Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop MP3 Players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for S5 (4GB)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

S5 (4GB)

The 4GB S5 mp3 player combines stylish design, incredible sound and a built-in sliding speaker with 1500 watts of high quality stereo input. With its Digital Natural Sound engine (DNSe.) technology, superior sound and custom EQ reproduces music and video users expect to hear. The YP-S5 also is equipped with Bluetooth-enabled wireless stereo providing the kind of listening one could only dream of.
Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for S5 (4GB)
Review 1 for S5 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best MP3 I've ever had!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByExperiencewithS5
onApril 30, 2012
from Toronto, ONT, Canada
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, powerful, long-lasting
I've had the S5 for over 4 years now and is still surprisingly in excellent condition (and I mean it looks almost brand new). This product was well worth more than I paid for and it indeed lasts for a great amount of time. I've gotten a numerous amount of compliments regarding this MP3 because of thee many useful features it has as well as the famous "sliding speakers" which I thought was the best addition to an MP3 (and I still do). I absolutely love the built-in FM Radio system because it makes it complete. It is very lightweight an portable, making it very easy to place in your pocket, yet it is still a very powerful device that provides more than just music. I consider this to be a multitask device because of all the applications that are built in. Overall, this product went beyond my expectations for an electronic device and I know that Samsung has really developed a masterpiece that will hopefully last as long as possible.
This is the first review I have ever made, and to be honest, this is the only electronic device that I would ever give a 5 Star rating, and because it is such a wonderful product by Samsung, it inspired me to tell you how great it really is.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for S5 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice features. Simple to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byniteowl
onFebruary 25, 2011
from NY
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Received my YP-S5JAB as a gift and love it. I use it daily to listen to audio books while driving. It is perfect for the job. The features allow me to adjust the skip interval differently for books versus songs. The built in speakers are a nice addition to run the entire thing off battery if need be and share with other users rather than using headphones. I like the bluetooth capability and other features like alarm and ability to play movies. There seem to be many devices out now that have larger screens, more bells and whistles and features i would probably never use. But this little beauty rarely lets me down. Would like to say the same for customer service. (we'll see).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for S5 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEmLovesToShop
onJanuary 31, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not a lot of memory
I owned the YP-K5 for a long time now, and after about 5 years, it finally died. i must say it lasted a LONG time. this product is very very simular to the old one. the speaker quality is amazing. It deffinaly blows most MP3 player speakers out of the water. Not a lot of memory though, but a very good product. Perfect for on the go music that you want to listen to out loud.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for S5 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of best players ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKray
onMarch 5, 2010
I don't own an S5 (although I wish I had one), but I do have the K5 which is basically the same thing. I love my K5 and it's still in perfect working condition considering I got it my freshman year of high school. It is a very simple and easy to use machine that draws many curious questions and admiring stares. That being said, I recommend the S5 since it has more features and a smaller sleeker design. If you're considering the iPod Nano, just quit right now. The Nano is a waste of money. I got one when they introduced the 4th gen last year, and the month after that I experienced more problems with the Nano than I had experienced in four years of owning my K5. Don't waste your time with apple and their faulty products and software. Buy Samsung the first time around and be happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for S5 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymamakitty
onFebruary 18, 2010
THIS IS A WONDERFUL DEVICE!!! I HAVE HAD IT FOR ALMOST 3 YEARS AND HAVE NO PROBLEMS WITH IT AT ALL! THE CORD FOR THE EARBUDS IS STARTING TO COME OUT OF WHERE IT PLUGS INTO THE MP3 PLAYER ITSELF BUT IVE ALWAYS WRAPPED THE CORD AROUND THE PLAYER SO THAT IS MOSTLY MY FAULT! BESIDES THAT THIS IS THE GREATEST MP3 PLAYER IVE GOTTEN!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for S5 (4GB)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it !

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJake09
onNovember 9, 2009
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I started with a 1GB K5 and loved it except for the thickness of the unit itself. As soon as the S5 was released I bought 3 of the 2GB one for me,my son and my daughter. No problems with any until just before warranty ended and the battery on two of them started to fail. Both in for service now and awaiting return. I am hoping that Samsung is smart enough to continue this model and add a few more functions to it. Promoted better than the S5 with more functions and they would be tough to find ! Unfortunatley I think this model may be doomed but I hope not. We love them and would continue to upgrade !!!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for S5 (4GB)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful product, but a few suggestions

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBigALB
onOctober 11, 2009
from Jacksboro, TN
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
I bought this product in summer of '08
not very long after it came out,
i loved the product, and i still do,
but there are a few things i would love on an upgrade device.
If you were to combine the touchscreen,features of editing music, tv out, and the "freedom of choice" features of the R1,with the slide out speaker of this product, many people(including samsung lovers like myself) would go crazy trying to get this product.
these are just suggestions
i know if there were a product such as the one i just mentioned
i would be one of the first to get it when it came out.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for S5 (4GB)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 1, 2009
The s5 overall is a good product. i like that it has so many features, including the speaker. The downside is the small screen, low memory, and battery does not last long at all. they say you can get 6 hours on video. i usually get 6-7 hours before my battery is dead, and i dont have videos on my s5. i once had 4 bars on my battery and played a game for 15-20 minutes. my battery was exhausted. overall i would recommend this product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for S5 (4GB)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.