Share nethead72's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
nethead72's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    18
  • First Review
    November 13, 2010
  • Last Review
    November 13, 2010
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    November 13, 2010
  • Last Answer
    November 13, 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
Stories
  • Story Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Story
    None
  • Last Story
    None
  • Featured Stories
    0
 
 
nethead72's Reviews
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Limited PC Connectivity, but Awsome!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2010
from Cabot, AR
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, very responsive interface 1ghz cpu ftw!, powerful antena versus my other devices., attractive and intuitive gui., great bluetooth implementation., device is stylish and shiny (oooo shiny!), therm-o-touch touchscreen (iphone type) cudos., amoled display. nuff-said. cudos., very fast restart and os startup., 5mp camera /w flash & auto-focus & anti-shake., xbox live. nuf-said.
Cons: dosen't use windows device center, quite pricey on par with iphone, tethering (smartphone staple) not factory set up., zune is not my first choice in sync software., no drivers out yet in .msi format., big cpu drains battery fast when in use. (~3 hrs), slow to charge on pc use the wall adapter., needs more sound options audio drivers are meh., can not function as a hard drive with windows., not yet a large selection of apps... yet.
*Very well designed and implemented hardware, but Windows Phone 7 is lacking in connectivity to PCs. Why in the freakin world dosen't this phone sync to Windows Device Center and/or ActiveSync? It only syncs with Zune, and there is no option to transfer files. AND, you MUST use Zune -or- WiFi to install most larger Apps.
*Setting up tethering is not terribly complicated but well beyond the average joe who would want this phone. IMO, tethering should be available as an option on the OS GUI. Techies, like moi, can handle it as is, but most need an ON/OFF switch for this kind of thing.
*Memory card implementation is plain bad. The OS integrates the MicroSDHC card into the system memory stack, thereby removing it effectivley bricks the phone. (only hardware complaint, you CAN NOT hardware reset the phone on your own if you wish to use a new memory card, this has to be done by Samsung or some wireless providers, as it requires external hardware to reflash the bios in order to start the phone without the originaly used memory card. reinserting the original card WILL correct the issue after a battery pull and restart. plain bad implementation, IMO)
*WIth some third party apps to handle various tasks that WP7 dosent let you handle (distressing lack of control over OS in WP7), this will be the best phone I have owned to date!
CUDOS
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
 
nethead72's Questions
 
nethead72 has not submitted any questions.
 
nethead72's Answers
1 2 next>>
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

Phone Not Starting

2 answers
After two days my Samsung Focus now starts on the "download mode". The screen says not to turn off and that it takes about 10 minutes. I now have it on for over two hours. Is the phone now useless?

It took 24 hours to charge the battery.
Pull out the battery wait 3 minutes and put battery back in turn on, should be good as new. If not, you will need to have it reflashed, this you cannot do yourself.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

I cannot find a manual for this device - can't learn to use it without one! Where???

3 answers
Why can't I find a manual for this phone? New Samsung Focus WIndows Phone 7
You dont need a manual to learn to use this phone. WP7 does it all for you, all you do is tell it what program to run.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

Memory Card for the new Focus

3 answers
I have seen online there is an issue with memory cards for the Focus. The phone doesn't even come with a memory card at all. I have not activated or used the phone as of yet. I definitely want to be able to load up my own music on the device. can you provide a list of acceptable memory cards that works with your device? Thank you.
Any microSDHC card. you will not be able to remove the card once it is installed. Install the card BEFORE you turn it on the first time, or do this if you already did install it and turn the phone on: Settings > about > scroll to bottom > tap reset phone, yes, yes, Done. Ignore the quick start guide, it will confuse you.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

memory card not added but memory available not increased

2 answers
I just bought a samsung focus.
I bought a 8Gb micro SDHC card.
I inserted it in the the phone. I pressed volume down/powerkey/camera.
phone reboots. In settings, shows "Total storage 7.39gb. "Available storage 6.84.:.
Shouldnt it show more storage avaiable?
Do this: Settings > about > scroll to bottom, tap reset phone, yes, yes. Done. Do not follow instructions in the quick start, that is only if you can reflash the bios. Not user servicable. This is the PROPER way to do a factory reset. You must have it reflashed to change your SD card once it is formatted, removing it will brick the phone, but reinstalling it will make your phone work again as normal.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

micro SD expansion slot - what class?

5 answers
I see that this phone has a micro SD expansion slot. What class(es) are supported by this phone. I think they make classes 1 through 10 and the speed of these classes varies. Please help. Thanks!
It dose not particulary matter, but in general, faster == better.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

For the SGH-I917 what Class MicroSDHC Card is required?

1 answer
What is the minimum speed class of microSDHC card that is supported by the SGH-I917?
What is the recommended class of microSDHC for the SGH-I917?
It dose not particularly matter, but in general, faster == better.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

Why do the supplied earbuds NOT transmit voice with Samsung Focus?

2 answers
I have two Samsung earbuds. One set came with my Focus and one set came with my Captivate. Both earbuds can hear a caller, but they do NOT transmit my voice. I am now using Bose earbuds so that callers can hear my voice.
Make sure the jack is firmly seated in the port. It is stiff to go all the way in. You will hear a snap when it is fully inserted into the port.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

how do i sync with microsoft outlook?

2 answers
You dont. Zune handles it all. I know, Lame.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

Why doesn't my brand new Samsung Focus phone not charge over USB connected through my PC but only through the supplied charger?

1 answer
It does charge over USB, only very slowly due to less current from the USB port than the wall charger. It takes about 2.5 times as long to full charge on USB vs AC. It is also possible that your PC may not provide power through USB. This is the case with some older computers. Just connect with WiFi or Bluetooth to your PC/MAC, and plug into wall.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR
 
 Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
Samsung Focus™ Windows Smartphone
 

Why can't I get a user manual

1 answer
Because you don't need one. WP7 is designed to remove all control from the user and handles it all for you. You have minimal control, a manual would be one or two pages.
4 years, 1 month ago
nethead72
Cabot, AR