Pect0ral
 
Share Pect0ral's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Pect0ral's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    January 4, 2012
  • Last Review
    January 4, 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    January 4, 2012
  • Last Answer
    January 4, 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
Stories
  • Story Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Story
    None
  • Last Story
    None
  • Featured Stories
    0
 
 
Pect0ral's Reviews
 
 5.1 Channel Blu-ray Home Theater System
5.1 Channel Blu-ray Home Theater System
 
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good sound and picture quality but limited featureset and poor audio cables
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 4, 2012
from Philadelphia, PA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, built-in 10/100 mbps nic, build-in dlna client, apps, speakers provide good sound quality
Cons: Did not meet expectations, proprietary audio cable connectors, poor menu / interface, limited codec support for anynet streaming, requires hdmi etherchannel cables, on-board volume switch is hard to toggle, tray door gets occaisonally stuck
I have had this particular model for about a year now and was very surprised to see what this 1000W 5.1 channel system was shipping for cables; they were very thin and interfaced with proprietary molex-type adapters. I purchased the 3D model expecting to grow into it when the prices of 3D TVs go down. This instantly opens up issues for anyone expecting to venture outside of the 12-20' range of these cables. It might sound like a great distance, until you take into account conduit and cornering walls to hide the cabling. I will admit that I was also surprised how well the tiny system did sound.
The applications for this system are also pretty finicky and they user interface clearly a low priority on the designers' list. Some of the background are pixelated due to overstreching bitmaps -- and even the menu placement is confusing. during power-up of my tv (A Samsung 40'' LED-LCD [2D] ) and this at the same time, this system resets the input to B.IN multiple times. After approximately 30 seconds or so, I am able to choose one of the two HDMI inputs available. Disabling of Anynet+ stops this from happening ... and Anynet works great other than that. The acceptable Codecs for the DLNA Client (for viewing shared media in the network ) are very minimal. However, there are open source software titles readily available to handle transcoding, albeit buggy at times and impossible to rewind/fast-forward unless it is by the chapter.
Being a developer, tinkerer, and strong supporter of open source software myself, I was very excited when I saw the opening of the Apps initiative and that this system is running open source software. However, the developer program did not seem to get the exposure it deserved from such a great company like Samsung. Nor are there frequent -- if any firmware updates for this device to work out some of the kinks and user interface issues it has. I hope to see it grow, as it is still in the early stage.
Overall I do enjoy this product but I hope that the issues it does have do not go unrecognised by Samsung.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
40" Class (40.0" Diag.) 6300 Series 1080p LED HDTV (2010 model)
4.7 out of 5(137)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pect0ral's Questions
 
Pect0ral has not submitted any questions.
 
Pect0ral's Answers
 

How do I enable ActiveX for video?

1 answer
I believe you mean DivX video, as ActiveX is a technology specific to the Windows Operating System. However, to do so, you need to go to your devices menu, open Settings, open System and Activate DivX.
2 years, 6 months ago
Pect0ral
Philadelphia, PA
 

Why can't I see most of the available apps on my blue-ray disc player while I'm in Italy?

4 answers
The availability of the individual app at a regional level could be impacted by a multitude of different factors ranging from consumer software licensing restrictions, national restrictions on internet traffic, to the individual vendor themselves, and not to mention international policies concerning encryption. In a recent trip to Europe, I found that I was no longer able to access the Streaming Service for Netflix. It may very well be the vendor of the App(s) in question for you here, as I found it to be on my trip.
2 years, 6 months ago
Pect0ral
Philadelphia, PA
 

how come I hear clicks and popping for awhile coming from the tv after I turn it off?

1 answer
Without knowing 100% for sure how long you had it on, what the brightness level is at and what its ventilation is like -- my best guess would be a cross between poor ventilation and dust build-up. Ensure your TV is not in too tight of an enclosed area, or it may actually begin to overheat. There are some electronic dust-removal products on the market as well which you could use to attempt to clean not only the device itself but the immediate surrounding area to be safe. Just be sure to follow the safety guidelines on any such product, and double check with the manual for your model before you do so to make sure that the product doesn't cause damage to your TV.
2 years, 6 months ago
Pect0ral
Philadelphia, PA
 

How do I become a developer?

1 answer
I work for a television studio and am interested in developing an app for Samsung compliant devices. Where can I get more information?
You can simply sign up at http://developer.samsung.com
2 years, 6 months ago
Pect0ral
Philadelphia, PA
 

why cant I connect to the internet?

2 answers
If you go into the device settings, there is a network diagnostics test that you can run to find out more information. Ensure that the network your device is attempting to connect to supports DHCP -- or it will be unable to communicate once you plug in. If you are using the wireless dongle, ensure your passphrase (if required for your wireless network ) is correctly entered, and if it is -- to rule out the dongle itself, plug a network cable direct from your HTS device into your Network Access Point / Router. One other thing to note would be that some access points (especially cable modems) remember the device that was plugged into them. If you simply unplugged one device, like a game console or computer and put that directly into your HTS box, you will likely have to power off -- and back on the access point / router / cable modem with neither device plugged into it. then once the network gateway is powered back on, plug your HTS into it.
2 years, 6 months ago
Pect0ral
Philadelphia, PA