from MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: back camera, not latest ver. of android
Really love this player, hands down better than the ipod touch. I think the 4.2 strikes a good size balance for your pocket. I really would give it a 4.8 rating if I could. The only negative for me is not being able to update to the newest version of Android and the back camera needs a LED light so it can read bar codes. No biggie for me but would be nice. Other that that I very happy with the 4.2 player.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome but needs improvement

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2012
from CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: low ram, single core processor
Its an amazing product and i love it but it would be nice if it had duo core processors and a gig of ram
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome MP3 player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 18, 2012
from Omaha, NE
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, very responsive touch screen
Cons: Not high def
The touch screen on this player is far better than my last one and works better with my hands than the iFruit models I tried in the stores. I've only just begun to explore the features and apps, but already I can tell I'll be very happy with this purchase. I've only had it for a few hours and my wife already wants one, too!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Player

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, expandable memory
Cons: no way to uninstall bundled apps you don't use
I LOVE the performance of this player so far. They got the size and the screen quality just right on this one. Sound and video quality are excellent, and wi-fi performance seems good.
There does not seem to be a codec installed to handle movies with surround-sound audio tracks, so I had to recode some of mine in order to play them on it.
I wish I could connect an external USB keyboard, thumb drive, microphone, etc. but that apparently requires a newer version of the Android OS. So if Samsung were to offer an Android OS upgrade for this player to version 4, or 4.1, that would be really cool.
My only real complaint is that the way the expansion memory card gets mounted (as /external_sd subfolder of the /sdcard partition), it's only used by apps that search your folders for files or that support specifying a specific folder for storage. The Android app management option to 'move to SD storage' doesn't work. When it's enabled, it only moves data from the internal android partition to the sdcard folder, which is actually still part of the 8G of internal storage. The only apps I've found so far that can use the expansion card are media players and the camera app. Bundled games (and some other apps) that have large data downloads can use a lot of internal storage, 1.6G just for the FIFA12 game!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only one problem

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 28, 2012
from ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: sometimes wont connect to wi-fi
I have had this MP3 player for 2 days and i can tell you that i love it more than my ipod. the capibilaties for this MP3 player are impecable. i have had only 1 problem and that is that for some reason it wont saty connectred to my wifi but it will everyone elses.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Love this player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 26, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Easy to use,Pretty good for the price, Android! Nuff Said
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Product but leaves me wanting quad core

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 21, 2012
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: needs more cpu power
I Like everything about this device...
BIG Plus is the Stereo speakers...
Nice sound and sound level...!!!
I have run almost 300 different apps and only a select few gave me any problems... probably due to ram/cpu/running multiple apps at once.
I would love to see better games, as the single cpu is simply a little aged for today's mobile devices...
I must say that the SCREEN is big, and very bright, with extreme vivid colors! Way to go!
I will be using this as my PRIMARY device until Samsung comes out with a quad core version! (Yes... I'm already waiting!)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Galaxy 4.2 A really good media player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 19, 2012
from Washington, DC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: two-year-old specs hardware outdated
My wife bought the Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2 since I've only ever had used the iPOD Classics before. I love it! I ended up downloading Poweramp to handle my music collection as the preloaded player was unwieldy but I love the external speaker. I also have the ability to add additional storage space and that is a BIG PLUS over the competition. The screen resolution is great and the cameras are excellent for Skyping for the price. My only complaint is that the hardware spec are 2 years old. However, if your not a techie it really doesn't matter.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Early Days

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 19, 2012
from Chicago
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This player was chosen after a long and exhaustive search for an Android player to store music and connect to Spotify. It does these things better than I had hoped.
Also, I hadn't realised how much cool free stuff there is to download to it - both as toys and as useful tools. I'm happy!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of great features in a small package

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight, good size screen
The 4.2" screen is a nice size and provides a crisp image, sound quality is enhanced by the front speakers, lots of useful on-board apps and widgets. The overall dimensions of the device make it very convenient to carry around in a pocket.
Photo quality of the camera is not great but good enough for anything you wouldn't want to break out a dedicated digital camera for.
Overall, I highly recommend this device.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Itouch Killer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 10, 2012
from Central Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I own a Samsung large screen LED TV and love the video quality of that device. I wanted to try and see if Samsung's small handheld tablet devices would also display video so vividly and I was not disappointed in the Galaxy Player 4.2. Really sharp video! It plays Youtube videos really well. That was a big selling point for me because I love to view the online videos.
I was waiting to buy a handheld tablet until someone brought one out with a replaceable battery. It's very nice to be able to swap out a battery with a new one. That's a big seller rather than having to send the unit out for a new battery. Thanks Samsung.
All the applications I have installed play well with the unit and it also has a great little GPS navigation in it which will do turn by turn navigation. The best part is that it updates the maps!
If you don't want to pay the high cost of a data plan on your cell service with data going up in price, there is plenty of free wifi out there. The device always seems to find some free wifi and more and more cable companies are putting hotspots all over the place. The wifi is so much faster than a phone data service.
All in all a great device and the only thing is that i wish I could find a rubber skin to protect the device. For now I put it in a leather pone type case which works fairly well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

big mp3 ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 2, 2012
from rob
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
the price, sound and best HD Videos. this is samsung best mp3 yet to date
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

upgrade to 4.2

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 1, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, old version of android
I returned my 4.0 to gt the 4.2. The 4.2 has better ram, but a worse camera. I have noticed that it has a problem with simple games and the touch screen doesn't always notice that I touch it. I have found other android devices that are cheaper, but most are not pocket size. It doesn't have the most up to date version of android and I don't see that it will be updated anytime soon. Most phones will do the same thing this does and will have a newer version of android and cost the same or less.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a relief

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 31, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, has a gps
Cons: a protective sleeve would be nice.
Last year I needed to replace my Palm Pilot and finally found a small android tablet that wasn't a phone. It was an Archos 43. I was very happy with it until I kept hitting the ceiling of its 270MB app space. My wife bought a Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus and I loved it but it was still too big for my pocket. I was thinking about the Galaxy Player 4.0 and discovered that the 4.2 had just come out. I LOVE it! It has plenty of room for all my necessary apps and still has space left for fun. It still has a ceiling but it's high enough that I will probably never hit it. It sounds great and looks great. The video is beautiful. I have a 32GB microSD in it so there is months of music to listen to. If you need a pocket-sized tablet I would definitely recommend this one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great device

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 24, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great iPod replacement. i got this device for my birthday and love so far. great screen, with excellent quality. i will definately use it a lot.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Toy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2012
from Iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: not 4.0 (ics), processing speed
I purchased this to replace my few year old Ipod touch and it is a GREAT! upgrade!!! What sold me from the other GP's was the two front facing speakers, Samsung nailed that 100% great sound out of a little device. I would have liked the device to be 4.0 (ICS) but it has the latest Gingerbread. i am used to my Nexus with 4.0 so some interface challenges but thats expected. The other thing i didnt like is the processing speed i would of liked 1.2 but for the price you cant beat this AMAZING! above Ipod! player
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Galaxy S

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: low voice for the receiver
When I bought this smart phone last year, it was almost the top notch of the market.
I am still happy with my choice.
I would recommend Samsung designer to improve the batter design of the smart phone and the OS.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for New Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wow

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 15, 2012
from BROWNSVILLE, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
great device love the features and all the apps and the screen its real bright
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.