Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop MP3 Players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for S3 (4GB)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

S3 (4GB)

Rock out to your favorite tunes or watch crystal-clear videos wherever life takes you on the 1.8” LCD display. Available in five cool colors, the SAMSUNG S3 plays audio, video and displays still pictures, and text. It also comes with 4GB of memory and DNSe sound engine for a superior surround sound experience. Packed with multimedia features you can enjoy no matter where you are, the SAMSUNG S3 makes it easy and fun.
Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for S3 (4GB)
Review 1 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great sound for the size

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 12, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Have this mp3 for a couple years now, no need to for another.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 23, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: hard to put stuff on
I love my Samsung S3 but I do not know how to put stuff on it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superior Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, slim styling
Cons: no replacable battery
In addition to this products excellent technical specifications and performance, it has great styling and is very slim compared to other such MP3 players.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's my preciousss!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 7, 2010
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I've had this device since nov /08 ,and it stills rocking powerfully, though as some others said, it's hard to download movies on it. But I'm pleased with the DNSe , because whenever I listen to music, it feels as if I were diving into it. this device rocks! not to mention the FM recording option, which is fabulous. the only thing I didn't like is that when I tried to visit the main page it's in chinese.. : ( Samsumg guys, you must have it on english too please!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 29, 2009
Overall it was good product, but i had one problem I couldn't get any movies on mine. I tried to get movies on my S3 alot but there would always be a problem.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome MP3 player, don't buy for videos

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2008
from Largo, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I absolutely LOVE this MP3 player. The only thing that I have been disappointed with is the video conversion. I specifically paid extra for a copy of the movie WALL-E that came with a digital version so that I could put it on here, but the player requires a different video type than what came on the disc and it won't let me convert it because of copyright protections on the file. I also downloaded The Dark Knight and had the same problem. They sure don't make it easy for you. It'd be nice if Samsung would release a patch that allows for playing of the other video files.
The FM radio is a very nice addition and the bonus of being able to record what is being played on the radio is very nice! Downloading music to the player is extremely easy and very FAST.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

really good mp3 player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2008
from Chesapeake, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The Samsung S3 is a very good product. It's easy to navigate through the menus. The headphones still work and I've had it since the beginning of October. The sound quality is also very good. If I was going to buy another mp3 player it would have to be from Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Value!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2008
from Orefield, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I just purchased this item and I am very impressed. I was using the product within 5 minutes after taking it out of the cool packaging. Plugged in the USB, synched up with Windows Media Player, done.
The music quality is excellent and Tool never sounded so good. Not that Tool could ever sound bad.
The S3 is very small, not as small as a nano but weighs basically nothing. It has a very easy to use interface and the buttons are all right where you would expect. It has a great feature where you can turn off the power, then when you turn it on it picks up right where you left off on your track.
It also plays video, however I have not tried that yet.
The S3 even comes with some flash games to play while your waiting through airport delays.
The S3 is a really good value for the money, you don't have to install anything, and it definitely rocks.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Performance is decent

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 18, 2010
Everything about it is awesome. I love the way it plays. It's my way of getting out of work early. Being in a fast paced environment music is my life. So helps work become steady. The only problem I have with it is downloading my music videos even with the CD-rom. I can't get them on there. I mean seriously someone must know how to get this thing to work.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent MP3 player

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 22, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had the thing for a little over a year now. Works great most of the time. I have a hard time keeping the battery charged. I have it plugged in at home over night and the next day when I go to listen to it at the office I find that the battery is almost out. Accessories are very limited for this device. There is no dedicated charger. I would have to buy another USB cable and a plug in charger to have a spare at work for almost 1/2 the price of a new player. The one speaker port device doesn't say whether or not it would charge the player.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but complications

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 27, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I recieved my music player about 2 years ago for christmas. I enjoy having it but, I wish putting videos on to it wasn't so hard to do. I tried to and a message appeared saying that I had to have a certain file or something. I was kind of confused. Anyone know how to put videos?
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice little toy for Music library and FM radio

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2013
from Dearborn, MI
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I got this little thing for Christmas a few years ago and it serves a purpose. Its really good for someone only looking to hold less than 4Gb of music at a time. I mostly use it for FM radio though to catch my baseball games on the go and I've been amused up to this point with the record feature on the radio application. Design and build quality is quite exceptional and against the norm of most Samsung products, in my humble opinion. Buy it at the right price and you won't argue against yourself.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mine Just Broke

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had this mp3 player for almost a year and all of a sudden it just broke. I was listening to it on hold and I reached to change the song and I noticed the screen was no longer working. I could stilll listen to music, but I could not see what I was doing and now I have to leave my music listening up to chance. Its worjing more like the first generations of ipod shuffles.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Surprised

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 3, 2009
from Brooklyn, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I got this product to replace my current MP3 by Samsung which is the YP-T9J. I was surprised my current one which did cost me more sounds way better then this one. Also the size of my current one (YP-T9J) also has a bigger so it seems but it really does not it is actually just smaller so it looks bigger. I did like the overall look of the new one but the sound quality is not worth this product. Disappointed!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for S3 (4GB)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

slow to load music!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 20, 2009
from Cleveland,OH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I am a previous owner of a samsung mp3 & had a great experience. In dec, I purchased 2 for each of my children. When we tried loading music on to it, it took forever for one song. The same happened with the other one. I have noticed a few reviews complaining of similar problem & they advised getting updated software from samsung.com. I tried it, but no success as it is in Korean. Needless to say, I am highly disappointed with the performance. Of course, the design & other features are fabulous as we can only really play games on it. Anyone have ideas that may help???
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for S3 (4GB)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.